We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and service”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Coming to the Makadi Palace for the first time as a family, we did not know what to expect. In short...great hotel (but no 5 star international standard) and great service.
Food was good in the afternoon and in the evening. However please do not expect authentic Thai food at the Thai Restaurant.
Ahmed the chef is always friendly, asking the guest for immediate feedback.
Also Mohammed at housekeeping is very friendly and always helpful.
Great guys.

Being at the Palace, you also have the opportunity to go yo the Grand Makadi and it's neighboring hotels,
The Spa and the Sunwing are new with great food outlet and beach access. However, the Grand Makadi has seen better times and the rooms, pools and the beach facilities are in real bad conditions. Not really recommendable. I took a photo which should explain my statement.

Overall, the Palace is absolutely good for families with small kids (ours is 16 months old).

Room Tip: See that you can get a junior suite facing the sea side... Cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sputzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    614
    206
    85
    45
See reviews for
556
1,162
40
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We came back just one week ago, and I would like to say it was the best stay ever!!!!!We been twice in Grand hotel Sharm el Sheikh, is a Red Sea hotel as well, but is not possible to compare these two hotels. Makadi Palace is the best decision. Don't trust people who saying, or writing here bad comments, because is not right. On our arrival Mr. Mohamed Abu El Fetouh Fahmy was waiting to us, and he with rest of the team of the hotel Makadi Palace arranged for my friend beautiful birthday surprise, amazing room, with gorgeous view, and they really cared about our stay. Huge thank you to F&B team, in all of the restaurants (Grand Makadi, Makadi Palace, Makadi Mall), always plenty of option to choose from menus, the meals are excellent, well cooked, with right taste. Thank you to kitchen also, the executive chef, and his team doing VERY GOOD name for this hotel!! Evenings we spent in Joker Club! F&B manager, Manager of the Joker club doing a really god job. Every night warm welcome from them, and their team. Manager of Joker Club organised a service really well, no one was without drink, everybody got a table, so with one word amazing. Thank you for our housekeeper Mohamed Eskandar, really friendly, and hard worker person, our room was spotless every day and with various surprise!!
What I would like to mention, on the beach the service struggling. There just one guy doing the service and is not really fair, he's working really hard. There's many guys who are there to bring you mattress, and if you not give them tips, on a following day you waiting 10-15 minutes for your mattress, and sorry for this word but honestly they doing f..k all day, so let's push them, give them tray, and let them to do drink service, and even if they doing a service they can easily bring the mattress for guests. And is a bit annoying, that they waiting every day for tips. My opinion all mattress have to be ready on the lounger at the morning and then collected evening. But except this I can't find any other complain.
We would like to say thank you also to Adel Kaire, Hamdy Mohamed (both from Joker Club), we got from them excellent service every night, really friendly, nice people :), to Ashraf Mohamed from Mafia restaurant, really helpful, he gave to us table even hi did not get our reservation, to Farrid A. Ghany from Caribbean restaurant, beautiful service, to F&B manager from Grand Makadi (unfortunately I'm forgot his name), big thank you to young lady from Poland who working for guest relation, she tried to do for us always the best, thank you also to animation team. Thank you to all of the people who working in Makadi Palace, even if I don't know all names, there's a many people, and all of them, in our every steps, they made our holiday wonderful, they are really hard working people, and all of them is a big benefit for company!!!! Thank you so much, looking forward see you again on 24.05 :)
Best Regards,
K. Ulman and N. Smutna

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisUlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed at Makadi Palace for 7 nights after securing an irresistible deal through Red Sea holidays with a last minute booking. Whilst Hurghada is a lesser known destination in Egypt it makes for an ideal winter sun holiday destination; Makadi Bay in particular is an idyllic location with beautiful beaches and great weather to enjoy, with a laid back culture that ensures a relaxing and restful break.

Makadi Palace and the surrounding sister hotels are a spectacular sight to behold. The resorts, which you are free to explore, are stunning in their design and facilities. We selected an all inclusive holiday package which included baggage allowance and airport transfers for a stress free trip.

The hotel rooms are beautiful, spacious and meticulously cleaned. All standard features are included (no kettle tea/ coffee however, and all water bottles must be obtained from the resort bars which can be inconvenient if you're caught without as you must avoid tap water.) The hotel could supply a bottle or two daily to the rooms as a way to improve the service.

The hotel grounds are huge with plenty of different areas and restaurants to experience, it takes a while to get familiar with the layout but this helps to keep the resort fresh and interesting. There is a selection of restaurants with inclusive menus or buffets for you to dine at each day. The food from our experience was mostly good if not great; the International Buffet has an amazing grill selection, Thai Gardens and Botanical restaurants have delicious food options and notably the service at each was impeccable, timely and very friendly. Breakfast and lunch have large buffet selections with something to suit everyone's tastes. There are other restaurant options at Makadi mall nearby or in the other Red Sea hotels, just make sure to clarify which menu items are inclusive and make sure to book a reservation if you're set on dining outside of the resort as they will turn you away. I'd recommend for guests to invest time getting a hotel manager to clearly explain your available options (food and facilities) and how to get there as we missed out on a number of opportunities through being misinformed.

For day time activities the hotel can arrange for excursions (quite costly however) and there is Makadi Spa and Sunwing Water Park nearby where you may spend a day away from the immediate hotel grounds. Evening entertainment was always available and included disco dj nights, karaoke, cobra shows etc. It was largely a more mature mix of guests during our stay at Makadi Palace with a few young couples but this varies over the year and according to the different speciality hotels. The guest demographics in Makadi Bay are heavily biased towards German, Russian, Polish and British holiday makers alongside the local Egyptians which was culturally very interesting.

I would like to mention that there is a lack of Wifi on the hotel grounds with the lobby being the only available hotspot. This is fine so long as you aren't relying on internet access. We didn't find it a problem.

The weather was amazing, mostly in the high 20s throughout our stay in November. The beach is fabulous and snorkeling is something you must experience there if you visit, even close to the shore you can see a plethora of sealife .

Overall, the resort is an amazing retreat to spend a week or two at, just to unwind, catch some sunrays and witness beautiful surroundings. The staff are fantastic and really add to the experience. I'd recommend Makadi Palace or any of the sister resorts to anyone contemplating a winter break away.

Madeline and Ahad

Room Tip: They are all beautiful i'm sure, try get one higher up for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I loved my holiday at this resort!
The staff went out of their way to assist us and nothing was ever a problem.The staff were extremely friendly and happy and made our stay memorable!The pools were huge,the food choice was exceptional and delicious and the beach area was great!we were a half hour by taxi to Hugharda which was about 300£Egyptian rnt..not cheap.
The excursions were half price if booked in a Hugharda with Empire trips tour

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funnydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and sharing your valuable experiences.
We are very pleased that you had a memorable stay at the Makadi Palace and enjoyed its food, pool and beach.
The team does work hard each day to demonstrate our services on an exceptional high level and thanks you for your kind comment.
We look forward to seeing you on future holidays
With best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Makadi Palace, our third visit.The welcome we received was fantastic,the staff are so pleasant and helpful.our linen in the room and pool towels were changed daily.As mentioned in a couple of the previous reviews some bits of the hotel are showing their age but as our chat with Mohamed the assistant manager at the managers dinner revealed, there is a program of refurbishment in place and is on going.The food and the choice of restaurants are really good ,as are the choice and quality of the drinks available.Snorkeling and diving are fantastic but reef shoes are a must.We are certainly looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, some on the ground floor can be a bit dark due to the shrubs in the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardT3572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your third visit to our resort and your kind words.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and appreciate you complimenting our product.
The entire team is looking forward to your next visit.
With best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Never had such good food in any hotel, fab cocktails, exceptionally clean throughout, very friendly staff, would most deffinatly return. I have been to egypt many times and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool view, large hotel, but not far to go to restaurants and bars from any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrea w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, your motivating feedback and your recommendation.
We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations for a fully relaxing holiday at the Makadi Palace and that you enjoyed the food in our numerous restaurants.
We wish you a lovely time back home and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in our resort.
Best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We agree with all past reviews. Some fittings in our room were a little tired but the sunny balcony overlooking the pool more than made up for it. This is a great hotel with friendly and helpful staff who greet you with a smile and will do everything they can to make your stay a pleasure.
We celebrated our Ruby Wedding Anniversary there in November '13. Thanks to Mohamed the Catering Manager who really made it a night to remember by suggesting a private terrace in the tower with an intimate table for two. Everything was perfect, table decorated with petals, food and service a delight! This is 1 of 5 adjoining hotels in this complex, but found this to be by far the best with 11 restaurants and 2 nice bars and good entertainment nightly thanks to Vkontake!
Such a delight to find a happy staff…from waiters & room service, to pool boys & the young toilet attendant who took pride in decorating the loo with fresh flowers every morning. Thanks too to staff of the Piano Bar, you all made our 11day stay at Makadi pure Paradise can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the dome and pool due for refurbishment soon, but balcony is private and gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyMe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Makadi Palace for your special occasion. We are delighted that you enjoyed our romantic dinner, our product and services. We are truly grateful for your motivating feedback and the entire team is pleased to note your full satisfaction.
Thank you for considering a return visit to our resort.
We are looking forward to your future visit.
With best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#18 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,308 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing