We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I got back from Makadi Palace just over a week ago.
Check in- We were asked to wait in the bar outside whilst they sorted out room keys, I am guessing this was because they didn't want a hurdle of people in reception as it's quite a small area. This could have been thought of better.
Room- Lovely room, we were in 3322. Massive balcony. However we were disappointed with the air-con not working properly. We got talking to some people there who said to report this to reception as they had the same problem and said it could be cost related, so we did. Apparently the guy comes in a flicks a switch. They sorted it out and it was working fine. So if you think it isn't working properly or not cool enough let reception know.
Food- There is room for improvment on breakfast, same food every day and not a lot of options for vegetarians in terms of hot breakfast. Apart from that lunches were great, as a veggi I had plenty of options. A chef from California was really helpful. If this is being read by the hotel please acknowledge this with him. The themed restaurants were a great idea, plenty of options that were part of the all inclusive. A few dishes were chargeable but they were not expensive. We personally didn't feel the need to order an extra. Chinese was the best for us. The Botanical is meant to be good but we didn't manage to get a table. I have traveled quite a lot and overall felt that the food here has been the best for me.
Sunbeds were plenty full, although you would have to wake up early and put your towels down at your favorite spot, otherwise got taken my the Germans.
The beach was disappointing, very rocky, so we didn't spend any time there.
Entertainment in the evening could be improved, we felt it was geared toward the older crowd. There needs to be a bit more for the younger ones. The beach party held on Monday and Thursday nights were perfect. Maybe extend the hours as it does finish at 1am. Drinks had to be paid for here. 2x drinks in plastic cups for 3 euros. Wine, beer, spirits and some of their cocktails. Day time entertaiment required in some areas of the hotel as they only have two classes. Water Gym at 12 and Zumba at 3. It just needs to be a little lively, maybe near one of the pools as i know that some people like the quietness. As the resort is pretty much in the middle on no where you do feel you need that little bit more from the hotel.
The pools and beach loungers can be used at the Grand Makadi, however not at the Spa which is a bit of a shame. You are not even allowed to walk around the hotel grounds at the Spa hotel. Drinks and food cannot be consumed at either hotels which is a bit of shame, especially as they are sister hotels.
Bottled water is given in any of the bars but not distributed in the rooms. It would be great if this could be done as you do drink a lot of water and only get given small bottles in the bars.

Overall great hotel, appealing to the eye, clean, free wifi in the lobby,good food, alcohol not too bad, friendly staff. We had a wonderful holiday with fantastic sunshine and would return. :)

Room Tip: The rooms on the corners of the buildings have bigger balcony. 3322 was a fab room big balcony and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 2,239 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for the first week in June, Hotel is amazing, the grounds are so beautiful. Rooms very large and all that you need, some are a bit dated. Plenty of choice for food Breakfast i found best in the Discovery as it was less busy. Best restaurants for the evening was definatley the Thai and the Chinese, the bbq at the Melange was lovely too. I would not recommend the Indian, service was extremly slow and the food was average. If you need to but anything in the hotel shop make sure you haggle and also try the ali barber shop over the road at the makadi mall, as i found them to be cheaper than the makadi palace shop. we did a few excursions, the water park was an awesome day, loadsa slides and hardly any queueing. Quad biking was good altho my boyfriend wanted to be able to go a bit faster than was allowed, but i suppose that is good as they are just trying to keep you safe. wear old clothes for quad biking or anything in the desert as you end up filthy. We also did the shopping trip organised by Red Sea Holidays which i found horrendous, they took us to 3 set shops that were supposedly no hassle but we were followed around by the shop keepers and also the prices were higher as they paid the rep commision for taking us. we were then allowed a walk along the marina which was pleasant. but then we were took to the old market to fend for ourselves, now i have travelled a lot and this was by far my worst experience at being hassled, we had guys comin at us from every direction hounding us to go in there shop, trying to drag us, lock us in shops etc. One man was not happy we werent interested in his spice shop so he started shouting abuse at us, it was very scarey and intimidating, after this we couldnt wait to get back to the hotel. We did go the Marina one evening on our own in a taxi and had a gorgeous meal, its nice down there of an evening and no hassle, so good for a change of scenery. The hotel entertainment was fab, we particularly enjoyed the Cobra show. The beach party is also great, however you pay for your drinks here, but i would still recommend this as it is a great night and the drinks are cheap and strong. Free Wi fi in the lobby was an added bonus. no trouble getting sun beds on the morning. Massage people will come round your sun beds to try ans sell massages, HAGGLE! they started off charging us £75 per person and we managed to get them down to £25 per person. They will over charge if they can. massage was lovely tho, very relaxing on the beach in a hut. my partner loved the snorkelling, you don't have to pay for snorkelling excursions as u can buy a mask at the beach shop and go snorkelling yourself at the hotel beach, apparently it was amazing. Overall the holiday and hotel were great and we wouldnt hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: request a room overlooking the botanical restaurant or the Thai restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beatruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanessaMeeuwenoord, Guest Relations Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review of Makadi Palace.
We are very happy that you enjoyed all of our entertainment including our amazing cobra show and beach party which are a big hit with all of our guests.
We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday and would not hesitate to visit us again.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes

Makadi Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, very clean, well maintained, reception staff are very friendly as well as the rest of the staff, food is great so much choice. there are so many restaurants , your spoilt for choice. The best restaurants in my opinion are the Mediterranean and the Thai. Don't bother with the Indian restaurant over the other side in little shopping mall, it was rubbish not like curries you have in uk,+ you have to wait ages to get served, people were getting up and leaving because they waited too long for food and it was only half full, no wonder. The big dome restaurant in the middle of resort is great for food choice, but waiter service with drinks is not very good, the nights we went to the dome was always the same, I think it was lack of staff for such a big restaurant.
Pool boys not very good this time around did not seem to see them that often, about 3 times a day he asked us if we wanted drinks, but its no hardship to go to bar yourself. The things to watch out for in this hotel is, some of the room cleaning staff ignore the do not disturb signs on door, they constantly knock on your door because they want to clean your room or collect dirty towels even though you have highlighted the fact that your sleeping. One evening my wife returned to get a camera and found a cleaner mooching around in our room, he had finished cleaning hours beforehand. My wife ushered him out and told him off . Make sure you report these issues to managers or reception staff. I have been to makadi palace 3 times and plan to go again this year
It is a great place for relaxing . Don't bother with Turkish bath in hurghada town, you pay £35 each for Turkish bath and oil massage, but you have to pay extra £15 for massage, total rip off. When you consider what you get in turkey for just £10.It is also very dangerous, people slipping over due
to marble floor and oil a serious health & safety issue. Don't go my advise

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good in all areas, some of corridors are not light enough leading to rooms but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Makadi Palace for a week in May & we could not fault the Hotel or its staff. Customer Services Manager Amanda and her staff could not do enough for us, and everyone else we talked to. The choice of food was almost beyond belief with a Chinese , an Indian , a French, an Italian , a Thai, an Eastern Mediteranean & two fantastic multi national restaurants where the quality & variety was second to none. the pools were pristine, beautiful gardens, a private beach complete with all inclusive bar. I could go on forever singing the praises of the hotel & staff but if you are considering this hotel then consider no longer, just go & have a fantastic time.
Mr N Isherwood email address nxisherw2000@ yahoo.com and please email if you require any further info

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a balcony, either facing the sea or the main pool, & I firmly believe tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nxisherw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your positive review and feedback. We appreciate your kind words which truly motivate us all and we are pleased to note your full satisfaction of our resort and its service.
We are looking forward to your next visit and will demonstrate again our services on an exceptional high level.
Kind regards
Makadi Palace team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went to makadi palace on honeymoon. Hotel is huge with a good selection of restaurants to choose from on the all inclusive package. There are 4 large swimming pools in the vast grounds of the hotel, which also leads onto the beach. Staff were friendly but must advise they do like to be tipped. The rooms are average and the could do with some refurbishment.There are also shops near by and a gym that can be used with a reservation if you are feeling fit. There is also a pharmacy near the shops, which can be a very useful place to visit. Booked with Red Sea holidays and went on a snorkelling excursion in the coral reef,which was amazing. Entertainment isn't the best but there are a few nights which can be fun, for example the snake entertainer. Had a brill holiday and had a nice tan to show off after 7 red hot days in the sun. There are nearby hotels in the makadi bay complex, which can also be visited. All I can say is that we had a enjoyable holiday and would visit Egypt again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul_b582711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanessaMeeuwenoord, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

The team at Makadi Palace wish ti thank you for your comments and information about your holiday. We will be working on room refurbishments , as was mentioned and will kepp you upated with the progress. Thank you again for your kind words and the chance to serve you on your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just returned from a week away at the makadi palace, my partner has been to Egypt on many occasions but this was my first visit, I can assure you I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is fantastic with lovely pools, gardens, restaurants and bars, my only fault I could say was the the room (bathroom) was a little dated, also the booking of restaurants 24hours before is a bit of a pain in busy times, the Thai restaurant is a must visit......... You will be extremely pleased with this hotel it's amazing

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tan1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanessaMeeuwenoord, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

The team at Makadi Palace would like to thank you for the chance to serve you on your holiday. We appreciate your comments and the information to improve even further in providing a holiday experience which exceeds expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spacious clean rooms but bathroom required attention, broken shower head held together with cello tape. Food very good with a lot of choices where to eat. A la carte to be booked the day before at 10.30 this ensured availability. The hotel was full but due to the layout there was plenty of secluded areas. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
I found a web site called Viator where I booked trips before we went, a third of the price of the cost of Thompson rep tours. The boat trip cost me £15.77 and was excellent (Thompson £45.00).
The new Makadi Spa hotel next door was absolutely stunning but not sure of the price difference.
Just a tip- take sterling you will get a better exchange rate when you are there. We would return definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieRudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanessaMeeuwenoord, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review.We appreciate all the good comments that you have given Makadi Palace.We are happy that you experienced full use of our A la Carte restaurants and of the choices available.Also we thank you for the appreciation of our staff.
Regarding rooms We are constantly in the process of renovating.

Best Regards

Makadi Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,359 reviews
0.7 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $91 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing