We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Makadi Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Holiday for two weeks returning 28th Dec. Second visit. Once again food excellent.
Charged for Christmas Eve Dinner and drinks which we were not expecting. Guest relations manager excellent service from this lady. Mentioned that that there was no heated pool and water was exceptionally cold for children. Within 4 hours had arranged for our party to gain entrance, free of charge, into Makaki Waterworld, our grand-children thought it was paradise!
Lower ground corridors looking tired compared to May when we were last there. Would definitely return, excellent value for money, well done!

Room Tip: If unhappy with room, inform the management. They do all they can to assist hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Booked with red sea Holidays we went to met the rep on the first morning where he advised us not to let a drop of the water pass our lips and not to over indulge on the food and booze, good advice and we were not ill there or after we came home ( do not even clean your teeth with water thee is endless bottled on supply ) Hotel is clean and the Gardens are immaculate, there are loads of restaurants on site which you should book in reception on your first day as they get booked up we booked a different one for every night so one night Indian one night chinese one night italian etc.the menu is 50/50 AI and payment but a good choice and is waiter service.Beach is a little walk away but There is a fabulous house reef which you can get to from the new pier endless fish when snorkelling, take the time on your first day or night to walk around the 4 hotel grounds to get a feel of the area as you can use some of their restaurants on your AI band.I would strongly recommend the snorkelling trip about £40 with K the rep he was fab we stopped twice to snorkel then went to paradise for lunch then on the way back we saw a school of dolphins playing so the captain stopped so we could watch all day trip.
Beach towels come clean and fresh every evening to your room and you have a beach bag to use that comes with them brilliant idea. Dont bother with the manicure or pedicure its not good just say no. The concireges who are mostly English do afternoon tea and scones for the British contingency its awfully british scones tea cream and jam where you can tell them what you think of your holiday and meet fellow brits and swop stories for an hour on i think it was tuesdays and thursdays . If you want to know what is on at night then read the boards outside Joker bar where most of the activity at night is held they also have other stuff like Nordic walking and aerobics etc. do not get drinks in the reception bar you will be charged sit on the terrace and wait for AI service reception is classed as a public area.Rendezvous bar is brilliant for afternoon snacks cocktails pancakes a sandwich ice cream tea and biscuits.Free wi fi in reception. Brilliant holiday. Red sea holiday rep makes sure you keep room until you leave so no earlly check out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the melange side of the hotel are sunny rooms on the Thai restaurant side are shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Palace for a week all inclusive from 12 Dec 2012 to 17 dec 2012 .
The airport meeting was well organised and the transfer was in a luxury bus attended by the most helpful staff.
On arrival to the hotel a cheerful and helpful front desk staff organised our check in smoothly in few minutes. We asked for a sea view room and were given immediately what we asked for.
The room is large with semi separate lounge. The room standard and finishing is really a 4 stars not a five stars as told. The hess of the service pumps is loud during the night.
The hotel facilities are second to none and definitely five stars. Gorgeous restaurants and beautiful large free shaped pool. It is more of a lake than a pool. The landscaping and the lush plantation are heavenly. The beach is sandy but the sea is rocky. You need a beach shoes for comfort. The lighting system of the gardens is excellent and very impressive . The food and the quality and the variety of the open buffet running around the clock is just a pleasure. The climax of our stay was the very friendly Egyptian staff. They are friendly smily and wiling happily to serve you. I can mention tens of names here but will be unfair for all the others. We haven't met one staff member not smily or helpful. I would like to finish my comment by saying the amount of food and drinks available were incredibly generous . The wi fi is poor and you get reception after 11 at night and only in the reception area. I would like to name Haytham Metwally at the front desk who did everything possible to keep us happy. We recommend this hotel and thinking of going back in the spring.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less service pumps noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alarinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations and we were extremely pleased to have arranged this trip. We were a group of 15, young and old, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Much has been said about the hotel and Makadi bay by others, so i won't repeat. However, worthy of mention are the staff at the hotel, all of whom seemed very pleasant to deal with. This includes the reception staff, in particular Wayl and the Guest Relations Staff at the hotel, in particular, Amanda, Luise and Svetslana (hope i have spelt the names correctly).

The few 'not so good' points were, the food and the evening entertainment. The food was not to the same standard as any of our previous visits to other places and the entertainment lacked quality. Most other places that we have visited had a small team of in house entertainers who would arrange different shows for the guests each evening and were also available for much of the day by mingling with the guests and keeping company. They did quizzes, competitions, plays and mini pantomimes. On some days there were specific artists from outside, although this latter bit was present in the Makadi Palace. There's nothing like a contest against the Germans.

The hotel could do a little more for the younger guests and have free pool/snooker, table tennis, bar football, air hockey, board games, playing cards, darts, etc.. After all, it is a 5 star, all inclusive and good money is paid by the guests.

Overall, the holiday was well worth it and every member of our large group would like to return again at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: We were told that all rooms are 'junior suites' and therefore the same. Also, make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manzoor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

7 days in Makadi Palace ...young couple ... in junior suite
Food - good enough for Egypt (there are about 10 restaurants with different cuisine, so you can find your prefer food)
Acomodation - we had very spaciously room but furnishing was minimum 5 years old and not very clean, bathroom smelly
Swimingpool - huge and relative clean, sun beds enough for everybody
Hotel grounds - are lovely, mostly in the evening
Beach/sea - beautiful clear bluewater, near the beach is perfect coral reef
Staff- unhelpful staff on reception, bad english, bad german, wait/pool staff are very nice
Internet conection - wifi is only in lobby bar ...is very slowly and useless

Final- resort is huge with huge pool, can be fine for old romantic couple or family holiday but if you are looking for a luxury hotel find another place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franky222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This is our second trip to hurghada and the Makadi Palace. We will be back again. The location, sun and especially the beach out front of the hotel make it more then worth while.
There are far more posatives then negatives here but things you need to be prepared for if it is your first time to Egypt is expect to have stomach problems!!! I would guarantee that some member of your party will get some sort of stomach virus no matter how well you prepare so bring pharmaceuticals to deal with the issue. Secondly expect to tip! Have a whole lot of change ready to tip everyone as they will expect it from you.
After those 2 problems I will guarantee that you will love your stay! The hotel is so clean and well looked after and all staff are very friendly. The snorkeling in front of the hotel might be the best on the Red Sea and no you won't see any more on any boat cruises so make the most of it!
Hit up Tito's around the corner of the hotel for any excursions and we recommend any boat tours and the 2 hour safari from them.
Enjoy the stay

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sightseers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is our second visit this year to the Makadi Palace...We are well travelled and have been all over the world in all standards of accomodation . We have been to Egypt many times going to Sharm, Hurgharda, Marsa Alam each on several occasions so i feel this is a fair review.
Firstly we travelled with red sea holidays which where great, we got a fab deal paying just £289 each booking just 2 days before departure....we spoke to some people who had paid twicw as much, so make sure you find good deals.
Makadi Palce is a huge hotel with by far the nicest grounds of any other hotel i have been to in Egypt...Food at the Makadi Palace is good for Egypt and you will not go hungry, main thing is we had no problems with tummy upsets here as in many hotels in Egypt this is a huge problem. They also have several additional restaraunts which are on the All Inclusive, the Botanical is fab with excellent service !!!
Beach is ok , reef is quite nice but a fair way out, best thing is walking up to the pier at the next door hotel and snorkelling there as it's beautiful with some gorgeous fish....but Marsa Alam was better if your wanting sandy beaches and fantastic reefs.
The mattress guys on the beach are a pain and seem to ignore women wanting mattresses, and wait for the husbands to turn up, they must think that it's only the men with the money for the tips , i stood by some beds and he would not serve me and walked away, i then noticed others helping themselves so i went and picked up 2 mattresses, and put them on my bed, a few minutes later one of the mattress guys came up to my bed and started to pull the mattresses off the beds and blabbling at me, i presume he was telling me off, as my husband was at the shops , i was alone and told him i did not understand what he was saying and my husband would tip him when he returned, but he was very angry and continued to take the mattresses away, until my husband turned up and another mattress guy told him to leave them....he then stormed off very angry, so it somewhat spoilt my day at the beach..Also the drinks bar on the beach is suppose to be all inclusive but every time they bring you a drink they expect a euro tip, i also noticed that since last time i was here in April this year that the size of the plastic cups on the beach are now tiny so you need more drinks giving them more tips, my husband waited at the drinks bar on the beach for 15 minutes IN 30 degree heat for a drink but no waiter came so he just ended up serving himself along with others, about 10 minutes later the barman came looking for my husband to tell him off...i was very annoyed so we ended up just having our own water when on the beach.
The massage staff on the beach where ok, we just told the politely no thank you and they left us alone, but we you do get asked around 5 or 6 times each day...
Rooms were lovely and well cleaned, but again the cleaner would knock on the door every day, and say ZA ROOM OK, ZA BATHROOM OK, and stand there waiting for a tip WE GOT FED UP WITH THIS SO WE HUNG THE DO NOT DISTURB ON THE DOOR !!! makes no difference they BANG BANG BANG BANG until you open the door.... again with the daily change of beach towel guy would change your beach towel stand there with his hand held out... So by the end of the week i was really fed up with the tip situation..
The hotel bar staff where great and don't expect tips but if you do give the a euro at the start of the evening your drinks would flow all night long.
I think because the beach is located at the bottom end of the hotel the guys are not really watched by the managers or anyone so the get too cheeky.
I said to my husband the Germans do walk round grunting at the staff, but i started to feel this was the best way to get some peace from them.
Anyway back to the hotel overall this is a superb hotel which i have been to twice this year, the pools are stunning with cascading waterfalls it's all so pretty, we had a fantastic time again....we noticed a few people coming from next door the Grand Makadi and they all said the Makadi Palace was far far better and they where all gutted they had not come to the Makadi Palace.
Please do come and enjoy this stunning hotel you will have a fab time, just don't make the mistake we did and tip as they do end up getting a bit cheeky with tips, just give to the waiters you feel have given good service.....i always thought the guys that did the rooms where really poor and always felt really sorry for them until he knocked on our door asking us to change his coins into notes for him, my husband said he had at least 140 euro coins....so don't feel too bad. GO YOU WILL LOVE IT, JUST DON'T GIVE IN TO THE TIPS TOO MUCH !!!!

HURGHARDA AIRPORT IS AWFUL...IT MUST BE THE WORST IN THE WORLD !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LancashirePoppy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,360 reviews
0.7 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $90 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing