We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to scratch”
Review of Otium Hotel Aloha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Otium Hotel Aloha
Ranked #94 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not up to scratch”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here in Oct 2011 and this was our second stay on Sharm'. On our arrival we were given a welcome drink that looked loke Night Nurse and tasted much the same. The reception staff were indifferent and although there was only us to check in it took best part of 30 minutes. We were then shown to our room which was clean and well laid out. The next day we went to the pool where we were greeted by Mohammed and made most welcome. The guy never stopped smiling and was always helpful. In the evening we went to the restaurant to be told that there was no bottled water available and all other alcoholic drinks had to be paid for. The food was of a poor quality and there was little variation. The only place to take advantage of the "All inclusive" deal was at the pool bar. This is fine if you don't mind being jostled by VERY rude eastern Europeans. Lunch was mainly of the frozen pizza and fries type and you had to get there fast or the food would run out. After 2 nights we seriously considered moving to the Baron Palms hotel, where we has spent a smashing fortnight in July. Luckily for us, we met a lovely couple who felt the same way that we dis and from then on in we left the hotel in the evenings to go to the local shopping mall where you can get a very nice meal at quite a good price. The hotel and pool was clean and well kept, it's just the staff and the food made this very much a "B" lister. I think that if you have never been to an All Inclusive hotel before, then you might think that this is what it's all about, let me be honest and say that you can get a much better holiday for your money. Aklthough the hotel was not the best, this won't stop us from returning to Egypt in 2013!

Room Tip: Avoid the pool bar in the early evening, the Russians are very rowdy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryBeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Aloha, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
It's almost 10 months since you were with us & the improvement we have is very obvious to all our repeaters as the sky is our limit in addition to the quality which is satisfying all our guests. The A/I formula we are applying is the one we agreed on with our Tour Operators and all our guests are fully aware about it either from their agents or from ourselves through the fact sheet given upon C/In & we are giving more added valued to achieve the best satisfaction. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to see by your self the more value we are giving and the very warm Hospitality.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    256
    89
    42
    21
See reviews for
168
269
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We came to this hotel in June for 10days for the first time in Egypt and enjoyed every minute. The staff are unbelieveable friendly and will go out of their way to do anything for you.

We were all inclusive which is so much easier than half board. The only drinks we had to pay for were alcohol but only drank it of a night when watching the football. There ware pizza, chips and salad available after 11 everyday on the beach and could help yourselves. The soft drinks were available from the pool bar or beach bar, both serving alcohol too.

The pool was a great size for a family hotel - the baby and middle were heated, and had a lot of sunbeds around. The staff were always clearing the cups and food trays, making sure that the place was left clean and tidy.

The rooms were cleaned everyday with new towels in the bathrooms (and they even folded pj's up on the bed!) They set the towels in different shapes on the bed which was always lovely to come in to.

The food was mostly catered for Italian, serving mostly rice/pasta/potatoes. There was 1 different dish every night so we didn't get bored eating the same food. There was tons of bread, salad and fruit to choose from everyday. There was also orange/pineapple juice served at breakfast, and once they got to know what we wanted, they already had it on our table before we even arrived for breakfast!

The toilets inside the hotel and on the beach were always very clean, and the beach was clean and tidy. The sand is more gravelly than soft sand, although it doesn't hurt too much to walk on. There is always a life guard on the jetty and lots of life guards around the beach and pool.

You also get 2 free meals in Shores Amphoras (the next hotel) - fish or Italian. We went for the Italian and although the food was nice, thought Aloha was the nicer hotel.

Overall this was a fabulous holiday and I will definitely be returning to Shores Aloha in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Aloha, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are very honored to hear from you that you are coming back in the near future to Shores Aloha after your first visit.
We promise you to maintain the standard & the hospitality as your expectation, furthermore you will be a member in our Loyalty Program enjoying all the benefits the minute you arrive to our Shores Aloha for the second time as Repeater Guest.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the very near future at Shores Hotels.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel for 11 days from 28.6.-9.7. this was our first experience in Egypt but unfortunately we found this hotel not suitable for us at all.

Lets start by staff at the reception... Guy at the check-in was rarely able to speak english and appeared to know nothing. Most imporant thing what he was interested in was to get some tip out of our pocket to make check-in faster.I was told that 10 dollars would be OK.???? Well I didnt care because my girlfriend didnt feel very well so I proceeded.

Food: Food was served in very small portions mainly meat. Like it was said here before in some other reviews some staff (chefs) were rude when you ask them to give you more. This is not the kind of service that Im looking for.

Our travel agency representative told us that you can have late breakfast if you some day sleep longer.Well we tried. Regular breakfast finishs at 10:00.When I went to reception and asked one of the guy where is late breakfast served he didnt even know what Im talking about.
Then other guy came and told him that late breakfast is served upstairs on the first floor.
For late breakfast I got water and two dried croissants.NO tea no coffee no butter no jam nothing at all.

Beverage: If you have All incl. like we had you can have some Coke, Sprite, Fanta...as you know its all sparkling and if you would like to get something like orange or apple juice on the beach... no way.

If you looking for good customer service, good food and property probably the best idea is to pay few hundreds euro more and stay in brands like Hilton or Sheraton where we ussualy stay in Europe.

The best thing about this place is the sea and underwater life. These are things that make you come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Aloha, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear valuable guest:
All our members of the reception team working with Us have good language skills & they are fully aware about the Resort Facilities & Food Timing & Location; everyone of them talk at least one language in addition to English & Arabic and the newest one of them is working with Us since two years; furthermore Nobody in the reception could ask any guest for money against faster check in, and if it happened as mentioned " why you didn't complaint directly to the Hotel Management or even to your tour operator representative?

The all inclusive system & formula we are applying in our Resort is as per our agreement with all the Travel Agents We are committed with and it is as mentioned in your review. BUT with few hundreds of Euro more; For Sure you will get better value either with us or else where.

All our food is served in Buffet style and its self service; our chefs are there to help. Apart from the previous review, did you try by your self & if it happened with you even for one time in one dinner during your stay why you didn't raise this to the management immediately since we are available around the clock.

We are committed to our agreement with the Travel Agent and with all what's mentioned in our fact sheet provided to all our Guests upon C/In but any other extra service required will be against charge and may be this will justify paying few hundreds of Euro more to get more values.
Out of more than 130 occupied rooms in our the Resort, we have only 02 rooms with some negative comments and this is for us a success, BUT all negative points we're taking into our consideration and we will be working to improve our service to satisfy the majority of our Guests, which we already do.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Golden Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We visited from 28th June until 12th July 2012.
This is not an ALL inclusive hotel. Only one bar served inclusive alcoholic drinks - the pool bar where we found the service to be unattentive. Beer and wine were served with lunch and dinner in the main restaurant. Four types of fizzy soft drinks were readily available in various locations. If you like beer - the draught Sakura is adequate but you will need 5 of their paper cups to get anywhere near a pint as most of the content is foam.
No tonic water available at the pool bar so if you like a gin & tonic you will need to visit the shop 5 minutes away for Schweppes at £1 per litre. We mentioned this shortcoming, and the fact that no water was provided for room use, to the duty manager but received no suitable response.
Items NOT included on the "All Inclusive Tariff" were :-
Water and soft drinks in bottles or cans; any types of coffee; hot tea; fresh juices; cocktails; ice cream.
This is taken from the hotel's own literature which you receive on arrival.
We understand the need for cash bars as there are guests on half board.

The jacuzzi listed in our brochure was empty for the first 6 days of our visit - they were re-grouting it. Then they spray painted the ornamental rocks around the pool causing paint fumes, which meant we spent the afternoon in our room. One painter liked to smoke whilst spray painting! A complaint to the duty manager produced a weak apology. Incidentally, the jacuzzi never was turned on and ended up being just another 4ft deep pool.
However, the pool and its area were excellent and well kept.

Our room was totally adequate and cleaned daily with clean towels provided. The cleaner did a great job and even got our TV working on the first day. Small fridge in the room just keeps the contents cool. We recommend asking for two room keys as this enables the A/C to be left on when you are out of the room. With outside temperatures of up to 40 deg C we needed it on when the sun hit the patio doors.

Food :- We rate the main restaurant as just above basic and the daily barbecues as inadequate. Most of the main items are Italian based but one of us liked the Egyptian night once a week. They cook only one barbecue item each evening and ration the meat depending on who you are. In fact any meat which is served by the chefs is rationed to very small portions - you will need to press the guy if you want more. Milk at breakfast was in short supply on some days.

The promised a-la-carte seafood restaurant on the beach was closed during our visit. We went to book the Italian restaurant in the Amphoras hotel next door and were told only beef or chicken were available on the AI menu. Average price on the set menu was $25 US. This was not good to hear for a vegetarian. More disappointments for us - the Dine Around facility was sadly lacking.

For those of you who have been offered, by the manager, an upgrade and "surprises" in compensation for complaints, bear in mind that this offer is made to EVERYONE who visits a second time.

There is no money exchange service at this hotel and the bank 5 minutes away is closed after 2pm and on Fridays.

For those with a breathing or walking difficulty - be aware there is a fairly steep slope, with uneven surface, from the pool area to the dining room which may be about 150 yards. Steps down to the beach area and again to the jetty are to be considered too.
This was our first and last visit to this hotel: our stay was improved by meeting some very nice people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Aloha, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear valued guest:
The all inclusive system & formula we are applying in our Resort is as per our agreement with all the Travel Agents We are committed to and it is as you mentioned in your review.

As for the Jacuzzi point, it was very essential for the safety of all our clients to start the maintenance with the minimum disturbance, but as you said,the main pool was well operated.

All our guests take all what they want as far as food & beverage are concerned; Our staff & chefs are their to help however your note will be taken into consideration for the benefits of all our guests.

The Dine around facility is for all our guests in our 03 Resorts to enjoy having Dinner either in Bella Vista (Italian Restaurant) or at the Mermaid (Sea Food Restaurant) at no extra charge for the food menu as Dine Around unless requested as A Ala Carte.

The upgrade & the surprises we are offering; yes it's true & it's for all our Repeaters Guests & it's not applicable for the first time visitors as it is a Loyalty Programs & incentives given for all our Repeaters.
We are looking forward for your second visit where you will enjoy all our facilities and so You can monitor by your self that all your points have already been taken into our consideration.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Golden Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to Shores and everything was as good as the last time. The staff are friendly and very helpful minus the bbq chef who was slightly rude.The weather is scorching from 6am until sunset and still very very hot all night. My only negatives are that there is only one toilet which serves both the beach and pool and some of the rooms are a 5min walk if you need to use the one in your room. Also the all inclusive is not as it seems with only beer served at the pool and no tea or coffee. Also when my husband asked for an extra burger ( size of a 50p ) he was abruptly told no. (bbq chef)We complained to the duty anger but he didn't seem bothered. It was only for the fact we met some fantastic people Jennifer linny ,Susan Alison and family, Lauren and Tom that made our holiday so enjoyable as there are very few English. Overall we had a nice relaxing break but be warned at the weekends the locals come for 3days and completely take over everything and your peace will be shattered.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bluebird08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Otium Hotel Aloha, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review & thank you for being a repeater with Shores Hotels, Your note favor the BBQ Chef taken,
We do serve Water & All Soft Drinks in the Beach Bar & We Do Serve Beer, Tea & Coffee, Water, All Soft Drinks & Local Spirits in the Pool Bar and this is a part from the Resort Policy re the All Inclusive formula we are applying & committed with.
For being a multinational Resort in a Multinational Destination We are honored to receive all nationalities and We are doing our utmost to make all our guests happy & satisfied.
Looking forward to see you again with Shores Hotels for the third time.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts
Sharm El Sheikh - Egypt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We found this hotel didnt cater for british children I have twin toddlers and all that was there for them was the pool, the kids entertainer was italian and stuck with her own!!
The food was awful we dreaded dinner times as we really struggled to find anything we liked, my twins lived on cheese spread rolls and hard cold chips from the beach bar.
The beach is gravel so dont expect that your children can play sand castles, it is just like a gravel car park!!
We moved rooms as the one we were origianly given had 3 beds and a camp bed which is not what we paid for. The second rooms air conditioning did not work and we had to sleep the first night with none until the staff could fix it the next day. I was also running alive with HUGE ants and we had a geko in our room on 2 occasions.
Entertainment is very very poor having the same people doing the shows every night which were rubbish and not funny at all.
All inclusive option was just soft drinks beer (which you could only get from the pool bar) the shows were mainly at the top where you could get beers from the bar but had to pay unless you wanted a 5 minute walk down to the pool bar in the boiling hot heat.
The staff were friendly that is the only thing I can say was good and the weather
I would never go back and cannot understand the reviews of people who say thay have had a fantastic time????!!!!!

Room Tip: If you have to go I would recommend a top floor room maybe not so many ants. But if you have a buggy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Otium Hotel Aloha, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to receive such a review which We did not received as such; All the reviews We received from our guests always include fantastic time & they always come back. & they do.
How ever We would like very much to welcoming you again in our Resort & We will make sure that you will enjoy your Holiday as all our guests do.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have to mention two people who made our holiday fantastic,
Mohammed, although we renamed him BIG MO and the bar he managed Lawrences was renamed as Big Mo's place. A truly great guy, fantastic sense of humour and could'nt do enough for us. Big Mo you are the best.
Magdi looked after us in the resturant, never did we have an empty glass, fetch tea at breakfast or did we have to carry our soup, fantastic service.
There were a few brits at the hotel although this did'nt bother us as we wanted just a quiet week. Rooms were clean and adequate.
Always a sunbed avaliable, none of this towel on bed stuff at all.
All staff were very friendly and helpful.
Plenty of entertainment if thats your thing.
The only one critisism would be the all inclusive only covers certain bars at certain times (tea only avliable with breakfast) if you drink spirits not beer you will be fine but if you don't drink then may I suggest you take a kettle which we always do ;)
If you need a bank its a 2 min walk left out of the hotel.
If you want a shop 2 mins right out of the hotel or cross the road keep walking up and turn left at the end and there are an assortment of shops.
All in all an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a proper balcony, otherwisw you will get a Juliet, no good for drying your towels ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandRhian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Otium Hotel Aloha, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Our Dear Valued Guests,

Many thanks for your review and We are Happy that you did enjoy your vacation with us and We are looking forward for your second visit.
We just need to highlight that yes we do serve tea during breakfast in the main restaurant but you can also can have tea from our Pool Bar from 10 am till midnight within the All Inclusive.
We assume that the wet towels are the beach towels which some of our clients keep and take it to the room :) but others are returning the towels to our recreations and get new dry clean towels next morning. In your next visit you will be in our Loyalty Program and you will enjoy surprises given only to our Repeaters. thank you once again.

Sincere Regards

Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#87 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Golden
Otium Hotel Golden
#131 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#52 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Veraclub Queen Sharm
Veraclub Queen Sharm
#107 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Labranda Tower Bay
Labranda Tower Bay
#31 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Resort Apartments
Carlton Resort Apartments
#18 of 27 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otium Hotel Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otium Hotel Aloha

Property: Otium Hotel Aloha
Address: PO Box 110 South Sinai | Um El Seid Cliff, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Shores Aloha)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#86 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Otium Hotel Aloha 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Otium Hotel Aloha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Aloha Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing