We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of home in Sharm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Half Crown

The Half Crown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A bit of home in Sharm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Charlie's Bar as we called it.
We visited Sharm in June 13. We stayed in Sharm in 2012 also but did not like this little pub then. What a change the new owner has made. Welcoming, food enjoyable & reasonably priced. My family visited several times & tried different dishes & not one complaint. My favourite was the Sunday dinner which is really good & plentiful. They were very accommodating when we arrived in a big group, rearranging the place so we sat together. They had BBQ & karaoke nights also. Thanks Charlie & Andy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssmop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    14
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best pub in sharlm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

had a few great nights in the half crown pub (you will find it at the back of the iberotel il mercato hotel)friday nights like party night,good cold drinks and good prices,air con,a taste of home from home,highly recommended.see u over xmas.billy and christine (table diver) ha ha.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 21bill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely British Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel next door to this pub and everybody said we should go to the BBQ night and have a Sunday roast in here. So we gave it a go. The first Friday we went for the BBQ we met Andy and Lynn and we had a fantastic night. BBQ was excellent, you can't go wrong for two quid per person, you've got to try the potatoe salad, it's lush :)
We also went in on the first Sunday for a roast amazing !! Loads of it and only £4.50 :)
The second week however things changed. We met Charlie, nice enough chap, but we noticed that the baguettes which should come with chips, didn't have any. We put it down to the fact that we ordered cheesy chips too. Then the BBQ on Friday still £2, food was good as it was the first week, but just not well organised by Charlie, not like Andy and Lynn the week before !!! The second Sunday which was our day to come home, we decided to have a roast as it was going to be a long day. We first noticed that the price had gone up a pound, not a problem was still well worth the money we thought, then when dinner finally turned up, half of it was missing !!! We think that by putting the price up you got less dinner cos you got a pudding, but we was not offered this.
Having said this it is worth while going to the pub, proper English drinks, the food is good and good atmosphere

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TracyP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere & very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great bar, cold beer & good fun had a good couple of nights here... Thanku for making us very welcome Rachel & mark

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Piggybear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Back to fun and laughter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

returned back to the Half Crown and met new owners Andy & Charlie,From the start we started with a late night signing and fun.Friday nights we had a bbq for 2 pounds which was fantastic and would recommend this to everyone.14 days and nights of fun,singing lots of laughter and drinks and not forgetting Mustafa our little trooper behind the bar always happy to serve you.
Thanks for great time and lots of friends made from ex-pats and locals.special thanks to lynn also.see you all soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank martyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Half Crown also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to The Half Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing