We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as we had thought !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Magic Resort and Spa
Ranked #172 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as bad as we had thought !!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Having read all the negative reviews we set off very apprehensive but it wasn't as bad as some had written. The Hotel is dated but the complex is amazing and very well set out. The rooms are of a good size but not a size to be certified 5*. The decor is tired with tiles chipped, this is purely down to Sea Magic NOT DOING MAINTENANCE ! it does not in any way detract from the fact the rooms were kept very clean throughout our stay. Pyramisa have taken back control and there are very clear signs that they are getting on top off the mess Sea Magic left.
Staff are all attentive (some more so than others if you have teenagers with you !!!) and polite. The animation team were OK but with limited resource and some areas closed they did their best.
The hotel during our stay (17 July - 31st July) was only 27% occupied and therefore only 3 of the 7 restaurants were open the amphitheatre was closed so all a bit of a disappointment and we would question whether we were mis sold this holiday !! perhaps On The Beach could comment !
The food :- now this is where it becomes a disappointment , to put it bluntly is was POOR !. Breakfast is Ok and that's about it!! thank goodness for McDonalds and TGI Fridays.
Despite all of the above we had a good time and with some changes and modernisation and some cooking expertise we would go back.
IT IS NOT AS BAD AS PREVIOUS REVIEWS !! Just enjoy and ignore the Russians and Poles !

Room Tip: If you don't like the first room tell them !! they don't bite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandIain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    158
    123
    82
    76
See reviews for
148
227
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here in August 2011 with my Mum, my 18 month old little boy and some family friends who had children aged 8 and 11. We arrived late at night, checking was very quick and staff very friendly and efficient, the rooms were clean and the air con worked, also very spacious with a good view of the gardens.

Breakfast was ok, nothing amazing but good for all inclusive, lots of choice. Lunch and dinner were the same really, meals were usually themed so there was different things on every night but after 10 days we were all looking forward to getting home! The pool is massive and there are slides for the kids in a different pool area, a wave pool as well. There is a gym and a spa which are nice. I had a massage which was good and used the gym a few times.

The hotels about a 20 minute taxi ride to the centre of sharm and about 10 minutes from the airport, overall we had a good holiday and had no problems at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missvalentine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

we have just yesterday come back from a 10 day trip to the pyramisa hotel and i have to say i do not understand where half of these bad reviews have come from!! we absolutely enjoyed every single minute of this trip!! it has the best location ever...literally 10 minutes from the airport....we could see the planes take off and land at sharm el sheikh but there was very minimal noise!! we arrived at about 10pm and straight away we were welcomed by the reception staff who was very quick in checking us in and sorting our room. we then got the open bus down to our sea view room with a porter taking our cases. we were in room 8009 which was the last layer of rooms before the beach. when we got there we were pleasantly surprised!! we had a superior sea view room with a king size bed, our porter brought our cases in our room and shown us everything in our room from the wardrobe to the mini fridge.....we were very impressed!! the entire room was spotless, the bed was freshly made, everything worked.....the only down point was the bathroom which was slightly dated but who cares?! it was clean and did what it was supposed to so it didnt matter to us!! we had air con in our room and we always had a quiet night sleep!! that night we ventured to explore the complex and on our way back were helped by the security dotted around the complex to make sure we all felt safe and secure!! the next morning we were impressed by our sea view room directly onto the beach!! we spent all day at the la speranza pool which was clean and very calm and relaxed. overall both pools were extremel;y clean and looked after!! the food in al sakyia was impressive. presented extremely well.....maybe a bit repetetive but you cant expect burgers and chips!! my fiances birthday was the 1st july and room service sent down a complimentary birthday cake for us to share which was lovely!! everything was clean and all the restaurant and bar staff served us extremely quickly and were all very very nice!! best part of our trip was definately the people especially our room cleaner who always made us lovely bed decorations like flowers, a swan and best of all a crocodile!! and the main pool bar man Ahmed who was absolutely lovely and always made sure we were kept up with drinks etc. i wouldnt personally recomend the chinese restaurant not alot at all to choose from and was not busy but still made us book in advance!! the animation team were lovely especially becca and ricky from england who were very chatty. our holiday rep ahmed was there every day at half 2 to help us with anything i.e trips and excursions etc. drink lots and lots of water as i collapsed with severe dehydration and the complex medical centre charged a lot of money (£575!!) eko the photographer was lovely and well worth the money we paid for great photos. overall a very friendly, clean, relaxing but fun place to be!! if you want to be picky about things such as the pools too cold (blah blah blah) then go to the hilton but i would definately reccomend this place to anyone who is not picky or stook up and we are looking forward to going back asap!!

Room Tip: beach view rooms i.e 8001-8012 are top class rooms!! right next to the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alice j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days and was worried because of the bad reviews but it was lovely and couldn't complain. The hotel was lovely and clean and all the staff were really friendly. The food was nice but it was the same every day so it got boring but there was a Chinese and Indian restaurant which were really nice. The animation team were really friendly and helpful (Ricky, Oleg, Alex, Becca and Captain). We had a problem where our water went yellow but staff were really good and handled it well although it seemed to bring massive cockroaches into the hotel room. It was a big hotel so from the main pool to the beach was a bit tiring as there was quite a lot of stairs, but there was a shuttle bus that runs frequently which was very handy. Overall I couldn't fault the hotel it really was lovely. The only thing is that you get hassled around the pool but you can put a flag down on your sun shade which stops them from hassling you. Would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is our second visit to the Sea Magic resort, and whilst it was disappointing that only a few restaurants were open we still had a lovely time. The weather was beautiful and hot, sometimes too hot but if your sensible in the sun you will be fine. Yes the food is very repetitive but you will always find something to eat, so you won't starve! We had a superior room which was ok the hotel overall needs some updating, the staff are all lovely and very helpful, We had a few cockroaches in our room but their more scared of us than we are of them. The snorkelling was good we would swim from one pontoon to the other you do need some coral shoes tho as you might get a nip from a few fish!!!!! We would go back again as we feel that you get value for your money, and some of the other reviews are quite harsh. I wouldn't rate the hotel as a five star, more a three. If money was spent on the hotel then gradually it would regain it's five star status!!! Have fun in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

having visited here some 18 or so years ago when new I thought I would return. Bad idea. The rooms have not been changed in all this time. They are badly in need of a refurb. Lots of things were broken (wardrobe doors,display unit glass,toilet not flushing,bathroom ceiling leaking when above floor showered) I could go on but what really got me down was the lack of food. This hotel boasts 7 restaraunts and yes there are but only the main buffet and 2 a la carte were open. Hence you either paid extra or ate what was on offer in the main buffet. The food here was ,for the whole, barely passable. Then you have the odd snack bar which consists of fruit. The hot food at the beach was ok but exactly the same every single day(I kid you not) The animation team never spoke english, hence you never knew what was going on or where. The main areas were kept clean and the staff were very friendly. I am not a drinker so cant comment on that. I did ask if I could keep my room on as my flight home had been changed and was told I could and this would cost me 30euros. All I needed was somewhere to shower and change. I had met a couple from Kent and they let me use their room many thanks to them. Now I hadnt eaten their food nor drunk their beer, the site was only 1/3 full (hence restaraunts closed) and they want to charge me for a shower-I think not. I am told by a member of staff that in 2 months this site is being bought by a russian firm and being totally renavoted-not before time in my view but beware- whilst there is some sort of food choice for all now- there wont be after. Never again and a total shame as the site is fantastic.

Room Tip: bottom of site nice but restaraunt ther not in use
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzylizzy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Spend a fortnights holiday at sea magic last month, as from the 1st of may the hotel goes back to being called the pyramisa but staff were staying it will run just the same.we travelled as two adults and two children 13 and 11.Our room was very nice down overlooking the sea we had interconecting rooms which we didn,t expect to have room numbers 5108 and 5109 room was cleaned every day so no complaints. I Think the rooms with in the main hotel are not as good this is what people were saying.The food is ok I Would say the main restaurant is not great and you always have to queue,but what makes this hotel good is you have many other nice places to eat.we booked the chinese more than once no bother. we also eat at the sea food restaurant very good value for money. The bars at night are a bit boring but the waiters are always bringing your drinks . The swim up bar is very nice my husband liked the ice cold bottled beer.The animation team are not bothered about the english same goes for the kids club. The resort is huge the gardens and beach are very nice and the staff are all fantastic so this makes the hotel. we really enjoyed our stay would not return but thats because we like to try other hotels in sharm. If you have booked you will enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsfuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.0 mi away
Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh...
#141 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
#101 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Domina King's Lake Resort
Domina King's Lake Resort
#124 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Domina Coral Bay Elisir Hotel
Domina Coral Bay Elisir Hotel
#59 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Look Hotels International
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Lo...
#104 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
#10 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Magic Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Magic Resort and Spa

Property: Sea Magic Resort and Spa
Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Magic Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Magic Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing