We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Tandoori

Tandoori
Ranked #25 of 310 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our award-winning Tandoori Indian restaurant is a local favourite. You can watch resident Indian Chef Abhay at work in the open-air show kitchen. The menu includes meat, chicken, fish and vegetarian specialties, plus freshly-cooked breads. The courtyard is cooled by fans in summer, and heated in winter. Reservation is recommended.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Love this place. Not that easy to spot as it is tucked away behing Pomodoro and to the side of the Camel Dive centre but well worth a visit. Friendly staff- they let us go into the kitchen and make our own bread, yummy food and reasonably priced

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissScatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Louise
Thank you so much for your review of our restaurant - we're very happy to read that you love Tandoori! We appreciate you highlighting our delicious authentic food and value for money. Our romantic courtyard setting is right in the centre of Naama Bay, but still a calm and tucked away location inside Camel Hotel. We've just opened a new terrace seating area on the main promenade, next to our Pomodoro restaurant, which is easier to spot! Reservations are recommended.
Thanks again for your kind comments, on behalf of the whole team here at Tandoori, We look forward to having the pleasure of your visit next time you are in Sharm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    102
    42
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went here in May 2013 when we went to Sharm for our holiday. It is quite simply some of the best Indian food I have had outside my house. I am an Indian from Leicester UK, where there many very good Indian Restaurants and this Restaurant beats most of them, if not all of them. The Naan Bread was perfectly cook and not burned. I had the Chicken Tikka Madras. The Chicken is pre-cooked in a Clay Oven and then added the relevant Curry Sauce (you can see this, as the Kitchen and Sitting Area are open plan). This adds to the taste, as many other Indian Restaurants tend to boil the Chicken pieces and then add it to the Curry Sauce and cook it further. The Madras Curry Sauce was perfectly balanced in terms of its flavour. it looked and tasted authentic with no artificial colouring. The service was also fantastic. This Restaurant is behind the main entrance of the Camel Dive Club and Hotel in Naama Bay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLegend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review. Your recommendation of our restaurant means a lot to us, especially as you mention you are of Indian heritage, and know how much care and attention goes into every authentic dish that we create. We're so pleased that you found both our service and food to be well-balanced and hit the right note.
On behalf of the entire Tandoori team, we'd like to thank you again for your kind feedback and look forward to the pleasure of your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Starters selection was limited but the mains on the menu were good. Vegetarian options for my fiance were in abundance too whihc is always good to see.

I ordered the lamb samosa to start and we recieved our food within about 2 minutes of ordering.

The main was great. I had a lamb Karahi. Good flavouring and spices, tender meat. The rice was fine and naan exceptional. Generous portions left me struggling to finish! I would sugges sharing a rice or/and naan.

Staff were great. A little quiet at first but Isac (spelling) and the other waiter were great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roussel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Roussel27,
Thank you so much for posting your review! We're delighted to read that you recommend us highly to other travellers and that you found plenty of options on our menu to suit your taste buds, including excellent vegetarian options as well as the delicious lamb karahi that you tried.
In keeping with traditional Indian hospitality, the dishes prepared by our Indian Chef do tend to be on the generous side! We're really pleased to read that you found our staff great too.
Thanks again for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you again at our restaurant on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
689 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Great food, with friendly if somewhat erratic service”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Tandoori is a slightly hidden part of the Camel Hotel and Bar complex in Naama Bay, right beside Pomodoro. It has a great menu with a choice of classic curry, tandoori and other Indian dishes.

We had the Mixed tandoori grill and a cumin and pea pulao rice. Both were delicious, with good wine and beer choices. It was probably our best meal in an 11-day trip to Egypt.

However, service was - while friendly - erratic to say the least.

Our waiter did not seem focused on the task at hand at all. We ordered poppadums which never came. When I ordered the cumin and pea rice, he followed this up with "would you like any rice", and he served a Sakara beer instead of a Stella.

Then we were given a bill for a completely different meal, and when the bill relating to our own meal came, inevitably it included the poppadums. We were in a good mood, and it didn't upset us (we were laughing about it actually), but it was quite poor when it's a restaurant with a service charge included automatically in the bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and our drinks’ selection up to the extent to consider your dining experience at Tandoori among the best during your stay in Egypt. We are however deeply sorry to read that the service did not match the quality of our food. I have relayed your comments both to our Indian chef and our restaurant manager, and would like to extend my apologies on behalf of the Tandoori team. Sometimes glitches do happen, but we strongly hope that you'll allow us to welcome you again at Tandoori on your next visit to Sharm, and give us the opportunity to better meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent. one of the best in the Middle East.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Consistently excellent interpretation of Indian cuisine. The menu is simple and caters to Western palates, hence the mild fear of using fresh chilli but sumptuous rich curries nonetheless and superb breads. No regional specialties and sadly no lassi available to my knowledge, a mild surprise in a Muslim country. Excellent lamb curries though.
In my top 10 of Indian restaurants in the Middle East and definitely an vast improvement on most of the Bangla 3 pot karai's you get back in the U.K.
Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phatsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear phatsafari
WOW - we're thrilled that you've rated us in your top 10 best Indian restaurants in the Middle East - thank you! We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We're so pleased that you found our curry dishes to be sumptuous and authentic, and enjoyed our freshly-cooked breads. You're right, we had removed lassi when we refreshed our menu earlier this year, as it was one of our less popular items, but we would certainly consider adding it in future and have passed on your feedback to our Indian chef. Thanks again for your wonderful feedback, and we look forward to having the pleasure of your visit on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing