We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as made out on the reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not as bad as made out on the reviews”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Worried about my visit after booking and THEN seeing all the reviews on here, but actually was pleasantly surprised. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The place was spacious and clean. The food, despite the reviews I read, was fresh and varied. There is even other restaurants to go to (at an added price) on site if you get bored of the cuisine! I ate very well. But you'll get 'Egyptian belly' whether you eat here or not.
The all inclusive drink selection is decent, although confused when I could only have local whiskey - Johnnie Walkers (good brand) and not 'Auld Stag' - NB not a real brand.
Yes there is not many other English speaking tourists here. As one Egyptian worker told me: "Its 100% Russian, 10% Polish and about 5% German" (sic).
If you like a beach holiday, this seems as good as any.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank CanadianJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    172
    137
    96
    106
See reviews for
235
214
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

very pleasant stay and provide you with lovely memories to take home and remember : ))
I would definately recommend the Hotel and staff and this hotel was very clean and the food was definately recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here from 23rd Sep for one week. The room was large and spacious with all we needed. The bedding as changed each day as were the towels. It was almost on the beach with a large balcony. The resort was very nice with great pools and a lovely sandy beach. The food what can one say, good food ruined,tasteless bland and boring, it was mostly cold when it should have been hot,and really bad. The staff were great and helpful. and would do anything to help.
We were the only English there out of 1000 plus guests, mostly Russian and they can be rude pushing in before you everywhere, All in all i would not advise the British to go there as it is manly for the Russian guests, Not a very good holiday, although we were never ill at all, but we would never return there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank wildsharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Makadi Bay hotels

Lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My partner and I visited Harmony for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Year 2011-12. We enjoyed it so much we decided to go back for our summer holiday. What a mistake that was. It only took us less than 1 day to realise that the hotel was under new management. The food was the same menu for lunch and dinner every day, with no variation and all inedible. The waiters no longer ask if you would like a drink with your meal. We only got asked once (on our first day) and the drinks had not arrived by the time we had eaten. For the last 8 days or so (after we had both been very ill) we ended up buying crisps and taking rolls up to our room and having crisp sandwiches (funny but we were not ill again). On our arrival we asked for extra pillows, this took 3 trips to the reception desk and arrived 24 hours later.
The gardens are no longer well looked after, and are overgrown and full of weeds and litter.
The floors in the restaurant and lobby were filthy, but after a few days the buffers came out, we were told that the owner was making a visit. We did not see the buffers for the rest of the holiday.
Saying this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel I do expect to be able to drink out of glass glasses at night in the lobby bar and not flimsy plastic ones.
This was such a disappointing holiday but goes to show that if you've been to a hotel and enjoyed it, it may not be the same when you go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My partner and I had visited Harmony 4 years ago and loved it so much that we returned on our Honeymoon.

The hotel is great, rooms really clean with good views of the sea and pools. The staff were mostly really friendly and helpful. Its not advertised anywhere in the hotel but it has its own coral reef which is brilliant there are well over 1,000 every 20 or 30m. It is truely breathtaking.

We took a boat trip to an island called Makmaya which was amazing. You can only book this trip through your rep and it costs about £45 each. But worth every penny. The Island itself is like a fijian Island with a white sand beach and cristal clear water.

The thing that lets this hotel down is the food. We stayed for 11 nights and 8 of them we were ill (couldn't venture too far away from a toilet type of ill) The only times we wern't ill was the days we didn't eat at the hotel. The food tasted ok, it is caitored for the Russian and Polish guests which is understandable as we were 2 of only 18 British people staying there out of 1,200. Speaking to a lot of the guests at the hotel (English, Polish and Rusian) nearly every group of holiday makers have at least one person ill from the food. One Polish guy I spoke to paid $80 to see the doctor who told him not to eat any of the meat and he should start feeling better.
I did finaly complain to the manager who told me that "no one has ever complained about the food" this was a compleat lie as we had only spoken to a couple the day before that made the hotel order them a Pizza from Dominos for there last day as they were not willing to touch the food and risk being ill for the flight home. The manager then went on to say that it was the heat and nothing to do with the food. After explaining that we didn't eat at the hotel for two days and were fine he just dismised it and got a fruit basket delivered to our room (great).

As I said the hotel and staff are great if they would just own up to the major problems they are having with the food the hotel would be fantastic, but this doesn't look like its going to happen. If this was a hotel in the UK it probably would have been shut down by now.

The best meals we had was when we brought some crisps from the shop outside and then just made crisp sandwiches in the restarant.

My advise would be to go to Makadi Bay because it is amazine but stay clear of Harmony. We spoke to people on the way back to the airport that had stayed in the next couple of hotels who said the food was amazing. We will be trying one of these next time as they all have a coral reef on the doorstep as well.

It was a shame we went back to Harmony and we will not be recomending it to any of our friends. It did kind of spoil our honeymoon because of the food making us ill 80% of the time.

I don't like to moan about these sort of things but I wouldn't want people to have the same experiance as us if your going away. Please pay the extra couple of quid and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirkkala
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at Harmony Makadi in April '12 for two weeks. We had a great room with sea view and our cleaning guy was really nice and did his job very well and we did get all kinds of towel arrangements and fresh flowers on the table.
Year before we had stayed at Serenity Makadi Heights (right next door) and that was really a five star resort and I guess I was expecting little bit too much for this year. Everywhere you could see little things that hadn't been taken care of. Lack of money I guess. Food was not anything special and I ended up eating chiken almost every night. That was something they didn't spoil. Very many Russian customers and somebody said that the menu was developed for their taste. After two weeks we were really happy to return home food vise. Don't expect Italian food be Italian.
We liked the pool areas and had brought our own thermos mugs and they worked really well with the drinks and they kept the drinks cool. We travel alot and have learned to bring our own helpful things along with us. All and all we had a great vacation and for the price we payed we shouln't have expected five stars. I had some stomach problems at the end but nothing serious. We visited Luxor which was interesting but a very looong and tiring day. Took one snorkeling trip that wasn't as good as the year before. Well, that is nobodys fault really. Anything can be expected when you travel.

Room Tip: We wanted a second floor but got third. Wanted a sea view and got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I read the other reviews before staying at this hotel and as they seemed to be split 50/50 between good and bad...I went with an open mind. But having now been there for 2 weeks I come down 100% on the side of the bad. If you go there expecting a 5 star hotel you will be so disappointed it's at best a 3 star but averages 2½
There are some good points so I will mention those as it will not take long...The Animation team work really hard to entertain everyone and do a good job. The rooms are large and well air conditioned and the swimming pools are ok.
Sadly that’s where the good part ends...the problems that this hotel has are 90% due to poor management...as someone who stays in hotels regularly on business I can tell you these people could not run a bath let alone a hotel....so what are the problems?
Plastic Cups: You will read in other reviews the comments regarding drinks being served in tiny plastic cups...it's ridiculous they serve the drinks in tiny plastic cups (beer included) that you finish in 10 seconds and then have to queue again for another drink...the result is constant queues for drinks and empty plastic cups all over the place.
Food: Bland, Boring and the same day after day after day...Clearly the Head Chef only knows a limited number of recipes so nothing changes, additionally in the main restaurant all the stations are together, drinks, salad, hot food and deserts. The result is more queues and people waiting for one thing hold up other people who want something else...Separate the stations as they do in good hotels the problem will go away..plus get a new chef.
General: The staff and managers do not care..you are just a number to them. The hotel is located a long way from Hurghada and the hotel taxi is very expensive..There is a shuttle bus but it only operates one trip a day and that is in the evening. You will be constantly hassled by guys at the hotel trying to sell you Boat Trips, Quad Bike Trips, Massages etc etc...at first you are polite but as time goes on and they do not stop you also stop being polite...It’s a pain
After a few days at this hotel I asked the agent if we could transfer to another hotel as it was so bad and I would be happy to pay extra to do so..Yes I was willing to pay to NOT stay at this hotel, sadly it was not possible.
I could go on some more but will stop there...all I will say is if you want a real 5 star hotel don’t go to this one..try the Marriott or the Stella Hotel nearby.. These Real Hotels with Real Service..maybe the management of the Harmony should go there for a night or two and learn how to run a hotel

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.9 mi away
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
#22 of 30 in Makadi Bay
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
#25 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,768 reviews
0.7 mi away
LABRANDA  Garden Makadi
LABRANDA Garden Makadi
#23 of 30 in Makadi Bay
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serenity Makadi Beach
Serenity Makadi Beach
#12 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort

Property: Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 642, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, only 25KM southern of the very popular Egyptian holiday destination "Hurghada", on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. The Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort is situated directly on over 600 meters private and white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. Among the 552 outsized (52sq m), comfortable & luxurious rooms, year-round sunshine, panoramic views of sea (subject to hotel availability against charge 10$ per room per night) and blue skies, Spa, tennis fields, all makes the Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort the place for unique moments to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel Makadi Bay
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel And Resort
Domina Makadi Bay Resort
Domina Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing