We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed two weeks in Harmony late April 2012, this was our second trip to Hurgahada.

Seems like all the hotels in Makadi area are huge resorts, capacity +1000 visitors on all of them. Harmony is a huge resort, probably over 1000 capacity but only 30-50% full when we was there. You really get a lot of walking if you want to daily have a walk by the seaside, walk to meals etc. We was taken to our room upon arrival with a golf cart.

The rooms are vey good, large and maybe in a need of a little updating, but very functional. Excellent double bed, good tv with US movies and European soccer, excellent bathroom with good size. Daily cleaning was excellent. They fill the small fridge with water and soda daily. They have smal safe in room, butit is so small that we could not fit our laptops in there. No problem, laptops were safe just on tables! The balcony is of a good size and we had a brillint sea view directly from the balcony. Sound proof could be a little better - we heard a cell phone ring next door every morning at 7.00 AM. Excellent air conditioning.

There is nothing spectacular about the hotel but everything there works out fine. The pool area (3-4 large pools) is very good, one pool with slides and water aquatics and animation team activities, another adult pool with a very good pool bar (better than expected drinks and cocktails) and a large quiet adult pool + nice hot tub. All the pools kept clean nice. A huge number of sun beds, always easy to find a vacant one, very efficient towel service.

Because of being a quiet season, only the main buffet and Italian restaurants were open. Food is plentiful and ok. Because most of the clients are from Russia, the food is obviously prepared for these clients - but still pretty good. Italian restaurant served Italian and oriental dinners, we had 2-3 of those and they were ok. The main buffet meals are ok but we liked the atmosphere in the Italian restaurant better. Actually the main buffet restaurant is like a huge college cafeteria - no character at all. And the people there are most efficient - sometimes your plate was already taken before you thought you had not finished ! Once our entire table was gone while we were picking up some beef after the salad - real efficient. But overall, the meals were good and plentifull, and service first class.

The only problem we had was that there is no beach in the resort ! There is some 400-500 metres of area where sand meets water, but it is not what I would call "a sandy beach". It all looks nice with lots of sun beds and blue water. But it is beach where you cant swim or even really walk, you need to have protective shoes and walk some 200 metres before you can swim. And even after that there is not really a coral and fish to watch. On the left hand side you can actually walk and swim in a very small area but still: no sandy beach. In a place like that you would expect them to have a pier, where you could walk and swim from the pier - but here is no pier. Seems like they are starting to build one, dont know when it will be ready.

They have a man made lagoon (like 200 m x 30 m) just by the beach where you could swim and sun bath, but I did not see anybody swim there. Looked really nice but the sand was almost rock hard - nobody swimming there.

On the beach they also had a large lunch area serving simple pizza / hamburger / salad lunches which worked out just very well - very efficient.

They had animation teams, evening programs and discos but we did not participate - and really liked that nobody pushed for anything. Likewise, they have people selling trips, massage etc by the pool but nobody was pushing anything. We really liked the very quiet relaxed atmosphere.

We had a full day bus trip to Luxor to see the history - very nice eventhough a long trip. Also the day snorkling from a boat was nice.

The clients were mostly Russian. Some Scandinavian, German and other European. Middleaged couples, some families with small children and some 2-4 ladies groups.

Overall this is a very nice resort if you are looking for a relaxed, quiet holiday with lots of sun and swimming by the pool. Not much else to do.

They also have a very well working wifi in the entire resort. For the entire two weeks time I was cut off only twice, once because of sandstorm, and the wifi worked surprisingly well for two weeks.

Overall: a very good experience. Because they lack a sandy beach, I would not rate this resort as 5 star- They also lack some character, it just a very efficient and large resort.

If you are looking for a great social holiday with a lots of partying etc, this probably is not your place. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxed holiday with lots of sun and water with all inclusive resort, this is a very good alternative.

Harmony is one of the low end of the listed 5 star resorts. With the money we payed we did not expect to get European level 5 star experience but we were very happy with the level of the holiday we reserved. Would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: We asked for seaview and was given one, very nice view. The rooms are in blocks of houses, 12 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scandinavian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 708 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel is about 35km from the airport (about 30 mins if its a straight run and not dropping off anyone). And it can be quiet isolated as there is no where to walk out too, not 1 bar or shop! You will need to book a taxi or a trip to see anything.
Yes, the hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful
3 large pools plus a kids pool and a great hot tub!!
Beach - clean and tidy, however there are loads and loads of jelly fish - they dont sting but
do make it a bit off putting.
The sea is good for small children - shallow and great for paddling, but the sea and any fish are 100 metres out, so its a bit of a walk. There is no real coral to write about and so not much underwater life to see - you will need to buy some foot wear as the further out you go out the more rocky the sea bed gets
All the animation staff are eastern european and so its not aimed at the british.
If you have teenagers and like to go out then its not for you, its just a place to do nothing. Nothing wrong with that!!

Room Tip: Ground floor for families - but no problem the complex is only 3 storey high and in small blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I was worried after reading reviews, I HAD NO NEED TO WORRIE HARMONY MAKADI IS FANTASTIC FOR ADULTS AND FAMILY. JADE from the ANIMATION TEAM WAS FAB ALL THE ANIMATION TEAM WAS. FOOD AND SHIP RESTAURANT FANTASTIC. every where was very clean would highly reccomend this hotel. Management where also very helpfully, every member of staff where helpfully and very friendly. Location fantastic. Would go back no hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just like to say a BIG THANK YOU to all the wonderful staff at Harmony Makadi, I througly enjoyed your accomadation, excellent food, spectactular views the layout is perfect for children & adults 3x************* in my book

Room Tip: Value for money, very relaxing no load music & cars tooting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I had some reservations after reading some of the reviews but was very impressed. We had some problems checking in (not connected with the hotel at all) and the reception manager bent over backwards to accomodate us. The room was lovely and the food in the buffet was great. The italian restaurant was not so great though, but we helped ourselves to the buffet. Entertainment was perfect and our kids had a great time even though it was very windy. The only complaint...need more kids club attention. There was no scheduled activities and the playground needs some attention. This however, did not at all spoil our break and we are considering an Easter trip as well. Thank you Harmony!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinaHarmonyMakadi, Front Office Manager at Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your helpful feed back, I have passed your valuable comments to the front office team and we are pleased to know about the good experience you had about our rooms, restaurants and entertainment , looking forward to welcome you again to HarmonyMakadiBay Hotel & Resort.
Best Regards
Mina Gergis
Front Office Manager
mgergis@harmonymakadibay.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

we had a pleasent weak in the hotel was very comfort and very calm the service was quik and great, the staff members were very freinldly and helpful ,there were many diffrent types of restrant there was a restrant shaped like boat for sea food meal it was very delicious
and (very special thanks for the front office manager mr. mina gergis )for guided us to know the hotel and helping us about everythings in the hotel :)

Room Tip: there rooms was very clean and large the beds were very confort the pillow was soft and makes u feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rania_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinaHarmonyMakadi, Front Office Manager at Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feed back and helpful review and I have passed your comments to the front office team, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our variable restaurants and cuisines, looking forward to welcome you again to HarmonyMakadiBay Hotel & Resort.
Best Regards
Mina Gergis
Front Office Manager
mgergis@harmonymakadibay.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

It has been a little more than 4 years since we were last at the harmony resort, then it was called "Domina", we heard that the ownership had changed, so we thought it would be nice to see if anything had changed!!, so, driving through the main gate and entering reception was just as our last visit, with the usual friendly greetings, with a few staff saying they really did remember us!, the really big surprise was when we went into the complex, we were both taken "aback" by how much everything had changed, things seem to be so much more organised than before, everything is now brighter much andcleaner i must find out who looks after the landscaping and planted area's he can came home with me and fix my garden!. Even the "clientele" has changed, everything is aimed at attracting more guests from western Europe and it is working very well, If you stayed there a few years ago, whether you enjoyed it or not, give it another try, you will love it now, no "bull" and no "joke", the change of ownership, clientele and standards has transformed this resort from a good place into a fantasic place to stay, what yoyu see in the photo's is just as it is. Please read the review left by Ellie1865338 who has saved me from going on and on, thanks "Ellie" we are going back again in 6 days.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MrandMrsMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinaHarmonyMakadi, Front Office Manager at Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feed back and helpful review , I have passed your comments to our hotel team and management as well and we enhance the opportunity to thank you for your repeated visits to our resort and we are looking forward to many visits to HarmonyMakadiBay Hotel & Resort.
Thanks & Best Regards
Mina Gergis
Front Office Manager
mgergis@harmonymakadibay.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
1.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#18 of 30 in Makadi Bay
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.7 mi away
LABRANDA  Garden Makadi
LABRANDA Garden Makadi
#23 of 30 in Makadi Bay
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
#22 of 30 in Makadi Bay
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 642, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $30 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, only 25KM southern of the very popular Egyptian holiday destination "Hurghada", on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. The Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort is situated directly on over 600 meters private and white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. Among the 552 outsized (52sq m), comfortable & luxurious rooms, year-round sunshine, panoramic views of sea (subject to hotel availability against charge 10$ per room per night) and blue skies, Spa, tennis fields, all makes the Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort the place for unique moments to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel Makadi Bay
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel And Resort
Domina Makadi Bay Resort
Domina Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing