We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure enjoyment!!”
Review of Camel Bar & Roof

Camel Bar & Roof
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Italian, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PROBABLY THE MOST FAMOUS BAR in Sharm El Sheikh! Camel Bar is actually three bars, all serving extensive dinner and drinks menus, including cocktails and shooters. Free wi-fi is available. CAMEL BAR: watch big sports games, get funky with karaoke and live bands in Camel Bar's air-conditioned interior TERRACE: enjoy a sundowner on the Terrace and watch the world go by on the promenade below THE ROOF: chill out with long drink and a shisha and admire the spectacular views of Naama Bay. DON'T MISS: daily drinks promotions, Happy Hour and Weekends Sports Specials
Brisbane
Level Contributor
172 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Pure enjoyment!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The rooftop area of the Camel bar is definitely the best bar in S El S.

Nothing and nowhere beats this place for sheer atmosphere and relaxation.
Beers are chilled and the food is scrummy.
The sensation of sitting up on the roof is just lovely , taking in the views of the rooftops and the crowds below whilst lounging back on comfy cushions listening to the fine tunes...... what more could you ask for?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelBar, Manager at Camel Bar & Roof, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Gordon
Thank you very much for posting about Camel Bar and Roof, we do love to hear your views.
We're really pleased that you highlight the music being played on the Roof we have 2 of the finest DJ's in Sharm playing every night chilled House with a relaxed vibe.
The Roof is extremely popular for chilling out with it's fabulous views over Naama Bay, the perfect end to a relaxing day on the beach or diving!
From all the team at Camel Bar, we thank you again for taking the time to post and hope to see you when you next visit Sharm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,225
    511
    103
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Skip and move on”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Yes the place is atmospheric , but stop right there. Beers were just under room temperature instead off being chilled and one of the worst shisha i have ever tasted.

Although what makes it always a sour experience is the service. The standard staff is just to bring and take things from the table. Then you have a supervisor who you could do without because after complaining that the shisha isnt good he wouldnt take it off the bill. Then top manager gets involved which was uncalled for. I just wanted to pay for everything and run. But she kept apologizing and wanted to know the reason why we were so upset. Hmm story sitting take 3 cause by this time we had already explained our frustration to the waiter and supervisor.

Anyway she took the shisha off the bill and were offered some complementary coupon to use , which we refused.

p.s. even the so called free wifi doesnt work at the roof siiting area. just avoid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Camel Bar & Roof, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and for taking the time to post your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our bar, but sorry to hear that you found that our beer, shishas and service did not meet your expectations. Pleased be assured that we have passed on your comments to the relevant managers so that they may take appropriate action.
Regarding the temperature of our drinks, we do carefully monitor our fridge temperature levels, especially outside on our roof and terrace bars. We are not aware of there having been a problem with any of our fridges during the period of your visit, but your comments give us the opportunity to double check this so thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Our shishas come in a wide range of flavours , not all of which suit everybody! Our waiters are normally happy to change your shisha flavour for one that you prefer. We are pleased to hear that our manager followed the correct procedure by trying to understand any issues on the spot, and that she was able to remove the shisha from your bill at your request.
Regarding our free wi-fi service, unfortunately some areas of the roof bar have better reception than other areas, due to signal reflections and shadows. Our staff would be pleased to advise the best spots for getting connected.
Once again we'd like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and we hope you enjoyed a lovely holiday in Sharm El Sheikh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a cool place”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a cool place, my partner and i were so happy to have found this place, fabulous drinks menu,we tried a few cocktails wines a beers. Great music and embience, nice candles and muted lighting, the happy hour is a fab time to grab a cold one straight after the red hot Egyptian sun, but this bar stays open till late too, we didnt eat her but the menu looks yummy...we will def return when were back in Sharm :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelBar, Manager at Camel Bar & Roof, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Camel Bar, thank you
Great to hear that you also tried cocktails from our extensive drinks menu - as you mention, these are even better value during Happy Hour every weekday from 5-8pm.
We're really pleased that you enjoyed Camel Bar's atmosphere set by the candles and the music.
Thanks again for your recommendation, and we look forward to hosting you at Camel Bar on a future holiday to Sharm.
The Camel Bar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Chilled, Relaxed and enjoyable”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Camel bar must be one of the most atmospheric places in Sharm and always busy. there are various seating areas making it seem bigger than it was. The fact that it is above street level was good too as my wife could people watch to her heart’s content down onto the street below. The staff are friendly and this is where we like to come after a good days diving.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Camel Bar & Roof, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Anthony
Thank you so much for taking time to review the Camel Bar and share your feedback. We always like to hear from our guests and appreciate your effort.
We're really pleased that you enjoyed Camel Bar's atmosphere, which we like to think comes as much from our friendly staff, as from our lovely guests!
The choices offered by the Roof Bar, Terrace and main bar, for seating and people watching, hopefully mean your good lady wife will always have plenty to see.
Once again, from all the team at Camel Bar and Roof, thanks for the great comments and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“When in Sharm, it's got to be The Camel Bar!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Do not settle for less or be ripped off elsewhere. Great value food and drink. Friendly staff. Fantastic views. Three bars to choose from. Roof top overlooking the strip and watch the world go by. The trendy wicker basket furniture cheap drink and two hour happy hour. Great Indian tandoori pizzas. Sports bar with loads of plazas and entertainment. We booked our diving here and what a fab experience. Ideally located for hotel bus runs back or shopping. Every person we've recommended to go here luvs it and a great place to hang out in a relaxed atmosphere with buddy's. The whole place is spotless, great cocktails at reasonable prices and state of the art/ trendy toilets which are regularly serviced. Trust GolfbloggerUk, this is the place to be in Sharm! Newly weds Mathew and Gemma Loggie, Aberdeen, Scotland

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfbloggerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Camel Bar & Roof, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mathew and Gemma
Wow! What an amazing review! Many thanks for taking the time to post it and for recommending Camel Bar to other newlyweds!
We are ecstatic that you love Camel so much, the great food, the sports, the loos…you forgot to mention that we have a disabled loo too! As you mentioned, our Happy Hour 5pm-8pm Monday to Fridayis great value, plus we also have our ‘Sports Specials’ at the weekends til 9pm, with promotions on jugs of beer, cocktails etc.
You couldn't get more central than our location, so we're happy to hear that you managed to drop in for a drink in between shopping, diving, hotel transfers, etc!
Once more, thanks again from all the crew at Camel Bar and Roof for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and we hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camel Bar & Roof also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Camel Bar & Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing