We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday that will never be forgotten!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Ranked #78 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Holiday that will never be forgotten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I decided to return to Egypt as we were in search of sunshine and we certainly got that and so much more in Egypt and that is primarily due to the most amazing hotel and brilliant staff. We were initially booked into the Sonesta Hotel but it was not really what we were looking for as having very hectic lives in London we wanted somewhere tranquil and bit more out of the way from the busy holiday scene in the main hotel. We spotted the Sonesta Royale and decided to upgrade and it was worth every penny. The reception staff and our tour guide Mohammed from Murhaba Tours made this is a very easy transition. This hotel is fantastic, I usually go on holiday and don't like to go back to the same place but this is one place that given the chance I will definitely go back to. The hotel is beautiful and it feels like time stands still. You have three pools to choose from and each takes your breathe away. The rooms are spacious and are definitely five stars and from what other guests told us they are all of a high spec so I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel from this perspective.
The staff at the hotel are their biggest asset as they are absolutely amazing. Hany the recreation employee was very attentive and always made sure that we had towels put on our favourite sun loungers and this was always done with a smile. The bar staff at the Byblos bar were outstanding. Night barman Mohammed was friendly and helpful. Mohammed the chef made delicious lunches and they were exactly what we felt like each day. Our only wish was that we could have eaten here at night but the Casablance and the Indian restaurant became our favourite at nights as we did not really enjoy the other restaurants.The two barmen during the day really made our stay wonderful. Ahmed always had a smile and gave brilliant service. He was quick to look after all your needs and always made you feel welcome at the bar. Mohammed the bar manager during the day was absolutely fantastic. From the moment of arrival he anticipated every need and always made you feel so welcome and special. I watched him be incredibly attentive to his customers and there was not a single guest who did not sing his praises as nothing was too much hassle. He made such an effort to ensure you were happy, he always had a smile and was such a lovely person. So a big thank you, the holiday was amazing, the hotel beautiful and the staff were outstanding. i will never forget them. I also would like to thank the manager Taha who has been so kind in helping me get a piece of jewellery which I accidentally left in the room returned to me in London. really great service and I think speaks volumes for the way guests are treated. Hence, if you want a magical holiday where you get treated wonderfully then this is the definitely a place to choose.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    108
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
106
358
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel is 5* and the room was fantastic.The hotel is really nice and the staff friendly. We had a great holiday but unfortunately the food is not up to standard. Both my wife and son were revenged by Pharaoh and we think the food at the hotel is to blame. The glasses at the beach and the bar were not washed properly and they should use disposable glasses if they cannot get them clean. For 5* prices one should get 5* star food. Weather fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a very beautiful hotel, great service, very clean, friendly staff and in a good location.
I visited back in September and have only just had the chance to write my review but felt I had to since it was that good! However the reason I have given it 4 and not 5 is because as some others have mentioned already, the facilities such as the restaurants, spa and beach and a long walk away (part of the 3 star resort). This is the only real thing letting the hotel down.

A big big thank you to Hany for making our days at the pool so relaxing and fun! Ahmed and the other bar staff were very friendly and a big thank you to them too.

I will be visiting again sometime soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Having read some of the previous comments, unfortunately after we had booked at the travel agent, I was a little concerned about the food in most part having to be taken at the Sonesta Beach next door. My fears were realised on the first night, I can only say the food was poor and even the restaurants were you had to book in advance it was not much better. On the third night we opted to pay the £25 each to eat in the Sea Breeze restaurant, again we were disappointed. The sea food had been pre-plated and was dry and there was no sign of the lobster as promised. All is not lost though, the Le Dome is fine for breakfast and you can get a nice lunch at the Royale pool bar. Most people we spoke to had the same complaints about the evening dining experience. One couple even preferred the Big Mac's across the road to eating at at the Sonesta Beach. I'm not one who usually writes holiday reviews but if you are paying for 5 star you should get 5 star and that includes the food.
All that said about the food, the Royale hotel itself is brilliant and the staff are superb. The accommodation is 5 star luxury and the staff can not do enough for you. Pity about the food they will undoubtedly lose custom if this does not change soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have very recently returned from our 11day holiday at Le Royale and we had an amazing holiday. A group of 4 of us (two couples) travelled together and this hotel was perfect for our stay. We actually booked the Sonesta Beach Resort but on arrival we were upgraded to Le Royale as they were full at Sonesta Beach. Le Royale is situated at the end of the Sonesta Beach resort but has it's own main entrance and reception. The location in general is great, walking distance into Naama Bay (ensure you use the path alongside the beach, not the main road) and once inside the hotel grounds everything is beautiful and immaculate. The accommodation is superb, lovely big rooms, marble bathrooms, huge soft and comfy beds, big flat screen tv showing English speaking movie channels, we had rooms next to each other on the ground floor with a huge patio areas and literally only a few steps to the pool. There are 3 main pools in Le Royale, we found we had plenty of space and one the towel guy knows where you like to sit he will put your towels out for you every day. The 24 hour bar at Le Royale is very handy for all refreshments and snacks, but for main meals or cooked breakfast you will need to go to one of the restaurants in Sonesta Beach. I have read a few other reviews and know this is an area of some complaint for some people but we were all very happy with the food. There are three restaurants you can choose from and we found them all to have an excellent choice of food and overall the standard was very good. One evening we were invited to a welcome event even though we had been there for nearly a week, and the managers from Le Royale greeted us and asked for our feedback and if anything could be improved. Myself and one other in the group are vegetarian and we mentioned that the lunch choices at the bar in Le Royale were quite limited for vegetarian options. The next day as we were relaxing by the pool a member of staff came over and asked us what we would like for lunch (we could have pretty much anything we wanted) and then brought it to us at the poolside. They did that every day for the remainder of our holiday!

The grounds are kept spotless and the whole hotel is immaculate. The housekeeping staff are very good, the rooms are cleaned quickly and efficiently every day, the bar staff are very friendly and helpful as are the reception staff. The managers are all very friendly and really go out of their way to ensure your every need is met, the service is really excellent.

We all agree would not hesitate to recommend Le Royale and if we return to Sharm Le Royale is the only place we would stay.

Room Tip: Request ground floor if possible you will literally be a few steps from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

I've given this hotel 4 out of 5 but that is only because of one thing the food... The hotel is lovely, the grounds, rooms, pool, staff, everything you could possibly ask for, pool staff Hany was a really nice give him a nice tip on your first day and your sun bed will be made up ready for you every morning. Pool bar Ahmed a really nice bloke I really think we became good friends by the time we left the service you get is first class. It's just the evening meals. you have to go in to the 4* sonnesta beach part and it really is 3* food. just not quite up to scratch. But this did not ruin our holiday. The management say they will be putting a restaurant in for the 5* soon. If or when this happens it will top this place off and we would go back then. its the finishing touch needed to make it a real jem

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here from 3rd october to 12th and one of the best holidays we have had apart from vegas!!!! Hotel was beautiful so relaxed after 3 days i didnt even know what day it was. The staff were amazing couldnt do enough for you. The pool boy was brilliant only had to look over hte balcony and he would point to the sunbeds and if you agve him the thumbs up the towels were promptly on the sunbeds.
We unfortunately had food poisining from a restaurant in town wont name no names but an american one! and were very ill for 24 hrs. Our room cleaner was amazing and came and changed our bed when we asked as we had both been in bed for 24 hrs and came and knocked a few time in the day to see if we needed anything like water etc incase we had run out. Couldnt have asked for better service from him, The waiters were brilliant to nothing was to much trouble for anyone , they made our holiday. Only small critic would be the main restaurant is on the beach side and im just to lazy to walk there (not that it is far) but there is a buffet breakfast and dinner facilites around the pool which is lovely setting in the evening.
Well done to all of you at the royale we will be back. Def fab 5 star. Beds really really comfy,
Mr and Mrs Andrews Weymouth Dorset

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#37 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#13 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#56 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Re...
#58 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,568 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort

Property: Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Address: 3 Royale Drive | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, is a boutique property on the Red Sea.The resorts is a winner of the 2015 Tripadvisor award for luxury resort. The resort offers 165 oversized luxurious guest rooms and spectacular suites with upscale amenities and opulent finishes. The resort features 3 magnificent pools and 2 of them are heated in winter from November 1st till April 30th.The resort has a fine-dining Italian restaurant, bars, and lushly landscaped gardens.A Health Club is available at the Sonesta Club across the road .Just 10 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing