We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things and Bad things!”
Review of Jaz Sharks Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jaz Sharks Bay
Ranked #31 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good things and Bad things!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Good-
Restaraunt food was gorgous.
Some staff were friendly.
Entertainment team were very good and helpful.
View of the pool was very nice.
Lots of fun activities to do.
Bad-
Wifi would not work.
Hardly any Ice.
Pizza from the snack bar wasn't cooked properly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Zaynab2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanGhanem, Front Office Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valuable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

I am happy to read that some of our team was able to make you feel at home and well cared off
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.

regarding the wi-fi, we are sorry about that as the Internet totally cut off from outside the hotel and it's consider as a force majority and we tried to handle the situation through out the 3 G Internet and it's worked good . for the Ice also it's happen one time at the bar and solve it immediately but anyway we are sorry for any inconvenience happened during your stay.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future to show your good self our real service.

Alaa Mofid
Hotel Manager
Sol Y Mar Sharks bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    516
    202
    61
    53
See reviews for
325
1,141
61
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Me and my girlfriend wanted to try something different by looking at holiday out of Europe, so we decided to go for Sharm El Sheikh. This was our first time in Sharm and the hotel looked very promising, so we were very excited for our trip.
Overall the hotel was good, we had a fantastic time and would defiantly return. However their were hygiene problems within the hotel which was annoying.
Ill start of by listing the good things about the hotel, these are as followed;
1) the staff were great, we didn't have any problems regarding them.
2) the daytime entertainment was excellent and the workers always put a smile on our faces. although the evening entertainment was very repetitive with singing being on a lot.
3) Food was excellent, with great choice and variety.
4) The room was clean and the cleaners were excellent as always.
5) Overall facilities were great with a snooker room and table tennis to offer.
The bad things with the holiday are as followed;
1) The hygiene was awful. The cleaners would only wash dirty cups with their own water which is also quite dirty and they would only wash it with their hands which is appalling. We both got ill during the holiday and we believe it was due to the poor Hygiene. For a hotel like this they must sort it out by cleaning cups and glasses with soap and clean water. In the end we decided not to drink from the cups. Their was also an altercation with one of the employees refilling cups of beer with left over beer people had not finished.
2) In the evening we expected to be given glasses when we got drinks but instead we had plastic cups.
3) The wifi was way too expensive. It costing 10 english pound for only 250mb of data.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garethbale3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanGhanem, Front Office Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay Hotel to spend your holiday

My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback. We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest.

We are utmost happy to read that you have pleased with the friendliness of our team members. regarding the hygiene issue we have a glass machine in all outlets which is working properly and if anyone made a mistake we are on groining watching the staff performance to keep our service in a high standard.

Wishing you a wonderful time at home until your coming back to Egypt

Alaa Mofid
Hotel Manager
Sol Y Mar Sharks bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. Spotlessly clean from the reception area to the rooms to the toilets. We were there for two weeks in June/July with my 11 year old son. At first i was concerned as there were no other kids in the hotel (although it is a family hotel) but i need not have worried as the staff were amazing with my son. Every staff member knew his name and greeted him with a high five.The entertainment team were incredible lovely guys super friendly and had great taste in music lol. They thoroughly entertained my little boy (and also my partner) giving me the chance to lie and relax while the super friendly bar staff brought drinks to me by the pool. The food was fantastic mostly Egyptian food but there was always an option of chicken, beef, fish and pasta for those who are picky eaters like my son.Great daytime and evening entertainment, friendliest staff i have ever met good food strong drinks and a fantastic time had by all! we are going back in April and i cant wait!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are overlooking the pool which is great as the balcony on the first floor (where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanGhanem, Front Office Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for having selected the Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay to spend your holiday in Sharm El Sheikh

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a report about your experience in our hotel and Sharm El Sheikh.

We are utmost happy to read that you have pleased with the friendliness of our team members, hotel service and facilities.

The entire Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay Team is thanking you for visiting Egypt and our Resort in particular, we all look very much forward to welcome you back in the hopefully not so distant future

Alaa Mofid
Hotel Manager
Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Wonderful service and nothing too much trouble for thw courteous and helpful staff and management. Weather was in the high forties for our stay but we survived. Excellent pool complex with adjacant bar and food service. Room was comfortable with a working TV, good shower and all the usual facilities. Aziz was a very inventive room attendant with many extra touches including ' the screaming monkey from 'Family Guy'! Local plonk not up to much but was unlimited, food was very varied with something for all tastes. Nice Cocktail Party before we left. Many youg romantic couples staying their, all very friendly, polite and helpful; they made our stay a real pleasure. Good sister hotel with frequent shuttle service. Hotel had access to he beach. Would certainly commend the hotel and the Thomson trips which were excellent. reat tour guides and hotel Rep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank corbetttw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanGhanem, Front Office Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your experience at Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay.

We are happy to read that our team was able to make you feel at home and well cared off. Also we are happy that you have pleased with hotel service and facilities.

The entire Sol Y Mar Team is very much looking forward to welcome you soon again at your home in Egypt.

Alaa Mofid
Hotel Manager
Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My granddaughter and I Stayed at this hotel for just 7 days. From the minute we entered the reception we were made to feel as if we were old friends returning. The entire staff were at your service from start to finish. All levels of staff in the restaurant could not be more attentive, checking that you always had the drink you wanted and that it was refilled for you. Both the boys in the animation team were excellent from the moment we arrived. Loved the water aerobics especially at the end when we did the "Bumba"and the killer darts. Never a problem getting a sun bed even had a choice of where to sit. We were even given frozen hand towels by the pool man - they were very welcome especially as the temp was around 50 .Was a little worried after I booked this hotel as when I looked again it appeared very small when all the other hotels in Sharm that I had stayed at were really large but I needn't have worried as it was great from start to finish. The cleaner made us well aware that should we want anything at all we were just to ask him. I did ask him if he could get a kettle for us - it was there within the hour along with tea, coffee, milk and sugar. Such great service from everyone. Adam was great and he was able to get us really good deals on the excursions. No one needs to be put off by the low star rating because what it lacks in stars it more than makes up for it with friendliness. Will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a laptop the wifi is free, you just ask reception for a cable. If you gave a iPad you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patriciabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanGhanem, Front Office Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the decision to holiday in Egypt and therefore to select the Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay to be your home away from home.

Thank you very much for your very kind comments on our Resort, we are utmost happy to read that our team and service were able to make you feel at home and they well cared off.

The entire Sol Y Mar Team is very much looking forward to welcome you soon again at your new home in Egypt.

Wishing you a wonderful time at home until your coming back to Egypt

Alaa Mofid
Hotel Manager
Sol Y Mar Sharks bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for 11 nights and from the first moment of arriving we were greeted by Ibrahim and Mohammed with a smile and a friendly welcome. shown straight to our spacious, clean and modern room on the first floor with spacious balcony. You have a safe, Tv, etc and fridge for drinks etc, plus lots of storage space. All rooms face the pool and centre of hotel so you are always able to view everything. Rambo (hussien) cleaned our room everyday with new towels and bedding and made us laugh constantly. So great to have every staff member act professional, friendly and helpful, never felt hassled at any times .Kamel and bar staff, Jack, Akmed, tomtom and so many more kept us with drinks all day and night. nothing was too much trouble for these guys. (apart from running out of ice) Adam from Tansem tours is great and prices very good for trips and no hard sales, so check him out l Entertainment team of only 2, work endlessly to keep people busy and have fun. very close to airport so use hotel taxis as very cheap, good value to Naama Bay and Soho square too. Hotel bus to beach very good and again nice location, but not for snorkelling. Waiters, and restaurant managers on hand everyday, food at hotel has endless choices from breakfast, lunch and dinner but some people found it too spicey, but pool bar has pizzas, sandwiches etc which are freshly made. great value, great staff and this was my fifth trip to Sharm and my first to a non 5 star hotel, but I was very impressed and had an amazing time. Will definitley be back NIKKI & DENNIS

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 600Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanGhanem, Front Office Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the decision to holiday in Egypt and therefore to select the Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay to be your home away from home.


Thank you very much for your very kind comments on our Resort, we are utmost happy to read that our team and service were able to make you feel at home and they well cared off.

Whenever you would like to be back to your second home in Egypt "Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay" and you have some requests please contact our front office manager Mr. Ayman and he will be happy to answer and handle your good self requests so, please e-mail him on fo@solymarsharksbay.com

The entire Sol Y Mar Team is very much looking forward to welcome you soon again at your new home in Egypt.

Wishing you a wonderful time at home until your coming back to Egypt

Alaa Mofid
Hotel Manager
Sol Y Mar Sharks bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was here for 7 nights. Had the most amazing experience, from the moment you enter the hotel you are greeted by the most amazing entrance hall. The pictures on the internet of this hotel doesn't give this place justice. Hotel staff take your bags and give you a drink while you check in to the hotel. From there you are shown to your room and the hotel staff talk you through a few things to do with the hotel.

The hotel has two eating areas, the main restaurant just off the entrance hall, the second one is next to the pool. The food is different everyday and to die for. The restaurant staff refilled your drink as an when you wanted them to. The pool at the hotel goes under the hotel and runs alongside the second restaurant. The building is over three floors, on the third floor are the hotel shops, hair and nail shop, bar with seating ares and roof terrace, gym, Internet cafe, and pool table.

The shops: We never went in to the nail shop but staff inside the shop were always friendly. The next shop along was owned by a guy called syed. His shop sold bags, watches, belts, shoes and hair products. Then we had a shop that sold gift, sweets and chocolate, sunglasses, watches, and many more things.

Then the final shop was the most amazing shop in the building. It was a perfume shop owned by a guy called MIDO. From the moment we got to the hotel to the moment we left this guy made us feel at home, we would often spend a few hours in his shop looking around smelling perfumes and learning about the Egyptian culture, learning Arabic and listen to him talk about his products while drinking tea. From the branded perfumes to the unbranded perfumes, from the different types of bottles to the different types of glass shisha pipes, from the different spices to the Egyptian desert plants (The Rose Of Jericho).

We didn't really use the gym or Internet cafe.

The bar and seating area on this floor is always clean and staff are friendly and go to the next level to make sure you have a great holiday, the bar staff are called Tom and Jack. They will try and make any drink you ask for but if you are not sure they do have a drinks menu behind the bar which you can pick from. The roof terrace in the evenings always had something going on, from live entertainment such as singers and dancers.

If you want to go to the town go to soho square, anything you could need or want is there and the shop staff are friendly and willing to help you. Just make sure you get your change and you check it. There is something here for everyone. The hotel will order your taxi and that taxi driver will arrange a time for collection for you and then will take you back to the hotel at the end of your night.

Security is everywhere here, really makes you feel safe. There is security check points on the roads and the hotels have their own security to make sure all guests are safe at all times.

If you want to do anything like camel riding, or water parks, or anything else then book through the hotel excursion services called "Masters" the hotel can call them for you and arrange a meeting. DONT book with the people that come up to you around the pool, they are priced higher then the hotel one and they are not fully insured against everything, unlike the hotel one which is insured for everything. Giving more peace of mind if anything was to go wrong.

I will be returning to this hotel and to Egypt next year, I found it so peaceful and relaxing. The weather was amazing here. Ranging between 35 - 46 degrees.

Would highly recommend this hotel anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the hotel are clean, light and have great A/C units, which have different settings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 19932808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanGhanem, Front Office Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the decision to holiday in Egypt and therefore to select the Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay to be your home away from home.


Thank you very much for your very kind comments on our Resort, we are utmost happy to read that our team and service were able to make you feel at home and they well cared off.

Whenever you would like to be back to your second home in Egypt "Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay" and you have some requests please contact our front office manager Mr. Ayman and he will be happy to answer and handle your good self requests so, please e-mail him on fo@solymarsharksbay.com

The entire Sol Y Mar Team is very much looking forward to welcome you soon again at your new home in Egypt.

Wishing you a wonderful time at home until your coming back to Egypt
Alaa Mofid
Hotel Manager
Sol Y Mar Sharks bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
2.3 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#23 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,256 reviews
7.9 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#11 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,387 reviews
8.2 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#35 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
1.8 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#25 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,291 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jaz Belvedere
Jaz Belvedere
#44 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Sharks Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Sharks Bay

Property: Jaz Sharks Bay
Address: 2 B Entrance of Sharks Bay | North Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 00328, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Sharks Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaz Sharks Bay is one of the latest additions to the Jaz Hotels & Resorts portfolio, opened November 2009. This neat and modern Four-star hotel is only five minutes away from Sharm El-Sheikh International Airport. Just 10 minutes by Bus from a stretch of some of the finest sandy beaches on the shores of the clear and warm Red Sea. The hotel offers a variety of restaurants, a lobby bar & terrace, an internet cafe, a shopping arcade, swimming pool, children's club, 24 hour reception and a shuttle bus to the nearby beach. The main building comprises 130 rooms, most of which overlook the pool. Others look out directly on to the pool deck. A separate two-floor apartment building houses 8 one bedroom apartments.Hotel facilities include one main open buffet restaurant, one outdoor a la carte restaurant, Lobby bar, snack/pool bar and 24-hour room service. A heated main swimming pool and a kid’s pool, shopping arcade and a shuttle service to the beach are also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Sharks Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing