We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best house reef in Makadi Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best house reef in Makadi Bay!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in October 2012 together with a friend. We had a very nice big room with two Kingsize beds, a small balcony and a big modern bathroom. The wing we stayed in was quite and housekeeping was regular and thourough.
We spent most of the time snorkeling at the house reef, which is really beautiful and actually the best cared for in all of the hotels at Makadi Bay. We also visited the reefs of the neighboring hotels which were mostly destroyed. We saw lots of fish, some squids, firefish, murray eels, stingrays, so actually a quite good selection of marine life.
At the beach there is also the opportunity for several water sport activities such as kayaking winsurfing, Sailing as well as some other sports activities like Yoga or beach volleyball if you want. But the staff was not intrusively and at the beach you had a good opportunity to relax without loud music etc.
The all-inclusive offer was providing a quite good selection of food at various timepoints, although the selection of alcoholic beverages was a relatively limited for the all-inclusive offer.
The food was mostly italian style, which could have used some variance, but for 4 nights it was sufficient. The buffet was refilled regularly and always hot. The staff was friendly and helpful.
So all in all I can recommend this hotel for people interested in a beach and snorkeling trip for some relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nerm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    789
    205
    77
    34
See reviews for
650
960
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Apart from problems with Thomas Cook (having paid for pre-booked seats and not geting them on the outward or return journey, despite raising this with the rep at the resort) the hotel was fine. It is, as noted in other reviews, a reasonably quiet place and good for a peaceful 'do nothing' break. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is good, for an all inclusive. The West wing (the new wing) is the best place to stay - the central part of the hotel gets a little crowded (beach, restaurant, bars etc) wereas the west wing (also known as the Saga wing) is quieter and more realxed - and the west wing bar has the best coffee! As long as you stay away from the centre of the beach, with the thumping music of the 'Animation' entertainment team, its quite peaceful.
A couple of points - the sea is freezing, but we went in January so expected nothing less, but the wind that blows along the bay can make it quite chilly on the beach.
It does get cold in the evenings in the winter so you wil need jackets \ warm clothes, particularly if you want to sit outside
People do go out early to 'grab' beds \ shades but there do seem to be enough to go around.
Only one pool was heated - they said they had a problem with oil delivaries so don't know if this is usual.
The balconies on the West wing get the sun in the mornings, the East wing get it in the afternoons - sea facing rooms get it for most of the day.
The AC is controlled centrally - when we went we were hot but couldn't get the AC to blow cold (people had complained that it was cold the week before so they had turned it on to 'heat') - not a problem as you can just sleep with the balcony doors open.
The entertainment is an aquired taste and the evening 'shows' in the arena can get quite noisy but they finish between 11.00 - 12.00 (only a problem is you are sleeping with the balcony doors open!).
Spirit measures are huge - if you ask for a 'really, really small' drink you will get something roughly the size of an english pub measure - usual measures come in around the triple \ quadruple size.

Room Tip: West wing for peace and quiet - better bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mulberrykent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from Makadi Bay and just had enough time to complete six divies with the iDive Dive Centre.

Carlo and Erika, with their superb team, are just a delight to deal with. Noor also gives everyone a very warm welcome! They have the perfect balance of relaxed diving with an incredibly professional attitude. Over the week we dived with Florian and Hassan and they were brilliant with clear and informative dive briefs, which ensured a confident dive each time.

The team speak a variety of languages and I know for certain that Italian, English and German are definitely spoken fluently.

All of the equipment that we used was excellent quality and very well maintained. They've got three fresh water cleaning tanks for specific items, which ensures everything is in great working order at all times.

We took some of our own equipment which we left with iDive in their secure storage room, which saved that particular daily chore.

It was great to be able to choose between the any of the three daily dives that they did, to fit in with our holiday, rather than matching a schedule. If we'd had more time we'd have been on far more dives, that is for certain.

We're now planning how soon we can get back to iDive Center and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeamEngine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I went for one week with a friend. We both had a fantastic time! Rooms are big and very comfortable. All staff were very friendly and cheerful. The sailing and kayaking was all included in the price with all inclusive and was great fun. I strongly recommend this hotel as all the facilities you need to keep you busy are there. The diving centre at the end of the beach is fantastic and again all the staff are very helpful and friendly. Excursions on offer are also well worth the money!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went here for Christmas and the New Year. Saga looked after us very well throughout our journeys but the flights were horrendous - we were packed in like sardines - and would avoid flying with Thomas Cook again if we could. It is a lovely dry heat in Egypt and the temperature at Christmas time is about 22 - 26 deg. Our Saga reps, Sameh and Kareem, were very helpful and friendly. The hotel has beautifully laid out gardens and the best beach by far in the Makadi Bay with plenty of sunbeds spaced well apart. The trouble is that visitors from other hotels try to use the facilities and there needs to be more security to prevent this happening. We did not like the noise from the building site in the next hotel and did not appreciate the music on the beach. The staff were very friendly and efficient and our spacious rooms were kept clean with towels and sheets changed daily. Saga provide tea/coffee facilities plus a top up of soft drinks and water in the minibar daily and it was a real bonus to have our laundry done free of charge. Unfortunately we had a lot of noise in our rooms overhead and underneath with families arriving and leaving during the night and having no consideration for guests trying to sleep. We were under the wrong impression that the Saga wing would only accommodate Saga guests but we had many Italian families and some Russians there. Consequently the swimming pool infront of the Saga block was sometimes dominated by children. We felt that this pool could have been for adults only as there were other swimming pools in the complex where families could go. Hence we would not go there again during school holidays and would definitely pay extra to be on the fourth floor. We found that although there was a good choice of food, in our opinion it was definitely not 4 star. Many guests who had been there several times felt that the standard had gone down. The breakfasts were OK and the lunches were better than the evening meals. Unfortunately we both suffered from stomach bugs, as many other guests did, but we bought local antibiotics which worked well. The sun lounger bar has beautiful views overlooking the sea and both the Saga bar and this bar are well stocked with lager and spirits plus good brands of mixers. The gin and tonics, plus local brandy are good but if you are a whisky drinker buy some in the duty free or on the plane before you arrive as we thought the local brand was not to our liking. We were very disapponted with the entertainment, particularly over Christmas, and the singers were not very good often repeating songs throughout our stay.The animation team came round to bother us at our dinner tables regularly to try to get us to go to their shows but we did not bother as it tended to get cold in the evenings and you had to go out of the Saga wing to see them. We had heard that they tended to cater for the Italian guests anyway. We did meet up with some friends from other Saga holidays which was really lovely and we hope to meet them again sometime.

Room Tip: It would be well worth paying extra for a fourth floor room for lovely views and less noise from oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We found this hotel complex to be one of the most friendly we have stayed in. From the minute we got off the cramped Thomson plane and obtained our visa directly from one of the banks at the correct US$15 cost, we were greeted outside by their excellent rep, Mohamed, who was cheerful, helpful and informative throughout our stay (note: return flight had much better legroom).
The weather was a reasonable 24deg in the daytme mostly with a cool breeze but it got quite cold in the evening once the sun had gone down.
The hotel staff are a credit and offer good service. Thanks particularly to Mena who remembered our drinks and always greeted us with smile. Beer is by the can Sakara or Stellar, wine acceptable, local spirits served in ample measures, branded soft drinks but fruit juice and cocktails were extra.
Food was varied, tasty soups, wonderful bread choice and salads, always something cooked fresh and choice of cakes/sweets. Fish dishes were generally good but a criticism would be that the quality of meat dishes left a litte to be desired and fruit was limited. We used the main restaurant as this was livelier than the 'Saga' block one, both offer the same food. The snack food in the beach bar was limited and not very appetising.
Our room was large on the ground floor in the main building. Furniture well used but no real complaints, kept very clean, towels & linen changed daily by Mahmood. Nice bathroom and walk-in shower always with hot water. Minibar restocked daily with water and soft drinks.
The gardens are picturesque, blooms everywhere and tended by many gardeners. The pools are clean with 3 heated when we were there. Sunbeds were comfortable and ample at this time of year, even though some earlybirds still find the need to reserve them for later use! The beach is sandy and the lay out is probably the best in the bay. A pleasant long promenade to the right takes you past adjoining hotels around the bay with a cut through to the HSBC bank and other shops.
We found the Italian entertainment team to be friendly even though few people joined in or came to the shows, they try very hard to please all nationalities. We had many chats with their presenter, Miguel, who goes out of his way to make everyone smile and enjoy their holiday. He is an amiable and confident young man who deserves praise for the effort he puts in. Roberto (sax player/singer in the lounge) is an brilliant entertainer.
Probably leaving the best until last, the snorkelling is amazing and coral reefs can be found at waist height by just wading into the sea. The colours of the fish and variety equally match anything we have seen in many places around the world. Such a shame that so much coral adjacent to the beach appears to have been destroyed however efforts seem to be made now to ask guests to treat the environment with respect.
All in all an excellent stay, we hope to return...........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluefox47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

On recommendation of a person who holidays at the Arabesque I booked 4 weeks there over xmas and new year 2012 to jan 2013 for myself and my wife. Arriving when it was dark so not a lot to see , but arriving at our room was a real letdown big chunks of concrete out of the walls dirty bed covers , and dust everywhere . My wife was bitten on the face in the night and her face swelled up shutting her eye , reported this and was told see the dr its only 60-70 euros well sorry but no way so got some cream and it was ok after 4days . Then the food it was never hot always lukewarm and then the stomach upsets started went to the pharmacy took the tablets and starved for 24 hrs , had a meal the next day and back comes stomach upset which lasted 3 weeks on and off and since being home have had to attend the drs .The entertainment if you can call it that was awful the same singer in west wing for a month with the same old songs not for us. the beach is beautiful and the gardens are as well but the poor hotel needs some TLC as i really dont know how this can be classed as 4 star as ive stayed in 4 star all over the world and there has been none like the Arabesque so it should be a 3 star. The staff are all very nice but got fed up with keep giving tips to everyone as i believe in tips for getting good service which a lot of the staff did give us but they didnt reap the benefit of the tips as they are all shared out .We booked this hotel through Saga as we are oap but if you like to lie on sunbed all day then this is for you but we are not into holidays like this , so couldnt recommend the Arabesque for any active oap .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.4 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
1,099 reviews
8.5 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Property: Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing