We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GREAT HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Makadi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A GREAT HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

My 11th visit to Egypt and most likely the best hotel we have stayed in to date so thats good news.

Only gripe being the numerous pools are seriously cold this time of year and one heated pool would have made all the difference. There is so much choice in the way of food either here or at the Grand next door you will be spoiled for choice.

Rooms were great size with seperate lounge area in the standard junior suite.

Relax, its a great hotel no problems there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smarties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    586
    199
    83
    42
See reviews for
533
1,103
36
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Fantastic week!
The Palace seems much better than the Grand next door.
The Palace is great value. The Hotel reef and drop-off offers similar visibility as the Maldives waters. Amazing Snorkeling! We just wished there was a pier over the edge of the reef because it's almost impossible not to touch the coral as you swim over the drop off.

The restaurants offer amazing variety and we ate everything and didn't get a dodgy stomach. Overall, it was perfect for a couple needing a vital break! BOOK IT NOW!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Travels_4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

This was our first all inclusive holiday - and with two young children (8 and 5) it took the brainwork out of a holiday. Weather was fantastic - hot but not unbearable, pools clean and empty, food plentiful, varied (no upset stomachs) and a brilliant reef for snorkelling. Once we got our heads around the fact we weren't going anywhere (very Truman Show staying on a resort with a big wall around it and miles and miles of desert on the outside) we just relaxed and enjoyed. Took an amazing trip out to the desert (about 150-00 english pounds for all of us) - quad bikes, jeep rides, camels etc culminating in an egyptian style variety show - brilliant fun (but make sure you have a late breakfast - no food until quite late in the day for children).

I would agree that if you are unlucky enough to be 'upgraded' to the Family Star - as we were on arrival in the dark and without prior knowledge of the hotel, then your holiday would be very noisy. For some inexplicable reason the entertainments are all in the central courtyard at this 'family hotel'. Do as we did after the first night - throw an almighty tantrum - and get transferred to the Makadi Palace (which is what we booked in the first place) The rooms are smaller - but really - how much time do you spend in a room when you have sunshine to lounge in and swimming to do!

A tip about snorkelling - walk to the right hand side of the beach - where there is a red box - walk out into the sea from there - there is a sandy seam which leads out into sea - and then two mini drop offs before you get to the real drop off. Coral and fishes seem much more abundant on this part of the reef. And remember - don't stand on the coral!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macnicBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsnip
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

The Makadi Palace Hotel is situated around 25 miles from Herghada airport and offords excellent facilities - the rooms are very large well furnished but , beware ! - extensive building works are continuing around the North and eastern perimeters and these works cause a noise nuisance to a number of the rooms within the 'sub hotel' - called the ' Family Makadi'.

Such works are also 'on site' so rooms and various shop units are being finished at this point in time . Im no construction expert...but would envisage at least another 18 month build period .

We were told nothing of this in advance of parting with , what I consider to be , a fair wedge for this package holiday.

For some utterly mad reason the main evening entertainment centre ( where they have nightly shows etc...) has been located slap in the centre of the 'Family Makadi' part of this complex. Its mad because this - quite clearly - this is where many young families are are staying ,,,and yet the noise and noise levels are ridiculous.

The usual scheduled evening entertainment would end at a quite reasonable 10.30 pm...at which point a gig / come karaoke session would start ( every night) and go on until an unacceptable time ( 01.45) on thursday 29th oct.

I'm sorry but hearing some tone deaf Egyptian guitarist trying to bang out Deep Purples ''smoke on the water'' in the early hours isn't my idea of a relaxing family holiday !

If you have children below 16 the chances are they ( and you too) will probably want to sleep before this time - you may find that challenging .. - ....Remember , a lie in after 9 am is an issue too...courtesy of the building works !

Believe me - Im no boring old fart - Ive had my fair share of late night holiday party nights..but this was , frankly , taking the p*** !

The food here is nothing special - average at best . Its all buffet style ...and the 4 themed restaurtants are nothing to rave about either . The place is very clean and all staff are very courteous - you will feel safe too as there is an obvious presence of security staff . All the reception staff speak good english.

The hotel is effectively in the middle of nowhere - there are no other eating 'options' other than those on campus. ..No other bars or eateries etc... you can try out. There is one ill stocked shop at the hotel - otherwise nothing .

My son was unwell during our trip and we had to see the in house GP . A 40 euro charge was made ( a bit steep for 10 minutes time) and a further 30 euros for the 3 x medication precribed ( rip off - nearly twice a s much as the drugs would cost in the uk - we're only talking benylin and antibiotics etc... !)

Any extras such as the Gym , Billiards and Fresh juices ( ..yes i know..this sounds crazy !) are payable extras. You would do well to take a wodge of 1$ bills to give to the pool boys and restaurant staff as there service is unquestionably good and reasonably sincere.

We've done a number of all inclusives and this was poor value .

One oddity - even in late october the sun rises early.. at around 5 am and sets at 4.oo ish - I cant understand why they dont shove their time 2 hours forward ..just for the benefit of us holidaymakers...of course !! If you like getting up late...you'll only enjoy 4 or 5 hours of light before it gets dark again ...

The red Sea was like a bath...2c warmer than the pools !

In summary - Stay in the main Makadi palace -not the family annexe - we wont be going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parsnip94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Arrived at the makadi palace at around 22.30 very impressive approaching the hotel and also inside, a very fast check in and then the bell boy will take you to your room, we were given a ground floor room facing gardens, there was a smell in the bathroom so went to reception desk and asked for another room preferably with a pool view, which we received but this time with single beds are well!. to eat at this time there are no restaurants open at the palace so we found out that if you go to the grand makadi next door there is an Italian that serves pizza and pasta till 12 and they are good, staff very friendly . now getting a sun bed if you don’t mind the pool areas and there is lots of area the grounds are massive, you will get one up to 10.30, but on the beach, if you want a front bed you will have to be on the beach between 6 - 7 am I'm not joking other beds will all be gone by 9.30 – 10 am the reason being both hotels use any part of the beach. The beach is not that wide and on the water entry quite rocky good for children when the tide is out, small rock pools, fish, crabs. You need water shoes. They have got a very good reef a bit difficult to get out to but once on it it’s very good. Food .breakfast you have the dome and the melange they serve everything from cereals ,cold meats ,egg station. Lunch. The same restaurants plus the sunset beach bar ,burgers and fries in the basket, kebab, and fish. The rendezvous they have, hot dogs, various sandwiches, ice cream. You can also go to the Thai for a set meal. Dinner. You have the dome and melange buffets and you have the Thai garden , the discovery, and the botanical and you can also use the Italian a set table with a bottle of wine and the Caribbean both at the grand next door ,all these restaurants have to be pre booked ,just go to the restaurant after 3pm you can go up until they close and ask to book a table you can book days in advance so on arrival go and book one for each night but you might need a diary to keep up with the times. Drinks are no problem bottle water is given when you want from all bars restaurants as with all other drinks , we did find the palace to be very quite in the evening on the verge of boring bar staff seemed reluctant to keep you topped up ,would walk past you even if your glass was empty . so we started to go to the grand and in there you will have a grand time, they have good singers on they have music playing you can have a shisha pipe cheaper than the palace and better plus the waiters can’t do enough for you .you can get a shuttle bus to hurghada just book at reception the day before sometimes they can get you on the same day last pick up in hurghada 12. . cleaners do a great job so tip him, be careful thou because the towel man who will call round at about 6-7 pm and sometimes will let his self in to change the beach towels any money on the side he will think it’s his tip, we had one who would take your do not disturb sign off and knock and knock till you opened the door and ask you are you o.k. this is after he took 50£E. but all other staff where fantastic even downto the reception. So would I go back dead right I would beautiful place ….Enjoy?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesithot_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susiebear123
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

we visited the sister hotel 5 years ago and have since tried to book but was not able to do so untill we found RED SEA HOLIDAYS .The holiday started really well with the redsea holiday rep meeting us at the airport,we were then taken to the hotel without no hassle and promptly shown to our junior suites ,amazing for eygpt!!The food is ok ish in the buffet sytle but the botanical garden and the thai well they were really outstanding,the staff are very polite,obliging and offer every asststance when it,s needed.I will say tipping goe,s well in your favour,20eygption here and there gets you lot,s of respect!Our one off putting thing was a trip we did to a NO HASSLE SHOPPING TRIP!!avoid at all costs,because believe me it is hassle!Try and visit the little island I think it,s 50 english it,s a boat trip and snorkling,plus a meal and the island is LUSH,I really think REDSEA holidays are onto a winner bringing there holidays into the uk again and we will deff be going again with them,great value for money

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiebear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

We, a norwegian merried couple in our fourties, spent 11 days at Makadi Palace (5-15 Oct 2009).
The hotel is excellent in all ways! The hotel area is huge and wonderfule. Several pools, several restaurants with great food (caribbean/libanese/thai/ gourmet/buffet), some shops and several pathways. Plants and flowers. In the evenings the thousends of lights gave the hotel area a magical feeling. The service is excellent everywhere! The juniorsuite we booked was very nice, the beds great - we slept like children. It was kept very clean at all times by a very friendly cleaner.
Corals outside the private beach gave us the opportunity to snorkel and to see all the colerful fishes/corals every day. One of natures wonder. Like a dream!
So go for it! You will love this hotel. That is, if you are looking for a vacation that really spoils you in every way.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floffeloffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing