We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Nearby Hotels
$134
$105
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Makadina(Makadi Bay)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$221
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$195
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,444)
Filter reviews
2,444 results
Traveler rating
1,164
918
232
89
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,164
918
232
89
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest wingbeach barfishpavilion restaurantsaga wingsaga loungeidive centrered rockscool boxsuperior roomtwo double bedsanimation teamother hotelssea viewsoft drinksthomas cookevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 2,444 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We upgraded to the villas - WOW, pool fantastic, villa bar excellent service. The only thing for us that spoilt this trip and stopped us going back was the main restaurant -the food was good but it felt like a school canteen, very cramped and no atmosphere.

Room Tip: Villas are fab, house reef is excellent
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariaC170HN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

First time we have gone for an all inc trip - and hopefully not the last
Staff very friendly and particularly waiters putting up with the kids and associated extra cleanup. Rooms clean and blackout blinds very effective, maintenance were on the ball, bulb popped and was dealt with within a day.
Beach is fantastic - snorkeling within a few meters off the beach and really impressive selection of tropical fish.
LOT of effort went into the Christmas and New Year evenings.
The Animation team were great and the all inclusive use of canoes, windsurfs was a real bonus - hotel wasn't packed so we had very relaxed use of the equipment pretty much whenever we wanted it.
Thanks for a great holiday and hope that the situation in Egypt is resolved peacefully so the people can get on with their lives in an incredible part of the world

Room Tip: Our room was above the bar which was very loud - but only to 11-sh, kids (0,1,10 & 11) all went to sleep fine - they probably know all the words now. However if you really couldn't take noise and were early bedders then staying away from the bars and the arena would be very adviseable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fraser-Family-4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have been to this area of Makadi Bay before, but not to this hotel. The hotel itself is in a brilliant location the best on the bay actually, quite simply this hotel has everything you want we arrived in Dec in time for the Xmas festivities, the food on Xmas eve was very good but they pulled all the stops out for New Year I have never seen a New Years Day buffet like the one The Fort provided, and I have seen lots of Festive buffets in lots of hotels (Been going away for Xmas for the last 12 years) the only down side was no form of entertainment in the main hotel you had to go to the Arena which I don't like doing, I think there may have been some in the West wing (Saga). the staff are friendly and helpful the pools were heated the drinks are of good quality even the wine is acceptable. The best thing about the hotel is the Red Sea the house reef is amazing and you do not have to go very deep into the water to see the coral life.all in all I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Arrived back on Tuesday spending 2 weeks here over Christmas. It was family holiday with adult Children.

We arrived at the hotel at 6.45pm on Christmas Eve to a very good welcome from all staff. We had rooms in the East Wing quite close the reception and the main dining room, and because of the time of year, didn't realise the full extent of the Seaview until getting up on Christmas Day during Sunrise. I have to been to Sharm twice and this hotel was far superior to these previous visits. For this rest of the family, they were on their first introduction to Egypt and I can honestly say their praise was amazing. Arriving on Christmas Eve meant we didn't really appreciate the full Gala Dinner on the first night but that is definitely a lesson learnt.

On walking into the bedroom, I couldn't believe they were actually the same as the picture in the brochure. I had paid for a sole use of twin so was definitely impressed. Like other comments we got animals and sculptures made by our regular cleaner over the first 10 days before he went on holiday. We did think he came around wanting to clean a little bit early - sometimes before 8.30am. The rooms did not have enough space for personal belongings. The wardrobe was large but there were limited shelves and drawers meaning most of my stuff ended up on the bottom of it rather than being put away.

Temperature was regularly 35c in the sunshine and 22c to 26c in the shade. The 2nd week over new year was a little windy at times making the current in the sea a little difficult to swim in. although when it was a bit more windy they seem attract a better variety of fish. There are water sports on either side of the beach for the more adventurous.

We ate mostly in the East Wing dining room and found the food very pleasing and off a very good standard in particular Chicken Dishes and most Beef dishes. The show cooking always looked good but portion sizes of these were significantly limited by the staff so you could make your main meal from it. The West Wing dining was a little warm on a evening to enjoy a meal but was very pleasant at lunch time, especially if we had been at the Sunset bar pool. The beach bar serves a late breakfast (morning snacks) of pastries etc. a limited lunch menu and further afternoon snacks. The only thing I would say is the food at the beach bar was a little limited and got a bit repetitive at times.

We were also entitled to a "free" evening at the Grill House - this a new a la Carte currently being trialled and will eventually cost E10 for set 3 course menu which I have to say was one of the best of the holiday. In the winter it is being held within the Beach bar, but eventually will be outside on the grass. The only complaint I had was allowing children to run through the bar in search of the ice cream freezer while the venue is being using as an a la Carte restaurant is unacceptable.

We made particular friends with a couple of waiters in the East Wing dining room - pictures attached - if your going to the Fort Arabesque and happen to come across these suspects please give them a hug from me!!! :-)

Both activities pool (with swim-up bar) in the East Wing and the Sunset bar pool were heated to between 25c and 32c daily which made a welcome change from it feeling freezing after laying out in the sun.

The bonus at this hotel was that the water / Soft Drinks / Beer were mainly served in sealed bottles / cans / cartons rather than cups which is stark contrast to other AI hotels in both Egypt and Spain.

Others have said the WIFI is expensive and not worth it at E20 per week but I disagree. It is supposed to work throughout complex and does to a point, but is better if you are near either reception and it is not getting hammered by lots of devices e.g. better used first thing on morning and on the balcony rather than in your room. The cost compared to where I stayed last Christmas was cheap and better than running up a mobile bill sending text messages etc. home.

The disappointment was the animations team - OMG - only went to the arena for Comedy night in the first week and I have to say we laughed but for all the wrong reasons. We spent most other nights either enjoying a quiet night in the lobby bar or at the Sunset bar. There was also no inclusive atmosphere on NYE to co-ordinate activities between the various venues - we had to go get our own party bags from the Arena!

I will definitely be returning and am waiting for a couple days off work to talk to the travel agent about the options for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for full Sea view rooms. These are located near reception in the East Wing (2nd Floor and above) and West Wing. e.g. Rooms 201 to 259, 260 to 290, 301 to 359, 360 to 390 etc. Superior rooms and suites are located on the higher floors and attract a supplement. Rooms starting 1000, 2000 etc. are side sea view room at best and should be avoided. Rooms in the west wing nearest the sunset bar could be a little noisy on a evening when cabaret is on but view over the bay may outweigh this.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kazt2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was our first visit to Egypt, although our daughter who travelled with us has been to Sharm twice. We had decided that we wanted some winter sunshine & a Christmas & New Year without any of the hassle of decorating the house, food shopping & cooking. We were not disappointed.
The hotel was clean, comfortable & the staff were very friendly.

Our rooms were adjacent as requested, spacious & well presented, the only suggestion for improvement would be to provide more drawer space, there was plenty of wardrobe space & hangers. The bathroom was large & the shower excellent. Always plenty of hot water.

We arrived on Xmas Eve, about 1 hour before the gala dinner and were overwhelmed by the amount & choice of food on offer. This continued on Christmas day, New Years eve & New Years day.

Outside of these days there was still plenty of food on offer, the quality & choice continued. The puddings are to die for!!!

There are two main restaurants East & West Wing, a beachside snack bar & a grill house ( the meals for the grill house were served in the beach bar which becomes a restaurant at night).

The activities pool has a swim up bar & was heated to about 25c, however the protected pool by the sunset bar in the west wing was heated to between 28c & 30c. very pleasant indeed.
There were always plenty of sun beds at the pools & beach.

We enjoyed the entertainment in the Sunset bar most evenings, the Arena show wasn't to our taste although the animation team seemed to work hard. My only complaint was that on New Years Eve all the festivities were centred on the Arena and it was as if the Sunset bar didn't belong to the hotel. We even had to fetch our own party hats & streamers from the Arena.

We will return to Egypt & hopefully this hotel but wouldn't travel to arrive on a Gala Dinner night.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view, but not ground floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews