We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than what we expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #69 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“better than what we expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just arrived back from this hotel after spending a week here. Before we arrived we were looking at the previous reviews and we were worried about the negative feedback this hotel seemed to be receiving. However... we shouldn't have been!! We enjoyed our stay here - we found it very relaxing. The hotel is big there are a number of pools which are all lovely and clean, as well as two private beaches, which you can go out onto the jettys and snorkel seeing the coral reef and lots of amazing fish! Everything you need is within the hotel!
The restaurants - we tried the fajitas, Caribbean and fusion. Fusion is by far the best! the service in here is excellent & look out for the Scottish Egyptian - hilarious! The buffet is standard food, same as what you get in any other hotel!! Pizzas are good! Burger & chips not so good! the waffles are amazing!! You will not go hungry on this holiday! You do have to book in advance for the restaurants however there was no que and we got what we wanted and the time we wanted everytime!
We had no issues getting a sunbed! Each day we went to breakfast between 8.30-9.30 and we managed to find a sunbed to put our towels out! All the sunbeds are in good locations - they are ALL around a pool or on the beach so unless your really fussy about where you go (although it makes no difference really!) then you might not always get your first choice!
The service - if you are polite, say hello, thank you etc then you will receive good service! if you are rude / demanding then dont expect good service! Alot of the staff rely on tips to boost their wages, so if you tip then they will offer you a good service!
Water is available - we had not problem getting hold of water, we kept ourselves hydrated!
As the hotel complex is quite big there is walking involved - wouldn't recommend if you are lazy!!

One criticism - the beer is not nice & is warm! Also glasses very small :-(

We have stayed in five star hotels before and this is clearly more 4 star at its best! however we enjoyed our stay and glad we chose this hotel!

Overall - for what you pay you get a very good holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulontour87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,717
    1,124
    470
    216
    109
See reviews for
884
2,311
96
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at The Grand on the 11th May 2013. My girlfriend and i travel to Egypt most years as a bit of pre summer sun, this was our 7th time to Egypt and 5th time to Sharm.

The Grand was by far the worst hotel we have stayed in. How people can rate this as a 5 star is beyond me. Its a 2 star at best. You honestly cant compare this to similar size hotels such as the Jaz Mirabel Beach.

To start, on arrival we were told to wait while our room was being made up. It was 9pm at night and after a flight we just wanted to relax. We were not handed a drink or even shown where to get one.

The room was terrible, we later found out we were put in one of the older rooms! The difference between the room types was huge! I honestly thought i was staying in a 1980's hotel in Spain. Room had a bad smell, shower room was not working properly and the TV didn't work.

The food is bad. I don't expect much in Egypt, the food is not amazing in all the hotels but the Grand takes the prize for worst buffet dinner. I'm not even a fussy eater!
They have a selection of other restaurants you can book, that's if you want to get up at 8am to start queuing to book them. After standing in the queue for 30 mins one day i gave up. The only other restaurant i went to was the Mexican. It had the the worst choice of Mexican food i've ever seen. Basically you have to have Fajitas.

The hotel's saving grace is its location, It does not have a proper beach but the cliff's make up for it. Great house reef!

90% of the staff were in a bad mood! and i don't mean just a bit moody i mean very rude!

I wanted to like this hotel, but the rooms and the food let it down so much that its actually put me off going to Egypt again.

I booked with Red Sea Holidays which was also a mistake! Stick to Thompson!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first time in Egypt and we found the experience first rate. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel the staff where very friendly and could not do enough for you, the food was varied and catered for everyone and the complex was kept very clean. The management staff were very approachable and helpful with nothing to much trouble for them. The General Manager was always around talking to the guests and listening to their suggestions which was refreshing. On the whole I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Egypt

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great hotel, absolutely enormous with eight swimming pools and numerous restaurants to eat at! All the staff are great and we made many friends where ever we went in the complex.very good atmosphere! Me and my fiancé have just come back from there and we had an amazing time, well worth the money!

Room Tip: Block 35 onwards are very peaceful and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Poor representation of all-inclusive.
Service quite obviously relative to tipping.
Sunbed availability less than adequate in accommodating families, and!!. very badly managed.
Food plentiful but bland, not representative of local environment.
During my weeks holiday I observed many people complaining and although the Manager appeared attentive "our" issues remained unresolved.
Could never recommendand would never return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Returned home June 12. After experiencing a week at the Grand, reading the reviews before and now after, I have the urge to write a review for you all. (rm 217).

Transfer time good.

Weather perfect. (plague of locusts to one side).

Arrival, first 36 hours and the enormity of the site difficult to handle.

This is a 3 star hotel. However, I cannot after all things considered say that this is not good value for money. You are considering going to Egypt remember. Different standards, different culture, different work ethic! The new english manager and head chef have a job to do. In my opinion they are on top of it. Clientelle cannot or will not be managed. Draw your own conclusions.

Mandy and I got into our holiday on the 37th hour and on reflection thoroughly enjoyed it. We have been around and can honestly say we would return, for the right price. £490 week/£700 2 weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandamanda217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I had never been on all inclusive previous to this stay as i like to travel round, explore and experience local delicacies etc..
This was an eye-opener and a good one.. I still got to explore...boat trips, quad biking and local markets.

The food in the resort was really good but depended what restaurant you went to.. most restaurants that are not buffet style you have to book the morning of the day before and there was always a queue and wait list to get the booking which was a bit of a pain.
Our favourites was the seafood restaurant at mid level, we paid extra to sample the lobster which was well worth the extra cost.

For breakfast and occasional lunch we loved the restaurant (buffet style) above the water polo pool (can’t remember the name).

Other points to note;
- Have to be up early to reserve your sunbed.. reserve it on way to breakfast..
- As you come out of the resort and turn left walk a few blocks and you come to a row of shops.. selling food, tourist gifts, lilo’s (for pool and sea). These shops are must cheaper than the shop within the hotel.
- When booking your excursions shop around.. the price that the hotel was offering was double if not more for the same excursions that we booked one evening in Narma Bay. I would recommend the sun rise quad biking and snorkelling trips
- Get a taxi to the old town.. on arrival you will get hassled but it is a very nice walk around once you say no they leave you alone and there is some amazing restaurants full of locals with traditional local food. We had some amazing lamb kleftico and some of the best (and cheapest) seafood platters i have ever tasted!

Just coming to the end of my review and realised i didn’t mention much about the room... mainly because we weren’t in it much!! It was all quite clean and the maids friendly, nice balcony but lots of mosquitoes :)

Stayed September 2012
Travelled as a couple

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank next_stop_venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#23 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#91 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#95 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#40 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,280 reviews
8.2 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#86 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Sharm Plaza Hotel
#84 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Property: The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing