We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Makadi Bay
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,702)
Filter reviews
1,702 results
Traveler rating
1,079
373
122
73
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,079
373
122
73
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal makadi beach restaurant animation team nile cruise main restaurant italian restaurant a la carte restaurants pool view great vacation fish special thanks the hotel is clean guest relations red sea wonderful hotel red flag pool bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,702 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at several Egyptian Red Sea hotels over the years and Labranda Royal is definitely not up there with the best.  Dealing with the disappointments first:

1. the food the the main restaurant was mass catering of a hit-and-miss standard.  It is difficult to find much that’s positive to say about it.  Roasted meat dishes were invariably dry, overcooked or tasteless (duck with stuffing on Oriental Night had been massacred by the chef and was the worst we had ever tasted); fish dishes were bland; the prepared food in the chafing dishes was equally uninspired and changed little during the week despite the themed food nights; fruit at breakfast time was limited in its variety. Judging by quantities of food left on guests' plates, we weren't the only ones to give it a thumbs down;
2. hygiene, especially at the beach restaurant, was lacking as sparrows and crows lined up to eat off the serving spoons and out of chafing dishes that were left open. There is a patrolling falcon which is supposed to frighten these birds away but it was clearly on holiday;
3. there were too few serving spoons for the buffet dishes in both restaurants so that one spoon often cross-contaminated several dishes (not good especially for allergy sufferers or vegans);
4. at peak times in the main restaurant it was hard to find a table which was either unoccupied, or stacked with plates and food from previous diners.  Staff worked hard to clear and re-lay tables but there were too few of them to service the dining room quickly and adequately. Drinks ordered often took ages to arrive.  All rather chaotic;
5. with few notable exceptions, hotel staff seem rather disinterested and disengaged.  Motivational and other training might not go amiss, as well as better all-round organisation and communication;
6. our Deluxe pool view room was okay though a bit tired.  There was a safe and tea and coffee making facilities and the bed was comfortable.  However, the heating setting on the air conditioner didn’t work so the room could not be warmed on cooler January nights.  The hot water in the shower varied between tepid and scalding hot.  The glass shower screen was too short for the shower so that water puddled generously over the bathroom floor.   No toiletries are supplied apart from a soap dispenser on the wall so bring your own shampoo and conditioner;
7. the beach, such as it is, is overcrowded with sun-beds and wind breaks placed close together.  To get to the beach it was necessary to run a gauntlet of prostrate sunbathers.  The small bay is okay for swimming but would hardly rank as attractive;
8. WiFi is appalling.  The only place we could log on regularly was in the hotel foyer with scores of other guests all clutching their phones. There wasn’t enough server capacity to allow either an easy log on or a decent speed at peak times. Sometimes we tried for 15 mins to log on.  Drop-outs were common. Any sizeable downloads were impossible and even phone conversations on WhatsApp were hit and miss during much of the day.  We got a very occasional signal in the pool area but none in the room.  As most people are so reliant on good WiFi these days, it is inexcusable that Labranda’s is so dreadful.  It needs to be upgraded as a matter of priority;
9. the Spa is lacklustre and unappealing.  It doesn’t feel fresh and the atmosphere is neither calm nor relaxing.  On one of our visits the soap dispensers were empty and the showers had no hot water (1730 on 9 Jan).  By 1900 Spa staff were using the wash basins and changing facilities reserved for Spa clients.  It’s no way to run a Spa.  By any measure, treatments are expensive for what is on offer and the treatment is mediocre.

There are, however, some good - even very good - points about the hotel:

1. the pool area is the hotel’s saving grace.  Pools are pleasant and clean (although only one pool with swim-up bar appears to be heated), and there are plenty of comfortable sun loungers.  The pool staff were always helpful.  Occasional trays of fresh juices at 2 euros a cup are brought round but apart from those there is no pool service.  Food can not be consumed in the pool area;
2. the attractive gardens are extremely well maintained and kept clean and tidy;  
3. the themed restaurants can only be reserved and guests qualify for two vouchers per stay which allow two visits to restaurants of your choice.  Those on Makadi Promenade are popular as the food there is a lot better than the main buffet restaurants and there is also some entertainment outside given by the animation staff in local dress or costume.  We tried the Italian and Chinese and both were good.  The hotel should be more generous with the vouchers.  

Overall, the Lebranda Royal has plenty of flaws most notably the poor quality of its buffet food and its diabolical WiFi and certainly falls far short of its 5-star rating.  There are plenty of other hotels in the El Gouna/Hurghada area offering much better value.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Twofreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labranda_Royal, General Manager at LABRANDA Royal Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr/Mrs Twofreespirits,

Thank you for taking time reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that your holiday spent in our hotel didn’t meet all of your expectations.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our swimming pools and found our gardens extremely well maintained and kept clean. As well we are happy to know that you enjoyed our specialty restaurants. Our front office team is always willing to give clients more vouchers upon request.

We are sad to read that our buffet in the main restuarant couldn't exceed your expectations. Your remarks were forwarded to our executive Chef for further action.

We apologize for the birds in the beach restaurant, we are still trying to find solutions to keep them away. However, it's subject to nature.

As we were fully booked during your stay, at peak times it might be difficult to find a vacant table inside the restaurant. Our restaurant manager is available during all meals to assist guests in finding tables. As well we are more than glad to invite guests more often in our specialty restaurants.

Your comments concerning the SPA have been forwarded to our SPA management in order to take a proper action.

We will consider your remarks for taking remedial actions and we would like to improve your opinion next time you visit us.


We hope sincerely to see you again in Labranda Royal Makadi.

With best regards,

Sincerely,

Emad Saleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely hotel well set out with some great restaurants in the grounds. Even though we were all inclusive they ran out of red wine and wouldn’t serve us any out of the bottles on display as they said they were for the ones not all inclusive who paid for their drinks. The all inclusive drinks were very poor, flat and weak.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank suesuffell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labranda_Royal, General Manager at LABRANDA Royal Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Suesuffell,

warm greetings from Labranda Royal Makadi.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and could enjoy our delicious cuisine in our different restaurants.
We apologize for the inconvenience with the wine, however we didn't find any reference concerning the red wine during your stay. However we have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverage department for follow up. Local alcoholic drinks are available free of charge from 10:00AM - midnight.

We hope to welcoming you back again soon,

Warm regards,

Emad Saleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on a holiday with my friends and i really enjoyed every moment of it. The rooms are spacious, clean and the stuff are really friendly especially the animation team, they are fun and have excellent programs specially the everyday swimming pool program.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 719yasminah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labranda_Royal, Guest Relations Manager at LABRANDA Royal Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. 719yasminah,

Thank you for your time and positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Labranda Royal Makadi, as well as the fact that our hotel, staff and service leave you the most pleasant memories.
Assessment and recognition by our guests is our highest praise!
Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback and hope to see you soon in Labranda Royal Makadi.

With best regards,

Sincerely,

Emad Saleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful holiday in Hurghada with excellent village, staff always available and fantastic animation.
All the staff is very friendly and they are very helpful!
The room is really clean and they left some present for you every single day.
LaBranda Royal Makadi has a fantastic animation team, they made our days full of laughter and they recommended us for the best destinations to visit in Hurghada or outside.
Thanks to Fabiola and her husband Misho that helping every single day!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Martinacancro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labranda_Royal, Guest Relations Manager at LABRANDA Royal Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Martinacancro,

Thank you for for choosing LABRANDA Royal Makadi Resort to spend your vacation and we do immensely appreciate that you found the time to share your vacation experience on TripAdvisor!

We are sincerely pleased that we managed to ensure you a memorable time, which serves as a highest achievement goal and a proof of our fruitful endeavor. Much appreciation for outlining our numerous facilities and services.

We place great value on your continued relationship with Labranda Royal Makadi and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Yours sincerely,

Emad Saleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

I was on holiday in this hotel with my family .
The hotel is very good and clean the rooms are comfortables , the restaurant is wonderful and full of options!
The real stars of this hotel are the entertainers always smiling and active !!
A special thanks go to Fabiola and Misho!!
I will recommend this hotel and for sure i would come back !!
Bravo!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank D7152YBantoniom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labranda_Royal, General Manager at LABRANDA Royal Makadi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the excellent review, Mr. D7152YBantoniom,

We’re thrilled your time with us was so amazing! We endeavor to go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable experience. It’s not surprising that Fabiola and Misho took such wonderful care of you and made you feel so valued. They are important members of our team.

We look forward to hosting you again soon for another fantastic experience. Have a beautiful day!

Emad Saleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews