We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We went to Sunrise Royal for our honeymoon and we couldnt of asked for anything better. The whole 2 weeks were amazing the hotel is like a palace and you really could get lost in it, the restaurants are amazing especially the medeteranian and being able to go as many times as you want is really good. All the staff were friendly and welcoming and made really good friends while on our honeymoon. we would definately recommend if you want something to remember your time at this amazing hotel to have your photos taken by the amazing United Brothers Photography, we had our pictures done and they were fab made us look like models and really good value for money, lovely people and very professional!! On a whole the holiday was great value for money and an absolutely amazing place to spend our honeymoon will always remember it!! Cant wait to book for next year xxx Thankyou to all staff for making our stay the best ever xxx

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamm198936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,174
    1,120
    439
    134
    91
See reviews for
3,479
2,002
110
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed in this hotel as 2 families (9 of us altogether) with children ranging from 4 up to 7 years old. The hotel has everything you could wish for on-site which means unless you decide to do any optional excursions, there's pretty much everything you could want in the hotel grounds - plenty of pools, sports, entertainment, bars, etc.
The food was a bit hit and miss in the main buffet restaurant. We would always find things to eat but not necessarily what you'd usually put together as a meal. However, the 'Round the world' restaurant was much better and didn't need reservations. It had a more chilled-out atmosphere and the food seemed to be a bit better in quality. The only a la carte restaurant we chose was the Asian which was superb and the service was second to none.
We stayed in a family suite room which had 2 spacious rooms connected through the middle with the massive bathroom and corridor with plenty of wardrobe space.
The staff at the hotel could not do enough for you and it definitely helps if you tip at the beginning of your holiday. Despite usually moaning when people do this, we found that by tipping the pool guy he made sure our towels were laid out every morning to stop anyone else from getting our spaces!!! A bit naughty but it beat getting up at the crack of dawn to put our own towels down!!!
Rooms were cleaned daily and all public areas, including toilets, were also spotless at all times.
The entertainment wasn't always the greatest but our kids enjoyed it so it kept them occupied.
It seems inevitable that most people get the famous tummy bug whilst in Egypt and out of 9 of us only my nephew who was 6 years old got it and it also carried on after returning (lasted about 2 and a half weeks in total). The hotel doctors will tell you not to take Immodium and then charge you a fortune for their own medication. However, on returning my sister-in-law showed it to her doctor and they said it was a form of Immodium!!! Once this had been taken it seemed to do the trick so take my advise and buy your own tablets before you go at a fraction of the price. Take them at the first sign of a funny tummy and it should nip it in the bud quite quickly. We also carried anti-bac handwash around as most people say you get the bug from handling Egyptian money.
Apart from that, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It had something for everyone - young, old, active or chillaxers!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mussels1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Hotel even better than we remembered it from 2009 ! 2010 sees them going "greener" for the environment. Staff fabulous- most remembered us from last year too. One of the restaurants upgraded, new shops added....even less reasons to leave the resort ! Hotel put on its first beach party - food, drink, sand, dancing, stage shows, live band...and still peaceful on the complex so could ignore the 2am revellers. Senior management introduce personally during the week - always available 24hrs a day, so you don't feel like you're not getting "fobbed off" as problems resolved immediately. Entertainment superb - not pushed into participating - just join in as you please. Hotel photographer was fab - thanks, Valentino- the pics you took for our 15th wedding anniversary holiday are SUPERB and ! We would definitely recommend this hotel...but really we don't want to because we don't want it to change...ready for when we go back next year !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppysteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Just a quick note visa is now $18 can't get to the bank 1st
Rooms great we have a interconnecting room food great italian not to good
Asian good Mediterranean brill
Little lad git the runns but a jag from doc now he's kk £50 to see him then £60 jags but
He comes down to £80
Book things with the beech\pool lads saved £200 on spa for 5 and £120 on boat trip

More to come but this is amazing place to be

Rich julie and kids

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubavirgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We've just arrived back from the sunrise after an 11 night stay with our 2 year old and we had a great time. The food was good in a restaurants, plenty of sunbeds, space and in the main good service. All nationalities go there and the rudest by far are the English I think we should be ashamed of ourselves it started on the plane with a young woman thinking she had a right to have a go at us loudly because our 2 YEAR OLD dropped 2 toys behind him as soon as he got on the plane my husband apologised straight away. To somebody saying on here "no screamers" people with young children are allowed to go on holiday we pay for them as well. The Europeans on the whole were polite to him smiled instead of constantly looking for something to complain about. You can get red flag to put on the sunlounger but we never felt hassled and we never used a flag a polite no thankyou was enough and we never got hassled that much I was on my own while my husband and son slept after lunch and I never felt hassled or intimidated. Overall we had a great time but do feel that the English do need to reassass our attitudes towards young children as my little boy is lovely, friendly and overall well behaved but is only 2 and we are allowed to go on holiday. If people don't want to meet children then they should go to an adult hotel and remember that the flight us only a flight and not the holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonsmokerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Just come back from this hotel - it was amazing! Food was lovely and so much choice!! Staff were brilliant, rooms were very clean and pool was also very clean and many of them!

The hotel is even nicer than the pictures on the internet - which are also so nice!!

Staff kept your drinks topped up and insisted you stay in your seat , ice cream included in the all inc and was very tasty! Night life was brilliant - different every night!!

Had a spa their for a brilliant price worked out to be about 20 english pounds although they start out at top price you have to push it down as much as you can!

It was very hot about 47 however nice breeze and at night time it was lovely heat - never bitten.

Overall this hotel is brilliant! I will be returning next year!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachelgraham91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This is the 4th visit to Egypt so have a decent view to compare on hotels plus having done a fair few other inclusive holidays.

This was my first flight with Thomas Cook and was pleasantly surprised as web reviews slated it, yet it was no worse than any other airline and did have inflight movies and decent meals. One thing was we were 1.5 hour late departing and this happened to the following weeks flight then on are return two weeks later was 3 hours late. Tip is to take water from the hotel as we were allowed to take it through customs so had no need to purchase water in the airport departure lounge

On arrival we were allocate in block 10 ground floor. This was the smallest room we have ever have the toilet was small and had only a single door to the little balcony, so it felt small and dark. This was further complimented by ants which was in the drawers fridge and once bedding, however they did come and try to spray and rid the ants on request. Mosquitos are an issue to, as we were bitten often so it would recommend a top floor or take some treatment as the forum seems to imply its not an issue, however it is.

The grounds are bland and very very dirty by the standards we have had in 3 previous visits to Egypt. The family pool area had bottles of water and pop littering for 3 days we noticed and i never have seen so much spillage on the floors which i never noticed anyone mopping or cleaning the floors, it was on the paths and basically everywhere. Maybe the ants took care of it.

The pools have a major problem to as i tried my mask and dive computer on the first day and could not believe the amount of unfiltered mess, to which the lack of chlorine is also noticed. We meet some other familys and all had a member suffer ear infection with one requiring 70 euro doctors visit. Normally the pools are clean in hotels with large vacuum like machines then chlorine added in an eveing but i only observed a guy with a sponge and a mop type instrument. I would take something with you to combat ear infection if you are to visit this hotel.

The Reception and toilets are very poor quality as me wife and daughter said on the first day this place does not have the WOW factor and to say its only 5 years old is amazing as it looks dated and dark with poor finishing and old fashoined fittings.

Service was hit and miss as we had a very strange experience. A waiter kept bringing me a glass of white wine very nice i thought then on my return from the toilet my wife said dont drink the wine. To my amazement my wife explained the waiter in front of her and my daughter poured from used glasses into one glass and placed it on the table, mine sweeping its the term i believe.

The food and Ala carte is however the best i have ever had and highly recommend them. the buffet is very busy and not that nice to eat in but the quality is good. Ala carte is execellent, Fillet steak with blue cheese, Sea bass etc. We ate mostly in them and had great service until the last few days which sort off went from 100% to 80% not sure why as we did tip. Drinks are good quality so no issues with them.

The shows also are very good again the best we have ever had.

My wife used the Spa but thought it to be poor also the animation team was outside next to it with music blasting out to not that peaceful.

Diving was okish as the reefs in the local areas are taking a battering and not that great compared to Marsa Alam. I did the Saleem Express which im not to sure about as its a great dive but felt saddened by the site and the dive instructor opened a case to show its contents, which i disagreed with. Then on a lighter note did a dive with a dolphin following us the entire dive which was a first.

I cannot recommend this hotel as its the poorest ive stayed in with no wow factor just a buget Butlins feel to it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
11.5 mi away
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing