We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedouin Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Catherine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedouin Camp
Save
You added Bedouin Camp to your Saves list
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Certainly one of the most enjoyable parts of my time in Egypt was the week I spent in St. Catherine at the Bedouin Camp. The quiet mountain village offered welcome respite from the cacophonous Cairo, as did the friendly and always smiling locals.

Sitting around the fire in the evenings sipping copious amounts of Bedouin tea and downing the excellent meals cooked by the resident chef while chatting with the guides and visitors was always enjoyable, and the rooms and facilities were clean and great for the prices.

For those looking to tackle Mt. Sinai or trek in the High Mountains the staff were always on hand to discuss the best options and organise everything.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival into the area, the friendly staff picked me up from the bus terminal. When I arrived at the property my first impression was that of a desert oasis. I was delighted by the surroundings and relaxed by the environment. The food was good, the room clean and comfortable, the service was beyond excellent. They made us feel just like family. We had the opportunity to join them for a bedouin dinner party which was excellent. Don't miss this one!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Salah, the owner of Sheikh Mousa's Bedouin camp picked me up from Sharm Airport and we drove to Dahab. Between the highway and Dahab was a broken road with a diversion sign. This did not deter Salah with his 4WD. Let me just say that it was a free tour and gave me some insight into Bedouin norms which you don't see as a tourist. That night Salah invited me to dinner at his home. How the meal was prepared and the norms of eating again were a small revelation although I have lived with Muslim communities. Salah also showed me and a Swiss German couple his new projects and farm.

The other person who made the stay (3 days for me) was the Chef. His quiet style and simple food belies his genius in creating great flavours. The same dishes I ate elsewhere gained an abundance of flavours here.

At night we gathered around a fire and talked, and Salah even read the palms of a few people just for fun. The camp is not the traditional goat hair tent that you see in geography books. It is built of stone, with timber ceiling supporting a stone roof. This is the new norm among bedouins in South Sinai.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are good. All on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manitree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was such a lucky find for my husband and me. The owners and staff of this camp are very friendly and helpful. The food is great, made to order, and affordable. We stayed an extra night because the room was so cheap ($15 per night for a double bed) and the place was so peaceful. The views surrounding the camp are breathtaking, and the climb to mt Sinai from here is just beautiful! We cannot say enough great things about this place or the people. Amazing, must see location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cocaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Imagine our surprise when we learned that it is darn right cold in Egypt during the early spring. We got off the bus in St. Catherine's around 7 pm and we quickly loaded into a truck that would take us to the Bedouin Camp. Only minutes after arriving we felt at home with both the other guests and friendly staff. We unloaded our bags in our room and went to the kitchen for a free Bedouin style tea. They staff is like one big family and you can't help but we swept up in it...jokes, laughter and good natured ribbing are all complimentary when you stay here.
We asked questions about the monastery and climbing Mt. Sinai and were given such great answers that we didn't have to pay the mandatory 120 EP for a guide.
The rooms are small and equipped with a space heater (if needed) but please remember it's a CAMP not a hotel. The bathrooms are shared and I must admit were the 2nd biggest surprise of this place. They are very modern with hot showers and are kept immaculately clean. Now I said that the bathrooms were the 2nd biggest surprise that is because nothing will quite prepare you for what comes out of the kitchen.
The food at the Bedouin Camp was so amazing we actually stayed an extra day just to eat. The chef has studied and worked through out Europe and the Mediterranean not to mention he's probably one of the nicest people you'll ever meet. We spent the day after our trek relaxing on the couches, playing backgammon, and eating whatever we put in our mouths. Try the veggie burger it's FANTASTIC!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are small but clean with fantastic views of the surrounding landscape....as most don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My husband, my mom, sister and myself planned this trip very quickly and we only needed to stay 1 night since we were just coming from Cairo. The staff are unbelievably friendly and really accomodated us. We had to cancel our first night there 2 hours before our arrival because there was trouble on the road. So we ended up having to drive all the way down to Dahab and spending a night there. When we called and told them what had happened they weren't annoyed or anything they just felt sorry for us that our 5 hour road trip had turned into a 9 hour detour.
*If you're going by bus/car and the police tell you not to go through Wadi Feran (short-cut) then listen to them!
The rooms were perfect! You get 2 extra blankets and a heater. The bathrooms are basic but everything was very clean and towels are available.
The chef there is very sweet and he's happy to make you anything you want until 10pm.
I recommend the Egyptian breakfast, the chicken pizza and some wild oregano to take home (15LE for a big bag)
The people there also arrange a guide for you to go up the mountain and give you a lot of useful tips.
*Bring your own flashlights if you're planning on going on the sunrise hike.
If not there's a little shop right next to the camp that sells them.
And at night, when it gets really cold you can sit by the fire they set up especially for you.
Other than all of that, the people that work there are very trusting. My husband had forgotten his kindle there and they hand delivered it to us in Cairo when one of them came down for the weekend.
An amazing place with great people!

Room Tip: Make sure the room has a heater. And get an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sherin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have just returned from a five night stay at this camp. What a truly wonderful experience. Clean, warm comfortable rooms. Charming and helpful staff. Fabulous fresh food. This is a place that should not be missed. Within easy walking distance of St. Catherine's Monastery, Mount Sinai, Fansina and set in wonderful scenery this place is a joy.

There is only one thing I would add here. Although the sky is blue, the sun is shining and the air is fresh it can be cold so just make sure you have an added layer....................this is not a negative remark because you will never feel so invigorated. Note that we were there in January. A glorious experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaDominica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Catherine hotels
0.0 mi away
Daniela Village St. Katherine
Daniela Village St. Katherine
#1 of 5 in Saint Catherine
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sheik Mousa
#2 of 4 in Saint Catherine
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedouin Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedouin Camp

Property: Bedouin Camp
Address: Al Milga, Saint Catherine, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Saint Catherine
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Catherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedouin Camp is a western run Guesthouse in the beautiful mountain town of St Katherine. we also run local hikes and tours from here as well. great staff. great food, great Guesthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bedouin Camp Saint Catherine, Egypt - Red Sea And Sinai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing