We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building work did spoil our week's holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
Ranked #56 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were really looking forward to arriving at the Coral Sea Resort, after having spent a great week on the Thomson Celebration Cruise ship, and were excited when we arrived. Soon after we began to settle into our very nice room to have a cup of tea and relax, after unpacking, there was very loud drilling and banging from below and we soon realised that there was extensive building work going on. We went to reception and asked if we could be moved to a quieter room and a couple of hours later we were kindly given another room on the other side of the resort, but plenty of noise going on there too. One of the reps said that the work would only be between 9am and 5 pm, fine if you are up and out on activities all day, but this was meant to be a peaceful week for us, in which we could partly enjoy being in our room and sitting on our balcony, reading, relaxing, and doing not much, whenever we felt like it, before getting home and back to work. So we were very disappointed.
Later we found out that we should have been informed of the renovations before we left home so that we could be moved to another hotel if we wished, so a breakdown in communications evidently.

Now, we are not complainers, have backpacked extensively in India and have stayed in all manner of lodgings, but on a short package holiday I do feel guests should know of building disruption, if they are hoping for relaxation in their room which is why I am doing this review.

Apart from this, the hotel is staffed by really friendly, helpful, hardworking people, the beach and sea/lagoon is absolutely beautiful and pristine, with crystal clear waters in which there are myriads of small fish, the hotel is very quiet at night, and we found the food very good. Once all the renovations are done, it will, I'm sure, be the hotel that everyone else is raving about!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chinkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,435 - 3,441 of 6,325 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

great location, food ok, not always hot room clean and tended to everyday , beach lovely , staff great did not expect tips . good entertainment , lovely atmosphere .would come again at the right price ,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trishChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Returned from Coral sea on 7/2/2013 feeling exhausted and stressed!!
The hotel and grounds where lovely, although the bathroom could do with updating the room was nice and comfortable (WHEN IT WAS USABLE BETWEEN THE HOURS OF 7.30PM AND 7AM)
We where in room 1228 which was right in the middle of the contruction taking place. On the first morning i was awoken at 7am to our bed shaking and deafening banging went to investigate to find ceiling of the rooom below being removed. This banging and vibration +went on all day unitl about 7pm along with workmen shouting and angle grinders working all day.
I asked to be moved to another room but was told that all rooms where filled and reception would ring me to let me know if any became unoccupied.
This was the theme for the whole week, some other guests changed rooms (must me more aggresive than me , or maybe tipped more!!) however the rooms they where given had the same noise issues as work is being undertaken all over the complex.
Personally i feel that it would have made more sense to close one half of the complex while work was carried out on that wing and then open other wing when work completed to allow other wing to be updated (I put that down to hotels greed wanting as much money as possible).
Also, the advice given to us by Thomsons was wholey inaccurate, in fact a blatent lie.. I recieved a letter stating that air conditioning work was being carried out and guests would be situated away from work NOT IN THE MIDDLE OF WORK!! if we where informed when booking of the extent of the work we would have rebooked elsewhere, according to the onsite reps they email everyday reports on work and customers gripes.

Please check on work before booking.....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

First Impression of the Hotel was impressive, even though construction of the new water park was going on. My sister (23 year old)and I (18 year old) arrived late evening to a welcoming bell boy and friendly security. However, this was some what marred by the off-hand and curt attitude of the reception staff. Unfortunately this didn't change throughout our stay, especially when my sister and I had someone repeatedly calling our room phone late at night and knocking our door, so we called reception to ask if they could look into the matter, on this occasion the reception staff were not only indifferent they were darn right rude! (there, I've got that off my chest and feel a lot better.) Moving on, the holiday was amazing, a perfect January get-away! Food, exceptional with a different themed cuisine each night, yummy! The Italian A la Carte was sublime, we were recommended the steak! Not something we would choose, but this was the most amazing steak, cooked to perfection and served with panache. All of the Dining, Bar, Pool, and Beach staff were literally amazing, so friendly and helpful and we can't speak highly enough of them - Thank you! The shops in the Hotel offered a good range of products at competitive prices, especially the bag shop upstairs, the jewellery and watch shop downstairs and a must go-to shop is Bob's (everything) shop by the dining room. One particular factor of the holiday experience which excelled its self for us was the Animation team! Tanya, Magdy, Luigi, Richard, Jo you are an asset to the hotel, and although we were a boring pair of youths which enjoyed sitting by the pool doing nothing all day and getting back for the 10:30pm film, your enthusiasm to get us active was second to none! Thank you Magdy and Luigi for the Water-Aerobics, we didn't feel so bad about eating so much each day! The rooms were lovely and spacious and the artistic towel sculptures created by our house keeper Aziz put a smile on our face every day. Without the staff at this hotel it would be half as good, it is a beautiful complex which would suit anyone from couples to family, to a group of friends (there is a pacha near-by!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eloise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are just back from CSR for fourth time, this time with our 17 year old daughter. As with any experience, I think a holiday is what you make it!
It's a lovely hotel with great facilities but it's just an building without the amazing staff, the Animation Team & the Thomson Reps that make it that extra bit special – without them it would just be a 'normal' hotel! They're all just so happy – from the security guys right through to the Towel Guys and this communicates to the clients. I also promised to mention the Reception guys as they said they always seem to be overlooked! :-)
Not only is it in a very central location (5 minutes from Hard Rock Cafe,TGI Fridays, Metro Supermarket etc.) but only 30 minutes max from the airport.
Sharm is great when you stop being English & say what you mean to the shop-keepers outside the Hotel, they know where they stand i.e 'No'. Once that's established then it's really no problem! This also applies to the CSR Spa team – tell them you're not interested on the first day & they leave you alone. They seem to become a lot more 'natural' & friendly when they know you're not interested, so they don't feel any pressure to sell you anything, in my experience.
Food was good as usual & (as I said earlier) this is our fourth time without any stomach trouble (fingers crossed for next time)!
Although it's having a for major refurb shortly, as long as the staff are mainly the same, the new CSR should even better!
As for Excursions, we did Seascope & Quad Bikes, both of which were awesome (even for us relative oldies) as was the Para-Gliding, which we were to scared to do but our daughter really enjoyed!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We arrived on a Thursday evening and right from the start start the staff, animations team and the guys from Aquarius on the beach did their best to make our stay fantastic! Whatever question or problem we may have had were dealt with grace and style, blessed with some gorgeous first week of February weather. We're planning our second visit already :) thanks for making our first holiday together so very special for us, little Ed (Ahmed Saad Ahmed) at Aquarius on the beach was invaluable with advice, guidance and help even though we didn't do water sports he never tried once to sell to us, just became a great friend! Egypt, lovely people, lovely weather, lovely place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralphy45RPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

There are a few bad reviews going around at the moment but don't let them put you off. This was our all time favourite holiday, why did we only book 7 days :-(

Yes, there is renovation work going on, but you will only notice it if you seek it out. We were also given a heads up by Thomson via email and the hotel have also done a great job hiding the works, too well, I'd have loved to see what was going on with the new aqua park. All work is carried out during the day when you're away from your room, not in the mornings or night. The noise is minimal and easily ignored.

Our room was better than expected, free upgrade without asking, probably because of renovations. Clean, great view, kingsize bed, air-con on when we arrived, fresh fruit, faulty lightbulb replaced within minutes, free safe.

Lots of choice when it comes to food, you could easily have 5 different meals each sitting, good standard, friendly and helpful waiters. we just wish they had ice-cream with the evening meals; only available at lunch. The italian restaurant serve the best steak we've ever eaten.

Entertainment is run by the animation team who made our holiday what it was. You need to make the effort with these guys and your holiday will become the most memorable. Huge thanks to the guys, Richard, Magdy, Luigi and especially Joe for getting us involved. They run daily activities around the pool which are fun and help you make friends ahead of the evening entertainment in the hotel bar/club. There's also the opportunity to play football in the evenings with fellow guests and staff.

Overall, we had a great relaxing break during the first week of February, temperatures were what we expected, hotel, staff and entertainment above expectations. Guests were mainly english and at this time of year the hotel was very quiet, plenty of sun beds at the pool and on the beach.

For one of us this was our second visit to the hotel, we will be making it three sooner rather than later and recommending to all our friends.

Room Tip: Pack your trainers and join in the football on the 3G pitch with the hotel staff and the guys from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank le6o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
11.7 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,575 reviews
10.9 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Holiday Village
Coral Sea Holiday Village
#68 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El S...
#30 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Waterworld Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Waterworld Resort

Address: El-Salam Road | Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 317, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#43 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $85 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Waterworld Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it's time to plan your next family vacation, choose the Coral Sea Waterworld beachfront all-inclusive resort and experience the newest water park in Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh. Coral Sea Waterworld families are guaranteed to enjoy spending days on the body slides: twisting body slide, speed slides, tube and multi-lane slides. After the sun goes down, enjoy fine dining at the Indian restaurant, then laze around with friends over a drink at Finnley’s bar or perhaps feel the beats at the Hard Rock Café just around the corner. Make Coral Sea Waterworld your next Sharm El Sheikh getaway and experience utmost action! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Coral Sea Waterworld Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing