We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5* hotel at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Safaga
Reviewed September 5, 2011

First of all I'm Egyptian. I went to this hotel on a family vacation. For the first glance it seems of a standard lower than that of normal 5* hotel all over Egypt, but it seems ok for a normal 4*. Reception is sort of helpful staff, but can't be considered professional ones. All in all was good & bearable. No heated swimming pools, but good animation team with special care for the kids especially in the restaurant where they have their special meal in their specified corner. Many things inside the rooms need to be fixed. It seems that they are using tap water as drinking water, where this water is not potable & the quality of food materials is so humble. No big variety in food. Finally, I & the whole family go an Acute Gastroenteritis where we suffered about a week from it even with medication.
I'm writing this only for the benefit of the members, not to be harmed in this hotel as I & my family did & finally in order not to affect tourism in our country. I really do prefer hurghada & Sharm El Sheikh, but may be other hotels will be better in Safage, where it is a very calm city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rimooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 169 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

We just returned cairo from imperial shams safaga hotel,amazing climate and clean funny hotel for families and couples,very good variety of activities and friendly stuff....wide range of cocktails and perfect open buffet,my 2 yrs kis was very sad leaving the hotel (So Do I :) )

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We cannot understand the bad reviews, they are so untrue for this hotel in our experience. The hotel is a good 4 star quality one with some excellent features such as the superior rooms' jacuzzi terraces with great sea views and space with sunbeds etc. I really recommend the upgrade as it's good value and makes a big difference. You won't find such rooms in other hotels for this value - we have our comparisons as this was our 5th time in Egypt. We found the hotel, the rooms, restaurants, pools, beach all clean and well-looked after. The food is diverse and good, and this was the first time we did not become sick with the usual stomach bugs and did not need the famous antinal pills. The drinks were fine, and even the wine was drinkable, though it could have been cooler at times. The pools are good and not too crowded, and the beach is perfect for families with small children as the water is shallow and safe. Within a short distance there is a nice reef too for those who want to snorkel and swim. The staff was nice and helpful, and the animation team was also pretty good. Overall, we had a perfect relaxing time and we will go back next year!

Room Tip: if you want the best room I would definitely go for a superior jazucci one, on one of the top floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crystal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

They told us it's 4 and half stars hotel, it's not even 3 stars. In our "clean sterilized" toilet after check-in we found cigarate and on the floor a ball hair. Than we went to the bed and we found there a bloody bed-sheet and same bloody stain on the window hangings. We call the stuff to kindly ask for a correction and he had a lough of us. The stuff at the beach/bar are really pushy and especialy to women very annoying. They don't undstand "we are not interested" try to sell their product so hard. We went to ATV trip-I can not recomend, really scary, unprofesional and dangerous. They told us we can brush our teeth with the water (we get only one 0,5 l of drinking water per person per day) however it caused diarrhera so they had to known it. The food is always the same, they also take food from previous day and serve it the next day. The swimming pool is really grows- has a mushrooms there. Sea is clean but there are some sharp ston-should wear shoes. You also have to go cca 100 meters from the coast to have the waterline just little over knees. Maybe for somobody can be advanatage there weren't almost any people (probably 1/4 pof hotel's capacity) but for us it was too boring.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anet1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This was our 5th time in Egypt with my partner, so we have a good base to compare. We have spent 2 weeks in this hotel, which unfortunately was the worst so far.
At check-in the reception desk and the floor were sticky, we got a room looking at the neighboring hotel which was being built, but fortunately with some $ the problem was solved and we got a nice room with a king-sized bed with a nice view.
The restaurant staff was mostly disappointing, with a few exceptions. The restaurant manager (Adel el Said, or as we have called him, Poirot, since he had a nice moustache and figure like Agatha Christie's detective :-)) was extremely helpful, friendly and polite, unfortunately very few of his colleagues would follow his example. The others were disinterested and even sometimes rude to us. The glasses were dirty several times: as I have noticed, they did not use the dishwashers, rust rinsed the glasses (at the restaurant & the main bar), so check before using them!
However the food was nice. I am quite picky, but I have always found something delicious to eat :-) The Italian restaurant was a huge disappointment however. It had nothing to do with Italian cuisine, but this was not the worst. Anytime we have asked for a drink they were giving us the look like it was their own.
Noureddin, the manager of the reception and the cleaning staff was also very helpful, but again, his colleagues were not so much.
The rooms were okay, typical Egyptian quality. However the cleaning was disappointing, even though we have tipped the cleaning staff nicely. We have found cigarette ashes behind the bathroom door 4 days after moving in (we do not smoke)!!!
At the pool the bathrooms were always dirty. Most of the time, by 11 am there were no toilet paper left and even if we have asked for refill, they did not bring more until late afternoon.
At the pool bar, by 3 pm there was never any ice left and the drinks were warm further on. We have found out later on that they had an ice machine, so it was a mystery!!!
The beach was nice however. There was some corals with some fish, which was nice. Not the real thing, but for beginners it can be nice and close. The pools were okay, but our opinion was that the active pool should have been the one in the center and the relax pool should have been the one on the back of the hotel.
The animator team was nice, funny and organized great programs during the day, however the night programs were quite weak.
The diving center was at the neighboring hotel, we have spent a great day with them. Also we have managed to rent 4 quads and a guide and have spent an exciting afternoon in the desert. We found a "travel agent" outside the hotel, further on, by the other Shams hotel. This way we have skipped the boring day programs and the crowd.
Safaga is very close and costs only 50 piastres with the local cabs, however prepare for dirty streets and people staring at you (not many tourists dare to go there). Hurghada is quite far by taxi, but if you'd like to do some shopping or go out partying, it would be a much better choice. But do some bargaining with the cab driver!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reka_Cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Everybody was talking about poor quality of Egyptian hotels. It is not true. We both were very satisfied. The staff especially in restaurant was so kind and smily that I did not want to go away from there. Thanks to Ali and Ashraf our breakfasts, lunches and dinners were full of laughing and joking. Food was delicious and tasty, even if you get some Pharaoh´s revenge :D after some compliments to cooks we knew and talk to them almost every day. Thanks to Yousry who prepare special sweet digest of chocolate cakes for me. On birthday we get unbelievable cake which we find in our minibar fridge. There were a lot of small things like that which make our stay memorable.
The surrounding was so quiet, the most suited for us! We wanted to be away from noisy centre.
Whole Egypt smokes. Be ready for it.
There was an animation every evening from 9pm. We have never been there because of series Heroes which we love and had to watch :)
Room was enough spacious, with long and dark curtains that we spleep well till 9 without disturbing by the sun which is very bright after 6 in the morning. Room was facing beautiful sea and sandy beach with palm leaves´ sunumbrellas. Bathroom has narrow bathtub, so it was uncomfortable to wash ourselves together behind the shower curtain. Anyway, water has never been cold, even from a cold water pipe :) Minibar was filled with 2 bottles of water everyday and tins every week. Fanta is more tasty than in Slovakia, so we drank litres of it!
We have free massage a week and we turn profit 3 times a stay. It depends on masseur how the massage is, so just try it.
Every Tuesday there was a possibility to have a free lesson of diving so we try it (only few minutes but it is enough to experience it). It was first time for us to be under water this way and we were so fascinated that we order a diving trip in open sea - ah, we saw dolphins there, doplphins I was dreaming about couples of nights :)
We visit Cairo and Luxor - go there for sure! I love Egyptian history and its worth to see - everything you catch during your stay. We recieved breakfast boxes including baby banana, some sweet and salty rolls with extra jam and butter, bottle of water and caddy of juice - we like guava the most :) when you come late from a trip you have a late dinner - tell to the receptionist in advance (our guide from travel agency did it).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Superior Buchung...lohnt sich. Toller Meerblick mit Meerrauschen bis ins Zimmer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rüdiger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safaga
0.4 mi away
Shams Safaga
Shams Safaga
#9 of 13 in Safaga
179 reviews
21.8 mi away
TUI MAGIC LIFE Kalawy
TUI MAGIC LIFE Kalawy
#1 of 13 in Safaga
560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Y Mar Paradise Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lotus Bay
Lotus Bay
#7 of 13 in Safaga
197 reviews
2 mi away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
4.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort

Address: Km 9 Safaga | Road Abu Soma, Safaga 84711, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Safaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Safaga
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Safaga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Safaga
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Safaga
Price Range: $55 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort is located approximately 50 km south of Hurghada and adjacent to Safaga. A chain of isolated and breathtaking reefs with dramatic cliffs and plateaus determine here, the characteristic life in the sea. Because of its location, various dive sites and a large quantity of fishes can be found. The location offers not only numerous dive sites, but also one of the best windsurfing and kite surfing spots in Egypt, with ideal wind conditions through all year round.Excellent conditions for all activities on and under the water are available at the resort. Diving, windsurfing, kite surfing or snorkeling will be for all professionals, amateurs or beginners an unforgettable challenge and experience, but also the natural sand beach and the swimming pools invite all others for relaxing as well. An animation team and its sports program provide fun & entertainment for everyone. Kids Club with games, mini disco and more, all what children like. 322 rooms and suites are spread over a u-shaped building with fabulous front or side seaview, balcony or terrace, equipped with twin or king size beds, air conditioning, safe, mini fridge, satellite TV, telephone and a private bathroom with vanity mirror and hair dryer. The suites dispose partly over its own terrace or large roof garden with sun beds, seating and a personal-to-use Jacuzzi.Different kinds of restaurants & bars can be found in the Resort and the All Inclusive will fulfill all wishes and concerns with tasteful meals and a wide section of beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Hotel Safaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing