We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic ...........................................................”

Aquarius Diving Club
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic ...........................................................”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We would like to add our thanks and just say that we felt safe, secure and in the best hands possible when we Dived with Aquarius Dive school, the staff were FANTASTIC and very professional ...We were on the boat Maka and under the supervision of MOMO,a true legend on the red sea....We were introduced to Aquarius via the rep and even tho we had a dive school at our Grand plaza resort ..we felt confident and reassured that opting to learn to dive with Aquarius was for us.......We dived Jackson Reef and also Laguna Reef.......We had all the training ,the equipment and safety knowledge explained to us in a slow calm professional way that really put us at ease .
My introduction to Aquarius was via the Rep from HOUSTON TEXAS AND IF YOU MEET HER youall will feel at ease with her........Paul and Dionne Guernsey Channel islands
Thanks Aquarius

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULCLARK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    36
    9
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Five days diving with Aquarius Dive Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We dove with aquarius a year ago in Hurghada and very much liked the people and organization, so we booked with them again this year for Sharm El Sheikh.

This group in Sharm did not disappoint us. The guides were easy to talk with, friendly, professional and safe. The boats were clean and organized, and the crews friendly and easy to generate some rapport with.

When we ran out of diving opportunities within our level (just Open Water) they tried to put together some alternatives so we could keep diving. No complaints. I’d dive with Aquarius again in a minute.

Special mention. We made the mistake of not getting the Egypt tourist visa when we arrived at the airport and only found out the day before our first boat trip that we needed one. So we paid a driver from Aquarius to take us out there, but not only did he drive us, but he also ushered us through the entire cumbersome process of getting a visa after you've passed through the passport check ... this whole thing could have been a disaster, but our driver went way above the call of duty to get us through it. Much thanks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Dines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very professional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My partner completed his Padi certificate with the guys at Aquarius. We did a boat trip and he did three scuba dives and I was able to snorkel. The guys were excellent and so good at their jobs, they made it a great day, so much so that we went back to complete his cert, hopefully we'll be back next year so I can do mine :-) thanks guys x

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent diving but pricing became expensive with all the currencies & poor staff knowledge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Booked with Aquarius via our MTS rep (provided at the hotel) - There was a dive centre at our hotel the Coral Beach Rotana Tiran, but Ossy our rep said these had not passed their safety updates. Whether this is true, I don't know as I've been unable to find them online.

We paid in advance for a 6 day dive package. (5+1 one free)
We said we wanted to do the Thistlegorm which was priced up separately and were told this wouldn't be included in our 6 days of diving, so we should qualify for an extra discount because our length of stay meant we effectively couldn't take advantage of the 6th day as we were due to fly home.

Aquarius gave a small discount off a course we took to make up for the 6th day, but we didn't benefit from one of the other days as we went on the Thistlegorm excursion which was £75 each and there was no discount for us given we'd already taken out the package of dives.

I tried to work this out at the end of our dives with the young guy in the shop but he didn't understand what we had been told by our rep and what we'd been charged for. There was no one else there, so ended up having to pay twice. I really wasn't happy about this and the fact he added some of our extra equipment & trips up in English, some in Egyptian, some in Euro and some in Dollars!!! I've NEVER been anywhere where four different currencies are used to calculate one transaction and it just felt like they were bleeding us dry. Overall I think we lost around £150 because of all the converting to and fro. We'd spent a considerable amount anyway as we'd chosen to do extra dives and additional equipment.

The dive sites we were taken to were very good and the guides generally knowledgeable. We did a check dive on the Sheraton house reef, could have been given more time there as we had plenty of air but the guide seemed in a rush to return and disappeared when we returned to the shop - no feedback whatsoever!

When we left our equipment on the boats, they were taken back to the shop but didn't seem to have been rinsed off or hung to dry off at all. My Husband's equipment was faulty - numerous issues with several regulators. Also had broken valve on a bigger tank we'd ordered, meaning dive time cut shorter.

I did like the fact they sought feedback after each dive excursion and we got value for money with being taken out for a full day (usually pick up around 8:15am, returning 4:30pm to hotel) There was always enough drinks available and the food we got on the boats and beach BBQ was very nice, cooked well and enough to go round.

Mainly Brits using this club too, which was a nice change.

I would return to Aquarius IF the pricing is sorted out so that it is fair, upfront and in one currency. Potentially book online in advance if this is possible. If I had to pay in resort again, I would only do so if the manager was there to confirm all charges properly. If it wasn't for the pricing issues, I'd have given this 4/5. Pick up & Shop staff need to be more welcoming too - felt like we were in the wrong place sometimes as nobody was saying anything!

All the boats used were in good condition - miss rewan, wind K & maka. Good facilities and enough space for divers & snorkelers. Also like that they dropped snorkelers and divers off at different points rather than all together.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jmm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fun with the Aquarious Dive School”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Coral Sea Holiday Village for a week from 3rd March 2013 in Sharm. I'm an OWD but hadn't dived for 3 years and so signed up for Scuba Review. My friend had only done an intro dive previously so signed up for the 2 day Scuba Dive Course. I did 4 beach dives from sharks bay and Sheraton reef, both really good fun, with our instructors Hossam and Anwar. Hossam looked after me as I'm not very experienced and I also had someone to carry my tank to the jetty (special treatment I think!), It was really windy so getting from one end of the jetty to the other was good fun! My friend was also really well looked after by Anwar who is very patient with beginners and keeps you safe. She rally enjoyed her course. We then did a boat trip to Tiran Island which was great, I dived and my friend snorkelled. It was a lovely day out and we met some great people on the boat. I would definitely recommend Aquarious to anyone going to Sharm. Thanks to Sam and Anwar and we hope to be back soon xxxx

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarius Diving Club also viewed

Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Aquarius Diving Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing