We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serenity Makadi Beach
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

All bad reviewers are right ...uncooperative staff very far rooms bad service ...best comment is room trip no guides in the room for telephone numbers , it looks they put us ina hotel part that is still under reconstruction...I do not want to be here again.

Room Tip: Never accept far rooms
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gouda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,289)
There are newer reviews for Serenity Makadi Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in your Hotel for 2 weeks !!! Everything was find , we enjoyed the stay, lots of swimming pools, you can see the fishes with lots of color on the beach, Food was ok. only the bad experience that some one steal my perfume and other small staff, dose not matter how it cost but we didn't find any respond from the management , we had to contact them many times to ask for result, but nothing change, just it goes with air :)) other situation we pay for Aqua Park to enjoy 1 hour, but in fact it was 15 minutes as we come later for 15 minutes and then they have to close also the aqua park for another 15 minutes for repairing and again no respond from the management, therefore we will never come back !!! just we didn't feel safe !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ramzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

When we arrived we were told our room had 3 single beds (we requested a double + single) so the manager offered us an upgrade to a Deluxe Room free of charge!
The room was incredibly spacious and spotlessly clean. The grounds/gardens are also extremely clean and well maintained as is the entire hotel. Hotel staff are constantly tidying and cleaning throughout the resort.
The 2 Relaxing Pools are delightful and again, there are attendants are constantly tidying the area, there are plenty of sun beds and shades and the staff are more than happy to relocate them for you. The beach is just at the edge of the resort which is on a small incline and is stunning with an abundance of sun beds and shades.
The main buffet restaurant was rather disappointing, however the wide range of A La Carte restaurants on offer helped with variety.
The staff and management at this hotel really are second to none, they cannot do enough to help and truly care about making your holiday as enjoyable as possible, they consistently went out of their way to ensure that we were valued and respected as guests.
My son left his IPhone in the toilet (stupidly) where a guest found it and claimed that he would 'hand it in'. Another guest witnessed this and identified the guy who 'took the phone' to us. We reported this to the Bell Captain and pointed the suspect out to him. He then took security along and confronted the man in question, escorted him to his room, retrieved the phone from his safe and returned it to us! INCREDIBLE!
On another occasion we ate in the BBQ restaurant and were asked if "we'd enjoyed our meal" to which we confessed to being a little disappointed. As a result, we were invited to lunch in the buffet the following day and provided with a 3 course meal of our choice with a waiter service (during self service). All staff are greatly appreciative of any tips, which we were delighted to give as they were well deserved, and are friendly, polite and helpful. We were also invited into the Royal Lounge (A select A La Carte restaurant/lounge) by The General Manager, Mr Talluk.
Mr Talluk, was incredible and frequently checked to ensure we were happy with things. He was a very visible presence in the hotel and was dedicated to delivering ultimate customer satisfaction to his guests, personally intervening where he saw fit.
Despite the food being the only negative we experienced, I would love to return to this hotel which is something I have never found before now, mainly due to the outstanding staff and management who treated us like royalty!
Just be aware that the majority of guests are from Russia, Poland, Ukraine & Germany although the management are keen to expand on their British market.
Only been back 5 days and missing it already!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelleynev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hi, we just came back from two weeks staying at Serenity Makadi Heights and we had a fantastic time.
The Egyptian welcoming from all staff was amazing and starting from the staff at Reception (Youssef, Samir and Arina in particular) to the staff in the main restaurant (JAMAL and RAMADAN were exceptional) to the cleaner (Mahamud) and Saed at the beach. All made our staying very pleasant and comfortable.
My only negative thing is that the resort is all inclusive and I felt trapped as there is nowhere to walk to. there are some excursions to do but they are not cheap and we only saw our Thomas Cook Rep (Sawi) only once in two weeks and he forgot to mention that our pick up time from the hotel to Hurghada Airport has changed and we had to pay $30 for a taxi to take us to the airport as we have been left at the hotel without any explanation.
The staff at reception felt very sorry for us and they allowed us to make all the necessary phone call, they were BRILLIANT! we CANNOT say the same for our Thomas Cook Rep!!!!!!
Overall we had a fantastic time at the resort and if you like snorkeling and diving this is the place for you.
It is also true that there are no many British tourists in the hotel therefore you do not find any information in English about trips and the hotel is full of Russian people who can be very rude and they have no manners especially when it comes to respect other people around them.
We do recommend Serenity to anyone. FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Concetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Dont go to this hotel, the stuf is very unfriendly and anoying, food and drinks....no comment, 6th time in Egipt , this is 3 star hotel not 5 star..i was at 4 star hotel and it was much better, not to mention that somewone wonted to brake in my room at 6.a clock.....nobody knows whoooo...disastre...dont go there

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasmina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

just come back from the most over rated, under staffed hotel with possibly worst food imaginable.
us and 3 other families from england, all other polish or russian for which the hotel caters for mainly
hotel shop....well priced if you want to spend nearly £5 on a packet of crisps or £7 on some biscuits or £18 on some sun cream or maybe £110 on a cheap snorkel and mask set!!
17 power cuts and 9 times the door key system fails....nice with a walk back to reception every time to re code key!
all inclusive??!?!? well maybe not....pool pay for, pitch and putt pay for....bikes pay for...ice cream pay for....tennis pay for!! evenings entertainment? what entertainment??? when there was, you had to pay for it!!!! £7 per person and then kids to young to go in!
cant rest on the beach as hassled every 5 minutes by people selling over priced days out.
OH and dont expect the aqua park for free!!! £20 per person per day!!!
lovely beach and sea......but what an expensive way to see it!!

Room Tip: room facing scarborough south beach!! far better!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel away from anything. We were only English couple in the resort for the first week and food was the same each day catered for the Russians and Germans. No variety. We enjoyed the sun and relaxing pool but to be honest could of got this at a cheaper holiday that was closer to home. Didn't feel safe so to anyone for first time travel abroad certainly would not recommend. We experience one evening with a mouse in our room we did see the funny side however the security's way of removal was to stamp on it and murder the poor little soul. I then disinfected the area afterwards. The cleaners were nice but mainly felt they were after tips. First week we were hassled continuously by sales people when we were at the relaxing pool it became a bit if a nuisance. No real entertainment same each day. Please read reviews here before stay. No real beach. Coral and sunbeds. Can't paddle or just walk along. Second week went for hair braiding gentleman tried to charge 350 pounds not Egyptian pounds. Luckily husband haggled to 50 quid. We had luckily got the hang of the haggling ways by then. Partner became poorly. Noone for me to turn to most of holiday just hoping that he would get better with rest and water so any anxious, worried or shy women do not go here!! Ooo and ladies please bare in mind it is respectful to cover up which is understandable as its their culture however It is also very hot so choose wardrobe carefully.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Saz160784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
2.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,322 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.2 mi away
Serenity Fun City
Serenity Fun City
#11 of 30 in Makadi Bay
599 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Makadi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Makadi Beach

Address: Safaga Road 36 Km | P.O. Box 324, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $65 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Serenity Makadi Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity Makadi Beach is located on the west banks of the Red Sea, built in Moroccan style. Opened in January 2007, this spacious five Stars Resort spans a total of 400,000 sq. meters, surrounded by large gardens, it is located directly on the Red Sea situated on its own wide beach 320m, offering spectacular views over the turquoise water and an amazing experience of a luxury life style, combined with the warmth of true Egyptian hospitality. The rooms are divided into five wings 17 clusters of 2-3 floors. You can simply relax on the hotel's beach or one of the spectacular 5 swimming pools. The resort has every possible feature to make your stay enjoyable by offering a wide range of safari and diving trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Serenity Makadi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Makadi Heights Hotel Makadi Bay
Serenity Makadi Heights Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing