We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try another hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sharm El Sheikh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sharm Elysee Resort
Ranked #180 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed December 31, 2010

we had looked forward to this holiday and had read lots of reviews some good some bad so we werent really sure what to expect. The hotel staff (bar & waiters were really good and worked exceptionally hard and were friendly & helpful) We asked to change our 1st room as the safe didnt work the fridge was filthy and the aircon and shower extractor didnt work and the wardrobe door was falling off. The quality of the electrics was appauling and dangerous with open consumer units, the sliding patio doors didnt work properly, the bar was poorly stocked and the glass cleaner didnt work properly, drinks were being served from split and cracked plastic glasses. We paid all inclusive the food was repetative to say the least virtually the same every day one day chips were served for lunch and then appeared as potato salad for the evening meal, the chiefs did the best with what they had, we ate out every lunch and evening and had omelette for 2 weeks for breakfast as that was made fresh everyday, other guests were and ourselves had our bags checked to see if we were bringing food in to eat and side doors were locked so noone could bring anything in. We were unfortunate enough to be in our room one evening when the corridors were being sprayed with insecticide there was no warning and the smell was overwhelming it was awful, the pool maintenance consisted of a young man tipping buckets of chlorine into the sides of the pool, one morning it remained in solid form at the bottom of the pool, our sons swimming trunks lost thier colour, no tests or measures were carried out during our stay. The area is undergoing serious redevelopment, so lots of unfinished buildings, the new shopping centre will be brilliant when it is finished, progress is slow and there is a lot of rubbish in the streets.
Old sharm is the place to visit with brilliant places to eat authentic egyptian food, lovely, be prepared for lots of stray cats, the boat trips with snorkeling was amazing worth the money and the quad biking is a must. Be prepared to have lots of hasttle whilst shopping its the way wouldnt ever go to this hotel again they shut it down a week after we left to finish it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

Warning to all Brits who have booked this holiday on the basis of the recomended reviews on here, if you book you will be probably be sent to another hotel 25k away as we were.
I had been in contact with "Sharon" who is the guest services manager up until the hours leading to our departured flight as i had arranged a transfer through her and she never had the dignity to inform us we were being moved.
we could not find the hotel in the first instance as it had changed it name the week or so before, yet when you read the reviews it seems to only have been operating under this name for a small amount of time, that to me does not paint the picture of a well run hotel.
if you get the opportunity to stay at this hotel my advice would be to take your business elsewhere!!!! Dont be fooled like many of us were, about 25 of us were all moved who should have been staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DazProcter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We've just got back from the All Seasons Oasis and wish we were back.

It's a great hotel, small and comfortable with a great atmosphere. As we were all British we got to know loads of people and nobody had food poisoning while we there - I'd agree it was more likely to be dehydration and the heat as we ate in the restaurant most of the time and had no problems.

Reception - very pretty Morrocan design, receptionists are friendly and helpful and there's free WiFi if you take your laptop! They have a library where you can put the books you've read and find another one -although as it was always in the late 30's or higher when we were there you'll be lucky if your pages dont melt and start falling out...

The room was spacious with balcony and a pool view; large, clean, very comfortable beds, fridge, Sat TV with a few great film channels and a free safe . The cleaner did a fab job with all the towel scultures every day and always had a smile on his face (as did all the staff) Find it hard to believe that any rooms would have dirty or ripped sheets as it said in one review but if they had and asked someone they would have rectified it straight away. We had an issue with the card to get into our room one day and they sent someone up straight away and it was sorted.

Food - ok so not loads of choice and a little repetitious but it's an Egyptian AI hotel not Gordon Ramsey's restaurant. There's always something you'll like and should satisfy most people; great chips by the way :)

Pool - fab, perfect temperature- cool enough to be refreshing after the heat but not too cold so you got frostbite - Abdul makes sure it's always clean and didn't have any problems with sunbeds. They have a masseur at the pool who was great! We both had a full body massage that took about an hour and a half and was a bargain!

Pool bar- great place to relax and get together with everyone for a chat - staff very friendly and always smiling, especially Khalid, Achmed and Mido (sorry if I've spelt those wrong)

We knew there was no entertainment at the hotel as it said so, however we met some great people (especially Dennis, Margaret, Chris, Sandra, Mike (Diveback Mountain!) Jackie, Barry, Emma, Jemma, Steven, Natalie, Alana and Kevin and Weasley the cat- sorry if I've missed any,)and there was quite enough entertainiment with those without the need for any more! Never laughed as much in my life!

Location - free bus to Naama Bay, although taxis are cheap- we always haggled and paid 20LE to go to Old Sharm which is an experience and has some great restaurants (we tried the Sinai Star for fish and Le Mezzanine for meat) Food was great and we never paid more than about a tenner per person. If you can't be bothered to go far there's loads of shops, restaurants, bars etc within a 5 minute walk - El Mercato is just round the corner from the hotel and they have some fab restaurants (try Onions - fab location and great food) they have a KFC, McDonalds and Pizza Hut if you want that.

The bazaar area is great, just look for the fancy towers - as with all areas just get used to saying no when shopkeepers hassle you but they take no for an answer- again it has loads of bars, shops and restaurants etc.

Trips- there's loads of excursions on offer (all priced in £) including trips to Cairo, Petra and Jerusalem but we'd done those before (well worth a visit) so we did the lazy boat trip/snorkline. Excellent day out including lunch and there was only 8 of us on the boat. My husband went diving with Ocean collge and loved it- well you can't miss that if you're in Sharm.

Hopefully they'll sort out the contracts/management/owner issues etc soon so people can start going back - it's well worth a visit and for the price is a bargain! If you want a good value for money hotel with a great atmosphere, great staff and good location then try it, you won't be sorry. They have plans for a shisha bar and disco upstairs (got a sneaky tour from Sharon and it'll be great when it's done) and a games room downstairs - would love to see that once it's been completed, but whether that's completed or not I'd still love to go back. Obviously if they want an objective reviewer for when that's done then I am available at short notice :)

Finally thanks to Sharon (who has the joy of dealing with any issues some British people moan about on holiday such as lack of diet coke, pool too cold, weather too hot etc and still manages to smile!!!) for organising for the remaining lot of us still left at the hotel a few days ago for us all to have a meal together in the restaurant to celebrate our last few days and Natalie's birthday).

Anyone has any questions just send me a message and I'll do my best to answer them and I'll post some pics soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kazpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

After reading the reviews prior to departure, we were a little dubious but decided to keep an open mind and I’m so glad we did. Initial thoughts on arrival were quite positive although blurred by lack of sleep. These were borne out as on waking that morning, what a surprise we got! A small, attractive hotel (60 rooms I think) in a developing area of Sharm. Many facilities close by (shopping, Western fast food etc).
Pool good and surrounding area too – clean and well kept. Staff were pleasant and polite without exception, food good if not massively exciting, and what food poisoning?? If there was any food poisoning, why didn’t anyone else at the whole hotel come down with it? More like dehydration, too much sun and booze as we Brits don’t tend to handle the sun and daily temperatures in excess of 40 degrees C very well, generally.
Rooms large, clean, great A/C, towel sculptures were class. Beds very comfy.... I never had a poor nights sleep and I’m a fussy sleeper!
The best bit though was the goings on!!! You couldn’t have scripted it if you tried!! Hilarious!!
That aside, we would return in a blink of an eye just for the staff who were all great, especially Achmed and Abdul (the other names we can’t remember). Sharon (guest relations) always ready to chat and muck in collecting glasses or serving at the bar, and the chefs ready to have a bit of fun and banter.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisfrogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Have just returned from 2 weeks in All seasons Oasis and from the previous reviews don't think I was in the same hotel as previous contributors!
Comments: -
Food -good - basic but tasty but you can't please all the people all the time and can honestly say I was not ill nor did I hear about the rest of the guests being ill apart from one guest who had dehydration
Staff - yes limited in numbers at times but they all went out of their way to provide a good service, and always had a smile on their faces. Sharon - guest relations - fantastic resource , went above and beyond the call of duty to help with any issues that any guests raised
Rooms - very comfortable and clean - some fantastic towel sculptures !
Pool - excellent - very clean , no problems with sun beds
Location - as we are divers we found it excellent - not too far from all the large dive schools, easy access to Old Sharm and Naama Bay.
Hotel is undergoing a change of management, there is a new general manager who is ironing out any creases identified by guests when he has been chatting to them -
Definately would recommend this hotel and are looking foward to returning in May 2011

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Well we was not sure what to expect after mixed reviews, but went with an open mind. we were greated by a very friendly receptionist who could not do enough for us we were put in a clean large lovely room with a pool view and excellent air conditioning that was needed all the time,
Abdul the pool attendant was great friendly and always there to help even taking me to the bank when i was unsure where it was, Kalli and Mohamed were great fun around the pool we never had to wait for drinks and when on one occation the white wine ran out Sharon went to get some,
Everyone worked really hard Sharon was very approachable and was there to solve any problems we had or to sit and chat she gave us some great advice about beaches and snorkling places to go.
There were 3 Chefs they were all great but the head Chef was always on hand he would turn his hand to anything we wanted even making a pavalover twice because we asked him to.
Although there were staffing issues we had a great time never been made to feel so welcome by so many people
Thanks to everyone we had a great time

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Karen1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

the hotel was very basic.. and was not yet finished when we arrived as we got told.. the staff are lovely and work very very hard all day.. 18 hours a day they work and get no thanks for it!.. the food was horrible and made not just me but everyone else ill in our hotel.. it had the same taste all the time and it was just unbearble to eat, even the cucumber and melon stated tasting dodgy.. so on the 2nd night we eat out till the end of the hotel.. the hotel is very clean and the service is great from the staff there very freindly. all inclusive is good to go though as your getting drinks all day for free.. but it stops at 10pm then you have to pay! also there was no entertainment at all at night wich me and my family found odd as every holiday weve been on ther has been something but here there was not even a hint of it.. maybe they were understaffed i dont no? but one day there was only 2 staff on the bar and the restraunt from 6 am till 1 am the follwing mornin! as 2 staff left when we were there.. im not sure i would recomend this hotel to a friend im sure when its finished it will be better .. cannot fault the staff atall! also the swimming pool is lovely! very big and very clean just too much cloreen!! x

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlyparker92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.0 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#61 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
0.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#172 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Elysee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Elysee Resort

Address: Sharm Elysee Street | Hadaba - in front of mercato area, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sharm Elysee Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
60 room hotel in Sharm El Sheikh and is situated in Hadaba on El Mercato which is one of the most popular shopping areas. It is a cozy, low rise resort with an old Arabic design and feel with unique pieces brought in from Old Cairo to give the hotel its special feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sharm Elysee Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing