We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted and more!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I travelled to Egypt for a relaxing all inclusive week away after a busy year. What we expected was a nice week where we could chill out and enjoy the sun, which we got, but there is so much more to this hotel. We were greeted after our delayed flight with drinks and food still provided for us at such a late hour and a really nice welcome from all the staff. Throughout the week we got to know the amazing animation team who really made our trip special. Natalie and Sylvia in particular made the trip as homely and comfortable as it was, they along with others in the animation team spoke to us regularly, acknowledged and remembered us, came to wave us off when we left, which was a lovely touch. The entertainment was fun, the food was excellent, the a la carte restaurants offer a great variety for everyone and they're very easy to book on to - and they're unlimited!!!

We could not have asked for a better vacation, and felt vey welcome as a gay couple in a Muslim country! I would recommend this holiday to anyone and everyone, there is no prejudice to anyone at this resort. We also found there were no extras added on to our bill at the end, everything was actually free, just as it should be in an all inclusive but sometimes isn't!

Our room was located so close to the pools, bars, beach and reception without it ever being too noisy or loud! The views of the clear blue Red Sea were exceptional and the fish you can swim with on your own private beach mean there is no need to pay the extra for a snorkelling trip, although we would highly recommend the scuba diving company found within the hotel!!

The only slight niggle is the wifi is fairly slow, but there is enough to do at the resort to distract you from your twitter, email or Facebook! Don't judge what you hear about Egypt as this is not true at this resort. Thank you for everything, thank you for a great holiday, it was so much more than we could have ever asked for.

Miss you all already!

Bradley and Thomas :)

Room Tip: Block 16 has an amazing pool and sea view, and is close to everything - we also felt that having a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,745
    1,096
    432
    133
    89
See reviews for
3,131
1,939
107
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Well arriving at this hotel we were greated with a cold flannel and a cold drink to freshen up, with everyone saying 'welcome home' we had our suitcases taken to our amazing room for us and one of the concierge showing us to our room personally. All staff are amazing, especially El Gandy ( pool bar guy) who by the end of the week knew our order by heart and had our drinks ready for us. I need to take a moment to mention the animation team, who were absolutely unreal, they were always smiling, upbeat and making sure you were 100% happy. Natalie, John, Kareem especially! Thankyou guys for making our holiday incredible.
The sunbed situation is ok, but you need to be up by 8 ( or earlier) to get one and when you do, stick by it for the 1st couple of hours, because some guests do decide to just claim your beds ( this never happened to me,but did witness it)
My partner and I never actually made it to one of the Al Lacarte restaurants as always fully booked, so I would say, go at midnight, book for whatever you can so you can enjoy the whole experience.
The hotel staff do walk round asking if you want certain excursions, if you don't want any bothering then they have red flags you can get when you collect your towels in the morning and you just stick them to your sunbed and no-one will bother you. As I said I never booked into the Al Lacarte restaurants, but was never disappointed with the main restaurant, yes it gets very busy and you might have to walk round to get a table, but once there, you have a wide range of food that caters for everyone. Overall this holiday has been amazing and I will be booking for 2 weeks next year and hope to see all the same staff there as they were a fantastic team who really did make you feel as though you were at your 2nd home!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie_Damien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Me and my boyfriend went to Egypt for the first time and stayed here! All I can say is what an amazing time we had the trip we had to maymaha island was out of this world!
The resort was full of everything you need, no need to leave there! From shops to different restaurants to all the pools and the beach within seconds from the main pool!
The animation team was wicked they get you involved with everything a friendly good morning to everyone round the pool make you feel really welcome we made really good friends with them all it's a shame we couldn't of brought them home to England to brighten everyone up! The held the best beach and pool party and was always asking and making sure you was ok and helped out with any questions you might have!
Overall we've had an amazing 10nights here and will defo be returning! X

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi_jade_stott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Overall the holiday was fantastic. The food in the a la carte restaurants was delicious and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. However, the best attribute of this hotel is it's animation team!! They are marvellous! Kareem, Ghazal, Brown, John and Natalie made my family and I feel so welcome and at home from day one of our holiday. They were so friendly and always encouraged the guests to get involved.

Waterpolo with Kareem and Ghazal was always a lot of fun. Definitely worth giving it a go!

I would also recommend Arabic lessons with Kareem. He is a fantastic teacher!

The animation team work so incredibly hard and make this hotel 100 times better for being there. They work tirelessly and always remain incredibly enthusiastic. Hats off to them! They are the reason I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view/beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saffi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Outstanding. Animation team were amazing. Ghazal was top notch with his achery excellence and his brilliant lute playing in the lobby most nights a week was really good as well (DEFINITELY WORTH WATCHING - he had us all dancing). Doing water polo with Kareem in the mornings was very enjoyable too. MeDa was also a very very good laugh! Finally, Marley... What a lovely bloke! The animation team really made this holiday brilliant! The hotel itself was also fantastic in all areas, definitely wanting to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear our valued guest,


The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

It was a very nice holiday in the resort, we spend a great time, nice beach , restaurants , pools and the animation team was fantastic , we did some activities of their program like water polo , archery , boccia , they are all really so nice guys, Momo , Kareem , and Gazal especially did great animation work! It was really nice to hear Gazal playing live lute music in the lobby , we will come back again . This time allready 2 times been in the hotel! Hope to be beack soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petervaneyndhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to this beautiful hotel. The hotel is ideal for families, friends ,and couples, as there is something for everyone. I can mention how lovely the rooms are, the pools, the bars, the food and the gardens, but it's the people that actually make the difference to this holiday. The staff, whether it's the waiters, the gardeners, the cleaning team or the reception crew, cannot do enough for you, but it's the animation team that go out of their way to make you feel welcome and involved. Even though we, as a family, don't really get involved in the many activities organised by this hardworking and enthusiastic team, it did not mean that they excluded us from their friendly chats and their constant efforts to ensure that we had all we needed to enjoy our holiday. Kareem, Natalie, John, and the rest of the crew work tirelessly, entertaining and putting on their fantastic shows. Because of these people, we will definitely be returning for our 3rd visit!! Thank you Royal Makadi, and staff for our best holiday ever!!!! xx
Sheree, John, John & Jack

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheree1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,212 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing