We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our holiday Experiance at melia sharm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Sharm Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Sharm Resort & Spa
Ranked #80 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our holiday Experiance at melia sharm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wonderful resort, stunning weather like expected went in June and didn't see a single cloud the whole two weeks, first impression was wonderful lobby was stunning, but on closer inspection to the rooms would only give them 3 star if that really need upgrading.

Pools were fantastic we found all the activities at the main pool bar but if you wanted a bit more peace and quite there was plenty more places to sit and relax at other pools and staff at all pools are very attentive especially saide at the pool bar was fantastic really looked after us. Also sameh at the lobby bar was fantastic really looked after us the whole trip he was also full of smiles. Made you feel welcome and special, all staff really look after you, if you give them a small tip they can't do enough for you especially if you tip in English not Egyptian but even before we tipped them they are really attentive.

Now for the food really not 5 star would give the main restaurant no higher than a 2 star breakfast was ok if you like toast fired eggs and omelettes, and evening was Evan worse only ate here about 4 times because food was terrible in the evenings unless you can live off chips theses not much more English food they seem to cater more for Russian and other foreigners. Food at the o grill was much better we ate here nearly every lunch time Evan though there is a very limited menu, we also ate at the la carte Italian restaurant witch was lovely food but again very limited menu. Be warned the Russians are very very rude and will push in front of you in a Que. but if you just take stand and tell them to get to the back they will do unhappily. Also what they class as snacks witch was only available from beach bar only included things like burgers and chips not crisps and ice cream was only available between 4-5, should have been all day.

We was happy with our rooms, stunning view clean and tidy however we did complain about noise after 8 nights of no sleep down to other guests being inconsiderate, and children running up and down stairs screaming and shouting at 1:30am, however once we spoke to management they bent over backwards to help was every good and very quickly offered us other rooms in the level part that was very quite and was the upgraded part of the hotel with its own private pool and also the staff in the level restaurant really looked after us once we moved here.

although other people have said about reps around pool pester you they work on commission so if you tell them you will think about they will come back but once you tell them no they leave you alone, we found Amed of fox safari witch was the horse ridding and quad biking witch we done twice and thoroughly enjoyed both times Evan though Thomas cook advised not to go on down to safety but we felt completely safe both times with the staff that took us out. Amed Evan arranged a taxi to both take and pick us from namma bay and met us there and showed us round on his own unpaid time witch was extremely kind of him but this is the kind of people they are out here. Couldn't thank him enough for the way he looked after us.

And last but least the entertainment was rubbish nothing after 10:30 in the night and what was there was only on for an hour and was rubbish only kind of nightlife for teenagers young adults was to pay to go on trips outside of resort. As the so called nightclub that Thomas cook advertise is aimed at children. Also didn't see why you should have to pay for the beach party and BBQ when we was here on all inclusive basses. And also thought the karaoke was held in the lobby bar should of been in the disco room as not everyone wanted to listen to it.

Would go again but with eyes more open to what is what, towards the food and entertainment, witch was the only two major problems.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quite pay the little extra to stay at the level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Meliá Sharm for your holiday, as well as for taking time to write about your recent experience.
We are very sorry that your experience did not meet all your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies.
We would like to assure you that guests’ remarks never fall on deaf ears; our goal is guests’ satisfaction.
Let us also note we try to satisfy different tastes of our international guests. Hence, we do have theme nights at the Main restaurant; such as International, Italian, European, Mexican, and Oriental. For lunch and dinner we daily provide English Food Station and Healthy Food Station in addition to buffet stations.
We are glad to know that the staff at The Level Lounge made your vacation a special one.
The Level is a special part of the hotel where we are trying to provide personalized service for every guest.
Thank you again for the feedback. We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion, and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in future.


Sincerely,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Deparment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    651
    241
    102
    85
See reviews for
474
889
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are very torn from our stay at Melia Sharm. The area is lovely - the view from our balcony alone was breathtaking. But overall we would not rate this a 5*. The hotel looked good but on closer inspection was a little run down. We didn't like the additional extras you had to pay for like, the fire show or bbq. To me "all inclusive" means that everything is available and accessible. External staff (Beauticians, Spa, Newspapers, Boat Rides etc) will interrupt your relaxation and try and pester you for their service. That being said, we had the Cleopatra Massage and it was lovely, felt great for it.

Pool staff were great and very attentive but the same could not be said for all. Popular cocktails are not available and the food from the canteen was okay. Advice: tip a server early on and they will be very helpful for the rest of your stay. There wash't much entertainment but I am not sure if that is because we went off season. I'm sure it's a different story in the height of summer.

The coral reef at the end of the jetty is a must so please take your snorkels - though if you have walking difficulties, please beware. We were informed via Thomas Cook that it was wheelchair friendly but the hills (what they assume ramps) were near impossible for someone to do on their own and in the midday heat was an unpleasant experience.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay purely for the scenery and company. I'm sure we will return to Sharm-el Sheikh in the future but unfortunately not the the Melia.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinuviel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sidney C,

First we would like to thank you very much for your valuable and constructive feedback about your recent holiday you spent at our hotel.

We understand that you were a little disappointed in some areas of our operation but it does seem that you weren’t too put out by it. However, we have passed your comments on to the relevant departments to ensure that measures are put in place to resolve these issues. As we host many nationalities in our hotel, the entertainment is programmed for all these different nationalities and we offer soft entertainment, that means that we offer activities during day-time (volleybal, waterpolo, dancelessons etc.) and live-music or a show during the evenings.

We hope, that we will have the chance to host you in the near future once again at our resort to be able to convince you with our 5* service from all aspects.

Sincererly,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Everything was great:room,clearness.
It beach was amazing ,beautiful area and thump handed :)
I have stayed 14 days. Despite I was ill I could not enjoy my whole stay but it`s no matter I am planning my next visit here.
There were special and unique entertainments and special thanks to the animation group for making our stay enjoyable and fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Habet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Habet A,

Warm greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your holiday with us.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests. We are glad to know that your stay with us was a memorable one and that some of our staff made your stay even more pleasant.
We will be happy to greet you again in the Meliá Sharm in the near future.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

No way would I rate this hotel as a 5* would be lucky to receive a 3* food is actually not cooked properly and caused us to be ill,my partner requested ibroprofen..the onsite doctor insisted he needed extra medication and charged us £185 although we had insurance,no chance to relax as staff constantly pestering to buy from them and not totally all inclusive as basics were not included...would not return even if the trip was free

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MorrowTina81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

The entire team of the Meliá Sharm were regretful to read your perception of the resort, which did not comply with your expectations. We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to make your stay a big success as we have done with many first -time visitors and regular guests.

We will continue with full power and motivation to strive for excellence - hopefully, you will notice a difference during your next stay.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort.

Sincerely yours,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My mum and I stayed here for a week, booked via Thomas Cook. The room was lovely and clean and had everything we needed. We had a balcony looking out onto the pool area which was nice, but if you want privacy you definitely want to be on the ground/ first floor.

We overheard a lot of other Brits complaining about the selection of food, but we really enjoyed it! You're not in Britain so the food will be different! There was a selection of fruit, vegetables and meat and fish dishes every evening. Pastries, pancakes and ice-cream were all available for pudding :) Just be prepared for meals to appear slightly differently from how we would perhaps cook them- it's still delicious!

The staff were absolutely incredible, couldn't do enough for us. We had top service in the dining room, Mina looked after us in the bar, Sharif had it covered in the salon and on the beach. Numerous other members of staff brought us refill drinks without us even having to ask while in the bar and on the beach. Absolute stars, thank-you.

Great selection of pools, lovely beach and pretty gardens surrounding the hotel!

We visited Naama Bay, but weren't very impressed. Good for a pub crawl, but intimidating for 2 women alone during the day. There was next to nothing to do and lots of male traders vying for our attention. Wouldn't bother going back. Although we had a pleasant meal at the Hard Rock Cafe.

We were here for New Year and were invited to take part in the Gala Dinner. As there were only 2 of us we did end up sat with some strangers on a table for 6. Entertainment was good, the staff really made a massive effort to decorate the room and put on a show! It was a bit chaotic to say the least to actually get to the buffet purely because of the number of people attending. Top tip: don't be a polite Brit. All the Russians skip the queue so go for it too! Pile your plate high and aim to get all your courses in one trip! It was a fun night and ideal as all local restaurants were fully booked up (as our table companions found out when they decided to leave!)

Since our visit mum has already returned once and I would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you very much for posting your review and recommendations about your holiday. We greatly appreciate comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
Thank you also for the recognition of our standards and your kind words about the efficiency and friendliness of our staff; your compliments will definitely be shared with the team.
We looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future to make more memorable memories.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel is amazing! big grounds but well looked after. We did 11 nights at the melia sharm, and we plan to go back next year. I would definitely recommend upgrading to a sea view room as the standard rooms are quite dark and do not have such good views.
Please be aware that there are a lot of Russians.
I would rate this holiday as 8/10.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonUKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Aunny greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your holiday with us.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests. We are glad to know that your stay was a memorable one.
We will be happy to greet you again in the Meliá Sharm in the near future.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Although we did not originally book this hotel (thomas cook 'upgraded' us) we were very much looking forward to staying here...that did last long!

The hotel itself looks very impressive and grand in the lobby area and also the pool area is very nice. The pool bar is the perfect location as you are able to sit in the sun or the shade whilst having a drink.

The rooms were cleaned daily and kept to a good standard and the staff left my boyfriend a birthday cake in our room which was a lovely touch. The passage ways and corridors outside the rooms were not so clean...there were many times where we saw a plate or cup and glasses left in the corridors with left over food on them where they had been taken out of the rooms by the cleaners and left there. Not good considering there were ants and other creatures about!

The staff are wonderful here although I feel that they are very intimidated by the russians. There are a lot of russians at this hotel and the staff seem to attend to them before the english (apparently because the russians will kick up a fuss if they are not served and the english are more polite!) which meant we were sometimes stood at the bar 15mins waiting to get a drink!
Said in the restaurant looked after us wonderfully for lunch and evening meal, constantly bringing us drinks and asking if we were okay...wonderful! Said at the pool bar was also wondeful, constantly making sure we had a drink at the bar and bringing us drinks to our sunbeds...fantastic!

The food was horrendous though! The first couple of nights we were there we were thinking we were going to starve because it was awful! It did get slightly better but nothing that was really tasty! If you like roasted chicken or beef in gravy with rice then you are sorted! Both me and my boyfriend (and plenty of other people) stuck to chip buttys for 2 weeks...not what you would be expecting to eat in a '5* hotel'!!!

One evening we dined in the Italian restaurant as you receive a voucher for every week that you are there! Safe to say we didn't use our second voucher...The food was ok but nothing special! The staff that served us were also very miserable and didn't speak to us at all, he just gave us our drinks and took our order...bad customer service and nothing like the staff in the main restaurant!

The entertainment is something that we were so dissapointed in! It was very repetitive so once we saw one show and heard what the rest were we'd had enough! I have also NEVER been to a hotel where you have to pay for the entertainment...£10 for the Beach Party on a tuesday night and £17 for the BBQ! Their selling point was that the bar was all inclusive on the beach...so was the bar in the hotel and we didnt have to pay £10 for that! Also the entertainment around the pool was awful...belly dancing and aqua gym was what it consisted of and after 2 weeks I have seen enough of that to last me a life time! The music is also horrendous...every morning up until aqua gym at 11:30 they play ballads and slow relaxing music...not something you expect to hear on holiday! During aqua gym is when the more up to date and summery music comes on but after that there is no music at all!

Another downfall for the pool area was because it was sometimes quite windy we were not able to have the parasols up...even people with children were made to sit in the sun! This is not the hotels fault although we thought that they could have made some sort of alteration (maybe some bolted down umbrellas so they wouldn't blow away) so that people could sit around the pool in the shade as some days we had to go inside to find some shade!

Our rep was pretty much no where to be seen! After our welcome meeting we saw him once and that was when we came home! Even then he didnt stay around to make sure everyone got on the coach...the coach driver did it all! We also found that the rep was not informing people that if you are with thomas cook then you get 15mins free wifi every day (not that 15mins gets you anywhere!) the only way we found this out was from people that we spoke to. The rep also did not inform us that the clocks change for ramadam even though after speaking to other couples he had informed them at their meeting!

Whilst we were there we spoke with some couples who said that they had paid nearly £2000 for their stay there! All I can say is that we are glad we didn't pay that much!

We spoke with the manager whilst we were there who was Dutch...she was lovely and a credit to the hotel!

All in all we did have a great holiday but it was just the little things that don't make this hotel a 5* which everyone we spoke with, including ourselves thought they were coming too!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was lovely although we did miss not having the railings on the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginna21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S, Manager at Melia Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for the time you spend to write your valuable comments regarding your recent stay in the Meliá Sharm .
For your kind information, your comments are of a great importance to us, only through it, we can aim to improve the level of services that our guests receive.
Thank you for your positive and negative comments and please note that we will do our best to avoid any negative comments as guests' satisfaction is our main goal.
It will be our great pleasure to host you soon again for another fantastic time at our resort and all our team is looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Tiran Island Hotel
Tiran Island Hotel
#99 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
1.1 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel
Concorde El Salam Hotel
#67 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
4.3 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#24 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#12 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jaz Belvedere
Jaz Belvedere
#53 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Sharm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sharm Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Sharm Resort & Spa
Address: Montazah, Ras Nusrani Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 154, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sinai Peninsula in the "Montazah Ras Nasrany Bay" area along the Red Sea shore, just 7 km away from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and from popular Na'ama Bay with its wide range of shops and bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Melia Sharm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Melia Sharm Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing