We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as bad as i was led to beleave”
Review of Tiran Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiran Island Hotel
Ranked #103 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not as bad as i was led to beleave”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

after reading some resent reviews we were expecting the worst. but found the hotel ok, yes is not a four star but for what you pay its fine.rooms cleaned every day,towels also changed every day.not a great choice of food but could always fined something to eat now to the drinks one word unpalatale (alcoholic) non alcoholic ok.maybe if they up graded the local beverages
thered be less complaints.staff always happy to help would i return probably

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hadanuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Greetings from Tiran Island Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are happy to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your holiday. The room cleaners work hard to make your stay comfortable as do all our staff here.

I have passed your comments on to the Food & Beverage Manager about the local alcohol for him to investigate although we do use the most popular brand supplied to the majority of hotels in Sharm El Sheikh.

We would love to welcome you again to our hotel and if you decide to return then please do contact me at shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.net.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality Control & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    587
    308
    142
    135
See reviews for
361
746
46
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel which i visited previously in May 2011 we had a decent time then and decided that we would like to go back although most of the staff had changed since my last visit, i found that the majority of staff where helpful and pleasant.
Food is always an issue for me when i go on holiday as i am fussy but was surprised to see that the food choice had got better since my last stay i think breakfast which is the main meal of the day could do with revamping as i found myself only having omelettes in the morning which were always well prepared. I always find this hotel to be clean throughout and the rooms a good size and always cleaned at a decent time and to a good standard. The part of the beach that is linked to the hotel is good but the bar could do with an upgrade and the sound system too as the hotel next door starts using theirs around 11am and always seems to drown out ours. A quick word on the animation team that was there this time they were good but not as good as the ones that were their the last time i visited.

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony so you can hang stuff out to dry always a good tip for the guys who hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duwane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a really nice week at Tiran Island Hotel. The room was large and nice. The food was good. Short distance to the beach. Nice pool, just a little cold. and those who worked there were friendly and helpful. Just a little dry humor. But what made the trip from good to really nice was the staff of Luna Sol animation team. They always had a smile and would always talk or do something. Good dancers were also :) Remember especially Sam, he was outstanding. Felt they were more friends who wanted to help us, than someone who worked there. Although they worked around the clock, it felt like. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torkild R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Myself & my 2 teenagers Returned on the 26/12/12 after a 14 night stay. First impressions on arrival were good, the room size was ok for the 3 of us a cleaner did a good job and changed the sheets regular. Clean towels daily that he took the time to make marvelous animals and flowers with. The Lobby area is kept clean at all times and the bar opened at 10.30am till 11pm. The hotel was very busy on the second week and we did feel every night the bar went on a go slow prior to the charge for drinks starting at 11pm. No Russians are allowed to drink in the Lobby bar without charge. Additional bar staff definitely required from 9.30pm - 11pm as at times the wait was rather long. The pool area is lovely and kept clean, however they do need to manage some residents who decide to not adhere to the no glass at the pool rule! for obvious reasons. YES the pool is breathtaking cold and can not be heated as they do not have the facilities to heat the pool, so if you want a warm pool don't go to this hotel. The sea however is beautiful and warm. The main restaurant is the main area for improvement, at first it was ok, we found it a little disappointing as 2 previous years where we stayed was great but it cost quite a lot more so I was prepared to accept that price comparison is was acceptable. BUT as the hotel got busier the service got worse and worse. Yes the Russians have different habits which we found rude but I can honestly say we just ignored it, live and let live. One morning the breakfast service was just totally unacceptable and we had a week to go so enough was enough, a few of us got together and had a meeting with Mr Salah the director of food and beverages. We got various English guests names and room numbers (strength in numbers) along with photos of empty trays, no coffee, no cups, not one clean table etc etc and showed him. Mr Salah was very dissapointed and said he had previously been on holiday and since his return been very busy arranging the xmas gala. So he asked for a chance to sort it out and gave us his word at lunch it would be better. Shock horror a man true to his word, we went up a lunch to a different restaurant, more staff, the food presentation and amount was a lot better, all tables clean and set, more cups and glasses, everything had been improved as well as the cleanliness (not to my standard but better). We said the next challenge was to maintain it. Mr Salah was present on and off during all the meals times to make sure things did not slip back. So I would recommend that if you choose to go and things are not right to ask to speak to a manager and they will address it, Mr Salah really wants the English to have a good time while there and is passionate about his work. Big question is would we go back, my kids had a fantastic time even with lack of food choice the animation team were fantastic with them. Myself on the other hand, after been home for a couple of days YES i would catch the next flight if I could. We miss been on holiday and the staff and other guests were all great! Price comparison 3 of us £1500 14 nights airport parking and insurance BARGAIN previous years it cost me double!!
p.s - To Tiran customer services, the beach bar needs some attention compared to the other beautiful ones you see at the other hotels! New table and chairs and major cleaning of the toilets!

Room Tip: 2234 it was a sea view but not a pool, the sun on an afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

looking back on my vacation at the tiran island hotel i only have good things to say for the waiters bar staff, and the animation team. namely jescina, katya, nadya, bessem and biggie. they were all fantastic and made sure there was never a dull moment up in the hotel or down at the beach. the waiters and barstaff were also very helpful and polite. although they all get treated like crap from the senior staff. when being disciplined by the management it was all very public and made myself and the rest of my party feel very awkward.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HsamuelP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We Recently stayed at Tiran Island Hotel, after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor we were quite concerned about what we'd just book for our Christmas and new year stay, upon arrival we were presently surprised by the way in which we were booked in. Although the two rooms we had asked for were not available they gave us a family sweet for the first two nights then up graded us free of charge to two rooms with sea and pool view and also gave us a late check out as an appiloge for the inconvenience.

The Rooms are cleaned everyday and kept to a good stranded with towel sculptures on the beds most days which gives you something to look forward to when returning to your room.

Food.This was also a major worry as one of us is a vegetarian. Well yes it is a bit like feeding time at the zoo if you wanted eat the minute it opens but leave it for an hour and its okay. The food is a bit repetitive but we always manages to find something to eat. The staff try very hard to keep every thing clean and available if something is missing we asked for it to be replaced and it always was. Breakfast was best meal of the day with fresh omelets available and a great selection of pastry's.Lunch and Dinner had pasta cooked fresh and to your request, Remember you're not in England and the food is a bit different but give it a go as most of the time its tasted okay

For a treat try the Curry House we went twice. The food is very good and prices work out about £10 per head the best thing was that after the hustle and bussel of the buffet restaurant this meal took all night got in about 7.30pm left 10.30pm.The waiter was the best of the holiday backwards and forwards to the bar never had to ask for a drink.

Daytime was mainly spent at the poolside were we entered into all the daytime activities which were morning stretching, darts and water polo and of course cocktail games and note that in January the pool is really cold but its okay once you get in. There is always something going on and most days didn't get time to read the paper till about 2 in the afternoon just like to take this opportunity to say a special thank-you to Jess and Sam for making the days more fun for us all and going out there way to help us with anything we needed, Great people, Always Smiling and was great fun, Will be Missed. Well done to all the animation team at the night entertainment. Make sure you take a trip to the beach at least once, hire mask and snorkel for £2.50 each a real experience not to be missed.

Christmas eve and New Years Eve were special dinner evenings we had to pay for the christmas eve dinner this was a shock but booked it with hani and sami they went out of there way to make sure we had a good night, great table and a special vegetarian meal cooked for Sharon the show and food was great and the evening was very special way to see in Christmas. New Year was also good but very packed in due to this being free and the whole hotel was there special thanks to Hani Sami and of course Mr Sani.

To some up this hotel you get what you pay for, its not the best but it certainly is not the worst hotel for every thing that was wrong the staff sorted it out quickly and professionally the staff are a credit always happy and ready to help.

We Hope to see you all again next year!

Room Tip: Rooms With pool view can be noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Please. Please do not go to this awful hotel. We were stolen from in our rooms, the food is dire. Uncooked, dirty plates, glasses and cutlery. Within one day we were extremely ill. Moved hotels and were treated as lepers for complaining, everyone complained and it fell on deaf ears, re theft they refuse to contact police and pay lip service and do not care at all.
Sunshine holidays are a small rip off concern do not book with them, we now intend to take things further with a solicitor.
We are not serial complainers but I implore to anybody who has booked here, do not go.
This is a 2star if that, excuse for a hotel.
Easy jet need to take this from their books.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Tiran Island Hotel.

We are sad to learn that you were not happy with your stay and therefore I would like to clarify the following issues.

You do not mention what was allegedly stolen from your room although after checking our records you said it was an ipad. The hotel accepts no responsibility for any valuables left outside the safe box (free of charge in your room) which is stated on your registration card. The safe box has your own digital code and noone else can get in to it without the code becoming ineffective.

However, with regards to contacting the police this should all be done through your travel respresntative including a translator to come with you. As you moved hotels your representative would have been aware of the issue you had.

I believe you originally wanted to book the Sonesta Resort although there was no availability, the Sonesta Resort is a 5 star, we are a 4 star and the hotel moves are dealt with by your Travel Agency and not directly with the hotel. We did however, offer you free internet access in order to be able to contact your Travel Agency in the UK.

With regards to 'uncooked food', we offer 3 live cooking stations consisting of a live egg/pasta station plus live grill outside therefore your food is cooked to order giving the ability of having your food cooked as you like it.

Therefore you can see we have tried to help you and to accomodate your requests where possible.

If you would like to discuss the situation further please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.com.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality Control & Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Cyrene Grand Hotel
#87 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,985 reviews
6.8 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 32 in Nabq Bay
943 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#65 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
#127 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#14 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiran Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiran Island Hotel

Property: Tiran Island Hotel
Address: Montazah, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiran Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Sharm el Sheik's finest locations in the heart of Montazah, the Resort is able to offer an outstanding vacation, diving and conference experience. The luxurious four-star Tiran Hotel features 335 rooms and suites with sea, pool, garden and mountain views, two restaurants, including an Indian specialty restaurant Opening October 1st 2009), three bars, an extensive landscaped outdoor pool and children's pool, a kids club, an ampitheatre, a business centre, an internet café and a spacious conference hall with adjoining syndicate rooms. The Tiran Hotel has its own private beach featuring relaxation facilities, dining and a Bedouin tent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Tiran Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing