We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Ranked #90 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Prudhoe
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peacefully Perfect”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel was spotless and we got the peaceful retreat we were after. The staff cannot do enough for you and the rooms were spacious with excellent bathrooms. We arrived on the 20th March so the first half of the week was quiet and had an air of exclusivity. With three lovely pools to sit around, the middle one being heated was a joy. The only problem during the day is that because of the layout, early afternoon sees a shade across one half of the pool. When the hotel was quiet this wasn't a problem as there were plenty of beds. However, come the weekend when it filled up the beds were claimed before eight in the morning. This is not the fault of the hotel but I have stayed elsewhere where they are quick to remove towels from beds. There was one occassion where a party of four had their four beds claimed but were spotted at the beach in the morning, clearly planning to have the beds on their return. The only other problem that seriously lets the hotel down is having no restaurant. Although only a five minute walk into the Sonesta Beach sister hotel, the fact that you have to go all that way to eat in the middle of a 4 star hotel is a bit lame. There is a restaurant solely for the Royale guests but it is the same food served as the other two buffet styles. Bland food but acceptable and a varied choice. The last weird observation is that it is very dark at night. There seem to be lovely lights set into the grass along the pathways but they are not very good. Sitting outside in the restaurant for the Royals was also so dark you could not see what you were eating, illuminated by a very poor tea-light. If they are going for the romantic setting they have not quite got it right. The other restaurants had actual lamps at their tables. Surely for the 5 star restaurant this could be achieved? Drinks at the pool bar was certainly a nice way to finish off the evening as there were a fine array of cocktails on offer. I think though that if they want to be at the top of the 5 star ratings there has to be free Wi-Fi and a free mini-bar. I shouldn't comment on the availability of the Spa as once we had seen the outside we wanted nothing to do with it. It is located near the beach on the edge of the sister hotel and looked very dreary. Still, overall, very clean, no sickness and I would say a week before Easter is a perfect time to go for the weather.

Room Tip: We did not request anything but our room on the second floor was very quiet, even the second part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CairnsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    108
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
107
359
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

From the moment our taxi arrived at the gates of the Hotel the service we received could not have been bettered. We were welcomed with face cloths to refresh ourselves, a delightful fruit drink, a very courteous personal welcome by the Front Office Manager whilst we registered and within minutes we were in our beautiful room into which the luggage had already been taken. The rooms were of the highest standard with balconies, wide screen TV's, mini-bars, beautiful bathrooms and there were pools galore (2 heated). The food was of the highest order and the variety was fantastic.
The courtesies and friendliness was endemic amongst the staff whether this be in the bars, restaurants, pools, etc., and this continued until our bags had been loaded into the awaiting taxi and we were whisked back to the Airport.
This all may sound a little over-the-top but we could not fault any of the services or facilities - a true delight these days.
Would we return? Without doubt.
A great big thank you to all the staff at Le Royale who helped make this a holiday to remember.
Sandra & Peter Hewitt.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pools are the most sought after whilst other rooms enjoy a little extra quietn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Peter H

And a big thank you from Le Royale team for your lovely and nice review , it s always our pleasure to read that our staff contributed in making your vacation a memorable one . Can not wait to host you again at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

What can be said that we haven't said already. This place pushes all our buttons in everyway! Second visit in six months and going back for a third shortly enough said!

There is no point in waxing lyrical just go and enjoy.

In order that we ensure that we don't miss any thankyous to all the hard working guys that make the place what it is here goes. Thanks to Mohammed, Mohammed, Mohammed, Mohammed, Mohammed, Mohammed, Abdel, Abdel and of course Taha! May goodness shine on you all see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Jezdeb,

It is great to know that you are visiting us for the second time in such a short period , we are very happy and proud of our staff because they helped in making you feel comfortable , we will thank our team for you and be sure they will be happy to see you for the third time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have been on holiday to Sharm many times & can honestly say we love the place. The people of Egypt are lovely people to spend time with. Having stayed at the Sonesta Beach three times before my husband decided to surprise me with a return early March, this time to Le Royale. It was heaven. From the way you are greeted on arrival with the fruit cocktail & the very refreshing face cloths. The reception staff smiling & very efficient. Before you know it your in the very clean large room. The added touch of the fresh fruit platter is very nice & welcoming.
My husband had e.mailed before hand requesting a ground floor room leading onto one of the pools, when the patio door was opened our terrace was oh so large with our own relaxing sunbeds. I must thank Ayamn Saad who made it possible. That was the icing on the cake for me.

From day one we were made to feel so relaxed,the staff at Le-Royale cannot do enough for you, from the fluffy towels put onto the sunbeds every morning to the cappachino on tap. I have a problem with being intolerrant to fat, the hotel made sure I had skimmed milk behind the bar & a carton in our room,they only haved to be informed & they make every effort to have it right for you. Oh did I say the supplied slippers are really warm soft & comfortable when the winter evening goes a bit chilly, My only thought to the rooms, maybe a rug on the marble floor might be nice, the bed, well is so comfortable you never want to get out of it, I could have took it home.

I don't think we can put individual names down for recommendation, everybody in the complex deserves a very well done & thankyou. The cleaners work efficiently behind the scenes to make all correct in your room,reception & behind the bars down to the gardeners clipping & cleaning all day everyday, the bar & dining staff to the chefs. Every morning though the chef at Le Gondola would make my husband a wonderful breakfast, what it was I know not, but he enjoyed every drop of it with the chef smiling on looking.
I always managed to find something to eat, the salad crisp &freshly prepared every meal, I only wish I could have tried the deserts but I have it on very good authority (my husband) the food was wonderful. The deserts where to die for. Everywhere was so clean. As I said ALL the staff work very efficiently,quietly behind the scenes. I have raived so much since being home our very good friends are going to book for next year & I would tell everybody to go to Le Royale, but then there will not be enough rooms left for us when we want to go again, because go we will be back.. infact we will not stay anywhere else now.

We met some really wonderful people whilst we where there, Debbis & Dunc, sorry never got your names (Mr & Mrs Elgin) my hubby's nickname for them, A very lovely Dutch couple, We must say hello to Fadi & his family, thankyou all for making our holiday a very memorable one.

To all the staff at Le-Royale thankyou for being very proffessional at all times, friendly without being overbearing, the smiles on your faces everymorning or evening we felt were genuine.

I would recommend you all to go, you will not regret it
From Mr & Mrs John.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size. All the rooms are quiet. a/c no problem with noise more sun for longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyatMexicans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Have just returned from a lovely holiday with fantastic weather.From entering Le Royale one could not fail to be impressed with its appearance.Everything spotlessly clean and a wonderful greeting.We were given a cocktail, and booked in with no fuss and extreme efficiency.Mohammed El Said, who is the greatest asset the hotel could have, then took us to our rooms which were exactly as we had requested and more.The rooms are so beautifully furnished and equiped and again so clean. Beds and pillows so comfortable and I think the best we have had in Egypt.The pool attendant Mohammed, at the Byblos pool,is a wonderful worker and does all he can to make your stay perfect, as are the Security Guards between the two complexes. Again the maintainance staff are very efficient and come as soon as they are required.Now to our only area of disappointment - dining! at the La Gondola. It is the first hotel we have been to where one has to go outside to collect your main meal ( other than for a bar-b-que) which to my mind creates a lot of people wandering in and out.The food was of a great standard, thank you Khaled, but sadly on three occasions was cold, all of it! The biggest problem is the lack of waiters.There were too few of them trying to cope with too many people, and their individual requests.They should not have to be responsible for filling up the depleted food as well as trying to clear and set up tables. Here again the hardest worker was Mohammed Moustaffa who tried to fulfill everyones needs. All the staff are so friendly and kind and go out of their way to help.Come on Le Royale - with just a little more thought this really could be the five star that it is billed as !! Our thanks to the Reception Staff who did all they could to help in many ways and attended to our needs, efficiently and courteously and to the Manager,Taha Messed, for facilitating my pre arrival requests.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of a similar standard.Room 5155 gets the afternoon sun and overlooks the Bybl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbaraess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel or its staff to fellow holiday makers. It is the perfect hotel to be relaxed, chilled and spoilt. The staff cannot do enough for you and are there on hand with a friendly smile. We stayed in a room around the Babylon bar and pool , which we nicknamed Mohammeds pool. He took such great care of this area. The bar is open 24 hrs but is not noisy. The staff are amazing!! The hotel itself has 10 pools, some are heated and all are spotlessly clean. The rooms are very elegant with quality fuirniture and a superking bed which was so comfortable, sheets were changed everyday. The food was very good with plenty of choice, I would recommend dining at the Tandoori restaurant!!!! I would recommend the "Le Royal" part of Sonesta Beach for couples, mature groups and older families and the other Sonesta Beach part of the hotel for families with smaller children. I would not hesitate in going here again and actually had a little weep when I had to check out :-(((

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron9966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Sonesta last year and was impressed with the hotel but took note of the reviews of Le Royale which is a semi secret area within the same complex. Le Royale is without doubt a fantastic hotel with better quality furnishings, pool area and facilitating the ability to relax. It is a higher standard than the norm and well worth the extra. We had emailed the hotel in advance with our room preference and for a Taxi pick up which were both managed to our expectation. Mohamed Hassan and Ibrahim Hiekel at reception were great, always smiling and managed my many requests, including arranging delivery of Anniversary flowers to the room. Special thanks to Mohamed Elsaid whose unique style of showing you your room and the hotel facilities was not just entertaining but informative. Room 5053 has many advantages (own sun beds, large patio area, same level as pool and gets late sun). Apologies for not getting his name but the pool attendant was brilliant in making sure everything was ok. Service from the 24 hour (yes thats not a mistype) 24 hr bar was exceptional and the bar food just awesome. As I am talking food the La Gondola offered excellant choice and so much good food I ended up have little bits of everything. The Spinach in cream was to die for, Chef Khaled has certainly brought a high standard to this restaurant. Location is good and we regularly walked into Narma Bay along the front. Special event at the hotel was the Seafood meal at the beach bar which offered lobster, salmon, and mega prawns mixed with Spanish Guitarist, belly dancer and a dervish. We will be going back, without question as it is hard to beat perfection, well you could by offering wine outside of meal times but that is a very minor niggle on an very well run hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms 2051, 2053, 2055 all offer bigger patio area and get late sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryandSueWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,062 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Club
Sonesta Club
#116 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Nubian Island Hotel
Nubian Island Hotel
#51 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
#78 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Royal Holiday Resort
Le Royal Holiday Resort
#33 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort

Property: Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Address: 3 Royale Drive | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#84 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, is a boutique property on the Red Sea.The resorts is a winner of the 2015 Tripadvisor award for luxury resort. The resort offers 165 oversized luxurious guest rooms and spectacular suites with upscale amenities and opulent finishes. The resort features 3 magnificent pools and 2 of them are heated in winter from November 1st till April 30th.The resort has a fine-dining Italian restaurant, bars, and lushly landscaped gardens.A Health Club is available at the Sonesta Club across the road .Just 10 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing