We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous holiday experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Ranked #81 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just returned from a one week holiday at Le Royale, fabulous luxurious hotel - Le Royale is far superior to the sonesta beach hotel and I would advise to pay the extra and enjoy the benefits of Le Royale, staff were helpful and friendly, food although a little repetitive was good and you never went hungry. Drinks on the all inclusive package were not premium brands but of course you expect that and I had no real gripes about the drinks I had. Room was superb, luxurious and bathroom was really gorgeous, super soft comfy beds, did`nt want to leave. Tariq security guy was so lovely and friendly and a real pleasure to converse with. Take a cardi for the evenings as it does tend to get a little chilly but other than that weather beautiful, warm and just the right antedote to our british winter weather. We looked at lots of resorts before booking le royale and I am so glad that I took note of the great feedback on tripadvisor - i was not disappointed. Jill Tolley

Room Tip: As far as I could see the swim up rooms looked great but the sun did move around and the pool was in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    108
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
107
358
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I took my mature parents to Le Royale - we had rooms next to Caesars pool they were beautiful large and very comfortable no complaints there at all. Two members to thank highly for their attention and friendlyness Taha Messed (manager) and Tarek (security). the staff in general cant do enough for you. The raised area at the beach looked very nice but for us too many steps/high ramp to get to it. If you have any mobility issues then the la gondola restaurant which is for le royale guests only can be a trek thrice daily and the beach/paper stall an outing. The only down side which the hotel can do nothing about is the size of beach area - if the beach is your main thing on holiday this hotel isnt for you. If you want to be pampered looked after in wonderful surroundings by wonderful staff then stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

When a 5 star hotel delegate its catering to his sister hotel, there might be problems in the air. The Royale has a wonderful setting with fantastic rooms. You feel upon arriving in a jewelry box. Nevertheless, small technical problems make you realize that this is not heaven. toilets were blocked from the begining, and got blocked 3 times over the week; the cleaner would forget to leave cups for coffee or forget simply to leave enough coffee for two guests.

But for me the main problem was catering. Having choice in externalised eating places, of one a la carte restaurant (after three evenings eating there you are totally fed up with the menu) and various buffet places, serving all meals the same food over and over again, one almost gets nausea just thinking on where and what to eat on the next meal. We even run out one night to eat outside.
Last but not least, bear in mind that the beach is distant of +/- 300 meters, is exremely tiny, and even if the Royale has a private terrasse overlooking the Sonesta beach, you will have to cross half the population of Moscow to reach the water.

Room Tip: Ask rooms facing the Central pool, heated and close to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucacito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonestasharm, Executive Secretary at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Lucacito,

Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor.

Will certainly address your issues to the departments concerned, yet would like to clarify certain comments

Kindly be informed in our fact sheet and website allows our guests can use all the 4 swimming pools located in Le Royale and also the Byblos bar that serves Snacks, Lunch, and late dinner besides, La Gondola restaurant that is exclusive for Le Royale guests serving breakfast, Lunch and dinner which is just three minutes walk from Le Royale located in Sonesta beach our sister hotel (Which is a Five star hotel). Guests also have the choice to eat in Casablanca (Ala carte serving Lebanese food is part of the all inclusive concept. Tandoori & La Gondola restaurant Ala carte serving at extra charge, in addition to the normal buffet restaurants Citadel & Le Dome.
Le Royale guests also have the privilege to use all the facilities of our sister hotel such as all the bars, restaurants as well as 7 other swimming pools besides the 4 at le royale

Regarding the coffee cups just maybe an oversight yet have already informed the concerned
Guests are advised not to throw paper waste inside the toilet causing blockage due to the toilet seat insulation

A private and exclusive area for Le Royale guests is located in the upper area of the beach and it is spacious for guest convenience

We hope that we will see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

just back from le royalle sharm el sheikh had a great time.the staff at the hotel just couldn,t do enough to make the stay enjoyable.with 10 minute walk into the nightlife of nama bay well worth re booking.you have to see the display the chefs put on for new years eve,brilliant.well done chefs.

Room Tip: we had 1st floor rooms looking over one of the pools not a great deal of sun on veranda but quiet.i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear keith r

Thank you for your review , we are happy you spend your new year at our resort and had a great time , we hope we can host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tottenham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just back from 6 nights at Le Royale where we had a premier room which was well appointed. All staff were very good indeed. Restaurants were a fair walk from our room but food quality and service was good. If you fancy dining off the menu rather than having the buffet, be prepared for a 30 minute wait as the chef really does cook everything for you, from fresh. Wi Fi and other IT issues were handled well by Ibrahim on the front desk. The pool attendant was helpful, also ensuring pool quality was good and the landscaped gardens were attended to every day; they were immaculate. Some tips about the area: prepared to be hustled by cab drivers everywhere away from the hotel; DO NOT get twisted out of cash at the airport by taxi drivers who ask you for £25 English for the ride to the hotel; the real cost should be 80 Egyptian pounds (about £8); many tourists go down with a tummy bug irrespective of where they stay or eat; all inclusive deals encourages over drinking and greediness from many tourists. The over eating won't cause problems but some of the visitors who get drunk can be a nuisance. We saw one English woman collapse in a very drunken state during the afternoon prompting attention and concern from many. A few hours later, she was back at dinner prancing around like a diva. We also saw a man so drunk mid morning, he needed to hug a tree to stand up! The manners of some tourists were frankly quite rude.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Stephen P

Thank you for your nice review , I am sure our readers will benefit from the good tips you mentioned , we hope to see you again soon at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

As a returning customer many times, Le Royale Sonesta and the Sonesta Beach resort always deliver an excellent service. The staff are very sub-servant, helpful and friendly and the management are always very proactive towards feedback.

The choice of food is great, the rooms are lovely, the beds are lush and Le Royale has a lovely relaxing ambiance. The facilities of both hotels compliment each other.

The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance along the beach-front promenade into Naama Bay.

Having just spent Christmas in Le Royale we had a very relaxing and enjoyable visit and as
usual this would not have been possible without the following staff looking after us and making us feel like royalty. So massive thank-you to Taha the Front House Manager, Ibrahim Mousa, Mohammed Hassan, Adel all on reception. The brilliant Chef Ibrahim at the Byblos Bar and bar staff Karim and Ahmed Ajef, our house keeper Reda and pool attendant Momen.

At the heated Cactus Pool in Sonesta Beach, a special mention must go to Rashad Ali who is very hard working, tries to keep everyone happy, has learned 5 languages and delivers an excellent service as the Pool Attendant extraordinaire.

A visit to the health Club for a massage is a must too.

Also if you get the opportunity the new Sonesta Group hotel called the 'Royal Holiday' across the road from the entrance of the Royale is worth a visit.....

Whether it be the Le Royale or Sonesta Beach - we recommend both, so go and experience and enjoy!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geordiejock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Geordiejock2014

Thank you for your lovely review and for recommending our resort , we are happy you had a great time , we will pass on your nice comments to our colleagues I am sure they will be very happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This is my second trip to Sharm El Sheikh. I would have enjoyed to come again like April as January the weather is fine but sometimes too cold. It is a very nice hotel, calm and private. The staff was very good and helpful though the Byblos pool bar staff weren't that pleasant and sometimes for room service etc they would be too demanding for a very high tip that they even don't get change and like get upset if you ask for your change back. Like one situation was ordered a soup it was like 32 Egyptian pound. I gave him a 100 and he was like do you want the rest back? And was like upset and I was ofcourse going to give him his tip. But other than that all was very good and also a good location of the hotel. I do recommend for you travelers to stay at le royale. Enjoy ;)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rami1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Rami1709

Thank you for taking the time to write this review , I am happy you enjoyed your accommodation and that you are recommending our resort , I will report the tips issue now to the management and be sure that this is not going to happen again .I hope to see you soon at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#31 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#14 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#57 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Re...
#58 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort

Property: Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Address: 3 Royale Drive | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, is a boutique property on the Red Sea.The resorts is a winner of the 2015 Tripadvisor award for luxury resort. The resort offers 165 oversized luxurious guest rooms and spectacular suites with upscale amenities and opulent finishes. The resort features 3 magnificent pools and 2 of them are heated in winter from November 1st till April 30th.The resort has a fine-dining Italian restaurant, bars, and lushly landscaped gardens.A Health Club is available at the Sonesta Club across the road .Just 10 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing