We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big portions - good food. But not true Italian.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onions

Onions
Ranked #39 of 306 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Big portions - good food. But not true Italian.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Friendly service - and well prepared food. But not true Italian. The sauce served with the ‘Sea Food Portofino’ were to rich - and the bruschetta with tomato was not bruschetta at all. It looked more as a medium sized pizza with tomato-pasata and without mozzarella.

They did not have all the dishes on the menu. At least not the fish.

The mixed grill dish was excellent.

They don't serve wine and beer - but they get it from the bar next to the restaurant. The first time we visited the restaurant we could have sparkling water. But next time it was not possible.

We recommend the restaurant. Prices compared to the food quality are really fair.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MMODenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    67
    24
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Leonards on Sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good food........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We visited "Onions" in Sharm El Sheikh in December when we were staying at the Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel & Resort. Friends invited us to dinner and they took us to "Onions"

This is a perfectly nice restaurant. They DO NOT serve alcohol, but you are able to purchase alcohol just accross the road and they will gladly open bottles and provide glasses. Do not ask complicated things like glasses with ice and lemon.........too confusing!

The food was good....very good! My only problem was that the service................oh my goodness was sooooo slow. The staff would stand and chat while you waited endlessly for food to arrive. You would ask for 2 portions of something and only 1 would arrive.......or you would be told the portions for sharing was very small and then order more than required.....only for the food to arrive and be enough to feed an army. Maybe this goes towards the cost....!

I would say that the food is good, service is mediocre.......so this is one for you to decide!! I, personally would not be going there again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenaMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant with excellent food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

My partner and I ate here last week as the food at our resort the Rehana was so terrible.
Onions was great, good service -very friendly and the food was great. The lamb kebab was the best!
Only criticism was the flat pepsi they gave us, but after informing them they changed it for us.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We visited this restaurant last week while on holiday in Sharm. The food was delicious. The have a good menu with dishes to suit everyones taste.

There was 9 of us. We had starters and mains and the cost was around £100. Cant beat the prices. We had steaks and fish dishes mainly. To be honest I was not really expecting much but the food was excellent. I eat out a lot at home and found the food to be just exactly what I would get in a well known restaurant in Belfast.

Its BYO too.

If you need to get a break from the All-inclusive this place would be my first and only recommendation around that area.

Oh if there is a lot of you I would recommend booking. There is only space for about 30 people there and thats at a squeeze.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We liked the atmosphere.. Food was average but expensive

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emeyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onions also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Onions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing