We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Ranked #90 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La royal sonesta”
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Just come back from 12 days at La Royal Sonesta.

The hotel is very luxurious and is certainly 5 star.
The hotel is very clean and the rooms are very comfortable. All rooms look on to a pool and
You can upgrade to a premier room with a shared walk in pool. Staff are very friendly and helpfully. The hotel is quiet so if you want peace and quiet this is the place.

Now the bad points.

The hotel does not have any restaurants within its ground. There's is a pool bar which is ok during the day and have a limited lunch menu which could be better.

All meals are at the sonesta club next door which is really only a 3.0 star resort. The main restaurant is the all you can eat buffet at the citadel. If you eat in any of th other restaurants
You have to pay, although if you are full board you get a 20% discount.

There gym is across the busy main road at another hotel called club 2000. This is a one star

Gym With three peaces of equipment. Not worth the trip.

A five star hotel should have five star restaurant and it's own facilities on site.

Therefore this is only a 4 star hotel.

If food is not important to you then it is 5 star hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank qwertn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    108
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
107
359
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

It took me some time to find the right hotel for this first holiday with my girlfriend and finally we decided upon the Le royale Sonesta and we are very glad we did.

I looked at the reviews before booking and felt there was some contradiction between them. Some saying it was not 5 star and others saying it was. I want to put everyones minds at rest with this review and point out everything that needs to be said so others can make the decision without being too worried.

We chose this hotel over over 5 star resorts as we wanted a bit more of a boutique, smaller hotel compared to some of the other cast and huge resorts in sharm.

I would describe "Le Royale" as others have as the boutique 5 star wing for the whole of the Sonesta group of hotels in this resort. It is situated next door the Sonesta Beach resort which is a huge complex.

What has to be made clear are the dining options for Le Royale guests which seems to be the main talking point on these reviews. Le Royale has no private main restaurant for its own guests but gusts have to walk along connecting paths into the Sonests beach resort. It can be quite confusing and it took us a few days before we knew exacly where we were going. There are signposts directing you around but i think there should be a few more. The walk can be about 10 mins along these paths to either the all inclusive Le Dome or the Citadel restaurants and to the Tandoori and Le Gondola and Casablanca where u would have to pay but Le royale guests get discounts I believe. We only took breakfast, lunch or dinner in Le dome/ Citadel and they offer a huge selection of buffet food. These restaurants serve ALL guests for the 3 Sonesta hotels and can be busy. This is were ppl maybe be finding faults as being guests of Le Royale they may think they shouldnt have to eat or share restaurants with the other guests, many who are families with young children who arnt paying for the exclusiveness of the the Royale - however this is just the way it is. There were lots of options and I found it to be of good quality and was happy. Breakfast finishes at 10am in the main reastauratns but guests are allowed room service untill 11am free of charge which we made use of when we wanted a lie in.

Le Royalle does have it owns bar at its main Pool called Byblos and you are able to get breakfast lunch and dinner here but the choice is limited. Its certainly and option if you=r just chilling by pool and dont fancy walking to the main restaurants in the sister resort. We had lunch her nearly everyday, and while it was either tuna, chicken sandwiches, burgers or fish and chips its was delightful, We based ourselves here every day. Special mention goes out to Islam and Ibrahim who had our bed and towels ready everyday before we arrived and Fawzay and his colleagues behind the bar who kept us well hydrated and fed throughout the week,. Thank you guys.

Other notable mentions are that LE royale is in absolutley immaculate condition. The grounds are beautiful and so clean. Our room 5017 in the corner is beautifl and probably the best ive ever stayed in and I have travelled all over the world. We had approx 40 inch tv with lots of channels and great movie and sport channels. The bed was the best ive ever slept in. I belive ibrahim was our cleaner and he was excellent. One day leaving petals on the bed, the other a fantastic towel crocodile creation. He tended to our room twice a day if we needed and kept the place lovely.

You can walk to Naam bay centre along the beach in about 20 mins ro a short taxi ride was costing us about 15 Egyptian pounds

I only have a cpl of things that i think Le Royale could improve on. That is the Wifi siuation which is not included and guests have to pay to buy a pass. I think this should be included and the prices were quite high.

There was no entertainment or really anywhere LE royale guests could hang out of at in the actuial Le royale complex. The pool bar was open but we saw hardly any guests there of an evening. Guest had to go into the sister resort for any entertainment.

Reviews have mentioned about the resort being noisy but we really did not notcice this at all. Planes do fly over but this did not affect us at all. Our room was in the far corner and we also did not hear the nose from the main road.

There are 3big pools at the le Royale, with the main one being heated so was like a bath!! Not many people around during our stay and it was like we had the whole hotel to ourselves!!

I saw that one reviewer was unfortunate enough to have there room broken into and there stuff taken from safe etc, Id like to point out I forgot to lock our safe one day with our passports, watches, ipods, cameras and money etc inside. We came back to the room, which had been cleaned while we were away and everything was still in place. Then in the evening, reception came and knocked to point out that it was reported our safe was open and was everything ok with the contents so our maid had seen it and reported it back to our superiors to let us know. Thnak you so much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dansilkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in early April 2012, and I have to say it is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The actual hotel grounds, swimming pools and accommodation is second to none, it was a real 5 star treat for me and the family. We opted for a triple room which was perfect for 2 adults and 2 children (7 and 1). The rooms had 3 double beds draped in luxury Egyptian duvets and sheets, amazing! Air con was super-fast, quiet and worked a dream, especially when it hit 36C first week of April!!
The hotel staffs at Le Royale (and the adjoining Sonesta Beach Club) are very professional, extremely helpful and really make you feel special. I have to say a special thank you to the pool guys who seemed to know what you wanted before you even asked! The double bed sun loungers are pure luxury and you are provided with unlimited towels and guaranteed spot by the private pools every day.
The food and drink (all inclusive) is also very nice, although not as much choice at the pool bar as I would have expected, although it is open 24/7 for snacks and drinks. We actually paid for an upgrade from the Sonesta Beach Club to Le Royale, and as part of this promotional offer we received breakfast in bed and free Wi-Fi.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to any one or family who what’s to experience a real luxury hotel in Sharm. The Hotel’s best points are: Accommodation, grounds, swimming pools and staff. Points that could be improved on are: More food choice on the Bar Menu, free Wi-Fi for all guests (as it is a 5 star hotel), DVD player and library to choose from in room (for the kids at night) and a larger selection of imported wines (as local wine is not very nice). Apart from that it’s a perfect luxury retreat. We will be returning to this hotel next year as it has everything we are looking for!
I really started to miss this place when I arrived back in London, only to find the local temperature had plummeted to 6c…Say no more!

Room Tip: All the rooms at Le Royale are amazing from single to the suites. If you can get a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevsky001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went for 6 nights and I could of done 2 weeks! It was amazing the service was great all staff were so nice and helpful always opening doors for you, laying out your towels for you we actually felt bad. The hotel was sparkling clean everyday flowers and grass were watered and cut everyday. The bedrooms were beautiful and so clean. The receptionists were very helpful and very kind. Even the security guards at the entrances were lovely and always checking the cabs we got in. Can't fault it I'm so sad to be back can't wait to visit again! The food was good always a different variety everyday.Thank you so much for a memorable holiday. Kat & spiros x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at 'Le Royale' 16th April - 23rd April 2012. The room was immaculately clean & spacious, the bathroom was equally as clean & spacious/well lit. The pool area could not be faulted, no need to get up early & reserve beds, there are ample beds/sun shades for the number of guests & the pool staff are very helpful. Breakfast & light lunch at the pool bar was enjoyable & relaxed however we cannot say the same for the evening meal experience! We should have taken heed of the previous reviews regarding the food at the Citadel & Dome in the older part of the Sonesta Beach. At best this food is 3*, It just ruins the whole 5* experience. For us a major part of the holiday is the relaxing drink at the end of the day followed by a nice meal with a nice wine. If this is what you are looking for then be prepared to eat out. At the end of the holiday we wrote to the hotel manager airing our views & he was decent enough to meet us & discuss our thoughts/comments on the day that we left. It seems that many people have made similar comments & he assured us that it is the intention of the hotel to provide 5* dining in the near future - We will wait & see! We would only consider returning to 'Le Royale' if this dining facility was made available. For now we will return to The Ritz Carlton or the The Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jellitotjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Le Royale is a really lovely hotel, it is set in very pretty grounds which are very well kept, the gardeners seem to be working pretty much full time.We went for a standard room which was bright and spacious and had a large flat screen TV and DVD player. It had complementary tea and coffee and also a mini bar which was reasonably priced although you don't really need it if going all inclusive. The bathroom had a separate walk in shower and contained a 4 piece suite with twin sinks. There are three lovely pools within the hotel grounds and there are plenty of sun beds around each one. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only negative to this hotel is that you pay 5 star luxury prices but have to use 4 star restaurants during the evening which are often very busy making it diffucult to find a table. There is just the one small bar within the grounds of Le Royale which is very nice but only serves light meals from a restricted menu until 4.30pm, it does however serve drinks until very late. We would certainly go back to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Le Royale is just a stunning hotel, located in beautifully maintained gardens and grounds. The rooms are clean, well proportioned and quiet. The service and the staff are just wonderful and so genuinely helpful - they love children, and impressively the staff knew the names of each child whilst we were there. Made my daughter feel very special and comfortable! During our staff my mother was taken ill and was hospitalised. The management were unbelievably caring and couldn't do enough to help us (getting medicine, sending food to the hospital, making sure that me and my daughter were OK, visiting my mother - yes the pool boy went to see how my mother was!), Just very kind and caring.
If there was a 5 star restaurant actually on site, it would have been just perfect! But the Casablanca restaurant was great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anshu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,062 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Club
Sonesta Club
#116 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Nubian Island Hotel
Nubian Island Hotel
#51 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
#78 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Royal Holiday Resort
Le Royal Holiday Resort
#33 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort

Property: Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Address: 3 Royale Drive | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#84 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, is a boutique property on the Red Sea.The resorts is a winner of the 2015 Tripadvisor award for luxury resort. The resort offers 165 oversized luxurious guest rooms and spectacular suites with upscale amenities and opulent finishes. The resort features 3 magnificent pools and 2 of them are heated in winter from November 1st till April 30th.The resort has a fine-dining Italian restaurant, bars, and lushly landscaped gardens.A Health Club is available at the Sonesta Club across the road .Just 10 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing