We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

It's a super nice experience, I went there twice in one year. Beach is great, service is perfect, food is offering lots of choices, very friendly staff , very efficient in z reception. DONT miss a visit to z spa it's heaven . Z only bad experience was z beach VIP reservation was mishandled with daily problems

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank 123cairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing to stay again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We greatly appreciate comments made by our guests and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are also happy to know that you liked our beach and food. Our team spares no effort to provide the best service and they greatly appreciate your kind words.

Your remark about the beach plus service was brought to the attention of the concerned department for action. It is through your valuable feedback that we can better serve you.

Once again thank you and I personally look forward to welcome you back at our resort in the near future.


Sincerely,

Antoine Goubran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

Visited this hotel for 11 nights at the end of February - we are a family of four with two kids aged 13 and 9.Its about a 40 minute journey from the airport so no problems there.Reception at the hotel was good and remained like that throughout our stay - Always helpful and courteous.The hotel has an ATM outside that you can put English or Euros in and it will exchange for Egyptian pounds - Note the exchange rate is better in Egypt than you will find at home so change a small amount at home and do the rest there.The rooms were fine - everything worked and you could get English movies and lots of sport on the TV's. For a family of four we got a double bed a 3/4 bed and a single bed.The foods not repetitive as some suggest - Ive stayed in around a dozen all inclusives in various places and the food here was as good as Ive ever had and the kids thought so too.For one night you get a voucher for the Grill restaurant down on the beach - Its Lebanese food which I was dubious about but it was fantastic - make sure you try it.
The pools were great - the one with the swim up bar seemed to be the warmest.You can't and don't need to reserve a sunbed on either the beach or round the pools - we never got up early and always got sunbeds easily.The beach was brilliant and the depth of sea shelved out nicely so its very safe for kids.There are beds of coral so I'd advise swimming shoes for all. The snorkelling is out of this world - its the first time Ive done it in Egypt and I cant begin to describe the variety and colour of fish which were truly magnificent. You don't have to go out far waist deep is fine so give it a go. Towels are provided so you don't need to take any with you and theres lots of watersports on the beach - some chargeable and some free.
We did two trips - Quad biking in the desert which was amazing and the water park trip which was also good - Lunch and soft drinks at the water park were all inclusive and again the food was good.
The entertainment team worked really hard and got on well with everyone of all ages - the shows were full of effort and we enjoyed the Legends show best.
The clientle was mainly couples and families so its probably not the right place for groups of single people but for anyone else its great.
I have to say that the stand out thing of the whole holiday was the staff - they were all friendly, professional and courteous and they helped make it a fantastic experience.
Mustafa the Thomas Cook rep also did a great job and kept us well informed.
We loved Egypt, loved the people and if you want a relaxing winter break this hotel would be one to look at.We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheffieldCraigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed from 21Feb- 7 March, couple early 50s

The hotel sits well off any main roads so is quite and safe, no problems during our stay. It has a long sandy beach, which is sheltered and very good for swimming and snorkelling. The sun beds have plenty of space between and can be reserved for 30euros per week. Free beach towels are provided on a daily basis. Various pools are located within the grounds these are basic nothing fancy long and quite narrow. The hotel is generally clean and tidy. One area that excels is the cleanliness of all the communal toilets, at no point during our stay could these areas be faulted.

This hotel also has a saga building, this can be used for breakfast, lunch and dinner and in our experience was favoured for the smoke free zone.

With a basic room, comes with no frills everything is extra. Wifi is charged at 20 euros per week. Gym is charged at 120 euros per 2weeks. No tea and coffee making facilities are provided in these rooms. Other hotels in the same price bracket offer these facilities free of charge. Upgrades are available at a cost.

We did not attend the arena shows, or activities. We did however try to use the catameran and was told it was broken. On speaking with other guests it had been like that for the last four weeks. With this in mind how would the management deal with any issues complaints raised. Every time we enquired, the staff did not seem to want to understand English!

This is an old fashioned hotel with old fashioned values, some of which are no longer tolerable in the modern society. The main are of criticism is smoking in the lobby and restaurant where children are present. They don't permit smoking within your room, but expect you to tolerate it whilst dinning. Smoking should be permitted in external areas only.
Some potential safety issues are present around the heated pool area, landings with 6 foot drops exist with no handrails an issue with small children beware!!

The food over a 14 day stay does become repetitive, I suppose this is common with all inclusive deals. The food generally is good with 3/4 choices of main with the addition of the salad bar, pizza etc. Deserts are varied and thankfully do not taste all the same. At least the restaurants were sociable places with people queuing and respecting others, this cannot be said for all hotels in egypt.

We attended the villas pavilion restaurant for an evening meal, we had a starter, main - steak, desert and a bottle of wine all very nice apart from the cost of 70 euros. Once again many hotels permit the limited use of the alacart restaurants free of charge.

The rooms are light and airy if a little tired, we had no issues with any of the fixtures & fittings. We had two double beds, however the sheets were bobble and stained. The pillows are cheap foam offering no support with one or too much with two. These are the worst beds we've come across in many years of travel.

Makadi bay is big with lovely walks in either direction, majority being on sand. Every conceivable water sports are available at charge within the bay.

If you are looking for a no frills holiday with average accommodation on a sheltered sandy beach, this is worth a visit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Andyrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is our third visit to Fort Arabesque and it is the only hotel in the world I return too. The hotel offers great value for money and service. The staff all wish to help and greet you and have been employed at the hotel for many years. The gardens are a picture and make an enjoyable short walk. The food is buffet style but with a vast choice, the fish and the omletes are particularly good.

The beach is long with plenty of sun beds. The sea us warn and very easy to enter, in fact if you do not wish to snorkel you can just stand on sand and look at the fish.

This is the ideal hotel for a rest, read a book and swim. It is easy to snorkel off the beach or one can go on boat trip to dive or snorkel.

A good hotel for couples and strongly recommend a holiday here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PrestburySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Reviewed this hotel last year and we returned again for 10 days this January as part of a longer trip moving on to Luxor.
Rereading last year's review...nothing has changed.
Everything is excellent except the breakfast which are, frankly, abysmal. We have now stayed in about 15 hotels in Egypt and all have better cold meat and cheese than the Fort. Cannot believe they can get this so wrong when everything else is good. Why?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

We greatly appreciate your comment about cold cuts and cheese, which we worked on, and both items have now been changed. It is through your valuable feedback that we can better serve you.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just returned from our 6th visit .You think it can't get any better at the Fort ,but it does. Usual high standard of food ,especially the fish .Plenty of choice and replenished regularly .Staff i very friendly and welcoming .We stayed in East block with side sea view .Excellent room ,very .quiet .Snorkelling fantastic.You will not find a better chill out place than the Fort.Highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mayandgraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Four of us have just returned from this hotel having spent a week in one of the two bedroom villas, and a great holiday was had by all. Outside the hotel there is really nothing to do or see unless you want a long trip to The Valley of The Kings. However inside the hotel you will find very nice staff both welcoming and helpful, very nice accommodation both the villa and the main hotel was excellent and so clean. The food both in The Pavilion (exclusive use if you upgrade) and the main bars and restaurants left us with nothing to complain about. I certainly will return and certainly would recommend it

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Dobson-Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
933 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,395 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $73 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing