We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”
Review of Riva Mar

Riva Mar
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riva Mar
Ranked #213 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here last year and had such a disappointing holiday, the hotel is more like a 1-2* at best. The weather was beautiful and the beach was amazing but the hotel was just awful. It is disgustingly filthy, the decor is old and paint is falling off the walls, the (fake) river that runs through it had no water in the whole time we were there and was filthy and falling apart, the food was horrible (we ate out everyday even though we were all inclusive), there were never towels ready for us to take to the beach some days we waited an hour with no apology, the pizza place on the beach is run by the most miserable man you'll ever meet who makes you feel bad for asking for pizza and that was the only decent thing to eat! They have a disco on the 1st floor that plays really loud, banging music that starts at about 1am and can be heard througout the whole hotel. We complained so many times throughout the holiday and nothing was done. The only saving grace of the whole hotel is the barman who is lovely and made our stay bearable. Every British person we spoke to was really fed up and disappointed in the hotel. Do not stay here if you are expecting luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    6
    8
    20
See reviews for
8
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel looks good in the pictures and on paper, but don't be fooled. We initially booked with the sister hotel, Sol Y Mar Riva Club but a week before departure it got closed down, not surprised if the Sol Y Mar Riva Beach goes by anything. We then had no choice and got moved to Sol Y Mar Riva Beach, it started of fine pleasant welcomes, with one or two friendly staff, some were just miserable and made the place feel depressing. We booked for a double bed with a sea view, but instead we got two singles and a view overlooking a another hotel. When we compliant at reception they said we don't have no double beds in the hotel and the room we got was a sea view and with a bit more persistence a member of staff came to the room and said he will join the single bed to make a double and if you stick your head out the window you will see the sea. We booked all inclusive, I understand we were in Egypt and open to try different foods, but the restaurant was taking it too far, with the chicken either being too dry or uncooked, the fish literally crumbling away and even when we were the first ones there the food was cold. When we wanted to order room service the telephone wasn't working, went to the reception and a guy came to fix it, then when we tried it again it still wasn't working I went down again and the receptionist said that it was fixed and the guy was not going to come again, so I gave up on that idea. Back to ordering room service, which was advertised as being 24hours, I went to the reception to order it and the guy goes they don't do room service and this point I gave up. The only decent place to get food was the beach bar which served pizza and chips. Near the end of our stay the water feature which goes through the hotel was still water and started to smell and looked liked it never had been cleaned, on the last two days it was drained and the ruminants stayed at the bottom. It was a battle to get toilet paper and fresh towels from the cleaners, who were always after a tip. Always lock your personal belongings in your suit cases with padlocks, don't use the safe either that are provided as the cleaners regularly tried to sift through our room probably looking for money. Don't let my review put you off Egypt it is an amazing place with friendly people, but the truth needs to be told about this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't use this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ifzal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not a part of sol y mar group it was built under the name of Raoof and it was bankrupt and sol y mar group bought it , now it's understaffed , rooms is dirty,blood on the blankets, very bad food

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Sheref A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, but staying at Airlie Beach
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Disappointing isn't the word, the pics looked great, the reality was something else altogether!
reception was shabby with a derelict 'river' running through it, a la carte restaurants and most bars were closed. I'm not big on entertainment at resorts, but they didn't even have the bar open in the area????
Public area toilets were on a scale with the trainspotting toilet scene.
Sister hotels were shut down.
Food was bland and virtually the same each day. I like experiencing other cultures but even the Egyptian guests were complaining about the hotel.
After a free late check out I was asked by the reception to write down our problems on a blank piece of paper and also the fact of the free check out - no way, so here I am warning others! Don't go unless you're expecting/paying 2 star rates.
It's only redeeming feature is the beach and some of the staff, though even some of those had an odd customer service attitude to Western Europeans. Don't be conned into getting a taxi or as they call it a limousine either - it's the bell boy's own scam to get sterling/dollars at inflated prices. Walk to the end of the drive and hail one to make your escape.
Most the Brits we talked to hated it and many were paying an extra 300-400 pounds to move to a different hotel.
Thank goodness for the sun and beach!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else and don't waste your breath talking to the manager who is happy to have his cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stonesg1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had ten days at this wonderful- mis-advertised, mis-sold Hotel.

The Good points: Weather 40 plus every day.
Junior Staff mostly friendly and welcoming.
The pool area and view over the sea.
The good company we met and my wonderful wife.
The Bad points: This is an abbreviated list: The Hotel advertises several restaurants, however only the main buffet is open which provides you with, rice, potatoes, beef, vegetables, (chicken or fish) alternate days. Three times a day every day. Note the A La Carte, Fish Restaurant, American dinner, champagne bar are all closed!!!!
The Hygiene is appalling especially in the restaurant and toilets.
The casino is closed the lazy river has been shut for two years, and is just stagnant still water, a breeding ground for the local mosquitos.
ALL the alcohol is watered down...
We had no hot water for three days and then when we did it was a nice shade of brown.
Our room was not cleaned for five days, and the bed bugs (plenty)
There are lots of other things, but I wont go on, hopefully you will avoid this hotel, if you have booked try to change it now or upon arrival.
Adrian & Karen

Room Tip: All rooms same no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian-Karen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from 1 week at this awful hotel. Food poor drink also poor (not sure if there was any alchole in any of the spirits, wine was watered down. This hotel is more 2 star than 5. Cocktail bar not open, 50's diner not open and the lazy river is just dirty water. No bottled water on arrival, no hot water for 3 days. no toilet rolls, hand towels in room until the we complained to the manager. Also booked a pool view and ended up on the 2nd floor, with promises of being moved. Pool area nice and beach nice although it was 5 euros to walk on pier.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel was advertised as 5 star and was more like a 2 star. It was advertised as having a lazy river, champaign bar, American diner and a seafood resturant as part of the all inclusive but they were never open. This left the food chioce as the bufet resturant which offered a limited choice and was very very very repetitive. Drinks were seved in small plastic cups the size you would use for mouth wash (which would take 4 to make half a pint). However, you could drink as much achole as you liked but no one ever got tispy strangly enough.The room was basic and most days they never left towels or loo role and for the first 3 days of our stay we never had any hot water. We have been to Eygpt 13 times now on holiday and have enjoyed lovely hotels this is the first time we have ever had to complain to the management and our holiday rep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#108 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
#70 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viking Club
Viking Club
#212 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#59 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kahramana Hotel
Kahramana Hotel
#146 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Service College
Holiday Service College
#2 of 27 in Sharm El Sheikh
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Mar

Property: Riva Mar
Address: Al Salam Road | Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:5 star — Riva Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riva Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Riva Mar Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing