We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quantity but NOT quality”
Review of Layaly kan zaman

Layaly kan zaman
Ranked #92 of 310 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quantity but NOT quality”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I used to try this Restaurants many times ago , but unfortunately the quality of food wasnt the same, i have always eaten mix grilled , and last night the meat and the chicken wasnt marinated at all

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst food in Egypt”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Having read trip advisor comments went to this restaurant with a 4 others. 1 egyptian and 3 british. Firstly found that the restaurant does not have a liquor license, so they send out for alcohol. Friends had mussels for starters - these were smaller than eurpoean cockles with many unopened. 3 ordered mixed sea food - with lobster, crab, mini mussels and sea bass. Crab was inedible, lobster very small and dry, mussels as I said and sea bass also very dry. Came to pay the bill and they do not accept credit cards. To cap it all a stomach upset for the first time in 12 days in Egypt where we have generally found the food to be very good including oil field canteens in the desert. But here no. Our egyptian colleague thought that it was the worst food he had tasted for a long time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevi1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“try this restaurant”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

when your in namma bay,you must try fish market,fresh food cooked in front of your eyes,steaks and lamb mouth watering,i would even say its the cheapest as well,food and service is excellent,only downside is the toilets,or lack of them,you are escorted around some shops and up some stairs before you find a port a cabin,me i just went over the road to tgi friday,or the hard rock ,SERIOUSLY HAVE TO EAT HERE,

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lancemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood!”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The menu was very extensive and all of it sounded delicious! I ordered the catch of the day which was whole seabass and it was cooked perfectly! There is a good atmosphere in the restaurant and the staff were very friendly. There were a few cats which wondered in and sat on the wall by our table for a bit, (most of the restaurants and bars are open air and don't have proper doors or walls) but I'm a cat lover so I quite enjoyed that!

The only negative is that they are not licensed so we couldn't order alcoholic drinks but a lot of people had bought their own in.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excelent food and service!”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

we visited the restaurant randomly, ordered arabic food (kabab) and lebanese mezzah (selection of various salads) the food was absolutly spotless, cooked to perfection, the service was also at very high standard. I higly recomend this restuarant to everybody.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simsimka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Layaly kan zaman also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Layaly kan zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing