We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good holiday”
Review of Cyrene Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Ranked #92 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband & i stayed at the melia sharm for 11 nights from 17th of march 2013,through thomas cook,this was our first time here in this hotel,as we have stayed in quite a few in sharm over the last 6 or 7 years,and so far we would say that the melia sharm has been the best so far due to the fantastic location. The hotel is great,the selection of buffet meals is very good,as the chefs try to cater for all variety of countrys, we made a comment to one of the catering managers that we hadnt had tomato soup while been here,then next thing he was having a word with the chef, then he came back and told us it would be on tomorrows lunch,and the following day it was & it was fantastic!! we even got the rec of the chef bless him,which leads me to the rest of the staff,they are lovely & cannot do enough for you,nothing is too much trouble, and we would like to say a special thankyou to our waiter RAMADAN who was great,again nothing was too much trouble for him he really looked after us,& deserves that promotion he wants!! Also A big thankyou to MR ABDELFATHA (food & beverages manager)
The snacks after midnight in the lobby bar are not really up to much, they are just very small pastries, the hotel could maybe try & put on some warm pasta or pizza in the italian rest after midnight??Or even bread rolls and a selection of cheeses & meat??like the other hotels we have visited.
The rooms are quite large and are very clean,there is a mini fridge filled with a couple of cans of larger,coke & fanta,but once used you have to pay for it been filled again,tea & coffee.
The grounds of hotel are really well kept & tidy & all the gardeners working hard in the hot sunshine!
On a evening there is just the lobby bar open (24 hours) and no other bar open,we did find that this got a bit boring after awhile,they need to have at least another bar open so you can wonder about between the two, there is shows on in the disco if you want to see that sort of thing but thats not for us! they also had the beach party on a tues night i think between 10 & 2am but you have to pay for that,which we didnot bother with,this should be included in the AI.

All in all a fantastic holiday, fantastic staff thankyou everyone,fantastic location and fantastic hot sunshine! would recommend this hotel to friends & family. thankyou Rach & melvin room 5127. hope this review is helpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Meliá Sharm for your vacation, as well for taking the time to write about your recent experience.
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests. I will also thank Ramadan and Mr. Abdelfatah for making your stay a pleasent one.
I took notes of your comments regarding the midnight snacks and we will review the menu.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, Meliá Sharm.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family travelled to Melia Sharm from 28th to 4th April. On arrival to the hotel we were offered an upgrade on our room which we did, and were shown a couple of different styles of which we picked room 5016. The room was lovely and spacious with two seperate rooms.The main room had a big double bed, plenty of storage space and a nice clean bathroom. The second room had a table, chairs, sofa and two single beds were put in for our two children. There was also a seperate toilet and no less than three patio areas. The view was fantastic and overlooked the sea and Tiran Island. The room was kept spotless all the time by our friendly room attendant, and he pleased the children with his towel art and flower displays on the beds.
Although we could have had a meal at the Italian restaurant during our all inclusive stay, we chose to stick with the main restaurant, due to the fantastic service we received from our brilliant waiter Hakim who thoroughly looked after us for the whole week. Customer service is extremely important to us, and Hakim was everything that a good waiter should be. All the staff work extremely long hours, but they all still manage to keep smiling and have impeccable manners.
So a very big thank you to Hakim. We shall miss him very much
The restaurant food catered for everybody, with lots of choice, both hot and cold, and the deserts were always sweet and delicious.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Melia Sharm, and although we did encounter one problem it was very quickly resolved with the upmost professionalism and courtesy . We appreciated the check from the guest relations manager making sure everything was okay.
Thank you Melia Sharm for a truly wonderful holiday. Your staff are all an asset to the company.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Your comments are very important to us. Thank you very much for the feedback.
The positive comments give us motivation to keep up with the good work and the negative comments give us guidelines on how to improve our quality.
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that all comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again at your second home Meliá Sharm.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Compared to last year's accomodation in Sharm, the services were worse! Very rude staff, unfortunately! And this is the opinion of a group of 20 people. Except the people in the reception, the staff in the bar, at the towel stand leave you the impression that you are not welcome and you are interrupting them whenever you are nearby. We will never choose this hotel again. We are sorry we haven't picked the hotel from last year.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sigina555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Meliá Sharm for your vacation, as well for taking the time to write about your recent experience.
We are very sorry that you experience did no meet your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. At Meliá Sharm we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore you feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns and I had sent a private email to you and I assure you we are committed to guest satisfaction.
Please, don't hesitate to contact me for any clarifications.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Melia Sharm for 2 weeks from 17th March 2013 on a Thomas Cook package. We would recommend this hotel to anyone for their first stay in Sharm el Sheikh.

There were “initially” four people in our party, myself and partner (39) and my parents (70+) and enjoyed every minute of the holiday. I say initially, because that number seemed to grow as our holiday went on, as we met up with some fantastic holidaymakers during our stay with whom we spent many nights having a real good laugh with :)

The transfer from the airport is a mere 10 minutes and we were the first drop off. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the staff that took our cases inside while we checked in and were given a welcome drink while waiting to be assisted. Our rooms were on different parts of the hotel, but after a 10 minute wait they changed the rooms so we were on the same floor and only 4 balconies apart. This was really appreciated given the age of my parents.

The rooms are lovely with two large single beds, satellite television; two relax chairs, a writing desk, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge with complimentary drinks, free safe, and a terrace or balcony with two chairs and table. We stayed in room 4215 which has Sea View, Pool View and Garden View. The minibar contained 2 beers, mineral water, bottle of Coke & Fanta. These do not get replenished during your stay, unless you want to pay for it. We we did not see the point, as you are allowed to take drinks to the room from the bar. Tea/coffee is provided and gets replenished if you are on a Thomas Cook package. Get fresh milk from the bar before you go to bed as there is no milk in your room.

The complex is lovely with clean pools, clean gardens and the staff are constantly cleaning and working everywhere you go. You get given towel cards for the pool and beach, when you finish with the towels hand them in and you will get your card back.

Mohammed the Thomas Cook representative is very helpful and the trips to Soho Square and Naama Bay with Thomas Cook are reasonably priced. Soho Square is advertised to go to a Pub Quiz for £5.00 (return for 2 people) but you do not have to go to that, just use the transport and do your own thing. There is a main feature fountain with regular shows to music and fire. There is also a main stage with live acts. This was great to have an evening away from the hotel complex. Naama Bay (£10.00 return for 2 people) is a pub crawl with Thomas Cook, but again you can go off for a couple of hours if you wish. You can pay with GBP.

The animation team in the Melia Sharm are great: Danny (who left to come back to the UK while we were there), Chloe (UK), Igor (Ukraine), Kristina (Russia), Grisha (Ukraine), Stuart (UK) and Ben (UK)……where fantastic. Very hard working, constantly smiled, went out of their way to help you and made our holiday, especially Aqua Aerobics every morning at 11.30. The show they do on a Friday evening is probably the best show the Melia Sharm offers, although my parents did enjoy the nightly entertainment, it was a bit old school for us.

The animation team’s manager from Georgia (not sure of his name as he didn’t seem to interact with guests) was not a nice man at all, we felt really sorry for the team who have to report to a man who has no people skills at all. The Friday night after the animation team show, I went to speak to him and say his team were hard working and he ignored me……..one of the Melia Sharm Bar Staff told him I was speaking to him and he shrugged his shoulders and walked away – a rude man, but this did not spoil our stay. He also comperes the shows, but I would strongly suggest they get someone else to do it, as he speaks really fast and at times you don’t know when he’s speaking English or Russian !

Bar wise, there is a 24 hour bar (all-inclusive with Thomas Cook) which is the main Lobby Bar in the hotel. Very nice and pleasant, with seating areas around it. There is also the pool bar and beach bars open from 10.00 am to sunset. The lager is nice and tastes like Carling; the wine is passable but add it with Lemonade or Soda to make a spritzer. The vodka had a scented smell with the Pepsi, but if you have it with orange juice or pineapple juice it is nice.

We found the only downfall is that there is only one main bar open from 6pm - the Lobby Bar. Personally if the other 2 bars were open 24 hours or even to 11pm at night we could not have faulted the hotel at all. After 14 evenings staying in one Lobby Bar, it gets a little repetitive and mundane. We did howvwer meet some great people and good times were still had.

The food was very nice in the Buffet Restaurant and had a variety with themed evenings – there should be choice for everyone’s taste as it catered for the four of us – all with differing tastes. You get included an evening meal in the Italian a la carte restaurant once per 7 day stay and this was lovely to be waited on.

In the day there is a lunch a la carte option at the Grill Restaurant by the poolside. As Thomas Cook guests, we could use this daily with no charges. For both a la carte restaurants you have to sign a bill, but it does not go on your room. The beach bar also does snacks in the day - burgers, chips, paninis, sandwiches etc. - if you do not fancy a sit down meal in the buffet or a la carte.

On the beach there are guys selling different trips – we went on the 5 in one trip which was the Beach Buggies, Camel Ride, Star Gazing, Egyptian Show and Food with a soft Drink. This was a great afternoon being picked up at 3pm and arriving back at the hotel at 9pm. They charge about £50, but we did negotiate and got it a little cheaper.

Meals - Breakfast 7am to 10am in the Buffet Restaurant or 10am to 11am in the Grill a la carte Restaurant. Lunch 12.30pm to 3pm or a la Carte at the Grill Restaurant. Dinner buffet 7pm to 10pm. The evening Italian a la carte restaurant has 3 sittings: 7pm, 8pm or 9.30pm. These have to be booked one day in advance at Reception. I would advise to book early the day before as it gets booked up very quickly.

You can use English Pounds everywhere, so there is no need taking Egyptian Pounds. I advise to get as many £5 notes as you can to take as the shops never have change. Also, take a load of £1 coins to tip as the staff in the Melia Sharm staff will bend backwards if you tip them, especially the room boys.

I’m not going to dwell on the “Russians” topic. My partner was of the view that there are “bad apples” everywhere we go and whilst there were some arrogant ones, there were also some obnoxious and drunk Brits too who couldn’t control their ale. Guests from other countries included: Spain, Italy, Germany, Poland, Russia, Ukraine (that we know of).

Overall I would give 9 out of 10 for this holiday – and would recommend this hotel to anyone who has never been to Sharm to get a taste of the Egyptian Resort.

Thanks Melia Sharm for a great holiday and we will be definitely be visiting again ! ! !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ChrisAlfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Comment of every our guest is very important for us.
We share it with all the team.
It is our pleasure to provide best quality service to our customers.
I took notes of your comments regarding Animation Team and the group leader and I assure you that necessary actions are being taken immediately.
Thank you once again for the feedback and we hope to welcome you and your family again in the near future.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The only reason I give this hotel 4 stars is because of the food which was not 5 star standard in fact probably only 3 star. I think they maybe catered for different tastes although I have to say Mohammed cooks a really good omelette, and the desserts were beautiful. The hotel itself was beautiful the rooms were light and airy and the gardens were immaculate. The pools were clean as were the surrounding areas.The staff were friendly and always happy to help which sometimes could have been really hard as some of the other guests were decidedly rude.There were a lot of Russians in the hotel and I have to say I was proud to be British for as far as I could see we were always polite. I never saw any unruly or drunken behaviour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Your comments are very important for us.
We appreciate the feedback and respect your opinion.
At Meliá Sharm we are trying to satisfied taste of every guest. At Spices Buffet Restaurant we serve a large variety of salad with or without sauce, different choices of main course and live cooking and a wide variety of desserts. We are very sorry if this did not please you.
Thank you very much for the review and we hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

was there 18th to the 25th march had realy good time hotel clean and friendly staff helpful food good no problems at all big thank you to ahmed and mohammed at the beach bar for looking after us see u again soon joe Amanda x

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Mrs. Amanda,
Thank you very much for the feedback.
I will thank Ahmed and Mohamed for making your stay a pleasant one.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

we had a week here in march and it was wonderful. the staff were ever so friendly and couldn't do enough for us.the gardens were beautiful and always tended.we paid the extra for a view of the sea, which to be honest i think any room would have had a nice view!! the food was lovely a wide choice of dishes and restaurants to choose from.the cleanliness of the hotel and its grounds was impeccable. snorkeling off the end of the jetty is a must,as are the fresh smoothies served around the pool in the morning.the italian resteraunt is a must.we are deffinatly going back towards the end of the year and taking the whole family!!!
mr & mrs seaton....(hulk hogan) x

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Mr. Mrs. Seaton,
We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Meliá Sharm for your vacation, as well for taking the time to write about your recent experience.
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that all comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again at your second home, Meliá Sharm.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
6.1 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#88 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,693 reviews
1.1 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#52 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Sinai
Melia Sinai
#128 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cyrene Island Hotel
Cyrene Island Hotel
#93 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
603 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#44 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyrene Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyrene Grand Hotel

Address: Montazah, Ras Nusrani Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 154, Egypt (Formerly Sharm Resort & Spa)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $57 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cyrene Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sinai Peninsula in the "Montazah Ras Nasrany Bay" area along the Red Sea shore, just 7 km away from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and from popular Na'ama Bay with its wide range of shops and bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Cyrene Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sharm Resort And Spa
Melia Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing