We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a
Nearby Hotels
$71
$63
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$300
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$75
$68
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$58
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel(Sharm El Sheikh)(Great Value!)
$50
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$182
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveler rating
452
110
39
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
110
39
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sonestanaama bayamazing hotelspecial thanksanimation teampoolssunbedssharmholidaybidetguyswaiterssunbathing
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 624 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Just back from staying here and despite the excellent and charming manager, I must warn future guests that this is not a hotel in the normal sense of the word.
In adverts including web, Sonesta fail to point out that this "hotel" is actually a new VIP type, or "club" building at the rear of the Sonesta Beach Hotel. It has few normal hotel facilities, no restaurant of its own, and a long and confusing walk to the beach through the Beach Hotel grounds.
Its all a shame because the rooms are excellent and the Royale pools are truly beautiful ! Then its downhill....their advertising still does not point out that the Gondola Italian restaurant has ceased and guests paying the high Royale price - for that extra
bit of style and luxury - have only the buffet Dome restaurant at the Sonesta Beach (with
dreadful service and very sad food, the cause of tummy troubles) or the North African cuisine one. We only tried one of the bars - the other was full of drunken Scots watching loud football and breaking the plastic chairs - but the pina colada on offer tasted as vile as paint stripper !!
What the Royale needs is its own quality cafe and a truly good international restaurant. The manager was telling me they intend to open an Indian next. This may suit some guests. We found an excellent ala carte Italian at the Marriott (their beach bar also does
good burgers and snacks like fish `n chips).
If you want to go to Sharm and have a top class holiday right by the beach I recommend
you try the Marriott for its central position, good mix of restaurants and tummy-trouble-free food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankthring2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Would totally agree with the comments posted in last review (TOmmie). The hotel is of a high standard (We're fussy!) and will not disappoint. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The bathroom is of a very high standard. There are three pools to choose from, none of which you could fault. We found every member of staff to be helpful, courteous and kind. In particular, we would like to mention the staff at the pool bar ( unlike many of the guests, we were not all inclusive, and consequently spent quite a bit of time there.) These guys simply made our holiday and nothing was too much trouble. Apart from the quick and efficient service, they were a wealth of knowledge and had us laughing every day. The bar might not be the cheapest, but we didn't begrudge a penny!

However, we did feel that the hotel would benefit from having a restaurant on site. Breakfast was at "La Gondola" which is actually situated in the sister hotel next door (Sonesta Beach - All Inc. ). This hotel has a very different ambience and doesn't quite seem in keeping with the Royale. The food at breakfast was fine, although nothing special. (Would have preferred stronger coffee and a choice of water as well as fruit juice.) The staff, however, were fantastic.

The food at the pool bar was nice enough, although I would have preferred more choice. They basically offer a selection of baguettes, whilst i would have preferred some salads or fish dishes. But that's just my personal preference.

All in all, we would be happy to return to this hotel. There is very little to fault. The gardens are out of this world, and the staff concerned should be highly complimented. They work extremely hard.
As do the housekeeping staff. Our room was spotless every day.
No problems at reception either. Thank you!

Finally, we would like to extend a very personal thank you to the boys at the pool bar.
Sameh, Hamed, Mohammed and Adel - Thank you for making our holiday so special. You are wonderful amdassadors for your hotel. And for the Egyptian people. Shokran.
We will be in touch soon. i & p

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackierussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

First off: The Sonesta "le Royale" (Royal) is located on the resort site of the Sonesta Beach resort (not Club, which is accross the street) Guests of Royale can use the amenities of Beach (and Club vice versa) but not the other way around. Le Royale is only accessible for its own guests. This guarantees exclusiveness and also maintains peace and quiet. Upon checkin we were greeted with the utmost courteousness. We recieved a cold towel and a welcome drink after which we were escorted to our room. Offcourse our suitceses were delivered there also. The room was of the standard type, but still it had all the luxory you would need. It was spacious and very clean. A king bed (boxspring) which prooved to sleep very well, and a desk with chairs. There was also a comfy chair with feetrest a comode with a 42" flatscreen and a DVD player. Plenty of space to put your clothes. The minibar was not so cold and as allways, pricy. (Heineken can 0,33 $8) Next to the wardrobe there was another one with an electronic safe, large enough to fit a laptop. The air conditioner is controlled by a wall mounted unit and worked really well. Then, the bathroom: A bidet, a toilet, a bath and a shower. Two sinks, mounted in a table and a reaaly good enlarging shaving mirror. Mirrors all around too.
Tha balcony was large also (2,5 by 4,5 meters) and had two nice chars and a table. Depending on you location you will pretty much allways overlook one of the 3 pools. The whole room is keycard controlled. You are given one towel card each and you know what they are for. Because we checked in during the evening, it wasn't untill the next morning when we saw the beauty of the whole complex. It truly is amazing how much effort was put into this hotel. Everything looks nice and inviting. It had a luxorious feel about it. They play music in the whole outside part of the complex which adds to the admosphere. (ambient, jazzy, mellow) All day (and night!) long, gardeners are busy and every entrance has a guard with a spy port. You have to wear a plastic bracelet so staff can tell if you are a guest or not. Staff will run for you and, as everywhere in Egypt, will run even faster if you tip a bit every now and then.

There was an incident with noise after ramadan ended: Some large Saudi family decided they that the rules of behaviour and beiing quiet did not apply to them. This was made knowledgeable to the front office manager. We were offered another room right away, which we declined. But the matter was taken seriously and acted upon. So this goes to say that they really do listen to you.
I would give 4 out of 5 for sleep quality (we lost some sleep over the noise) but I still give 5 out of 5 because of the outstanding beds that I'd like to have at home too.

3 pools with chaise-longues, for you to choose. Offcourse with an umbrella. Should you require anything, you just make you request and staff responds in the best possible way.
There is a slight downer, if you would call it that. The hotel is situated right under the final approach leg of the airport. Now this means that every now and then an aircraft will fly over. Not the whole day long: sometimes 5 in an hour, sometimes 3 hours none. But because they are all landing, throttle is in flight idle mode so the noise is hardly worth mentioning and in 10 seconds they are gone anyway. Did not bother us.
You are permitted the use of a separate beach part. Now this is great because you get a lot more space then the guests of the Sonesta beach who'se sunbeds are cramped together. This beachpart is watched every now and then to see if no other people use it and if so, they are sent away.

So, if you would like to be pampered and have your holiday in a safe and luxorious environment, stay here. You will not be disappointed. I shall also write something about the beach resort because that is where you walk through going to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0mmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We had a nice stay. we are completely relaxed. If we could we came back tomorrow.
We think for any couple who likes a quiet vacantion without to much noise the Royale
is excellent. Family with kids however will find this to quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita50005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews