We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiran Island 11-21 Jan '13”
Review of Tiran Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiran Island Hotel
Ranked #102 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tiran Island 11-21 Jan '13”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

A cheap post xmas break in the sun was what my wife and I wanted and for the measly sum of around £400 (not flights) that's what we got. Without doubt this resorts biggest asset is it's staff. Always cheerful and pleasant (unlike the Russians..........)
On arrival just 5 minutes from the airport the reception staff were friendly and helpful. We were given room 1201 and quickly changed at our request (see note !!) without question, me thinks they knew it was a noisy room.....We were moved to room 1225 with no fuss and I was given a beer whilst this was sorted out. This room exceeded our expectations quiet, overlooking the kids pool, great view and sun shine from 0800 - 1630 !! With a bed you could get lost in...
Anyhow to summarise:
Grub, Yes the restaurant could be cleaner but an enjoyable breakfast could be had with fresh eggs cooked to order this was followed by a nice lunch (admittedly I had the BBQ choice and salad every day but it's my review !!) Supper ? Sorry Tiran have to be honest, struggled to find something we really enjoyed but a good curry or similar washed down with a cold beer or drinkable glass of wine can be sourced at SOHO a cheap taxi ride away.
Generally we felt the hotel was presentable but needed a good deep clean !! The animation team worked hard to keep something going and although I played the 'Victor Mildew' other people seemed to be having a laugh with them.
Finally - I have to mention the 'Brawling Russians' !! much to everyone's amusement a couple of lads heavily in drink (obviously from outside the hotel) had a face slapping competition I call it this because they were too drunk to throw any punches. Regrettably this was quickly dealt with by the staff and they never returned.
Would we go again ? For the hotel yes but I like to go off walking for three/four hours and It's location is just too remote for this - oh nearly forgot my wife's birthday fell during our stay (she's at the age where she doesn't count any more - cue clip round ear !!) and without any prompting a card and small cake turned up at the room. I think the nice lady in guest relations was too blame - Big Thanks :-)

Room Tip: Be warned rooms 1201 and 1202 have the main extractor fans for the kitchens outside their doors !! T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtsDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    586
    308
    142
    135
See reviews for
360
744
46
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

we were at the hotel from the 6th january 2013 and stayed for 2 weeks,i was a bit wary of some of the things posted on here as to cleanliness...well i can say thats their opinion but we couldn't fault it one bit,the staff were totally amazing and the room cleaned every day,we felt very welcome we didn't have any health problems at all as for the lobby bar they were fantastic..we feel we have made very nice friends who couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome,we are definatley coming back,but would like to say hany,tall mohamed,zakaria,asmaa made us feel like friends and not visitors it was like home from home..and jess and sam who do animation were great and made us join in with the games which they made fun and made us laugh alot,from our experience we have no second thoughts we are definately going back but with family aswell

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly1066England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The weather was 30 degrees in January ! Amazing ! The rooms were basic but clean. The food was fine but no variety , whatever you had for tea you had for lunch the next day. The pool is large . Ten minutes to the beach which is gorgeous . There are two restaurants within the hotel they advertise that they are free but you have to pay for them. They also claim free wifi but you have to also pay. Most of the staff are very friendly but beg for tips everyday. The pool bar is good but we had ice that had a frozen fly in it and they don't keep lids on drinks and are covered in flies.They say you can request a room eg double bed but they don't use that information we booked a double room and had a single bed. The entertainment is good

Room Tip: They say you can request a room eg double bed but they don't use that information we booked a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2001sdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Tiran Island Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that the Egyptian sun warmed your spirits and you enjoyed the entertainment and pool bar facilities.

All of the bottles are covered with speed pourers and our Bars Managers has been informed to ensure that no bottles are left without lids.

You do not mention who you booked with or where you saw the advertisment for free wifi and free ala carte restaurants, however, all our main agents websites are checked and nowhere do we advertise these facilities as free of charge. If you could please forward me the details of where you saw this advertised for free I can ensure that it is removed.

With regards to 'requesting' a double bed this is as it suggests, a request only and therefore dependent upon availability which means it is not a guarantee however we will always try to accommodate your wishes where possible.

We would love to welcome you again so you can see any improvements or changes we may have made so please do contact me on shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.com

WIth best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality Control & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a 4 week stay at this hotel and overall had a really good holiday. The hotel is in need of some TLC however the room we were in was roomy and clean with towels changed daily. The staff were excellent, always willing to do all they could to make you welcome. The food was OK but repetitive. On the down side there was a very high proportion of Russians the majority of whom were pushy and rude. The hotel is also pretty isolated requiring a bus or taxi trip to get to shops, bars or restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

after reading some resent reviews we were expecting the worst. but found the hotel ok, yes is not a four star but for what you pay its fine.rooms cleaned every day,towels also changed every day.not a great choice of food but could always fined something to eat now to the drinks one word unpalatale (alcoholic) non alcoholic ok.maybe if they up graded the local beverages
thered be less complaints.staff always happy to help would i return probably

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hadanuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Greetings from Tiran Island Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are happy to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your holiday. The room cleaners work hard to make your stay comfortable as do all our staff here.

I have passed your comments on to the Food & Beverage Manager about the local alcohol for him to investigate although we do use the most popular brand supplied to the majority of hotels in Sharm El Sheikh.

We would love to welcome you again to our hotel and if you decide to return then please do contact me at shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.net.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality Control & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel which i visited previously in May 2011 we had a decent time then and decided that we would like to go back although most of the staff had changed since my last visit, i found that the majority of staff where helpful and pleasant.
Food is always an issue for me when i go on holiday as i am fussy but was surprised to see that the food choice had got better since my last stay i think breakfast which is the main meal of the day could do with revamping as i found myself only having omelettes in the morning which were always well prepared. I always find this hotel to be clean throughout and the rooms a good size and always cleaned at a decent time and to a good standard. The part of the beach that is linked to the hotel is good but the bar could do with an upgrade and the sound system too as the hotel next door starts using theirs around 11am and always seems to drown out ours. A quick word on the animation team that was there this time they were good but not as good as the ones that were their the last time i visited.

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony so you can hang stuff out to dry always a good tip for the guys who hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duwane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a really nice week at Tiran Island Hotel. The room was large and nice. The food was good. Short distance to the beach. Nice pool, just a little cold. and those who worked there were friendly and helpful. Just a little dry humor. But what made the trip from good to really nice was the staff of Luna Sol animation team. They always had a smile and would always talk or do something. Good dancers were also :) Remember especially Sam, he was outstanding. Felt they were more friends who wanted to help us, than someone who worked there. Although they worked around the clock, it felt like. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torkild R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Sharm Resort & Spa
Sharm Resort & Spa
#81 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aurora Sharm Resort
Aurora Sharm Resort
#114 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
#137 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jaz Belvedere
Jaz Belvedere
#45 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#16 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Garden Resort
Island Garden Resort
#112 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiran Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiran Island Hotel

Property: Tiran Island Hotel
Address: Montazah, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiran Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Sharm el Sheik's finest locations in the heart of Montazah, the Resort is able to offer an outstanding vacation, diving and conference experience. The luxurious four-star Tiran Hotel features 335 rooms and suites with sea, pool, garden and mountain views, two restaurants, including an Indian specialty restaurant Opening October 1st 2009), three bars, an extensive landscaped outdoor pool and children's pool, a kids club, an ampitheatre, a business centre, an internet café and a spacious conference hall with adjoining syndicate rooms. The Tiran Hotel has its own private beach featuring relaxation facilities, dining and a Bedouin tent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tiran Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing