We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice food”
Review of Saffron - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saffron
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Description: The finest Middle Eastern dishes have been brought together on a single menu. As Selected by our own Syrian master chef - Adnan. His knowledge of traditional and Mediterranean dishes, from the Lebanon to morocco is second to none. A delicious and mouthwatering range of truly refined cuisine is on offer here. What Chef Adnan has to say; "In the saffron we offer middle eastern food. That is food from a number of countries, such as Syria, Lebanon, Egypt, Morocco and the Gulf area. All of which offer very unique ways of cooking, ingredients and combinations. If I were to suggest a dinner to someone unfamiliar with Middle Eastern food then I would begin with a Lebanese appetizer, to set the right idea for food to come, this would be a mixed mezzah. For a main,well the choice is so great, so for just a couple, then a chicken musaka from the lebanon. Perhaps a barkouk tajine, which is stewed leg of lamb with dried plums, sesame and almonds. Also we offer a huge choice in traditional non meat dishes, this makes our cuisine very popular with vegetarians We serve a large range of deserts and we will soon be introducing Moroccan sweets."
Restaurant details
Description: The finest Middle Eastern dishes have been brought together on a single menu. As Selected by our own Syrian master chef - Adnan. His knowledge of traditional and Mediterranean dishes, from the Lebanon to morocco is second to none. A delicious and mouthwatering range of truly refined cuisine is on offer here. What Chef Adnan has to say; "In the saffron we offer middle eastern food. That is food from a number of countries, such as Syria, Lebanon, Egypt, Morocco and the Gulf area. All of which offer very unique ways of cooking, ingredients and combinations. If I were to suggest a dinner to someone unfamiliar with Middle Eastern food then I would begin with a Lebanese appetizer, to set the right idea for food to come, this would be a mixed mezzah. For a main,well the choice is so great, so for just a couple, then a chicken musaka from the lebanon. Perhaps a barkouk tajine, which is stewed leg of lamb with dried plums, sesame and almonds. Also we offer a huge choice in traditional non meat dishes, this makes our cuisine very popular with vegetarians We serve a large range of deserts and we will soon be introducing Moroccan sweets."
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“very nice food”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoyed our evening meal, but one tip make sure you pre-book, we arrived at 7pm, we did not eat until 10pm as it was fully booked. Food was good, atmosphere great! Wine is very expensive in Egypt so drink spirits instead.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaxBedfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
269 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“one of the "5 star" dining "restaurant of the Savoy Hotel”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Having given my review of The Savoy Hotel (under Savoy) I said the restaurand distinguished itself by the amount of food left on the tables after end of course or leaving.
The Hotel replied that they were sorry that there was too much and would address that.

Hello !!!! it was left because it was pretty dire .... I had many issues at the Hotel as can be seen and would have attempted to tell Mr Geiger the manager but as we were standing by reception with two more he scuttle around us bolting for his office without any acknowledgement to his guests, with this attitude it is no wonder the place is getting bad reviews

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorcestershireJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton Delaval, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Best Arabic Food in town”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

After living in the Middle East for a couple of years, both myself and the wife really love Lebanese food.

Saffron at Soho Square did not disappoint, with great food, great service, great atmosphere and a fantastic memory of Middle Eastern cuisine.

We had Fatoush, Tabouleh, Houmous and Arabic Bread for starters, and had Lamb and Chicken kebabs for main and it was tasty, moist and fulfilling.

Price was very a reasonable £50 including a few drinks and coffee.

Well done Saffron and we'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Visited here for a meal with 3 friends and had a very poor experience. It took over 2 hours to get a table and our starters with no apologies for the extended wait (been told five more minutes so many times we lost count). If there had been more restaurants in Soho square we would have walked out, they finally seated us on our way out the door. The outside seating area they sat us in had no heating so we were all freezing as it was not particularly warm and we were all starving after being kept waiting.

When the food finally came it was cold and the chicken dishes were all dry, we finished our meal and left after telling the staff the meal was very poor. The meal was also very expensive for Egypt, really disappointing.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bcxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We went here in November 2011. It was our Silver Wedding anniversary and we are so glad we went here for our meal. Everything was delicious. We had free dips and bread, I had prawns in chilli which were really hot, my husband had bean soup. We both had mixed grill which was absolutely beautifully cooked and so tender. I had a strange pudding which sounds revolting but was gorgeous. Puff pastry in milk with vanilla and raisins, baked in the oven. I loved it and the staff were really pleasant and attentive. The meal itself was about £60 for two but the wine cost us about £50. Soho Square is really laid back, no one hassles you at all.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueC023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing