We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
Ranked #43 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The approach to the hotel and entrance is wholly unimpressive and obviously unfinished. Like most of the area the hotel owners think using the surrounding land as a tip will escape holiday makers attention. Seriously they build a 40feet high slide tower and all you can see around you is piles of concrete and old air con units. This is the 6th time we've been to Sharm and all hotels with any undeveloped ground look like this.
The water park is superb for a guest only attraction. There are some issues with safety and the Spacebowl was shut, we were told, due to guest injuries. There seemed to be a lot of guests with ankle injuries which we couldn't quite figure out. However, the lazy river has several bridges over it which are amazingly painted dark grey. This will take the skin off your bare feet and guests are always running over them. Also, the steps out of the pools are the the same colour as the bottom and you can't see them. I stubbed my toes several times. The lifeguards can appear a bit jobsworth but considering the incident earlier this year it is not surprising.
The global problem of towels on unattended sun beds prevails here around the main pools and we only went there for a late afternoon drink due to this. Salvation however comes from the water park which isn't accessible to guests until it opens at 10am. You can always get a bed there and it isn't that noisy. Indeed it is more peaceful as the usual pushy spa and other sales people seem to have restricted access. I counted less than a dozen visits by said people and half of these were newspaper sellers and none were pushy.
Service can be a bit slow and queues develop quickly. This is a management issue. Why wait until you run out of something before you get more. This applies to plates, cups, food and drink everywhere from the bars to the restaurant. Again the jobs worth attitude creeps in where even if a staff member notices something they don't act on it because it isn't their job.
The only bar outside this restaurant and pool areas is in reception and it is tiny and a permanent queue seems to go with it.
The food is as good as any other local hotel and has the first drinkable coffee I have found in Egypt (just). There is plenty of food for kids even if it isn't healthy. What kids eat healthily?
The rooms are well appointed and the air con is good. They are a little dark as they have swapped to LED lights and they just aren't bright enough.
Staff are a mixed bunch. We had great room service with the odd £1 tip resulting in the usual towel creations in the hope of another tip but that was it. People we met had people demanding tips and turning up with "missing towels" moments after you return to the room. We had no such problems. Everyone was generally friendly but ultimately frustrate you with their inefficiency.
Like most of the beachfront hotels they don't make enough of the location and there isn't really anything to draw you to it. The lagoon between the beach and the reef is very wide at this point and the pier only gets you to boating depth leaving quite a swim to the back of the reef for the better snorkelling. If you like snorkelling pick and choose the best time. Boat activity causes lower visibility and the best time is early morning but dependant on the tide.Iif you want to get over the reef go on a trip or sneak onto another hotels longer pier.
In all this could be a very good hotel if it just got its act together. We won't be returning.

Room Tip: there are issues with Mosquitos getting into some ground floor rooms, including the superior rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 69AndyB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,618
    1,563
    610
    207
    123
See reviews for
2,730
1,928
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Breakfast was the best meal of the day (except there was no bacon ), dinner was the worst. There was a good selection of food, however it was spoilt by poor quality ingredients and/or preparation. From previous experience (both my husband and myself have travelled widely), the standard was defiantly not 4 star, 3 star would be generous and 2 star more appropriate.

Out of a party of 5, 4 of us went down with serious diarrhoea, some of which were still signed off work a week after we returned home. The only person who did not suffer lived off pizza, pasta, pancakes and waffles , the two who suffered the worst had been more adventurous with their food choices.

Both rooms were good size, good views and cleaned to “blokes” standards, the main areas were cleaned daily but areas such as the bathroom tiles were never cleaned during our stay and it showed.

The quality of the drink can be summed up as “local brands” and the measures varied depending on the staff. The red wine made good vinegar for the chips.

The behaviour of the some residents was disappointing, especially as it impacted other people’s enjoyment. For example the vendors at the hotel sold laser pointers, and they were purchased for children who were allowed to run feral. The lasers were used around the hotel, including in the restaurant, with people’s faces being the main target. We did raise it as an issue but were told it was acceptable behaviour, talking with other residents I understand quite a few people had also raised it.

The entertainment can be summed up as “Hi-de-Hi!” meets the Oompa Loompas, they had a lot of energy however it was poorly directed and appeared to cater for the lowest common denominator. The highlight for my 10-year old son was the evening film which was shown outside after dinner, however this was spoilt by laser pointers being shone at the screen.

If you want Butlins in the sun and are not worried about the quality of the food and drink this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Look at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PollyH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbighshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

An extended family group spent a week at the Coral Sea Waterworld in August. The waterpark was ideal for the age group we had and a lot of fun was had by us all. This in mind prevents or distracts me from the other aspects of the hotel. We never went to the hotel's entertainment as it started too late for us. The family deluxe rooms were very spacious. Food is obviously mass produced for this large resort but you will not go hungry as there is always something to tempt you. The main dessert seemed to be crumble every night. Two of our group of eight had the egyptian tummy despite vigilant use of hand gel etc.
It was too hot for the beach for our group and there is little to see snorkelling in the area roped off
and overseen by staff. Suggestion for snorkelling- turn left at beach path and head for the jetty that goes to the shipwreck ( The jetty is blocked off by a gate but you can climb around it! Obviously you are not supposed to be on it.)

Room Tip: Ground floor family deluxe rooms are larger than those on upper floors as they have large patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jante069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Got back from Egypt yesterday and i wish i could go back again.

The water park was great. it was very rare if you had to wait in lines to go down any of the slides even though the water park was always busy and the majority of the pool staff were lovely and were always willing to have a laugh in the pools with you. The main restaurant was nice but got a bit repetitive and we got fed up of there quite easily but the food was good. The Italian restaurant was nice but the drinks were expensive so we didn't but any and it was hard to enjoy a meal without a drink, it let it down a bit. the mermaid restaurant by the beach was lovely, it was nice to have lunch served to you. The hotel rooms were very clean and seemed newly decorated. Room 2120 (the room i stayed in) had an amazing view of the main pool and the sea. The 5 stars animation team crazy variety shows weren't very good but the other shows were good. and the animation team were so friendly (especially bob)

If you want to book any excursions like quad biking and sand bugging I would recommend falcon, if you want to book its about a 10 minute was from the hotel.

just want to say Hi and thank you to Ahmed (the pool guy) and our room cleaner Ahmed for making our holiday brilliant!

Room Tip: We stayed in a family deluxe, much better than a normal family but practically the exact same as any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

First time to CSWW! I'll keep it short!
Rooms: stayed in family deluxe - huge! And very clean.
Pools: could do with a clean. Sunbeds! If your not prepared to getup at 5.30am or tip the towel guy at the beginning of the holiday, you won't get one till 3 in the afternoon.
Waterpark: Good fun, but gets boring! But we did get sun beds as only opens at 10am.
Beach: clean, sunbeds could do with an overhaul, but the beach was empty, so a good place to get a sunbed, staff at the bar were brill. Yes it's shallow for miles, but we saw an abundance of marine fish, snorkelling is good.
Staff: absolutely brilliant, from 5 star animation to the main staff from pool guys, towel guys, waiters, cleaners! And even the bin boys! They are super! Polite and brilliant.
Kids Club! LaLa: my kids still miss you, outstanding.
Now to the downside: the food was diabolical, so we ate out every night, TGIs, MccyDs, Burger King, a very nice chinese and Hard Rock Cafe! we even gave up with breakfast! Eat at the Mermaid for lunch, the food is outstanding! Eat at the buffet, and its awful!
I've rated this hotel as a 4*, that is an Egyptian 4*, the Hotel can't do enough, it's just a shame the food was awful!
Our kids, 7&4, will miss everyone there and so will we, but to be honest, we won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyMoo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Been to Egypt a few times but this was first visit to this hotel.

I will list good and bad.

Food in main restaurant is good and bad, mostly poor. Food stations are very old and need renewing ASAP. If you like waiting in long line to be served bog standard spag Bol then you will love it, we walked to Hard Rock Cafe every night to eat.

Food in Italian was very good, and good at lunch also.

Indian was average me and my wife were ill after eating lamb curry, and no we did not drink any alcohol or have to much sun!!!

Water park good lots of beds.

If you like snorkelling don't bother as most coral is dead, I did see a few stupid people feeding fish when I went to the edge of the reef and the next day when I went out spotted shark swimming in the same area it was not really big about 5ft long but big enuf for me to swim back as never seen one before on my travels to Red Sea.

If you want a cocktail go to Hard Rock Cafe as the barmen on site have not got a clue, it's just how fast can I serve you, I don't just want half a glass of poor quailty spirit with a bit of pop put in.

Rooms, we had two room suite which was good air con good.

I did have to speak to hotel manager about one of the staff from hotel next door going around asking my son and his friends (13 yrs of age) if he wanted to go to his room for a PARTY, investigation was alleged to have happened but nothing back from rep, or manager.

Beach party rubbish, entertainment well I will list a few things BINGO, QUIZ, KARAOKE ETC.

Much better hotels on the Red Sea for the same money.

So all in all if you like Butlins need to eat 5000 kals of pizza and chips in the sun you will love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andy232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our first time at CCWW and it will not be the last.From start to finish everything about this place is amazing.When we arrived as it was late we went straight for tea, then up to reception to check in.Our suitcases were delivered to our room within five mins.The water park, amazing,something for everyone,Nathaniel our 13yr old loved both the wave pool and the lazy river, in truth so did we !.Each meal time there was something for everyone and more besides,you could not complain if you wanted to. Also our night at the italian was excellent too, the fish and steak were out of this world. Our room was a superior, overlooking the sea, again spot on,spacious, clean and a special thanks to Mohammed our cleaner for his excellent towel art. Finally the animation team, they work so hard all day and night there energy and enthusiasm was superb. Will we be back ?, of course we will see you next year.!!!!

WAKEY WAKEY SHARM EL SHEIKEYYYYY !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you can a superior room, the extra is worth it for the view. ( room 1138)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#93 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Holiday Village
Coral Sea Holiday Village
#23 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,321 reviews
5.1 mi away
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El S...
#32 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
2.7 mi away
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
#12 of 32 in Nabq Bay
1,582 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort
Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Bea...
#56 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Waterworld Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Waterworld Resort

Property: Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
Address: El-Salam Road | Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 317, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#33 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Waterworld Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it's time to plan your next family vacation, choose the Coral Sea Waterworld beachfront all-inclusive resort and experience the newest water park in Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh. Coral Sea Waterworld families are guaranteed to enjoy spending days on the body slides: twisting body slide, speed slides, tube and multi-lane slides. After the sun goes down, enjoy fine dining at the Indian restaurant, then laze around with friends over a drink at Finnley’s bar or perhaps feel the beats at the Hard Rock Café just around the corner. Make Coral Sea Waterworld your next Sharm El Sheikh getaway and experience utmost action! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Coral Sea Waterworld Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing