We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Nearby Hotels
Parrotel Beach Resort(Nabq Bay)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$126
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa(Sharm El Sheikh)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence(Sharm El Sheikh)
$100
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$184
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$136
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$91
$54
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$110
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,725)
Filter reviews
4,725 results
Traveler rating
2,764
1,151
478
214
118
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,764
1,151
478
214
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantsfishanimation teamcoral reefspecial thanksamazing holidayall inclusive hotelold marketdeefusionpoolsseasharmwaitersfabchefscleaners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,260 - 3,265 of 4,725 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hi there. I'm just back from the Grand Hotel in Sharm el Sheikh. We were bringing the cat home from the vet and just happened to pass the travel agents. We saw a deal in the window for 1 week All inclusive at the Grand. So Allan decided to go in and see about it. So in five days I found myself packing for Egypt.
Usually we go to Italy so this was very different for us.
After a fantastic flight over, and this coming from someone who hates flying, we arrived at our destination. It was a lovely hotel. The shower head in our room was broken, although still workable. We mentioned it to the rep when we up for dinner and it was attended to the next day. No problems there.
The food in the hotel itself was buffet style and very nice indeed. Couldn't fault it at all. And there was plenty of it. We tended to go to the main hotel most nights. We also went to the Reef restuarant a few nights and had a few lunches there as well. Again it was buffet style and we never had a complaint about that either.
We never booked any trips at all. It was an unexpected holiday in the sun, so we had decided just to chill out and not put ourselves under any pressure whatsoever. So that's what we did.

There were eight pools there. All very lovely and well cared for. We tended to use the second one down from the hotel. And there we met Alaa. A very nice young man who looked after our every need. From bottles of water to ice-creams and coffee. I know a lot of folk will probably be saying that's what he's paid to do. But he did it with kindness and caring. And without being a pest. Don't think he worked directly for the hotel. But for a bar within the grounds. He wore a T-shirt with the name Recreation on it. If anyone does read this who's going there, say hi to Alaa from Carol and Allan.
We never swam in the sea. Just stuck to the pools. Although we did walk down to the sea and saw all the the glorius coloured fish in the waer. Neither of us are very accomplished swimmers, so didn't go snorkeling.
The Red Sea holidays rep was a very nice gentleman indeed. Couldn't do enough to help. And always seemed to be on duty. He was always very well dressed indeed. All in all a great resort and very well looked after.
When we were there, from the 12th to the 19th April, there was a lot of Mosquitos. Unusally high number for this time of year we were told. Allan was chomped frequently as were other guests. But a short trip to the chemist nearby, soon alleviated any itching or discomfort. Never put a blight on the holiday.
I would like to warn any Scottish people who are going. The Hotel will change money for people using Euros and English notes. The will not accept Scottish money at all. So I would just like to say a big thanks to the English gentleman we met there who took all our Scottish notes and gave us english notes, which we were then able to change to Egyptian notes and get our cream from the pharmacy. His name was Mark and he is a joiner. Thanks very much.You are a gentleman.
We ate lunches a lot at the pool bar, They do mostly burgers etc. The guys who work there were very nice as well.
It was a great holiday indeed. Did nothing but sunbathe and talk to fellow holiday makers. I can certainly seeing us going back there again. Would probably go at the same time next year.
If you go, hope you enjoy yourself as much as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carol-macd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we succeeded in making your holiday the best one ever. Thank you so much for your detailed review. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards from all of us in Sunny Sharm,
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My sister and I spent a fabulous week in The Grand Hotel. The first thing I would like to say is that the hotel felt very safe. My sister was not feeling well for a few days so I went to the restaurant and bar on my own, which I was a bit worried about, however, I did not feel at all uncomfortable and met some very nice people. The staff could not have been more attentive, friendly, polite and helpful, from the toilet attendants to the Managers.The hotel was spotless and constantly being cleaned. Paula the Rep was lovely always smiling and made an effort to have a chat and get any feedback positive or negative. Any problems we may have had she sorted out straight away (only minor ones). She even made a note of the fact that we thought the service from the Pool Bar was excellent and relayed our message to them.The food was delicious, breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was so much choice it was hard to choose and that was just from the buffet, we didn't try the other restaurants! So had a bit of everything!! It was lovely leaving a messed up bedroom and coming back to find it had been cleaned thoroughly! Even the beds were great, I've had a spinal op and was worried about sleeping but the beds were really comfortable. We both had a excellent time. We really could have done with 2 weeks there. We may be going back in June! The only negatives: One big one for me personally was that the bars shut at 12, but you could go to the bar upstairs (cant rem name), however, when we went up to the bar/disco the bar was shut and you had to then buy your own drinks and only a handful of people there.The other negatives I thought were that the rooms looked a bit tired! Silly things like there were no instructions for the air cond.,the TV was ancient, the remote held together by tape.(Not that we wanted to watch TV). A plug socket was not working in the bathroom. My sister pulled the patio door handle off whilst trying to open it! (Paula sorted these out straight away). Definitely would go back again, because realistically we only sept and changed in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a great week at The Grand. We loved the choice of dining and tried them all rating Fusion the best.8 swimming pools and swimming in Red sea was also good.

The staff are all charming including Basuny who helped us on our first night and also a special mention for Ahmed the Red Sea Holidays representative who couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one.

A flood in our room resulted in a complimentary upgrade to a Junior suite which we would definitely pay for next time. Despite a few minor grouches including smoking in the hotel terrace bar (the welcome letter said no smoking was allowed) and the vast number of steps
( we would suggest that the Hotel gets some electric buggies)The Hotel is not suitable for anyone with a disability in walking.

Overall an excellent 7 days and the best Hotel we have been to to date after 5 trips to Egypt.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingspanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at The Grand Hotel for a week all inclusive during the Easter holidays. I have mixed feelings about the hotel but overall would not return.

Positives: The hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept. There are numerous pools and a beach area which were clean and never crowded despite it being Easter. There are two areas to access the sea for snorkling direct from the hotel which offered spectacular views of fish and coral. Lifeguards in these areas helpful and friendly. Watersports Centre on the beach very good - the trip to Tiran Island well worth the money. We did it by speedboat - the 3 hour trip is best.

Negatives: The staff in the hotel bars and restaurants were very hit and miss. Some very 'on-the-ball', helpful, attentative and friendly. Others looked permanently grumpy, couldn't recognise when basic service was required and were generally unhelpful. The main example of this was at the breakfast buffets - tables were not cleared quickly enough and even when you sat down it took ages for staff to clear the table. Then you had to ask someone to make the table up (surely this wouldn't require a request?) often they would forget, or not bring enough table settings or just look at you like you were an inconvenience and try and seat you at a table that was made up but was too small for your party.
The range of activities provided during the day by the animation team was very limited for both adults and children. The entertainment at night pretty lame - think dance competitions, Miss Grand Hotel, Mr Grand Hotel etc - although the music afterwrds was pretty good.

I would say the rooms were fine - we had a suite with a double in one area of the room and 2 single beds in another. There was no partition between the areas of the room though. The housekeeping was fine although we did have a number of (dying) large red ants in the room at times - however we were on the ground floor. Beds are firm but I don't mind that.
The food was also acceptable, in all the restaurants there seemed to be a use of almost the same ingredients made up in ways to reflect the cuisine of that particular restaurant. The restaurants tended to serve small portions (except Mumbai) and you have to be aware that there are charges for certain items. In my opinion the Beach Bar/Carribean restaurant offered the best food. The El Sheikh was the best buffet, Fusion was the nicest looking and The Reef was the worst of the evening restaurants. You have to book a day in advance for the restaurants except the buffets.
During our stay all of my family and others we spoke to suffered from 'bad stomachs' and flu-like symptoms which seemed to pass in 24 hours. I can't say I can pinpoint or attribute this to anything specific at the hotel but it is something to note.
Overall an enjoyable and relaxing holiday but next time I think I would try the Savoy.

Room Tip: A first first floor room - maybe block 3?
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SeagullsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting review a bout your stay with us. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to hit our goal of satisfying every guest - every time!, Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.

Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Booked to stay at The Grand Hotel during the Easter holidays which meant we paid top price for the deal. The following week was much cheaper once the kids had gone back to school. The hotel is very nice compared to others we have stayed at in Sharm. The location right on its own beach and although artificial is fine and the snorkelling was the best I've experienced in Sharm (although there were lots of jelly fish this time).
The hotel is quite big but well laid out with loads of places to sun bathe and relax. There are so many restaurants that we never made it to them all. The Indian restraunt was the best we tried and you can revisit as many times as you want. Couldn't work out how full the hotel was as we never had any trouble find a seat in any of the restaurants or somewhere to sun bathe. Although some people were getting up quite early to reserve the best spots to sun bathe (No guessing who they were!)
The staffs at this hotel are brilliant and I can’t think of an occasion when the service wasn't good. Even the "animation" team left you alone after a few days.
Best things about this hotel are the location, service, accommodation and not forgetting the weather.
One thing the Red Sea travel doesn't mention is that this hotel is a big favourite with the Germans (about 90% while we were there). Not a problem and most were very pleasant, but if you’re looking to mix with loads of Brits then this is might not be the place for you.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking for a nice relaxing holiday in a beautiful hotel with great staff.

Room Tip: Sea view is best
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jackoshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we succeeded in making your holiday the best one ever. Thank you so much for your detailed review. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards from all of us in Sunny Sharm,
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews