We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camel Ride/ Cairo by Bus/ Quad Biking/ City Tour/ Glass Boat - Mixed Feelings”
Review of Sharm Excursions

Sharm Excursions
Ranked #34 of 262 Tours in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Egypt with Sharm' s favourite tour operator. We've been operating since 1998 and over the years have taken thousands of customers to see the amazing sights of Egypt.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had booked 4 excursions with this company before we went to Sharm and have really mixed feelings as some were excellent and some terrible.

Camel Ride and Bedouin Tea (5th of March 2013) - Excellent:
This trip was very well executed thanks to the guide Hesham the most professional and pleasant person we met in Egypt. We were picked up from our hotel on time and taken to the desert where we enjoyed approx. 30 minutes ride on a camel and then relaxed in a Bedouin tend whilst having a complimentary tea. The guide had told us about the Bedouin ways and then we climbed a small mountain to admire sunset in the desert.

Cairo by Bus (4th of March 2013) - Terrible !!!
This trip was a total waste of time as almost everything went wrong from the start to the end. We were picked up from our hotel about 40 minutes late and taken to the bus which did not make a positive impression as it was old and dirty in and outside. We were then told that we had to travel with a Russian group and there was only a handful of English speakers on board, however we were provided with a dedicated guide who unfortunately was rude, unpleasant and seemed upset when asked about anything. We arrived at the Egyptian museum about 2 hours later that planned and were allowed only 1 hour to visit which wasn't nearly enough. Then we were taken to a riverside restaurant by boat which supposed to be an option but we were all made to take it regardless if you wanted it or not. The lunch itself was good.and relaxing. After lunch we were taken to Giza where we wasted time visiting papyrus workshop and then given only 45 minutes at the Pyramids and another 40 minutes to visit Sphinx (there was no time restriction in the papyrus shop). Due to the limited time we did not manage to see inside the smaller pyramid which was included in the ticket. Then we were taken to a perfume shop where we wasted some more time listening to a sales pitch in which nobody was interested in any way. During the whole trip we were treated worse than a bunch of unruly school kids on a badly organized day out.

Sharm City Tour (1st of March 2013) - Good:
Good way to find you way round the city.

Quad Biking (6th of March 2013) - Poor:
The trip was poorly organized, although I was picked on time then when taken to the Quad biking place in the desert I was left to fend for myself as everyone else spoke only Italian. The ATV's were in poor condition, crash helmets were not available and the pace was too slow. Better go for a private trip with another company if you want to really enjoy quad biking.

Glass Boat (3rd of March 2013) - Average:
We were picked on time and taken to harbor where we were joint with a Russian group. The guides on the boat spoke only limited English but you don't really need a lot of commentary whilst looking at coral reefs and fish. Generally good tour but could be better.

Over all if I had to book again I would wait with the booking until in Sharm as some excursions are better booked at the hotel you're staying as there is a greater chance to go with the people you know which makes the whole experience much more enjoyable.

1  Thank M and K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"perfume shop"
in 100 reviews
"egyptian museum"
in 106 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 134 reviews
"day trip"
in 182 reviews
"camel ride"
in 133 reviews
"cairo airport"
in 58 reviews
"quad biking"
in 118 reviews
"smaller pyramids"
in 15 reviews
"alabaster factory"
in 16 reviews
"small deposit"
in 23 reviews
"banana island"
in 21 reviews
"karnak temple"
in 23 reviews
"nile trip"
in 11 reviews
"booked trips"
in 40 reviews
"early start"
in 21 reviews
"papyrus paper"
in 10 reviews
"my partner"
in 47 reviews
Filter

526 - 530 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Booked Cairo by plane with this company after reading reviews and doing some research. I have to say, i'm glad we didn't book with the generic tour operators i.e first choice, thomson etc (we were holidaying with Thomas Cook in Sharm) as the trip is basically the same but costs more money and having seen the people who were on it at all the same locations they definitely weren't having as much fun as our group! I put this down to the guide, a local man who was excellent, charismatic, friendly and accommodating.

We were picked up at 4.45am for the flight and had no issues, we then met our rep at the airport who was easy to find. We had enjoyable commentary of the views all the way to the Cairo museum and a stop off at a lovely building too. At the museum we covered most of the main pieces and then had plenty of time to wander around ourselves.

The subsequent trip down the Nile to lunch was interesting, it's a small boat and no, there's not a lot to see but for me, it was just quite nice to say you'd had a trip on the Nile and i quite liked that they were trying to diversify the trip and support local businesses as well. Lunch was buffet style, nice but nothing special and drinks are extra but reasonable.

The trip to the papyrus museum was fine, no pressure to buy but you do get followed about by dedicated sales people in case you have any questions which is slightly annoying.

Pyramids were great, took a camel ride for £10 and the expected tip is £1. Would have liked more time to move around the pyramids andy i suppose you can do this if you don't do the camel ride. Had enough time at the Sphinx too. There are people everywhere trying to sell you things but they don't pester if you are polite and firm. Just a note here too from a blue eyed, blonde haired, fair skinned girl; i covered up and was treated very well however some girls exposing a lot of flesh suffered a lot of abuse from the locals as they clearly thought the girls disrespectful - cover shoulders and legs ladies!

The perfume museum was a bit boring but again no obligation to buy and the perfumes did smell lovely and were very reasonably priced.

The flight back was again fine and we were met at Sharm airport and delivered back to our hotel by 9.30pm.

All in all a great day and i'd definitely recommend it!

Thank haylo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked 4 execusions with this company before I went to sharm. I booked the namma boat ride, parasailing, quad biking in desert and swimming with dolphins. All trip were great! The quad biking was the favourite! Very good, really straight forward if you haven't drove a quad bike like myself. I would defiantly recommend this company. Well worth the money and safe! Trust me, book with sharm execusions!!!!

1  Thank Sophie9213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My friend and I went to Cairo by plane and did quad biking in the desert. Both trips were very well arranged. The guides met us on the first day of our holiday to collect all the money and explain the details of the trips. On the day of each, we were picked up from our hotel and taken to the event. Our guide in Cairo was amazing and answered any questions we had along the day.

The quad biking was intense, we really enjoyed it.

In Cairo we went a boat ride along the Nile, rode camels in the Sahara desert, saw some mummies and saw inside the pyramids. Couldnt have asked for better!!!

Thank samsamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Amazing trip!!!! Most the different excursion companies seem to offer a similar schedule of the day in Cairo, so i think the tour guide is the make or break factor! And our tour guide Lily, was absolutely fantastic! So knowledgable, so friendly, so interesting and so helpful!!! Cairo was fascinating and the pyramids were above expectations. If you go with Sharm Excusrsions they take you away from all the sellers and horrible intimidating touristy bit by the biggest pyramid and round to a much more quiet area, where you can get a camel ride for 10 minutes (which is really fun) to get the best views of all 9 pyramids!!! The lunch is excellent, the boat trip is fun, the papyrus museum was the only 1/2 hour of the trip i wasnt keen on, but the pyramids, sphinx, Egyptian museum were great, but i think alot of that credit goes to having a great tour guide. I would really really recommend this trip.

1  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharm Excursions also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Sharm Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing