We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Star Dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
St.Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Great Star Dissapointment”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Stella di Mare for the Christmas/New Year holidays period. However our main event was our Wedding Anniversary and we tried to find the right place for this occassion. We stopped our choice on Stella mostly because of the positive reviews posted on Tripadvisor. Before we put our story here we would like to mention that we travel a lot, visited many countries and during last years preferred staying at 5 star and 5 star deluxe hotels. Based on our previous travel experience we have made our impression. We will try to be as objective as the individual can be, and start with pluses.
So, we liked:
1. Location. It takes only about 5-7 minutes by taxi or by bus to get right to the centre of Naama Bay with its shops, lights, disco etc...At the same time the hotel is not too near to the sounds of night life (just close the window). The hotel has free shuttle to Naama Bay. You should book in advance at consierge service. The taxi to Naama is about 4 usd from the Hotel and from 2 usd back as you manage to agree.
2. Hotel design/decoration and territory planning. A lot of natural stone is used in the hotel decoration. There are also mosaic elements, artificial pond with small fishes near the main restaurants, waterfalls and caves on the territory, the grass fields...That all was really nice. The territory is not big but very competently thought over.
3. Pools/Beach sand . The water temperature at pools was warm enough for comfort swimming. The sunbeds are new and comfortable. Sometimes it was difficult to have place at the beach pool, however most of the time we could find the free sunbeds. The beach we could not appreciate enough since the swimming was prohibited. However, we should state that the sand is very good and clean. There is also little sea access where you can splash yourself. There are 2 pontoons however...no swimming.
4. SPA facilities were very good. We liked spending our time after sunset in SPA complex. The SPA pool is open till 8 p.m and has jets, jacuzzi and geysers. We lied in very warm water in bubbles staring stars. The massages are good. The price is about 70-100 usd depending on the massage. The SPA has also saunas, steam bath and a kind of tepidarium.
5. Towels. No problem with beach towels. You do not need to have some card to obtain it. You just come and take, go away and leave it on sunbeds. If you need you can get 2 or 3 ones.
6. Compliments from the Hotel like fruits on the beach, sunglasses cleaning, desserts to the room, chocolates before going asleep delivered to your room by housekeeping, complimentary water, tea/coffee in most of the rooms. We appreciated it all.
7. Very good sport animation. Very good. Thank you ,young ladies, who conducted stretching, belly dance, water gym, aerobics in the sport gym. Thank you very much. In general, the hotel is rather active on the sports point of view. Guests spend a lot of time in the sport gym, and the sport activities are very popular (we also should mention water volleyball, darts, bocha etc). The whole sport team is very friendly, proffesional.
8. Good knowledge of the English language. Nearly the whole staff speaks good English which is very pleasant.
9. The Senior Personnel (Terrazza restaurant Chef, Bar Chef, La Scogliera Chef, FB Chef) is very professional and effective. Thank you to La Scogliera Chef for our best ever Romantic Dinner. It was great, the stars were bright, the food was delicious, the music romantic, the service brilliant, the whole atmosphere - immaculate. The guest relation ladies are also professional and efficient enough.
10. Mattresses in the rooms are very comfortable/ Towels quality is rather good/ sleepeing set cotton is very nice and silky.

We did NOT like.
1. The hotel is new, but promptly grows decrepit. Poor quality of some materials used in furnish as well as of repair work itself.
2. Super Deluxe conception. We were very dissapointed with Super Deluxe Room choice. We beleive this concept is some kind of marketing course to position this room categoryt as more expensive. The good location of this room category is rather disputable, the view is average and the conveniences and size does not differ from just Deluxe Room. Please note that Super Deluxe rooms are situated on the ground and first floors of the main building (may be there are also some in bungalows), so the view from the rooms which are located at the higher level is much better not saying about noise. The compliments from the hotel for this room category are not enough to justify the higher price. We dare to recomment Deluse Sea View Rooms.
3. Room. The room itself is nice and cosy, not big but sorry to repeat- the repair materials quality is not good, the bath was scratched, there were signs of silicon around the bath which had the impression of old bath. We were surprised with the absence of blanket covers, also there were only 3 pillows (more logically to have 2+2). The pillows itself are of bad quality and rather inconvenient. To our request to grant us other pillows (since my wife had neck pains sleeping on her pillow) we were told that there are no other pillows at the hotel. In our Super Deluxe concept we, do not know why, were given the room with the connecting door to another room. Sound insulation was very bad. Once I woke up in horror because somebody talked in our room, just near me. It occured, however, that there was a conversation in the neighbour room. Very unpleasant. We were forced to wake up when the first nearest neigbour decided to start his day! Great request to the Hotel Management to put into the room the full Hotel Directory with the description of the Hotel services and facilities, restaurants working hours and as the most important - phone numbers of the according services.
4. Food variety. The food quality was good and the buffet had european style, however the variety was not obviously enough (in comparison with our previouse experience at 5 star hotels, including Egypt). The dishes repeated very often.Only the Cristmas and New Year dinners could be considered as some kind of approach to the standarts of ordinary dinners which we had in other hotels of Egypt. Many years ago when we were younger and could afford ourselves only 4 star hotels we had in Egypt better food variety than we had here. To be fair, I repeat once again that the food quality was good for us and the dishes were tasty and nicely decorated. I speak only about variety and possibility of choice.
5. SPA. The choice of SPA treatments could be better, there were also no any SPA packages like in other hotels. The Gym needs more equipment (more sports benches and free weights). Changing (locker) rooms in SPA are inconvenient, there are even no benches to sit. The shower is very uncomfortable, small and combined with toilet on some reason. The SPA zone has only one standart shower, with not enough light, with no shelves for shampoo etc, pressure of water is very bad. We should mention that the SPA zone is very clean, there are many free towels and bath amenities (shampoo, body wash, lotion).
6. Service, The Service is that we liked less in the Hotel. Some personnel of the lowest link practice some kind of small racket to the tourist demanding as the presents their belongings. Most of the waiters in the main restaurant and lobby are not friendly, inefficient and slow enough. I was really surprised since in Egypt the staf is usually very hospitable. As the example, in the first evening we ordered during the dinner 2 glasses of wine and were served during 20-25 minutes, Also you can sit in lobby bar during 30 minutes (one day we even checked with our watch as experiment) and nobody comes to you to ask if you would like something to drink. Also, you can order cocktail and wait until you remind. We decided it possibly was because of our all-inclusive concept. In whole the efficiency of the personnel of this level leaves much to be desired. On the contrary, the personnel of the higher level solves your problems quickly and professionally. On this aspect their work is splendid. However, we think that the most important part of their work is not in solving problems but in no problems. Again, to be fair, not at once but at least to the 3rd day of our staying we were lucky with the service in the main restaurant since one waiter was friendly and proffesional (feel sorry that did not ask his name) and we tried to sit to the area where he served.
7. ALL Inclusive system. First of all, we do not understand why it is called DE LUXE all-inclusive. We were dissappointed with the quality of alcohol spirits. You can drink beer and white wine - the quality is good. Other spirits - vodka and whiskey (we tried it once) - are of low quality and really terrible, impossible to drink. Also we did not like that you can order only one glass of wine/beer at a time, and until you drink it you will not have more. Apparently, it is called DELUXE ALL. However, it may be a plus - alcohol is harmful to your health. We also tried to eat ALL inclusive dinner at La Scogliera restaurant (there are 2 menu there - 1 a'la carte, you pay for it and 1 for all inclusive guests) and did not like the food. I even do not know if to recommend somebody to buy ALL basis. However, I should mention that the prices for drinks and food are rather expensive, to our opinion.
8. Lack of Information. During one day there was no hot water and the guests were not informed in any way of the reasons and duration of this problem. You should call and ask. In general, the guest relation has many job - the information system on the Hotel and for example ALL/HB basis, about any events and entertainments is not good. The ladies are always answering the questions.
So, as a summary. The Hotel makes double impression as you can see from the number of pluses and minuses. It has good location and well-organised territory. It has good facilities. It has some signs which could have 5 star hotel of the deluxe class, you can see it from our story. On the other hand, the Management should work more with the service, much more. The rooms soon need reconstruction. We cannot put or not put 5 or 4 or 3 stars. If Stella has 5 stars it is a 5 star hotel. We have made our choice on Stella when it had 3 in popularity index of the Sharm hotels. The present 41st place of Tripadvisor rating seems more fair to us than the previous one. That is why we write the review as great dissapointment - we bought the trip the 3rd hotel and had a rest at 41. May be if the previous rating would not be as high we were not so strict to the hotel and considered it as the ordinary good one.
We liked our holidays since we had wonderful time with each other, we met interesting people and tried to be very active in sports, and we are grateful to the Hotel for this possibility. We wish the Management big success and hope the serious work will be made to achieve the immaculate quality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmitry1380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmGMoffice, General Manager at Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you to have taken the time to post your detailed review and for booking with Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa. We appreciate that you mentioned that you had a wonderful time and are grateful for your wish that we achieve a big success in the future.

We will definitely reassess the areas you pointed out to be in need of improvement/development and act accordingly where needed in order to ensure a better customer experience. Let us seize the opportunity to apologize for the services which you believe could have been delivered in a better fashion.

We hope to have the privilege of your return in order to evaluate achievements made and enjoy a more memorable stay, do not hesitate to contact u for any assistance.

Excellent Year 2011!

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa
executiveoffice@stelladimaresharm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,634
    493
    124
    35
    11
See reviews for
1,072
2,271
203
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The Stella Sharm is a goregous hotel with absolutely amazing views over the sea. I stayed in the Stella Sharm with my parents, a friend and my son. Myself and my friend are in our 20's and had a lovely relaxing holiday. Throughout the day the staff offer fresh fruit and ice cold water. The staff/lifeguards who work around the pool area and beach were very friendly. The restaraunt staff were also very friendly and couldnt do enough to ensure that you enjoy your meal. They were also very good with my son as he was only one at the time. The pasta chef was great and would make the fresh pasta with any sauce you wished right in front of you. The choice of food was amazing, there is no way you could every go hungry here, there was always plenty to choose from and the food was constantly checked by the chefs and fresh food was always being cooked and brought out.

The room I had was beautiful, great views from our balcony to the beach and out to the water. The view however from reception is stunning. The beds are the most comfortable beds I have come across in all the hotels all over the world that I have stayed in.

I did not find any flaws at all with the hotel whilst there for 2 weeks. We had a problem heating my sons bottles up, we approched the reception staff who could not do enough to ensure that this was resolved quickly.

The smallest, kindest things that the staff did for us whilst there really contributed towards making this holiday an amazing one. The staff all over the hotel were very friendly and liked to speak to you and would speak to you on a day to day basis. They always had plenty of time for us. The manager of the hotel Denis was always visible around the hotel every day and was very approachable.

Overall I would definetly recommend this hotel. So much so I will be going back this year for another 2 week stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmGMoffice, General Manager at Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Louise

We are happy that you had a fantastic time while residing at Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa during your recent holiday.

Thank you for your great feedback and recommendation, we will be pleased to welcome you once again this year.

Excellent Year 2011!

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa
executiveoffice@stelladimaresharm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I was unable to give the Stella Di Mare any more than 3 stars as I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Sharm last summer and gave that 4 stars (The Hyatt is considerably better than the Stella Di Mare).

My husband and I arrived at the Stella Di Mare on Boxing Day and were impressed by the decor of the hotel and it's lovely grounds. We had a standard room on the 5th floor overlooking the beach on the left hand side of the hotel - the view was amazing. Our room was pleasant but not up to the standard I have experienced in 5 star hotels previously. Beds were comfy, the bathroom was a bit tatty (bath VERY scratched for such a new hotel) and you had to shower standing in the bath which wasn't too luxurious. There were a couple of decent TV channels but most channels were Russian or Arabic.

Now on to the food. We were half board but we wish we had gone B&B. The breakfast was ok but the quality and choice wasn't even half of what we had at the Hyatt Regency. The evening buffet was pretty much the same every night and VERY bland. I was told that this was to cater for Russian tastes as they like bland food but I have no idea if this is the case. After having dinner in the restaurant two nights in a row we couldn't face it any more and ended up either eating out or calling room service which was marginally better than the buffet (although we rarely got what we ordered from room service). It felt like the staff in the resaurant were trying to get us out of there as quickly as possible as they would whip your plate away from us as soon as we put our knife and fork down. There were a couple of girls that sang in the restaurant every single night and they were clearly amateurs. It was like dining in a bad karaoke bar and far too loud for during meal time. The first night we ate there we asked to be moved to the back of the restaurant as far from the singers as possible as we were unable to hear each other speak over their wailing. We tried having lunch on the beach one day and although the food was ok the service was lacking. The wrong food was brought to our table so we had to wait a long time for them to correct the order. When the waiter brought the bill we saw we had been overcharged. After trying to explain this to him for some time he went away then came back and told us that the prices in the menu were wrong and we had to pay the higher price! There was no apology. We paid cash and my husband became quite angry when he realised the waiter had no intention of giving us our change. We had to ask for our change twice (about £15 GBP) and when we finally got it we didn't tip - we would have tipped the waiter if he hadn't been so presumptious so more fool him. Another example of bad service was at breakfast; the waiter brought us our pot of coffee but had forgotten to give us milk so we asked for it. He said "with pleasure" then leaned over to the dirty vacated table next to us and took the half used milk jug from there and put it on our table. There is NO WAY a 5 star establishment would employ staff that would do that.

The grounds of the hotel were lovely and well tended. The man-made beaches were good but spoilt by the constant pestering from the guys trying to sell you trips. Once again a 5 star hotel wouldn't dare do that!

I got quite sick with acute bronchitis during our stay and had to visit the hotel doctor who was very good and very reasonable. I had to see him twice a day for 3 days for injections and was concerned that the bill would be huge but it was a very reasonable £180 GBP.

We booked the shuttle bus in to Naama Bay but it left without us at 20 seconds past the hour.

The spa facilities were good and massages reasonably priced.

For New Year we dined at the Corallo Rosso restaurant which was lovely. It showed that the hotel can make good food if they want to and they are blatantly cutting corners with the buffet.

So what can the Stella Di Mare Sharm do to improve? Well I would suggest that the manager book in to the Hyatt Regency for a night to see how things are done there. There is a distint lack of attention to detail at the Stella and the service is very hit and miss. Some days around the pool it was almost impossible to get a drink or a snack and this is advertised as a luxury 5 star hotel. There is a huge language barrier with the staff and we rarely got what we ordered when eating a la carte because of this. This was never a problem at the Hyatt - HR need to check employees language skills on interview.

Had this been advertised as a 3 star, or perhaps even a 4 star (just) hotel none of these things would have niggled me; it was purely because we expected (and paid a lot) for a 5 star hotel, and the Stella Di Mare isn't 5 star. If you are looking for real luxury stay at the Four Seasons or Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmGMoffice, General Manager at Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Nina79,

Thank you to have booked with Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa and for your valuable comments which are taken positively and will assist us further in developing the guest experience.

We are sorry to learn that you didn’t enjoy fully your stay with us and do apologize for any service which was below your expectation. We have addressed a correspondence to your good self and hope to have the return at your earliest.

Please note that we have customers who have been repeater clients of the hotels mentioned and who are now regular at Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa.

Dear Nina79, We hope and trust that the contents of our letter to enhance the customer experience will have your agreement for visiting us again…

Warm Wishes and Excellent Year 2011!

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa
executiveoffice@stelladimaresharm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We have visited Sharm a couple of times before but this was our first visit to the Stella Di Mare. With good reviews and location we looked forward to a five star hotel with great views. Unfortunately we did not get what we expected. The room we had booked was a superior room for 3 persons for some extra room. We were given a standard double, although the bed was super king size. The bathroom was not upto 5 Star standard - the bath was scratched and there was silicon around the bath. We complained and was offered two further rooms of the same size and condition. We declined and paid to be transferred to another hotel the following day (The Hyatt which was fine). The Stella Di Mare hotel may be fine for others but it is not what we consider to be a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleggy12A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmGMoffice, General Manager at Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you to have taken the time to write your comments and received our most sincere apology if Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa was not able to satisfy you despite the numerous room categories and sizes. Expectations and bookings are different from each other and we do deliver the category booked for and, when occupancy permits, we do sometimes upgrade to the next category which was not possible during your stay period.

We wish to have the opportunity to have you experiencing fully our hotel in the future, do not hesitate to contact us…

Excellent Year 2011!

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa
executiveoffice@stelladimaresharm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We returned back to the Uk late last night after a week at this hotel
After reading all the reviews, I hoped this would be a special hotel for us to return to each year
So is our honest review of this hotel
Good points:-
New and very clean
Rooms (Upgraded to deluxe room) was fantastic.
Pool and gardens couldn't' fault them

Bad points for us:-
Very little for Vegetarians I had Pasta every night, and my wife had salad. In the 7 days we didn't see one Vegetarian option.
Being on Half Board there is very little options at lunch time to eat. Maybe as a result for us being non-meat eaters, but unless you wanted to pay £20 each in the main restaurant or a pizza on the beach bar. There is nothing else
Food was rarely labelled
Ok the Hotel was very busy, but they lost control most nights of people just running in to get a seat, rather than waiting to be seated.
Bar's, when we visited apart from the lobby bar which had about 30 chairs in the main reception, there isn't anywhere we could find in the evening during the winter season to sit down and have a quiet drink. We are not big drinkers so we would imagine this a nightmare for those who are and on all-inclusive.
The location of the hotel whilst isolated, not ideal if like us you wish to go for a walk in the evening. At present there isn't a way of getting to Namma bay without a 50 minute walk (or free bus) to the centre. I footpath connecting the hotel to the bay would take less than 10 minutes to walk.
We are avid travellers, and don't mind coming from the Uk being the minority, but some may not adapt to different cultures so easily.
Lack of information upon arrival at the hotel of what is what. ok there is a A4 leaflet, and a short film on the TV. We couldn't find a map, nothing about the spa, room service prices etc etc Most hotels we have visited have a large information package in the room.

In all I guess you can see we have returned a little disappointed, but still had a relaxed holiday.
We are looking elsewhere in Sharm for our next holiday with quite a saving on price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmGMoffice, General Manager at Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Dear Richj,
Thank you to have selected Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa during your last vacation and for posting your comments.
Reading your feedback, we are surprised that you have eaten only pasta and salad as vegetarian option during your stay while we have various possibilities on daily rotation. These include soups, sautéed vegetables, curries of legumes, potatoes dishes, seasoned rice, couscous, beans cooked diversely, tempuras,… plus the traditional salad bar and additional 5 mixed salads on availability.
Furthermore, being avid travelers as you mentioned, you should not forget that once one has a special dietary and is not satisfied with the dishes offered, he should not be shy to point out to the hotel which will be very happy to cater and provide something else.
With regards to seating in the evening in the lobby bar which could be busy, we have the ballroom where we have a daily live band, shows scheduled many times weekly. Having an evening drink, if one doesn’t find a seat in the lobby bar, is possible in this venue, the sub lobbies or as well in the disco.
Confusing that you would like to walk in the evening but seem tedious strolling 50 minutes (including return walk) to Naama Bay…
Dear Richj, we are sorry we were not able to fully satisfied you and remain at disposal if we could be of any assistance in your future journey to Sharm El Sheikh.

Excellent Year 2011!

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed for a week over New Year. What a wonderful hotel which cannot be recommended high enough. As this was a special occasion for us, prior to arriving we emailed the General Manager Mr Denis Dernault our requests. He put in hand everything and also much to our pleasure on the special day there was a cake waiting for us in our bedroom. He and his staff were most courteous and helpful and couldn't do enough for us.

We had a wonderful room with magnificent views. We ate in the main restaurant and we couldn't fault the selection and quality of food both for breakfast and dinner nor the service.

There were nice touches, on the beach and at the swimming pools with staff offering us complimentary fruit and drinks.

This is one to go back for.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmGMoffice, General Manager at Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2011
Dear Customer,

We are pleased we were able to match all your expectations and thank you for booking with Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa and for recommending the hotel to others.

We wish to have the privilege once again to be of your service.

Excellent Year 2011!

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa
executiveoffice@stelladimaresharm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Just returned from a Christmas/ New Year break at The Stella Di Mare. I thought this hotel was fabulous, but then I did pay an enormous amount to have a single occupancy. I've rarely stayed in a cleaner hotel. I did ask to change rooms after the first night as my balcony hardly had any sun. My new room was sensational: it was spacious and had amazing views. The sheets were luxurious Egyptian cotton and they were changed every day. The food was also unbelievably good with plenty of freshly cooked food to order, as well as many tempting standard dishes. The desserts were to die for. Most importantly nobody reported any stomach bugs or sickness. I've never known such pleasant staff for, although clearly they were hoping for a tip, they certainly worked extremely hard to get one. The manager appeared to moving about the hotel continuously, which kept everything running tight, but also allowed the quests easy access to talk to him. Lest you think this report must be a fake I should point out that I still managed to find something to moan about. First and foremost we could not go in the sea which was no fault of the hotel, but having bought a new wet suit and mask etc. the menacing shark spoilt a big part of the holiday. Consequently I struggled to find alternative activities. The golf facility was not finished which could have been a real boon. The pool, although amazingly attractive was extremely cold for a winter holiday. I also got the impression that once the staff realised I was All-Inclusive they didn't seem to bother asking me if I wanted a drink. There was only one alcoholic cocktail which I felt bore the description. Because my stay covered Christmas/ New Year I thought the hotel made a splendid effort; a tray of confectionary on both occasions were left in the room and the New Year celebration in a huge marquee was impressive. Yes I would stay there again but first I need to saved up!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmGMoffice, General Manager at Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Suzie077,

Thank you to have selected Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa during your festive period vacation and for your overall excellent comments on your experience with us.

Please note that the golf will be up running by mid-March and pools temperature are generally controlled and reported daily to be 29/30 degrees Celsius. During your stay period we had one technical issue with one of swimming pool which unfortunately lasted 4 days (22 degrees, please accept our apology) but other pool options were available at standard temperatures.

Dear Suzie077, thank you once again for you valuable feedback, we look forward to welcoming you shortly.

Excellent Year 2011!

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa
executiveoffice@stelladimaresharm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.2 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#3 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,057 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#59 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 31 in Nabq Bay
345 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,981 reviews
5.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Neama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 1839, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#6 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 5-star full resort is located nearest to Naama Bay. Gourmet dining, expert diving lessons, and evening entertainment, all with stunning views of the Red Sea. The rooms at Stella di Mare Beach Hotel and Spa feature a contemporary design, and are fully modern with flat screen TVs. Each room includes a private balcony or terrace. Stella di Mare has a state-of-the-art PADI diving center and training facilities on-site. A lavish 600 square meter spa and Wellness Center offers guests full relaxation. Saunas, steam baths, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi are available. Guests can swim in the Stella di Mare's grand outdoor pool, with panoramic views of the surrounding area. The Stella's acclaimed a la carte restaurants offer a variety of dishes from Mediterranean cuisine to Sushi, all prepared by a team of highly-trained international chefs. We also offer guests the chance to play golf on our fantastic short course. Guest's can play whilst enjoying spectacular views of the clear blue sea and can also benefit from our professional golf instructor. The Stella di Mare Beach Hotel and Spa also provides its own evening entertainment program, featuring local Egyptian belly-dancers and international singers nightly. The Resort is located just 10 km from Sharm el-Sheikh International Airport. Free parking is available on-site. Hotel Rooms: 298. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel And Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing