We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$70
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$67
$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$100
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$75
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$300
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,079)
Filter reviews
2,079 results
Traveler rating
921
694
256
111
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
921
694
256
111
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby baranimation teammain restaurantfishsoho squarechickenfussy eatergreat guyweek staysoupsall inclusive hotelmeliapoolsseaentertainmentegyptmisha
Filter
Updating list...
945 - 950 of 2,079 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Egypt and this hotel were very highly recommended by 3 Thomas Cook staff as great 5 * luxury holiday. The hotel was very nice and the staff terrific BUT do not go here if you want something to do. The entertainment was not good and we spent every night dragging the evening out before we went to bed. 2 teenage sons bored but could not go out as we were told by so many that you are pestered so much outside the hotel with people trying to make you buy things and that it was so dirty outside so that really put them off!!! The food was very tasteless and even though there was a selection of food it was not too our tastes most nights- and we are not fussy- and lots of UK holiday makers were saying the same in fact 2 nights we just ate rolls and bread.
All this needs is good food and good entertainment and this would be such a nice holiday. I know we wanted a break but the brochure said entertainment and honestly it was awful!
Other thing was too many people selling things round the pool and beach. We had someone from the spa at least 4 times a day trying to talk us into a massage- they just never gave up- along with the beauty parlour and the excursions. The beauty parlour? Talked into a pedicure and manicure- paid before I went in and oh my! the towels being used for a lady's hair were then used for my feet and again for the next lady's hair. I felt dirty on exiting.
On the plus side the pools were great, the scuba diving was very good- we did not do much due to the price- and the snorkelling was good with the fish and corals BUT again we did not know it was basically just swimming a short way from the edge of the pier which mean't it was very cosy with all the other tourists.
Sadly not a place we will want to return to. Even though on speaking to others on an excursion it seemed that ours was not as bad as some other hotels.
HighlightsWelcoming staff

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandM592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are sorry to learn that food selection and entertainment program was not up to your taste.
Our Chefs are trying to offer food variety for guests from different countries. We have Continental and English breakfast buffet, international food selection for lunch and thematic dinners (Oriental, Italian, Europian and Asian). Please, accept our apologize if this did not please you.
Regarding entertainment program the International Animation Team is glad to offer sport activities and games during the day. Alive music and shows are held every evening.
I took notes of your comments about Beauty salon and I assure you that necessary actions are being taken immediately.
We do take your comments seriously and commit to improve our service in order to give a memorable experience to our guests.
Thank you very much for the review.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel from the 7th October till 21st October. We had read the reviews previous to our departure which put doubts in our mind before we arrived.

Rooms

Our main complaint is the rooms. The room its self on arrival looked lovely, until we looked closer. We originally stayed in room 2011, then whilst having a shower the water was brown and the shower hose was falling apart. The wall tiles were all broken and there was cracks in the walls everywhere. We felt that this was unacceptable and asked to move rooms. We then moved room which was slightly better but still had all the cracks and the door was broken. Then there is the bed. The bed is as hard as a rock!

The Food

The food was okay if you want to live of rice, beef, potatoes and bread rolls for the whole two weeks. There was a lack of service when bring drinks and feel like they need to have a new approach on how they deal with there customers. It was hard to communicate just to get a coke!

The Pools/Beach

The one thing I cannot complain about is the pools, they were beautiful and so was the beach area. They were kept clean and well maintained. Although if you are wanting to go for some peace and quite be prepared to be hassled by people trying to sell you excursions, spa treatments and newspapers. (Also never by a newspaper its a rip off 40 Egyptian pounds)

As for entertainment they may as well of had none.

Overall the holiday its self was great as for the hotel it was disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for choice of Meliá Sharm for your stay in Egypt.
We appreciate your feedback. Your opinion is very important for us.
I am very sorry to learn that our services did not please you.
Please, accept my sincere apologize for the inconvenience with the shower. The room was checked by our Maintenance Team and nesessary action was taken.
I took notes of your comments and I assure you that necessary actions are being taken immediately at the restaurant in order to improve quality of service from staff.
We do take your comments seriously and commit to improve our service in order to give a memorable experience to our guests.
Thank you for the review.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just spent an amazing week at the melia sharm hotel. It was our first visit and I can safely say it won't be our last. The staff were very friendly and helpfully, especially Ahmed Abd Elhamed in the sway bar who who is studying to be a guide, he was fantastic at explaining the geography of the country, he really needs your support hotel manager! We stayed in the Level in room 7001 it was worth every penny, the view from our bedroom was heaven. There were snacks and drinks in our private lounge all day and our waiter Ahmed was so helpfully, nothing was too much hassle for him!!! The food in the restaurant was very tasty and varied, no complaints that side, and the beach bar did amazing burgers fresh on the grill. I truly can't say a bad word about our whole stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7001 on the level, well worth paying the extra to stay there.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSharm, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choice The Level of Meliá Sharm for your stay in Egypt.
We are glad to know that our staff, food selection, room and the Hotel services pleased you.
It is our commitment.
I will also thank Ahmed for making your stay an amazing one.
I hope to welcome you again in the future in the Level of Meliá Sharm.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This review a bit delayed but here it is. Myself and my husband at this fab hotel from 30th sept till the 14th october and we loved it, hotel was clean and very friendly such a lovely relaxing atmosphere. We had initially a couple of niggles but they were sorted with little fuss. The food was good a great selection and good quality, one thing in Egypt the food never red hot so dont expect it to be, our waiter was Salem a little star efficient and friendly he never stops. Where can i start about the staff in the sway bar they are amazing Mena the egyptian Mr Bean my now adopted son is the star of the show fun and efficient with a smile and comment to everyone love him to bits! Ahmed the manager is great quickly steps in to help at busy times so lovely especially to my husband who apparently looked like his grandfather ha ha, Ahmed supervisor was great too as was Mahmood and little Mahmood(Aswan) they couldnt do enough for you always all with a smile have missed them all. The pools are kept clean and you can sunbathe as quietly or noisely as you want. The beach is quite course sand but again very clean the sea and sea life unbelievable. I recommend glass bottom boat trip you can see the sea floor and coral sea is so clear see Mohammed to arrange.
One more thing do try to get up extra early one morning during your stay to watch the sun rise over Tiran island its magical, enjoy.
All in all i cant recommend this hotel enough its fab we will be back and the sooner the better for us both x

Room Tip: choose a sea view room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loz1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After reading all the reviews before going both good and bad, i will write a very open and honest opinion about this place.

The Melia is situated in Sharks Bay and right on the sea front with some of the best snorkeling coral i have ever seen, from all four of the swimming pools you can actually over see the beach and you have a fantastic view of an Island in the back drop. The rest of the grounds are beautiful and are well maintained.

The Room:- great size for two of us, kept clean, well maintained daily for cleanliness and fresh towels everyday as well. Mini Bar you are allowed to use once free of charge and the chargeable after this. great view from balcony.

The Staff:- always helpful and chatty, willing to help without hitting you for cash like every other Egyptian off the site. Ramadan from Bar O'grill absolutely excelled in his roll for both prompt service and humor.

The Food:- well as a very finicky eater all i can say is Italian a la carte restaurant is good, Bar O'Grill is excellent, international buffet is good there is always something to eat for everybody.

The Beach:- private sandy beach with a bar and snacks available very nice, clean & tidy and no hassle from anyone.

The Hotel:- beautiful well kept, clean and tidy loved it.

I would recommed this place to anybody

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuftchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews