We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #68 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hi there. I'm just back from the Grand Hotel in Sharm el Sheikh. We were bringing the cat home from the vet and just happened to pass the travel agents. We saw a deal in the window for 1 week All inclusive at the Grand. So Allan decided to go in and see about it. So in five days I found myself packing for Egypt.
Usually we go to Italy so this was very different for us.
After a fantastic flight over, and this coming from someone who hates flying, we arrived at our destination. It was a lovely hotel. The shower head in our room was broken, although still workable. We mentioned it to the rep when we up for dinner and it was attended to the next day. No problems there.
The food in the hotel itself was buffet style and very nice indeed. Couldn't fault it at all. And there was plenty of it. We tended to go to the main hotel most nights. We also went to the Reef restuarant a few nights and had a few lunches there as well. Again it was buffet style and we never had a complaint about that either.
We never booked any trips at all. It was an unexpected holiday in the sun, so we had decided just to chill out and not put ourselves under any pressure whatsoever. So that's what we did.

There were eight pools there. All very lovely and well cared for. We tended to use the second one down from the hotel. And there we met Alaa. A very nice young man who looked after our every need. From bottles of water to ice-creams and coffee. I know a lot of folk will probably be saying that's what he's paid to do. But he did it with kindness and caring. And without being a pest. Don't think he worked directly for the hotel. But for a bar within the grounds. He wore a T-shirt with the name Recreation on it. If anyone does read this who's going there, say hi to Alaa from Carol and Allan.
We never swam in the sea. Just stuck to the pools. Although we did walk down to the sea and saw all the the glorius coloured fish in the waer. Neither of us are very accomplished swimmers, so didn't go snorkeling.
The Red Sea holidays rep was a very nice gentleman indeed. Couldn't do enough to help. And always seemed to be on duty. He was always very well dressed indeed. All in all a great resort and very well looked after.
When we were there, from the 12th to the 19th April, there was a lot of Mosquitos. Unusally high number for this time of year we were told. Allan was chomped frequently as were other guests. But a short trip to the chemist nearby, soon alleviated any itching or discomfort. Never put a blight on the holiday.
I would like to warn any Scottish people who are going. The Hotel will change money for people using Euros and English notes. The will not accept Scottish money at all. So I would just like to say a big thanks to the English gentleman we met there who took all our Scottish notes and gave us english notes, which we were then able to change to Egyptian notes and get our cream from the pharmacy. His name was Mark and he is a joiner. Thanks very much.You are a gentleman.
We ate lunches a lot at the pool bar, They do mostly burgers etc. The guys who work there were very nice as well.
It was a great holiday indeed. Did nothing but sunbathe and talk to fellow holiday makers. I can certainly seeing us going back there again. Would probably go at the same time next year.
If you go, hope you enjoy yourself as much as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carol-macd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we succeeded in making your holiday the best one ever. Thank you so much for your detailed review. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards from all of us in Sunny Sharm,
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,260 - 3,266 of 4,712 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

My sister and I spent a fabulous week in The Grand Hotel. The first thing I would like to say is that the hotel felt very safe. My sister was not feeling well for a few days so I went to the restaurant and bar on my own, which I was a bit worried about, however, I did not feel at all uncomfortable and met some very nice people. The staff could not have been more attentive, friendly, polite and helpful, from the toilet attendants to the Managers.The hotel was spotless and constantly being cleaned. Paula the Rep was lovely always smiling and made an effort to have a chat and get any feedback positive or negative. Any problems we may have had she sorted out straight away (only minor ones). She even made a note of the fact that we thought the service from the Pool Bar was excellent and relayed our message to them.The food was delicious, breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was so much choice it was hard to choose and that was just from the buffet, we didn't try the other restaurants! So had a bit of everything!! It was lovely leaving a messed up bedroom and coming back to find it had been cleaned thoroughly! Even the beds were great, I've had a spinal op and was worried about sleeping but the beds were really comfortable. We both had a excellent time. We really could have done with 2 weeks there. We may be going back in June! The only negatives: One big one for me personally was that the bars shut at 12, but you could go to the bar upstairs (cant rem name), however, when we went up to the bar/disco the bar was shut and you had to then buy your own drinks and only a handful of people there.The other negatives I thought were that the rooms looked a bit tired! Silly things like there were no instructions for the air cond.,the TV was ancient, the remote held together by tape.(Not that we wanted to watch TV). A plug socket was not working in the bathroom. My sister pulled the patio door handle off whilst trying to open it! (Paula sorted these out straight away). Definitely would go back again, because realistically we only sept and changed in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a great week at The Grand. We loved the choice of dining and tried them all rating Fusion the best.8 swimming pools and swimming in Red sea was also good.

The staff are all charming including Basuny who helped us on our first night and also a special mention for Ahmed the Red Sea Holidays representative who couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one.

A flood in our room resulted in a complimentary upgrade to a Junior suite which we would definitely pay for next time. Despite a few minor grouches including smoking in the hotel terrace bar (the welcome letter said no smoking was allowed) and the vast number of steps
( we would suggest that the Hotel gets some electric buggies)The Hotel is not suitable for anyone with a disability in walking.

Overall an excellent 7 days and the best Hotel we have been to to date after 5 trips to Egypt.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingspanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at The Grand Hotel for a week all inclusive during the Easter holidays. I have mixed feelings about the hotel but overall would not return.

Positives: The hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept. There are numerous pools and a beach area which were clean and never crowded despite it being Easter. There are two areas to access the sea for snorkling direct from the hotel which offered spectacular views of fish and coral. Lifeguards in these areas helpful and friendly. Watersports Centre on the beach very good - the trip to Tiran Island well worth the money. We did it by speedboat - the 3 hour trip is best.

Negatives: The staff in the hotel bars and restaurants were very hit and miss. Some very 'on-the-ball', helpful, attentative and friendly. Others looked permanently grumpy, couldn't recognise when basic service was required and were generally unhelpful. The main example of this was at the breakfast buffets - tables were not cleared quickly enough and even when you sat down it took ages for staff to clear the table. Then you had to ask someone to make the table up (surely this wouldn't require a request?) often they would forget, or not bring enough table settings or just look at you like you were an inconvenience and try and seat you at a table that was made up but was too small for your party.
The range of activities provided during the day by the animation team was very limited for both adults and children. The entertainment at night pretty lame - think dance competitions, Miss Grand Hotel, Mr Grand Hotel etc - although the music afterwrds was pretty good.

I would say the rooms were fine - we had a suite with a double in one area of the room and 2 single beds in another. There was no partition between the areas of the room though. The housekeeping was fine although we did have a number of (dying) large red ants in the room at times - however we were on the ground floor. Beds are firm but I don't mind that.
The food was also acceptable, in all the restaurants there seemed to be a use of almost the same ingredients made up in ways to reflect the cuisine of that particular restaurant. The restaurants tended to serve small portions (except Mumbai) and you have to be aware that there are charges for certain items. In my opinion the Beach Bar/Carribean restaurant offered the best food. The El Sheikh was the best buffet, Fusion was the nicest looking and The Reef was the worst of the evening restaurants. You have to book a day in advance for the restaurants except the buffets.
During our stay all of my family and others we spoke to suffered from 'bad stomachs' and flu-like symptoms which seemed to pass in 24 hours. I can't say I can pinpoint or attribute this to anything specific at the hotel but it is something to note.
Overall an enjoyable and relaxing holiday but next time I think I would try the Savoy.

Room Tip: A first first floor room - maybe block 3?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SeagullsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting review a bout your stay with us. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to hit our goal of satisfying every guest - every time!, Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.

Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Booked to stay at The Grand Hotel during the Easter holidays which meant we paid top price for the deal. The following week was much cheaper once the kids had gone back to school. The hotel is very nice compared to others we have stayed at in Sharm. The location right on its own beach and although artificial is fine and the snorkelling was the best I've experienced in Sharm (although there were lots of jelly fish this time).
The hotel is quite big but well laid out with loads of places to sun bathe and relax. There are so many restaurants that we never made it to them all. The Indian restraunt was the best we tried and you can revisit as many times as you want. Couldn't work out how full the hotel was as we never had any trouble find a seat in any of the restaurants or somewhere to sun bathe. Although some people were getting up quite early to reserve the best spots to sun bathe (No guessing who they were!)
The staffs at this hotel are brilliant and I can’t think of an occasion when the service wasn't good. Even the "animation" team left you alone after a few days.
Best things about this hotel are the location, service, accommodation and not forgetting the weather.
One thing the Red Sea travel doesn't mention is that this hotel is a big favourite with the Germans (about 90% while we were there). Not a problem and most were very pleasant, but if you’re looking to mix with loads of Brits then this is might not be the place for you.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking for a nice relaxing holiday in a beautiful hotel with great staff.

Room Tip: Sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jackoshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we succeeded in making your holiday the best one ever. Thank you so much for your detailed review. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards from all of us in Sunny Sharm,
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We are not All Inclusive lovers and have only ever been to 3 Sandals All Inclusives in the past.

Having stayed at 5* in Dubai and 5* Sandals resorts we are well travelled. This hotel is stated as a 5*, that said it is not 5* Dubai style but it most certainly better than or the same as what Sandals provide as a 5* resort, minus the free water skiing and scuba diving, but you're not paying the Sandals price tag!!

The grounds, rooms, restaurants, etc are immaculate, none of the three of us had Egyptian tummy at all and we ate in most of the restaurants, had ice cubes, ate salads, etc. The cleanliness is excellent.

There are plenty of sun beds. I have read other reports which say there were people reserving sunbeds, this did happen but to be honest there are so many beside all of the pools which are empty! If you want to be right by the sea then those beds do get filled up and reserved but there are still plenty around, you just need to walk along to the grassed area or down to the beach area. We were there at Easter when it was busy but there were still plenty of beds available. The sunbeds are very comfortable with decent cushions!

The buffet restaurants are exactly that but there is plenty to choose from and plenty for all tastes at breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The indian restaurant, Olive (Italian), The Cliff (Fish) and Fusion restaurants are very good. At the Cliff restaurant you have to pay for the food you have, however the fish is fresh and they weigh everything for you before you select it. We had a large lobster and 8 huge prawns (plenty for two of us) and that cost us 60euros, but the sauces and the actual taste were amazing, worth every penny.

The snorkelling off the hotels two piers was excellent - there's plenty to see just in this small area and it's good for those who might not be such confident swimmers.

Massages, pedicures and manicures are offered all day long by the Spa staff, however they will do you a good deal, just haggle a bit with them. The service from the Spa staff is excellent, they are really friendly. If you don't want any of the treatments just say no and they will leave you, it's not a hard sell, but it's worth listening to what they have on offer.

We booked Parasailing from the hotel beach too, we paid £40 for a dual trip, which was good if you've never done it before. It wasn't the best one I've been on but as it is the first time my son (aged 10) had done it, it was good for him.

All in all we had a great time at this hotel. I had read lots of the reviews but I have to say we book a Junior Suite and it was lovely, right on the sea front. There was plenty room for the 3 of us and the sun shone on the balcony each morning to wake us up.

The hotel is certainly worth a visit and we'll be back again in the future.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a Junior Suite as it's not that much extra but you'll have a decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tomsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

On behalf of the management and the entire staff of The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, we where very pleased to have you as our guests and are happy that you enjoy your holidays with us.

We sincerely appreciate that you have done some comments regarding your stay so we will take measures to improve our services as our strategy is getting all guests satisfaction to achieve all targeted progress in hospitality.

We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We arrived back from the Hotel on 15/4/2012. In our party were my children 4 and nine, our parents and my sister with her husband and child aged 3. We all had Junior suites, which were located a row back from the pool which was most suited for kids in my view. It was some way from the main building, as being built on a cliff the whole complex was not all on one level, but we liked that. There were enough places to eat and drink during the day that we only went to the main building at night.

The hotel was half full during our stay but there were enought small nocks for everyone to not feel overcrowed. With 700 rooms with a maze of paths with grass, flowers and trees for shade it was quiet pretty. Having a suite meant for us that the sitting area was converted into a sleeping area for our boys. The bathroom couldn't be faulted as the shower was big enough for all four of us to fit in. The balcony was big enough for the two large chairs on it, with room to play cars as well.

The setting of a gated community was fine as a pharmacy, toy shop, bizzarre, leather shop wereall on site, as well as lots of bars, and restaurants. We did however go on a planned trip which was good to have a change of scenery, and required no visa. Visas were advised to get from the airport if you wanted to venture on your own. We did the Sharm experience, doing a glass bottom boat. The challenge being to get over the floating jetty to the boat, a mosque, a church (amazing to see), and the market area.

We ate in a number of venues;
Fusion - international food, had a nice environment, clean and friendly, but wewere dissapointed that the set menu was explained that Pasta and a Beef dish were not available. What we did eat was nice, but for the children, as there were no alternatives for them. The kitchen did adapt a dish forthe boys but it was still a little spicy.

Reef - buffet food, great for breakfast, lunch and tea, but a little lacking in variety, after eating there a couple of times. The children however enjoyed having the same choices for breakfast. They also had a few large enough tables for us all.

Mombai - indian food, great for a couples meal which we did one night. Eating in the open air, but again the set menu had no non alcoholic cocktails, Lamb, or popperdoms. Nice and relaxed atmosphere.

Sharm - internation buffet, much busier as in the main building, with the same variety as The Reef. We sat seperatley just to get in to eat.

El Sheikh - international buffet, much busier as in the main building, with the same variety as The Reef. They were happy to make a table of nine for us.

Olive - itailian food, quiet and accomodating. No lobster or garlic bread, but this didn't detract from the nice food. The chicken salad starter was divine.

For lunch there was a good choice of things to eat, crepes,burgers, pizza and many more.

Although we all had the relaxing holiday in a great location, we were surprized that the entertainment activities were played down so much. After finding the kids club, i was most dissapointed to find it ot open at the times said, 10 am became 11am and session end of 12pm became 11.45am. It was held in a junior suite with some toys and creative things to do. No where near British tour opperators kids clubs. I would say a creche if that in my opinion. We did find withe the pool and beached paddling pool that the children amused themselves and met other children to play with.

Other things going on were not advertised unless you went to a notice board. We also took part in the Egyptian night well worth doing.

If you wanted a hotel with a beach this had one, but not one you could paddle in the sea. The sea is accessed by a walkway and stairs into the sea for full blown swimming. The hotel is by coral reef so it allows snorkeling. Just be aware that being on a cliff means the coral falls away into the deep, so once you know this it is a great thing to try.

It catered well for couples, and families and groups of friends. On a final note I couldn't say enough about the customer service we recieved. Paula from the hotel was poliet and full of information, sorting out any queries. The whole hotel staff were ready and waiting to please. The Red Sea Holidays rep was always checking all was well.

Room Tip: Sea views may be noiser as most look onto a pool and the rooms are ground floor or first floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haji99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your holiday with us on this site, and we are pleased to read that you had a ‘Nice Holiday’ taking into account our guests valuable feedback and constructive criticism, which helps us to identify areas to prioritize our focus on. We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.


Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#50 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,786 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ghazala Beach Hotel
Ghazala Beach Hotel
#103 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
875 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Cyrene Grand Hotel
#92 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#51 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,459 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,695 reviews
8.2 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#79 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $86 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing