We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holiday in sharm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sharm Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Ranked #84 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“holiday in sharm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just got back from a wonderful holiday in sharm. The weather was brilliant 30 degrees plus all week. We stayed in room 2218, which was cleaned every day by friendly staff, and a lovely room it was.This hotel has numerous eateries,the Italian being the best in our opinion,the AI resteruants were very good as well a good standard and choice was always available.The transfer from the airport was only 15 mins. Being close to airport you did hear the planes coming in to land but you soon got used to this as it wasnt to intrusive.We found all the staff very polite and couldnt do enough to make your stay a good one.The bar staff were excellent we sat close to the Via Vento bar sign and were served by Hany who was an excellent waiter after only 2 drinks he had memorised our drinks and he done this for every person he served so big thank you to him. The only thing that we were disappointed in was the fact that there was nothing in walking distance ie shops and other resteraunts also there was no walk along the beach as each hotel was seperated.Thats it just look at my tips now thank you for reading my review

Room Tip: if you dont like steps you wont like here as there a few down to main pool and beach ,if you like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gj1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    895
    475
    198
    190
See reviews for
742
1,340
100
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went as a group of 4 a week ago for just a week. We visit egypt every year for the guaranteed sun. We arrived and the room was on the bottom floor and was pretty basic, what we expected really for the money. We asked for a room upgrade with a balcony but they could only offer us a downgrade. The pools are ok we used the bottom pool all week overlooking the sea. Although on our last day the staff decided to clean the pool at 10am which took them 2 hours we were not impressed, pools are usually cleaned very early morning! Each morning we would walk upto the breakfast buffet and we were greeted with the worst smell I have ever experienced, sewage from the drains not what you want before breakfast. The food was usual Egyptian buffet food as we expected, al a carte restaurants were nice, pizza and the Mexican. If you go to the sea view restaurant do not have the steak! Highly chewable! You need to get up early if you want to get a good sun lounger 8:30am onwards you haven't a chance! The worst part of the holiday for us all was the service. The pool service was horrendous unless you tipped! We tipped a guy on the top terrace bar named Howard he was fab, speedy service with a smile without expecting a tip! Most of the other staff members were not interested unless you slipped them a pound or two. We also had to fight everyday with the bar staff at the bottom pool to get a tall plastic glass. They kept insisting on giving us small throw away party cups with beer in until we stood our ground! Entertainment was usual Egyptian animation team as also expected. Overall the holiday was average but we wouldnt return as there is much nicer hotels to be visited with good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Me and my wife came came back from our honeymoon at the Sharm Plaza Hotel last weekend and we have to say we had the best holiday.
Before flying out we had a quick look on trip advisor and there was a couple of negative reviews of the hotel but in our eyes it seems that people were natural born moaners!!. This hotel was amazing.
1st of all the staff were fantastic, the staff on the reception were always helpful and polite.The waiters at all restraurants bars and buffet couldnt help you enough and the cleaners did a fantastic job in keeping the rooms and hotel clean.
2nd of all the swimming pools were always spotless and the pool assitants worked ever so hard to keep it that way.
We booked our holiday through Red Sea Holidays and they gave us a late check out for free from our rooms which was very very helpful because our flight home wasnt till the evening and if you get the chance go on the beduion evening trip, what an experince. Overall we will be looking at coming back in the near future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanalicekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRteamsharmplaza, Guest Relations Manager at Sharm Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm and sunny greetings from the land of the pharaohs, and especially from the Sharm Plaza & Resort, Sharm El Sheikh.
We are pleased that you have spent your vacation in one of our Red Sea Hotels. And we appreciate that you took the time to share your holiday experiences with other people.
The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us, we really appreciate a feedback from our guests. Surely it will help some people to make the right decision for their next holiday destination. We hope to see you soon again in Sharm Plaza & Resort.

Sincerely,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visited the Sharm Plaza with 4 girlfriends for a relaxing week in the sun in September 2012 and Sharm Plaza did not let us down. The hotel rooms, facilities and staff are all first class and the choice of restaurants and bars are excellent. Restaurant staff are very keen on food hygiene and hotel management dine in the buffet restaurant. We felt very safe and found all the staff spoke excellent english and were all very helpful and polite. all loved all aspects of our weeks holiday and would loved to have stayed for an extra week. other plus points , late room check-out when traveling home, no pushy sales of excursions, all-inclusive (local alcohol) was much better than expected.

Room Tip: rooms number 4000 + are furthest away from main hotel and elderly or infirmed may struggle with all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just returned from our Honeymoon, but we were highly disappointed! When we booked just 3 days before departure the tour operator made us sure as it's our honeymoon it will be special treat for us. When we got there nothing special was waiting for us, it was just a normal, average room. Actually far below average as you would expect in a 5 star hotel, we have traveled a lot, would rate it only 2 star!!! The shower curtain was mouldy and the fridge also and already on arrival the floor was covered in sand. The furnishing old and dirty, the lamp on the bedside table was disgusting, marks all over it. Later on I ended up with awful food poisoning, had to spend few days in our room, clearly the food hygiene would be better in the 2 star hotel. My husband likes espesso coffee, turned out we had pay for that extra!!! Really surprising in a 5 star hotel, also for fresh juice. We ended up paying for the extra cost for the two weeks (£34/person for 2 weeks) even tho we payed this extra 8-9 times out 10 they have said sorry but today we haven't got fresh juice!! But that was not enough 2 hours later when we were on the beach and the member of staff offering us the fresh juice, we were so delighted, but it turned out we should pay an extra 2 euros, so this just a rip off!! And top of that extra cost if you wanted tea/coffee facilities in our room. Another problem for us was booking tours. The hotel doesn't let any other tour operators to come in to arrange trips or pick or drop any guests. We have booked 6 trips with Sharmlife.com (excellent company, highly recommend it to anyone), we saved over £200 compering with the hotel exactly same offers. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the beach is lovely and clean. Another thing of you go for a day trip do not take the hotel packed breakfast boxs, it is so poorly (small bread with only 2 slice of cheese or 1 slice of ham, plus fruits and pastry), honestly the sandwich called something not eatable!!

Room Tip: We have payed extra £30 to get a room with a balcony, I wouldn't advise to do so as almost all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank su12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I took my wife to the Sharm Plaza for 2 weeks for her birthday and Christmas, December 2011.
It was the most amazing holiday we have ever had, it's was Paradise!
Everything from arriving on 11th to departure on Christmas Day was fantastic!
The staff were all very friendly, smiling and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The buffet and al'cart restaurants, Italian, chinese and C view were all excellent.
Our room 1225 was lovely, air conditioned, balcony with a sea view overlooking the diving pool. The temp was 24 degrees every day and the pool areas and beach bars were great.
We had no tummy sickness for the 2 weeks and know of no one who had been ill while we were there. My wife did get bites from mosquitos but this was sorted out by the chemist.
The customer relations team were brilliant, Micheala and especially Leny who made sure we were looked after from day 1 and spoke to us most days as she did with other guests.
We made many friends including the staff and I have just booked two weeks from 1st December 2012 and we are taking my sister as well.
We are so looking forward to going back to see our friends at the Sharm Plaza.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnybeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRteamsharmplaza, Guest Relations Manager at Sharm Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm and sunny greetings from the land of the pharaohs, and especially from the Sharm Plaza & Resort, Sharm El Sheikh.
We are pleased that you have spent your vacation in one of our Red Sea Hotels. And we appreciate that you took the time to share your holiday experiences with other people.
The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us; we really appreciate a feedback from our guests. Surely it will help some people to make the right decision for their next holiday destination. We hope to see you soon again in Sharm Plaza & Resort.

Sincerely,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very nice hotel, excellent staff attendance, very clean rooms, good choice of restaurants and selection of evening entertainment on every night of the week. The snorkelling area was superb. Hotel provided a free shuttle service into Nama Bay during day and night.
The menus in the specialist restaurants and the drinks list were limited (for the all-inclusive) as most options were chargable. Certainly the Italian restaurant new the Roman pool has the best all-inclusive menu. The international restaurant is the best option for a huge variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
We booked a trip out to St. Catherines Monestary, which I would not really recommend, as it's four hrs drive into the desert and when you get there, there is really only 2 rooms you can look round. The burning bush is off-limits (you have to view it from a wooden fence) and the Chapel and Library were also closed when we went. Just check this is not the case before embarking on your adventure. It is still a very beautiful place and we made the midnight ascent of Mt Sinai which was worth the trip alone, to wath sunrise over the desert.

Room Tip: 2nd floor provides best views. Right hand side of resort overlooks the bay and catches the sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#22 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#82 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm Resort Hotel
Sharm Resort Hotel
#116 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#87 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
#70 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Villas & Spa
Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Vi...
#85 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Plaza Hotel

Property: Sharm Plaza Hotel
Address: Pasha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly The Sharm Plaza)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#79 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting small blocks of whitewashed buildings, decorative arches, water features, secluded corners and private grottos, the Sharm Plaza evokes a typical north African village feel. The rocky coral shore is punctuated with beach terraces that offer the perfect place to soak up the sun and develop a healthy appetite to enjoy the many à la carte restaurants. It’s a perfect choice whether you seeking a quiet corner to catch up on your holiday reading or a more active adventure such as snorkelling from the jetty on to the famous Far Garden reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sharm Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sharm Plaza Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Crowne Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Crowne Plaza Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing