We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great may getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Makadi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great may getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just arrived back from a weeks stay in makadi palace and had the best time. There were 3 adults mum, nan and grandad plus two kids 10,13 and don't have a bad word to say! The hotel was beautiful with lots of trees and pool space. The rooms are big enough for 3 and are always cleaned to a high standard. The choice of food was vast and you were never bored especially when you have sit down restaurants which are part of the all inclusive. The staff are friendly, overly helpful and can't do enough to help. The hotel is spacious and never feels full and sun beds in the hotel and beach were always available. The only downside is sun/heat stroke that manifests as a stomach bug but with Egyptian medication your fine. I would definitely go back again as there is nothing bad about this resort. The decor is so nice, all North African design and clean. The entertainment could be advertised a bit better so you don't miss it! Snake shows, beach parties, Russian dancing, belly dancing. One other thing....speedos should be banned in the resort for boys over 10!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tansco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    586
    199
    83
    42
See reviews for
533
1,103
36
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just arrived home from this delightful hotel this is my second visit we had a beautiful terrace room which was faultless we ate in the tia everyday which was impressive the staff and the manager Amr Fawzy were the last word in imaculate food and service i would recomend everyone to experience this i cannot wait to get there again in september Glen from Leeds

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank contentive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just returned from a second visit to the makadi palace, loved it first time round but our second visit just completely exceeded the first. gorgeous hotel with beautiful scenery and what lovely kind hardworking people they are, nothing is ever a problem. My room this yr was even better, lovely location above reception, i would like to say thank you to every one who works there for their hard work and kindness throughout our stay. A special thank you to the manager and his team at the Thai restaurant, we had many a meals in there including my birthday meal, the food was always exquisite, they couldn't do enough for us and I really do thank them, don't miss this restaurant. We always had breakfast at the dome again lovely welcoming people, great food, loved the egg man. A special thank you to Hassan he was always there to sort our Sun lounges and provided us with endless drinks met him the first year we went and was so glad to see him this yr, he truly is a wonderful Hard working man and we will definitely be going back there next May and I hope he is there. This hotel is everything you want and more and I was so sad to leave, really looking forward to next year until then I wish all the management and staff at makadi palace best wishes and good health x Mr & Mrs Adams

Room Tip: Near to reception or pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jladams1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My partner and i stayed at the Makadi Palace at the end of April, beginning of May 2013 for 7 nights after booking a last minute holiday. It was dark on arrival but first impressions of the room were good though bathroom was tired as mentioned in other reviews. The room itself was spacious with a nice living area. I emailed guest relations and requested a high floor room close to restaurants after viewing the map on google and that's exactly what i got.

The lighting in the room is not very bright at all apart from the hallway light which is the one i needed for my makeup but this blew but once reported it was fixed the following day but unfortunately blew again a couple of days before we left and though reported did not actually get replaced whilst we were there. The sink was also faulty in that if you pulled the leaver to put the plug in, you then couldn't get the plug out as the leaver was broken but my partner knew to go underneath the sink and pull the wire which had been boched up with tape so we were ok with it.
Those niggles didn't bother us and we certainly wouldn't complain about them.
Also with regards to lighting, the whole hotel grounds is poorly lit as mentioned in other reviews
as they only have lanterns, and although it's nice for the ambience, it was difficult sometimes to see what you were eating if having your evening meal outside.

For the first couple of days we kept comparing it to our all inclusive holiday in Mexico a few months earlier with regards to the food choice and all inc drinks but i think we were spoiled with the amount of choice in Mexico as there was so much to choose from and all drinks including premium brands and the mini bar were included. Though the food was pretty much the same with a little variation each day, we never had any reason for complaint. Every meal we had was very nice. We had a nice meal at the Thai restaurant and also the Discovery which are restaurants requiring reservation.

As the week progressed the staff did become more friendly and they do work hard in the stifling heat, walking around the pools taking your drink order and bringing it back to you so if you were that way inclined you could be waited on all day!

The hotel setting was beautiful, with lovely big pools situated around the restaurants so when your eating, you can be sat right next to the pool which looks lovely.

There were things with the hotel which could be improved:
*You have to pay for some food in the restaurants and this is not just for speciality dishes like lobster or steak.
*Only local brand spirits are included in the All Inclusive, therefore drinks that i enjoy on holiday such as Margaritas, i could not have unless i paid for the Triple Sec that goes in it. That would of cost approx £5 each one.
*The room containing the wifi is called the Lobby Bar, the bar in there is situated a foot away from the doors, then outside the doors is another seating area called the Lobby Terrace. If your sat in the Lobby Terrace and order drinks, they come from the Lobby Bar 'bar' and are part of the all inc, but if you're inside the Lobby Bar, even though your drinks come from the same 'bar', you have to pay for them which is quite ridiculous.
*The mini bar in your room is not free. After travelling for 15 hours, as soon as we were shown to our room my partner dranks a can of lager and then had another can whilst we were waiting for our cases and then whilst unpacking. It wasn't until later that we saw there was a price list for the mini bar.
*There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which was a shame as we do like a coffee first thing and as i don't drink much alcohol i like a cup of tea whilst getting ready for the evening.
*Entertainment one evening was on the beach which was just next to the end of the hotel complex and was just advertised as Beach Party. After our evening meal, we walked down to the beach where they had a DJ and music playing and ordered two drinks only to be told that they were chargeable! Again i don't think this was right, after all it was just the hotel's entertainment for that evening and it wasn't even advertised that you would have to pay for drinks.

The towel guy that brings your beach towels to your room and the cleaner would always ask if everything was okay or if you had any problems and Guest relations were also very good and wanted your honest opinions about the hotel etc so i think they are genuinly interested in making your holiday a good one.

Although i have mentioned a few negatives, we both enjoyed our holiday and would go back to this hotel and i would recommend it to anyone thinking about going. As long as your aware of the additional charges you will not be dissapointed or taken by suprise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrixtaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We traveled in march 2010 with my mom and all we can say is thumb up! Gorgoes resort, with many palms, flowers, pools, restaurants, bars, everyone can find his own fun & joy. Our room was huge, with big bathroom and terrace, everyday cleaned up, clean towels and beach towels, water, soap, shampoo... We had nice view on one of pools. Beach was clean, few steps shallow but then... Best snorkeling ever :) You can also walk around other hotels in Makadi. You can choose from many restaurants, food is varied, good and tasty. Staff here is very nice and helpful. Hurghada is only 30min with the bus. Visitors of Makadi Palace can also use facilities in Grand Makadi. Perfect resort, go there ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

You'd have to pay me a lot of money to go here again. The sun beds are few and far between. I went to my room at one point and returned within 15-20 minutes, to find someone else on my bed. This wasn't the hotels fault but they could have helped by offering more beds in the first place. the food was average at best and apart from the sea, theres nothing to do for miles. One hotel worker told me that the ice was made from mineral water and was safe to eat. later on, I was told by another hotel worker that this was untrue and I probably should consume the ice if possible. bit difficult when the ice sits in my drink, melting. Cryptosporidium came home with me and stayed with me for about a month. good way to loose a stone or two.
Also, you're menat to tip the waiters. in an all inclusive?! the main benefit of an all inclusive to not have the burden on cash!? you'll need it here. otherwise the service is as bad as the ice, nearly.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Travelled with Red Sea Holidays to Makadi Palace, just returned after a weeks stay in a junior suite all inclusive.
We as a couple really enjoyed our stay but have the following comments to make.
The entertainment team seem to focus on their taste of music for the evening parties which tended to exclude anyone over the age of 35 which was a shame. A more varied music programme would appeal to the mixed age of guests on holiday. The DJs seemed reluctant to play requests either!
Food in the non a la carte restaurants was excellent but could be hit and miss in the a la carte restaurants. We felt the Italian and Botanical a la carte restaurants let the hotel down. Messy add ons to the all inclusive proved confusing and frustrating.
It is a large complex so getting to know staff is difficult and the tip requests did get a bit tedious.
The trips we took with Red Sea holidays proved to be superb and they really went the extra mile.
This is a brilliant hotel where maybe with taking notice of guest feedback they could improve the glitches.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing