We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Chinese Food, Cannot Be Faulted...!”
Review of Zen

Zen
Ranked #140 of 317 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional Cantonese (Chinese) meals created with oriental herbs and spices that have been imported especially to SOHO SQUARE to fully experience the dishes, with the natural ingredients that stimulate taste, sight and aroma. The authentic atmosphere of China is right there at Zen restaurant. Dress Code applies for men: no shorts, no flip-flops
Reviewed January 19, 2013

One of the best Chinese foods I have tasted in long while and I have eaten at hundreds, thoroughly top notch which just cannot be faulted at all.

My personal recommendations would be the following:-
Braised Chicken With Black Mushrooms & Basil Leaves
Wok Fried Duck With Ginger & Longan
Sizzling Sze-Chuan Chicken With Bell Pepper.

Great Staff, Attentive, can't wait to go back..!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Happy_Chopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magued-Magdi, E-Marketing & Business Development at Zen, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your supportive review.

It is our sincere pleasure to know that we have managed to demonstrate the quality, hospitality service known for SOHO Square Sharm El Sheikh & Savoy Group, and particularly enjoyed your dining experience at “Zen”.

Looking forward to your next visit, for another enjoyable culinary experience in any of our variety of restaurants & cuisines as “Bombay” Indian restaurant, imported Indian sauces such as melonin masala or jawatri powder are used in different sauce-based dishes, such as Karahi gosht, with tender lamb cooked in a rich and delicious sauce. The menu also includes vegetarian options.
Followed by an after dinner drink at “The Queen Vic” the traditional British local pub showing football matches during the season. There’s plenty of room with a long bar, indoor tables, chairs and booths, serving a wide variety of beers, wines, and non-alcoholic beverages. The front of the Queen Vic is always open, leading out to the large wooden terrace, with outdoor tables and seating overlooking SOHO Square, also providing darts and the billiards room to enjoy with your friends, or any of the gourmet outlets of SOHO Square.

Thank you,
Best regards,
Soho Square Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the food in the outside Mandarin bar.waited 1 hour for starter after numorous requests to an indifferent staff regarding its non appearence.Even the manager was no help in my enquiries and just repeated the same insincere 'sorry' like the rest of staff and proptly dissapeared.food arived nearly cold. The lack of communication by staff to custmers showed a real lack of understanding and proffesionilsm Hidden charges like service charge and local taxes componded the horrible 2 hour experience at this establishment.At their perril will unsuspecting tourist visit this edtablishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnthonyC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magued-Magdi, E-Marketing & Business Development at Zen, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing SOHO Square Sharm El Sheikh the Middle East's leading entertainment, dining, and shopping Center.

We sincerely regret to know that you are not completely satisfied with your dining experience at our “Zen” restaurant, we extend our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Be sure that your review has been taken into consideration and we will be doing our best to meet your expectations in the future.

Looking forward to your next visit, for an enjoyable culinary experience in any of our variety of restaurants & cuisines as “Sushi Lounge”, contemporary and stylish Sushi lounge designed in the state of fashioned Zen and Californian art, surrounded by a tranquil Japanese garden. Seating around the conveyor belt, individual tables or at the garden terrace lounge, serving an array of traditional and fusion sushi and sashimi prepared by our creative chefs, either to be picked on the rolling conveyor belt or to be chosen from the menu.

Followed by an after dinner drink at “Pangaea Club” bringing the best sounds from all over the world, international DJ's, impressive selection of international drinks & cocktails as well as an exciting flair bartending show. Pangaea Night Club is perfectly poised above the landmarks of SOHO with a spacious colour-changing dance-floor and lighting, or any of the gourmet outlets of SOHO Square.

Thank you,
Best regards,
Magued Magdi
E-Marketing & Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful food authentic Chinese, lovely surroundings service and perfect for the little ones children's menu ideal

Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magued-Magdi, E-Marketing & Business Development at Zen, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your supportive review.

It is our sincere pleasure to know that we have managed to demonstrate the quality, hospitality service known for SOHO Square Sharm El Sheikh & Savoy Group, and particularly enjoyed your dining experience at “Zen”.

Looking forward to your next visit, for another enjoyable culinary experience in any of our variety of restaurants & cuisines as “Bombay” Indian restaurant, imported Indian sauces such as melonin masala or jawatri powder are used in different sauce-based dishes, such as Karahi gosht, with tender lamb cooked in a rich and delicious sauce. The menu also includes vegetarian options.
Followed by an after dinner drink at “The Queen Vic” the traditional British local pub showing football matches during the season. There’s plenty of room with a long bar, indoor tables, chairs and booths, serving a wide variety of beers, wines, and non-alcoholic beverages. The front of the Queen Vic is always open, leading out to the large wooden terrace, with outdoor tables and seating overlooking SOHO Square, also providing darts and the billiards room to enjoy with your friends, or any of the gourmet outlets of SOHO Square.

Thank you,
Best regards,
Soho Square Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The service was slow, the food served cold, overpriced. Exists solely on its captive Soho Square audience I think. Far better available for less with a little effort....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mackiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had the misfortune of eating at this "hotel (Hyatt Regency)" recommended restaurant on Sunday 23rd December 2012. I can honest say this is the worst Chinese Restaurant I have even been too....... intact "Do Not Eat Here" Staff are clueless and not interested, food very very poor indeed and they have no idea whatsoever about food presentation. You'll possible get better food from a Chinese takeaway than this awful place. We reported this to the concierge at the Hyatt Regency and recommended they remove it from the "recommended list" they maintain.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gartree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magued-Magdi, E-Marketing & Business Development at Zen, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear Gartree,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing SOHO Square Sharm El Sheikh the Middle East's leading entertainment, dining, and shopping Center.

We sincerely regret to know that you are not completely satisfied with your dining experience at our “Zen” restaurant, we extend our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Be sure that your review has been taken into consideration and we will be doing our best to meet your expectations in the future.

Looking forward to your next visit, for an enjoyable culinary experience in any of our variety of restaurants & cuisines as “Fusion-21” offers a variety of Mediterranean dishes, with a well-chosen selection of tastes from different countries. You can enjoy a real mix of North African and European flavors prepared in front of your eyes in an open kitchen.

Followed by an after dinner drink at “The Queen Vic” the traditional British local pub showing football matches during the season. There’s plenty of room with a long bar, indoor tables, chairs and booths, serving a wide variety of beers, wines, and non-alcoholic beverages. The front of the Queen Vic is always open, leading out to the large wooden terrace, with outdoor tables and seating overlooking SOHO Square, also providing darts and the billiards room to enjoy with your friends, or any of the gourmet outlets of SOHO Square.

Thank you,
Best regards,
Magued Magdi
E-Marketing & Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing