We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic, but pleasant enough.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catherine Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catherine Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saint Catherine
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic, but pleasant enough.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We didn't really expect too much here as it is literally in the middle of nowhere. The food was good and plentiful. The staff were friendly and helpful - helped to celebrate one of our tour leader's birthday while we were there.
Rooms were basic, but clean. Beds a little hard, but after a 12 hour bus ride, we had no trouble sleeping.
The light in our bathroom wasn't working and it was fixed promptly while we were at dinner.
Close, but not within walking distance of St. Catherine's Monastery. Very friendly bedouin gave us a ride for E£50 (US $8.00) not bad!
No Wifi - didn't expect it.
Do browse the Bedouin shop next to the hotel. They have some lovely things (especially the scarves) and they are not pushy!
Travelled with a tour group, stayed one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mossylog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    19
    14
    28
See reviews for
18
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one time. From outside it looks very big and attractive but the rooms are poorly maintained and not at all cleaned. The villa type rooms which our group got was very far and there are steep stair cases which makes carrying baggage difficult. The bathrooms were very dirty and water comes only after 8 pm. The food was also not that good. The swimming pool was good and there some souvenir shops within the compound. Since the hotel options in the area is very limited, you can think of staying just for one night. But don't expect much...........

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseittan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were told that this was the BEST that Sinai could offer...but it didn't prepare me for THIS! Entering the room, I immediately smelled the sewage. The floor was stick, bed and sheets were of foul smell as well. The wall had a huge hole that they covered with sofa foam. The balcony door was defective so we couldn't lock it. This meant that all your belongings became free for all. Mosquitos and flies were our room companions. The bath tub would not drain so you had to shower with a pool of water at your feet. Food was just inedible and water was not free. Just forget about coffee at breakfast, or of BREAKFAST since food was just awful! Please, just skip Sinai altogether...no decent place to stay and security was questionable for tourists.

Room Tip: none, all are BAD!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janandmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Catherine hotels

Eforie, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I didn't expect much of this hotel, previous travelers reviews were helpful.
I was happy that the bed sheets were clean, everything else in the room was awful.
Large gaps between the room door and the frame will give you a strange feeling.
Anti mosquito net on the window is useless, the room walls are "decorated" with blood stains from the mosquito hunting.
The way from reception to the room is on a rocky walkway, very hard to carry your luggage, fortunately there are bellboys that will help anyone in need.
Smiling but untrained stuff.
Poor TV channels options, no Internet in the room, can have in lobby but have to pay for it.
Breakfast and dinner was okay.
The only reason to choose this hotel is Mt.Sinai proximity.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room and pray that all facilities are working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leon062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I do realize that this hotel is one of the best choices in Mt. Sinai. Do not expect this hotel to be good. The rooms were dirty and I was even afraid of bed bugs. There's only one tiny bar of soap. There's no elevator so you have to bring your luggage up the rocky walkway. The dinner was okay but the breakfast did not look appetizing at all. The wifi isn't free or cheap. The pool was absolutely disgusting because they were cleaning it out due to the moldy, green water. The service was okay but this hotel is one of the worst I've been to. Very comparable to a cheap motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank om6114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

A group of 20 of us stayed for 2 nights to climb Mount Sinai. The location is good, the beds were clean, the airconditioning and shower worked. Everything else was awful. Old, tired decoration, fridges didnt work, room door locks didnt work, food very poor, staff willing but untrained. Management dreadful. Service poor. Not safe - we had expensive camera stolen from restaurant by staff: eventually returned after we had made terrible fuss because we knew it had been taken - everything had been wiped ready for sale.

Room Tip: Check your room carefully before accepting it. Check lock, bathroom, beds, air con first to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Della_S483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The following points summarise our experience at this hotel:
Very basic accommodation – nothing else in the area - so if you want to overnight near Mount Sinai for the early morning start to the climb, this is it.
Fridge in room but it did not work.
Good buffet dinner with plenty of variety but tea and coffee charged extra.
Relatively small room.
Strong smell from toilet in bathroom.
Ran out of toilet paper.
Range at breakfast fairly ordinary.
5 minute drive to St Catherine’s monastery.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneandKaren_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catherine Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Plaza Hotel

Property: Catherine Plaza Hotel
Address: Wadi El Raha St, Saint Catherine, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Saint Catherine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saint Catherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Catherine Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Plaza Saint
Catherine Plaza Hotel Saint Catherine, Egypt - Red Sea And Sinai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing