We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and quiet, shame about the food and service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Relaxing and quiet, shame about the food and service!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Booked into the Stella Di Mare Hotel for a 10 day winter break, after seeing its rating on Tripadvisor from other visitors.

On arrival, hotel was very impressive from the entrance and the grand reception area. Hotel was immaculate and very clean. We were checked in and taken to our room very efficiently after a refreshing towel and drink.

Room was very smart and clean with a great view of the pool and sea. Beds were the most comfortable I have slept in at any overseas hotel and I had some great sleep whilst staying there. The Internet in the room was fast and reliable but only worked if you had a LAN cable attached to your laptop. There was no wifi in the room. The internet was free though which I thought was a nice touch. Free wi-fi was available in the reception and lobby area free of charge.

During the mornings, there was always lots of sunbeds vacant and the pool / towel guy was very friendly and always laid out our towels for us. He was very funny and always looked after us each day, finding us the same seats we usually sat at each day. During the day he walked around polishing our sunglasses, spraying us with nice cool rose scented water and handing out fresh fruit and cold water. It was such a lovely touch and thoroughly relaxing. He catered for our every needs each day when all you want to do is sit and relax around the pool. We found the top pool with the swim up bar in it was best for those who wish to relax in a more quiet surrounding. The pool on the lower deck was far too noisy and was were the activities took place each day. We avoided it as we didnt really want to be around kids this holiday and preferred the swim up bar being nice and close for instant refreshment.

The beach wasnt quite a beach. Due to the location of the hotel and its proximity to a coral reef, there was only a man-made beach created on the top of a cliff. There was no shore or sandy beach where you would normally be able to walk in and dip your feet in. If you wanted to go into the see, you had to walk through a tunnel or down a load of steps, along a jetty to pass the coral and drop in off a floating jetty with a ladder. The water was not too shallow so you need to be a swimmer rather than a bather in order to swim in the sea, Although I didnt go snorkelling, many people seemed to enjoy the corals below, around the hotel.

The room staff and waiters were all very friendly. We noticed that they all go out of their way to say hello and are very hospitable indeed.

The spa was very relaxing indeed and well worth a visit. It was not overly cheap but great to be pampered for a few hours.

Now onto the negatives....

The food!! Unfortunately, we found the food in the al a carte restaurant to be very boring and bland. Food was similar nearly every day and on some occasions we found it to be inedible. By day 5 we were both pretty bored of what was being offered that we decided to leave the confines of the all inclusive resort and head to Naama Bay to sample something different. Wow, the food there was superb and full of flavour and something completely different to that being offered at Stella Di Mare. Even though Stella Di MAre advertises that it has 3 restaurants, they are not completely included under the all inclusive title. Alongside the al a carte they have two other restaurants, one being Italian and the other Asian. They do however offer a two choice set menu in each for the all inclusive guests but they werent overly impressive. They did offer 25% discount if you ordered off their normal menus which we ended up having to do towards the end of our stay in order to eat some proper food. I have to say, the food was very good which is a shame as they clearly have the talent in the hotel with their chefs. Its disappointing that even though you have paid a significant amount of money to stay at the Stella Di Mare, as an all inclusive guest, you end up having to pay more just to get a decent meal. We noticed a lot of other all inclusive guest also found themselves doing the same as they too were unimpressed by the lack of variation in the al la carte restaurant. If im honest, it almost seems as though they deliberately make the food boring in order to encourage diners to their other restaurants. They are constantly trying to upsell the other restaurants to you throughout the daytime which can become an irritation.

The other complaint is the service at the swim up bar. Some days you end up finding yourself sitting there waiting to be served for around 15-20 mins whilst 4 members of staff stand there chatting to each other with their backs to you. If they arent talking to each other, they seem more interested in getting their receipts signed for by the all inclusive guests as they sign for food/drinks, like its some kind of necessity that its signed for instead of keeping customers happy. Maybe they do it so that it deliberately slows down the rate that they are giving away free drinks to all inclusive guests. We also noticed that those guests who were paying cash for food or drinks got served immediately over those who were all inclusive. Probably because the staff knew they were more likely to get tips from these paying guests!!

One thing that I found very frustrating was that on nearly every day we stayed, they had ran out of something. It was either ham for the sandwiches at lunch time or drinks. On one day in particular, I asked for a Sprite and they said they didnt have any. Then a paying customer asked and they immediately produced an ice cold can from the fridge and served it to him. All inclusive guests get bottled flat Sprite instead of cans. I understand that things can run out but surely it doesnt cost much to use cans if a customer asks for it. I found it very frustrating and a bit of a joke considering how much you have to pay to be on the all inclusive set up.

One last note worth mentioning is the breakfast service times. They advertise that they serve breakfast till 10.30am. However, we noticed that they actually stop bringing fresh food out as early as 9.30am. Therefore if you are a late breakfast guest you generally found hardly any food was left or it was inedible as it was dry and hard. Shame really! The fresh omlette and pancake/waffle stations were good though and we found ourselves visiting these each morning. BEWARE though. They did feel like stopping making pancakes whenever they felt like it! There was no real pattern to their sporadic service times.

In summary, I feel this hotel is far too overrated on Tripadvisor and having stayed in other hotels in Egypt like The Savoy and The Savita and Baron Palms, I found that these were far better than the Stella Di Mare. I would not recommend the all inclusive programme either as I felt that due to the poor food and drinks range and the various restrictions imposed, you would be better off paying as you go, then using the free shuttle bus to go and eat out in Naama Bay. The hotel has a dire evening entertainment offering which finishes by 9pm. You are much better off soaking up the sights and sounds of Naama Bay of an evening instead.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view room in the main building but make sure its on floor 5/6/7 to avoid being too cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank n1cknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,676
    497
    124
    35
    12
See reviews for
1,094
2,289
204
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

As well as a break this holiday was booked to celebrate my wife (Lindsey's) birthday. On arrival we were meet at reception by Omar. We were both very impressed with the way he welcomed us and he continued to look after us and arranged some lovely surprises for Lindsey's birthday. The room was perfect and every day we had a 'new surprise' on our bed. It was amazing what whea (house keeper for room 706) could do with a simple bath towel. ie crocodiles, swans, eagles, flowers and even a monkey!! We were also very impressed at the pool by our Egyption Geordie BOB. He cooled us down with his cold spray & fed us melon & grapes. Perfect ! Then every night in the La Bella Vista bar being pampered by Ahmed & Sherrif. Both excellent barmen. We would also like to thank all the staff at La Scogliera Restaurant for a memorable Romantic Dinner. We hope to return in February 2013

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had business meeting in Stella Di Mare Sharm, everything was perfect very warm hospitality, great professional support, reliable management team
They made our meeting fun and professional
Rooms were very clean, comfortable
Location and view of the hotel is awesome!!
When ever we request something it was done immediately with remarkable follow up from the whole team
House keeping team was extraordinary And the cleanliness of the meeting room
I totally recommend Stella Di Mare hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Just returned after spending one week in this beautiful hotel! The location and setting is superb! 3 swimming pools,well kept gardens and fountains, 2 floating pontoons leading to the coral beds crowded with colourful fish! A sunbather and swimmers paradise!
Staff very attentive and polite, lots of humour needed!! ; )
Our room was amazing with 2 huge balconies offering a panoramic view of the bay and grounds! Bed a little on the soft side, bathroom large and very clean! Good quality toiletries provided and also tea and coffee and a mini bar! Towel animals provided a bit of fun on entering the room also rose petals on the bed added that special touch! The Spa was top class and massages a real must, not expensive!
No complaints with any of the service except my husband and our 2 friends all fell ill with stomach cramps and diarrhoea which put a real damper on the holiday! Diving lessons etc had to be cancelled and obviously excursions were not an option! The doctor was excellent and the management of the hotel was very professional! They provided plenty of light soups and water nothing was too much trouble! It's unfortunate that there was an outbreak of some bacterial infection which could quite possibly have been avoided with more hand washing or sterilising facilities near the common dining areas! These things happen though and even with hand gels etc provided not everyone will use them!!! The manager of the hotel was very apologetic and very customer orientated so full marks to him and all his staff!! Will we return? Yes Definitely!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Medicma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our first week at Stella, my visit no. 19 (I think) to Sharm. Definitely 5-star, but some cons to consider: isolated, you need a bus or taxi if you want to go anywhere. Is a high-rise building over restricted outdoor grounds and no real beach OK with you? I generally prefer living near garden level and the beach, and more liberty of movement. However, my wife loved the view from our balcony on the 8. floor, where she took her morning coffee. She liked the pools, and the swimming along the reef, the gym, and the cleanliness (there is still room for improvement). And I loved the very competent lounge pianist! But: evenings were partly spoiled by loud one-man bands at the outdoor restaurants, who do not react to complaints, we had to leave a meal half-way through. Solution: stay inside at the Mare Rosso restaurant where chef Zaki provides the best dinners I have eaten anywhere in Sharm (yes, food lovers could choose Stella on this Michelin-level quality alone!) The breakfast is not quite in the same league, lacking bread and meat variety. The reception staff also have lessons to learn. So, will we go back? I think so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a lovely hotel to holiday in! Really does luxury well, we tried all the restaurants, they were great. The staff were friendly and helpful, the spa is cool, lots of treatments available and the massages are sensational. The beauty salon was being refurbished as our stay came to an end, so although I would say that was not as nice as everything else, I bet it is now! I suggest getting a room with a sea view, although all aspects are nice, but there's nothing like getting up and sitting on the balcony watching the boats etc. The location is also good; there's a free shuttle to Sharm town, takes about 15 minutes and runs very regularly. If you like Sharm as a destination (which we did not, but that's not the hotels fault!) then this is a really good example of how 5 star Egypt works,

Room Tip: Get a sea view, and it's worth an upgrade to deluxe :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raciroozles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmGMoffice, General Manager at Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Mr. Raciroozles,

Thank you for highly recommending Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa and to have noticed the willingness and care of the Employees to assist.

We will be very delighted to welcome you again and as well, we amply appreciate your exciting review.

Best Regards
George Hanna
General Manager
Stella Di Mare Sharm Beach Hotel & Spa
executiveoffice@stelladimaresharm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Stella di Mare in Sharm el Sheikh is on a grand scale, perhaps the most 'Dubai-like' experience you can get on this coastline. The property is immaculate - interiors and exteriors, grounds and lawns - so you do feel the full five stars. Staff and service are impeccable, from the moment you arrive to the instant you leave.

Two large pools service the upper and lower sun-lounging areas, with waiter-service and freshwater-spritzes de rigeur, poolside. There isn't a beach here, so if you want sand and water lapping your toes, this isn't it. However, there are two floating pontoons reached by walkways, from which you can drop off into the deep once you're over the all-important and protected house reef.

Unless you're scuba diving or snorkelling, or are just happy to laze in the sun, this might feel a little claustrophobic. Confident swimmers will be fine with the drop-off into deep water (about 7m deep at the end of the pontoons), but those less confident will likely find themselves sticking to the pools.

While the hotel itself is lovely, the food generally good, it's just Sharm that lets the location down. There isn't really much to see or do in the city, and the haranguing by local traders wears thin very soon. It's important to remain courteous, but this might take some hard work by certain personality types, my own included.

Lunches and evening meals at the hotel are served in a variety of restaurants, some walk-in and others pre-booked. We found that the walk-ins were generally better, the same format as Breakfast (which is unmissable!), with a larger range to choose from.

There is also Room Service, where the whole shebang is brought up on a fold-out trolley for you to eat on your balcony overlooking the Red Sea. This actually worked out cheaper than eating in any of the restaurants of an evening. We were on B&B - and given our experience with dining out in Sharm - if we went back, we'd seriously look at going AI.

The hotel has it's own five-star PADI Instructor Development Centre on site: if you are a diver, the service you get here will blow you away. Dives at the house reef - accessed by the same pontoons that you can swim off - happen twice daily at 10am and 2pm. Buggies transport all of your gear to whichever pontoon you're using, and take it all away again - washing up for you! - before your next dive.

Absolutely five star service, fantastic dive staff, friendly, helpful, and very talkative. But then, given the Nitrox they insist on divers using (where qualified to do so), everyone is probably just a little high on oxygen. Dives can be organised at sites further afield such as Tiran Island, the Thistlegorm wreck or Ras Mohammed National Park - just ask for the schedule for the week beforehand so you can plan ahead. The perfect diving experience.

Deservedly one of Sharm's top hotels.

Room Tip: definitely request a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hunterswalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.2 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#4 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#58 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,014 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
377 reviews
5.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Neama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 1839, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#6 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 5-star full resort is located nearest to Naama Bay. Gourmet dining, expert diving lessons, and evening entertainment, all with stunning views of the Red Sea. The rooms at Stella di Mare Beach Hotel and Spa feature a contemporary design, and are fully modern with flat screen TVs. Each room includes a private balcony or terrace. Stella di Mare has a state-of-the-art PADI diving center and training facilities on-site. A lavish 600 square meter spa and Wellness Center offers guests full relaxation. Saunas, steam baths, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi are available. Guests can swim in the Stella di Mare's grand outdoor pool, with panoramic views of the surrounding area. The Stella's acclaimed a la carte restaurants offer a variety of dishes from Mediterranean cuisine to Sushi, all prepared by a team of highly-trained international chefs. We also offer guests the chance to play golf on our fantastic short course. Guest's can play whilst enjoying spectacular views of the clear blue sea and can also benefit from our professional golf instructor. The Stella di Mare Beach Hotel and Spa also provides its own evening entertainment program, featuring local Egyptian belly-dancers and international singers nightly. The Resort is located just 10 km from Sharm el-Sheikh International Airport. Free parking is available on-site. Hotel Rooms: 298. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel And Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing