We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”
Review of Sharm Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Ranked #81 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just returned from this hotel, only went for a week and it wasnt long enough. The staff cannot help you enough and the hotel is really clean. Food in mexican and italian is great but have to book day in advance for evening meal. Easy to get sunbeds on morning and great breakfast selection. Lots of stairs but if bad on your feet there are golf buggies available to pick you up. Dont get bothered for tips off ANYONE in the hotel, we tipped our cleaner and a few of the waiters but a couple of quid each was enough and they were all extremely grateful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    913
    484
    202
    195
See reviews for
757
1,366
103
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel was amazing,you can choose different restaurations where you can taste different kitchens, for me the best is SHISH and also ITALIAN.
Room a I was living in is still cleaned and very nice,maybe nicer than on the pictures.
Also animation team was very friendly and funny,for example Kamo,Marie,Rami and so on..They are really kind and playfull,always in a good mood.
Thank you for this experience and we will definitelly come back!!! I CAN JUST RECOMMEND THE HOTEL <3

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked 2 weeks all inclusive. This is not a 5 star standard. We have stayed in Egypt 5 star in Luxor and Cairo and they were both amazing. So this isn't an 'Egypt' thing. The room was a good size with a balcony and was kept clean with regular new sheets, towels etc. however, the cleaners do not understand that 'do not disturb' means leave us alone and would still knock on the door until you answered. No tea and coffee in the room, you had to pay extra. Water was only left for us 3 times in 2 weeks, there was none on arrival. The cocktails on all inclusive we're undrinkable. We saw them topping them up with larger. The snorkelling is amazing and the water crystal clear which is the main reason we chose sharm. The soft furnishings throughout the hotel are tired, sun bleached, frayed and dirty. This includes the ripped cushions on sun loungers and tatty beach towels they provide. The biggest issue we had was the food, we tried all the restaurants the pizza was the 'best' the Italian made us both ill within hours, the rest are just very bland or odd combinations. The beer is drinkable, to get water we both had to go to the bar to get a bottle each or they would only give you 1 bottle, ridiculous! Service is unreliable, our air con broke down, we reported it in the morning and only got it fixed at 10.20 in the evening after about 10 calls to reception. Trip with on site dive school very good, fab lunch provided. Would go back to sharm, but probably not this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

For my boyfriend and I this was a very last minute holiday - we booked it two days before we left - and we were quite nervous because it was so last minute. However we has the most amazing trip! Everyone at the hotel was incredible kind and helpful, always keen to please. There were a very large selection of restaurants, and although some had to be booked the day before, there were two buffet style places which were delicious. We loved the variety of food, and everything was really delicious! I can be quite a fussy eater so I wasn't sure what to expect, but there was always something which I loved. They did tend to push extras - even though we were all inclusive, there were some cocktails which you could buy (typical things like mojitos) and they usually had waiters with trays offering them. But overall we didn't mind, they were never pushy and I thought the all inclusive drinks were still great! A few reviews have said that they paid for extra drinks to get tipsy, but after the local (therefore free for AI) beer and a few cocktails I found myself really quite dizzy! The evening entertainment was good, singers and dancers etc. Everything was lovely and clean, and I was amazed by how thoroughly our room had been tidied when we returned in the evenings, they do such an exceptional job!
One thing which is very important in Egypt is tipping - although it isn't always expected in the UK, in Egypt it's really important. Giving your waiter 5 Egyptian pounds is only equal to 50p, yet it can make such a difference to them. The wages they get are quite low in comparison to what you'd expect for the service they give, and they're so unbelievably grateful for an amount of money which seems tiny to you.
Overall this was an incredible stay - fantastic value and one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. We're planning on going back as soon as we can! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Sharm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel itself is rather nice, rooms fine with 6 swimming pools, but the food!!!! The buffet was almost inedible, sloppy masses of luke warm overcooked meat, fish (usually only the heads) and veg. My son had to see the doctor twice with bacterial diarrhoea. The Shish bar on the beach tried to serve him a chicken burger that was raw in the middle. It's beyond me how anyone could enjoy that food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just come back from the sharm plaza and it is a very nice hotel and very clean. It's no good for people with walking difficulties as there are loads of steps as it is on different levels.....there are a few different restraunts but only managed to get in the the Italian food wes very nice but you have to be quick to book.....what I did not like that some times they put a themed night on in the restraunts and you had to pay. I think I am a seasons traveler and can say I found the food not to be the best it all tasted the same and was not hot enough the bay Marie only kept it look warm.....they do need to set the main restraunts out better as the food is in one room but the hot cooking station in another......we did not go hungry but found they did not replace the food quick enough would not like to stay peek season......cocktails and spirit drinks were very weak asif watered down but the beer and soft drinks were warm as they come out of a can or bottle...why they don't have this on tap I do not know would say on the recycling ......pools were nice nut on the chilly side and see was great with all the fish......ideal location but if you are nipping in to town don't use the taxi service at the hotel if you walk to the front gates you will get it half the price....the bedroom was kept very clean but he came knocking for a tip just before we left and the pool guys and bar staff seem to know how long you are there for......the only let down was the food

Room Tip: Take plenty of mozzy repellent everyone gets bit or take vitamin B for a few weeks before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Greetings to Mr Claude Huart and Mr Mohamed Khalaf, thankyou for your hospitality and fantastic staff. We returned to this hotel for a second time, our first last November..There are a huge difference in the choice of food in the resteraunt, really nice choice and much hotter food this time. They also have a new Lebanese resteraunt fantastic with live Egyptian music, so talented lute and drum player...I had e mailed the hotel to ask if they would book me a table in the Italian resteraunt, as it was going to be my birthday while we were there, Sarah from guest relations got straight back to me and confirmed..when I went for the meal they had even got me a cake !, thankyou for your kindness..They even gave us the same room 1140 down at the beach area with a lovely pool outside our patio, there is also a small bar..They now have Lebanese, Italian, Mexican,shisha, resteraunts to choose from besides the main resteraunt, and coming soon a French resteraunt, where can you find all inclusive with this at no extra cost !! The bar staff at the beach are fantastic hard working and always smiling, Mohamed , Ehab, Mahmoud ,Samma, Mustafa,Roman, bassam, Mohamed Salah , thankyou....The hotel is quite sloping but don't let that put you off, all you have to do is ask reception and they will send a golf car to take you to the beach and bring you back if you struggle walking....entertainment is good for family's at the top bar, and nicer at the beach for adults as there is a singer or something for everyone...overall this hotel is very good, if you do have any problems with anything just let them know and they sort it straight away..please do not believe the awful reviews, these people must be very fussy or expect everything English!!! I have never met kinder people than the Egyptians, they have introduced a candlelit evening around the roman pool, with saxophone player, so romantic....I have such admiration for these hard working people, if you respect them they will respect you...once again we thankyou sharm plaza, looking forward to seeing you in November, kind regards to you and your fantastic staff, Carole and jimmy Kennedy ( Newcastle, England ) xxxx

Room Tip: Room1104 lovely quiet pool outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RYTONCANDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.9 mi away
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Cyrene Grand Hotel
#83 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,986 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ghazala Beach Hotel
Ghazala Beach Hotel
#95 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm Resort Hotel
Sharm Resort Hotel
#115 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#85 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,500 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
#66 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,659 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sharm Grand Plaza
Sharm Grand Plaza
#17 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Plaza Hotel

Property: Sharm Plaza Hotel
Address: Pasha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly The Sharm Plaza)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting small blocks of whitewashed buildings, decorative arches, water features, secluded corners and private grottos, the Sharm Plaza evokes a typical north African village feel. The rocky coral shore is punctuated with beach terraces that offer the perfect place to soak up the sun and develop a healthy appetite to enjoy the many à la carte restaurants. It’s a perfect choice whether you seeking a quiet corner to catch up on your holiday reading or a more active adventure such as snorkelling from the jetty on to the famous Far Garden reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sharm Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sharm Plaza Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Crowne Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Crowne Plaza Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing